BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2012

Competition Accessories

Phone: (800) 543-3535Fax: (800) 343-5045

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
12/11/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a jacket that I never received. It was delivered to an incorrect address.
I ordered a motorcycle jacket from competition accessories (and paid $181.99)and entered all the correct information for delivery on their website. When I went to check out I used their pay with paypal button and unbeknownest to me paypal, which had an incorrect address, over rode the address I put in. So they delivered to an address 6 hours from my current residence that I lived at almost 2 years ago. They had fed ex leave the package on the doorstep. When I contacted them I discovered that they had delivered to this incorrect address. After a feeble attempt to recover the package, and knowing I had never received it, they told me they would be unable to refund me the money because it was the address I had provided them, even though it was not me that provided the address, but paypal. I provided the correct one on their website at check-out. So I was charged $181.99 and never even received the jacket.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the full amount or have a replacement sent to me. They know they delivered it to a person other than me.

Business Response
Very sorry. But as we have discussed many times we shipped to the address that you accidentally selected when completing your order with paypal. The address was your old address which was still saved by paypal and was your default address with them. So when you checked out it used that address and sent it to us. So we just shipped the jacket you ordered to the address you accidentally supplied. We have done nothing wrong. In fact we at our own expense paid for Fedex to go try and retrieve the package 3 times from the address you supplied. Unfortunately the new resident did not want to give back the jacket. So we suggested you contact the local police and file a case with them. We also offered to sell you another jacket at our cost. Because you were unwilling to accept any of the responsibility for the mistake or any additional cost. We are unable to help any further. Our offer for a jacket at cost still stands if you change your mind. We would have loved to help, but we do not think it is fair to ask us to absorb 100% off the cost when we have done nothing wrong.

09/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a helmet from this company at an advertised price only to be told later the company would not honor the advertised price
I received an email advertisement from Competition Accessories detailing that Nolan helmets were on sale. Since I've been ordering products from this company since I was in my teens I looked at the website and found a helmet (Nolan N86) that was to my liking and placed an order for the advertised price of 169.00. I received a call from a customer service representative a few days ago telling me that the company had mis advertised the price of the helmet and that it would normally cost 254.00, but they could sell it for 210.00 since they had mis advertised the price. After leaving two messages with the representative that had called me I finally called the main number and made contact with the same representative that wouldn't return my two previous calls. I was told that the company advertised the helmet prior to knowing how much it would cost them and as such they would be losing money on the sale since they had made a mistake in advertising the helmets for a pre order sale. I explained that no matter what the circumstance was that I had placed an order for an advertised item at the listed price and entered my payment information only to be told later that the price was higher. This practice seems like a "bait and switch" situation where I order something and commit to payment only to be swindled later on into spending more money. ***** (the representative) advised me that since I had purchased so many items from the company that he would ask his supervisor what they could do for me. ***** returned some time later and advised that he could sell the helmet for 10.00 less at employee cost. So let me get this right, they advertise the helmet at the wrong price and give me a higher price to settle things on their end because they don't want to lose money, but when confronted they'll lose 10.00 dollars on the sale just to make things right? I want the helmet I ordered for the price I ordered it for, it's that simple and I'd like an apology from whatever manager ***** spoke to that advised him "We're not going to lose money on the sales of these helmets" as ***** had explained. I'm an honest consumer and the advertised price was clearly listed...I only want what's right

Desired Settlement
I want Competition Accessories to sell me the helmet I ordered for the price they had advertised and I'd like an apology for being treated like I was taking money out of their pockets after they made the mistake.

Business' Initial Response
we have sent **** an email and offered a solution.

