BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2010

TruGreen

Phone: (704) 663-8873

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
11/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dispute charges for services not requested
TruGreen had me sign a contract a year and half ago for a year long, yard service. The sales rep specially stated in was only a year long contract and it wouldnt renew. Trugreens service was terrible. My lawn looked worse while they were servicing my yard. I didnt know my contract was up and they automatically renewed. They put a note on my door that I owed $40. I called them and stated I didnt want their service any more. They came out again. Then sent me a bill for $80. I called again and told them I didnt want their service and I would not pay the $80. They stopped coming but they called me everyday for the $80 and I refused to pay. This went on for about 3 months. Today I got a call from a debt collector and I decided to take the time to file against them. I dont knee $80 messing up my credit but it is about the principle. I assume that somewhere in the fine print it stated the service would automatically renew but the sales rep told me it was for a year only.

Desired Settlement
I want them stop contacting me and take care of the collection issue.

Business Response
TruGreen will notify the outside collection company to cease all collection efforts regarding the balance $84.34. Please allow two to four weeks for all statements and letters to cease. TruGreen will not pursue payment of this balance. TruGreen apologizes for any frustration or inconvenience.


10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My lawn has died and I cannot get any help
I started my contract this back in February of this year. My back lawn was sprayed while trying to grow new grass and it was killed. I had to replant my backyard at my expense which was no problem because it's not large in size and I had extra seed. I called and notified them and they said simply leave a note on the door. The second treatment show that the coverage area for the chemicals was less because they didn't do the back lawn but I had prepaid for the whole lawn for the season. I called again and nothing was acted upon to fix the difference in billing so I said what's a few dollars. The results of the second application were not as expected so I called for a return visit. My lawn was measured at **** square feet. The second visit only covered **** feet but the repeat of the second application only covered **** feet. I called to ask why the whole yard was not treated and their response was they let the guy go that handle my account and the new guy wasn't familiar with my lawn. Makes no sense to me so I ask to cancel and have a refund. They responded back to please give them another chance and for some reason I did. The forth visit was for the whole lawn totaling **** feet plus an additional *** feet for spotted areas. Lawn was looking great and thought we were on track. Fifth visit was a spot treatment of **** feet and not long after that application my lawn died. Probably around **** feet maybe more. I was not happy. By the time I called they came out for an unexpected sixth visit that was unannounced. Thought it was strange because they always call before coming like the previous day. They treated **** feet of lawn, guessing it was the dead spots. I gave up on them at that point. I called them to ask about planting seed and to finally cancel. I spoke to a man named ***** and he informed me that the last two visits shouldn't have been performed and explained my dead lawn and that I also cannot put seed out for 4 weeks from 9/9/2014. He said a local service manager would call me but as it seemed that trugreen owes me a lawn. He was very nice. So I get a voicemail shortly from ****** from the local branch that wanted to meet me on 9/15/2014 to look over it. He called the morning of and said he had no vehicle to get to my house so he would come Tuesday and call. I call ***** back as instructed because someone was to meet me Monday. He said he would straighten it out and call back within an hour. No returned call from either. I call back on Wednesday and was told I would get a call soon and they would take care of all this. No call. I finally get a call this morning from ****** saying he visited the property and would fix the problem areas. That is not satisfactory because I invested a lot last year to have a beautiful lawn. Over $700 spent on seed, fertilizer, and equipment to install a new lawn. I want it all to match. ******'s story was shaky so out of suspicion I check my entire security footage and see just how fast their employees go across a yard and that he never even came on Tuesday like he said. ****** said he had scheduled next week for seeding. First off, ***** said no seed for four weeks and second I would get a refund for the initial $****** plus tax that I spent in February. I told ****** that trugreen said they would handle it and he responded with "thank you mr *********" really rude and hung up. This brings me to here. I have all paperwork and security footage to show everything and ***** said I had six complaints logged in their system. I cannot trust them anymore and would simply like the $****** plus tax and an additional $*** to buy new seed for my lawn. If I cannot plant until mid October then I will loose the planting season and have to wait until spring with a horrible lawn all winter.

Desired Settlement
I would