11/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor customer relations as well, quality of merchandise
I bought a pair of tourmaster 2.0 motorcycle boots from this company for $90+shipping. After only wearing the boots for one time I noticed that the boot had a manufactures defect. It appeared that the material located in the upper inside heal of both boots were separating. I took pictures of my concern and contacted Competition Accessories with my concerns. I provided them with the pictures and was told I needed to ship them back to them for further inspection by the manufacture of the boot. However, I was told that I would be responsible for the return postage. I feel that both Competition Accessories as well as the manufacture should be liable for all cost associated with the handling of this inspection. This is no fault of mine, I bought these boots in good faith, believing that the product was good and that the company would stand behind it. This appears not to be quite the case. I'm told that I have to ship the boots back to Competition Accessories, then they will ship them off to the manufacture of the boot. No telling when, or if, I will see them again. I personally believe this to be poor customer relations. Competition Accessories has agreed to sell these boots, and I believe that they should be held responsible to the customer and their complaints. I do not feel I believe the honest approach to this would have been to provide me with a new pair of boots, with a return label for the defective boots. I do not believe I should have to pay for a expensive pair of boots only to be without them for who knows how long.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of these boots. If I have to pay shipping for return, ok. However, I would like a new pair of boots provided, at which time I can ship the defective boots back in the container that was used to ship the new boots to me.

Business' Initial Response
Hello xxxxx,

thanks for sending the pictures. After talking with my rep at Tour Master they have agreed to take the boots back for inspection. Although Tour Master will not determine whether the boots will be replaced or repaired until they see them, I will go ahead and ship you a new pair on Monday. I'm going to include a prepaid shipping label in the box with the new boots to cover the cost of shipping. However please understand that you must inspect these boots for defects BEFORE you use them, as I will not be able to cover any additional costs once the tags have been removed and the boots used. Again, I'm very sorry about the issues with the boots and I hope the outcome is satisfactory. Please let me know if there is anything else I can help you with.

Thanks,
xxxxx

05/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order not shipped within promised time. Charged for set, only 1 shipped.
On 8/11, I ordered a set of tires. The website said they were in stock and would ship in 24 hours.

On 8/13, after not receiving any tracking information, I contacted customer service and was told the tires were not in stock and they were waiting for them to be shipped from the supplier.

On 8/14, I checked my order status when I noticed my bank account had been charged for the tires. Only one tire has been shipped, and I have no idea when, or if, the other tire will be shipped.

Clearly false and misleading advertising. No mention was made anywhere about tires not being in possession of the seller, or having to be drop shipped from the supplier. In addition, I can't get customer service to respond, and I asked to speak to a manager and was put on hold and left there.

Desired Settlement
Honor your claim made on your website or take it down. I want all if my order completed and in my possession no later than 8/16, which it would have been if the tires has actually been in stock and shipped in 24 hours.

Business Response
This order was placed on Monday 8/11 for two Michelin motorcycle tires. Both tires were shipped two days later on Wednesday 8/13. One tire is scheduled for delivery today (8/15) and the other tire is scheduled for delivery tomorrow (8/16). ***** called yesterday and spoke with ******* one of our customer service reps and was given this information on when the tire would be delivered. Again, the order was placed on Monday and both tires will be delivered by Saturday. In my opinion this is an acceptable delivery time. Again, ***** spoke with ******* and was given this information yesterday, so I can't imagine why this complaint was filed. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX for tracking #s or any other info you need. I left a message for both ***** and ***** (***** is receiving the tires) today.

Thanks,
*****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The statement from Competion Accessories is only partially true, unless there is a male in the Competition Accessories customer service department named *******.

The order was placed on the night of 8/10, not on 8/11. I called on 8/12, and spoke with a woman in customer service. I did not ask her name. I was told by ******* (if that is her name) that they were waiting for my tires, and that the anticipated ETA to me was the following week, 8/19 or 8/20. This was in complete contradiction of that statement on their web site that the tires were in stock.

I called back on 8/14 when I noticed on the order status page of my Comp Acc account that 1 tire had been shipped. This is completely different than what I was told on Tuesday. The man that I talked said he did not understand why my order was handled the way it was. It was not until Thursday that I knew when they would arrive.

Apparently it's ok for a BBB member to make up facts.

This complaint can be closed. I will never do business with this organization again, and will do everything I can to encourage others to do the same.

09/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issues with refund, not honoured as per policies. Falsely claims that helmets have been used...
I ordered 2 Motorcycle helmets for me and my wife. Due to the issues with sizing (described vs actual) i had to order a different brand.
When I send the earlier order for return, surprise...surprise...my return was denied saying the helmets have been used...I dont yet have a bike, so where did I use them?.
This site seems to be a rip off, some small scale mom and shop guy who will not stand behind their return policy.
Dont waste your time and money...and go with some other reputable merchants

Desired Settlement
All my cost including the cost paid for return shipping

Business Response
Well.. We really hate to get to this point. But unfortunately we can't just accept back used / damaged merchandise. We try to make it as clear as possible on the site how to care for your products and the rules to return them. These rules are essentially identical to all other online shops. You can return anything!!! as long as it is in NEW / UNUSED condition with all tags and packaging.. Unfortunately, these were not close to that condition. A lot of times we will make an exception if there was no obvious use or the item was packaged properly. But I think there has to be a limit to what is acceptable.

Polices are right in the customer service area of the site.
http://www.compacc.com/e/Returns-Requirements
http://www.compacc.com/e/Returns-and-Exchanges

We say this on the site.. And we stand behind.
------------------
NO RESTOCKING FEES

You can return any new, unused, non-special order and unaltered item within 30 business days for either a 100% store credit or refund to the original method of payment. (must meet refund/returns requirements)

We want you to be satisfied!

We are always happy to answer any question you have. If you have a problem and are not satisfied please call and ask for one of our customer service representatives. Their job is to Help You!!

In order to keep costs low and provide the best service, we have some simple rules to follow for returns or exchanges. We are very fair with returns/exchanges, but please do not try to take advantage of this. We can almost always help, if you take care of the product and do not destroy the packaging. If you damage the product and/or packaging we are not going to be able to help.



---------------


The helmets you that ordered on this order were not received back in proper shape. We recieved back 3 helmets and ALL of them had the shield film removed. 2 had obvious bug marks on them. One ( the Bell ) was shipped back in just the manufacturers box with no additional packaging. Meaning we can not resell it at all, because we have no idea if the helmet was compromised by the shipping company on the way back.

We decided to keep the one helmet that did not have bugs on it to sell as a Blemished helmet in the bargain room at a significant discount.

I am sorry to say that we have gotten to this point. We in no way want to be even in this situation. But we can not accept back any products that are used.. Its just not right. We could not ship that back out to another customer, so we can not take it back.

This would have been a really simple return if you just had even fairly closely followed the returns guidelines.

Also.. I understand you are upset because we can not take back the used merchandise. But I think that saying that shipping process which was fast and the prices are high, when they are the best available on these closeout helmets is less than fair.

I would be happy to work with you on a partial credit, but we can not take back the helmets.

Sorry,

***** - Owner

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a std response that company has posted also on another website where I had raised my concerns.
In my original complain I mentioned that I have not used the helmets at all !. leave aside what they mention about the bugs.
This response seems very unacceptable and based on false reasons.
I know this mom and pop shop does not want to stand by their own return policies.....
Guess what...I made a mistake going to them.
Would appreciate if BBB takes action on this.

11/09/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertising. product ordered and paid for but then company called and tripled price. refused to honor price advertised
ordered internal neck stops on ct. 12,2012. Paid via credit card. was contacted on Oct. 15th and told that the price that they advertised was wrng and if i still wanted the part it would be 89.99! I explained that this was wrong and that i expected the agreement honored and the price my reciept showed and their website said honored. i even said i would be filing a complaint with BBB. they told me okay go head but they wouldnt change the price.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to honor the price they said it was.

Business' Initial Response
xxxxx we are sorry for the pricing error on the site. We notified you of the error right away and offered to sell the products to you at cost. Unfortunately, with over 300,000 skus online there will sometimes be an error on a price. In these cases we do our best to honor the price and work with the customer. However, if it is below our cost we will not be able to honor the price. However we will always give a good faith effort to sell you the item at our end cost. We feel this is fair as the customer would still get a great deal on the item for far less than available from any other source.

Again I am sorry for the error. Again we are willing to work with you. Sincerely, xxxxx


Here is a link to the policies. ( http://www.compacc.com/e/Policies )

Here is the section about online pricing errors.

Internet Pricing Policies: We reserve the right to change prices without notice based on availability and supply. We have over 500,000 skus online, so in rare circumstances we may have a pricing or clerical error. These errors are subject to correction at anytime before shipment. In the event of a pricing error we will most likely cancel the order and contact you with options and the correct price before we ship the order. We ALWAYS will do our best to make things right and even if we have to sell the items at our end cost to satisfy our customers. However, we will NOT sell any item at the incorrect price, if that price was below our end cost.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
regardless of how many or few parts (skus) you have, yu advertised a price and sent a confirmation for the part i purchased. not a differance of 1000s of dollars, it is not myine nor my customers fault for your mistake. i ordered only 2 of the items not hundreds. also this has been a issue before for your company so i would think you would be more vigallent in making sure prices are crrect. honor your error.

07/25/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called for confirmation that the tire I received would fit my motorcycle, before I had it mounted.
Ordered a Dunlop 404-13/9H16F and Dunlop 401-15/8H16R for my 2001 Harley Davidson FLHTC on June 4, order # 393193. Received the order on 6/8/12. On 6/15/12 I contacted customer service, 800-543-8208 to confirm that I had ordered the correct tires. The width of both tires looked incorrect. I went over all the information about the order and my motorcycle model # with the service rep to confirm the sizes before paying for mounting and balancing. I was told that the order was correct and that the tires would fit my model motorcycle. After having the tire mounted on 6/21/12, I installed the tires and found the Dunlop 401-15/8H16R was to wide for my bike. I called customer service 800-543-8208 ext 2009 and talked to Dave for almost 45 minutes to try and resolve the issue. His supervisor finally came on the line to tell me that there was nothing they could do because the tire had been mounted and it was considered used. When I explained that I had called for advice before mounting the tires, he claimed that no one at their facility would have told me that the tire that I ordered was correct. The supervisor said " I doubt that really happened" when I told him that I asked for confirmation about sizes, even though Tire Express did have record of my call on 6/15/12.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to have the cost of the Dunlop 401 R 150/80X16 BK refunded or exchanged for the correct tire. I am willing to pay for shipping of the incorrect tire and any cost difference.

Business' Initial Response
I am sorry for any confusion that may have caused this unfortunate tire sizing issue. I am not sure if the correct model was not heard by the CS agent or if the customer maybe said it wrong by the customer. But either way the tire will not work for his application and once the tire is mounted it is used. I would think that a certified shop should not have mounted the tire if it was the wrong size, but I guess we can all make mistakes.
Unfortunately, We are unable to take the tire back due to liability issues it would cause. So, I suggest that xxxxx sell the tire on Ebay or Craigslist and we can then sell him the correct tire of his choice at our employee cost. This will also save him having to ship the tire back to us. Also this way we are reducing our profit to help with any loss that he may take selling the tire. Plus I will put in a $20 credit towards his next order. Sincerely, xxxxx

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The confusion xxxxx speaks of is their companies training for sales and service representatives. The alternative of selling the tire on craig's list or ebay was the first suggestion by the service person when I called about the misfit tire. His response was " well in the past what I've told customers to do was try selling the tire on ebay, our company will not take back tires once they've been mounted". Seems to me there are a lot of confused customers out there. Sorry, I thought I was doing the right thing when I asked for customer assistance before I had the tire mounted. I will not be confused by Competition Accessories again.
Confused Customer xxxxx.

05/14/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Race Track Equipment & Supplies, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Auto Accessories, Tire Dealers, Clothing & Apparel

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.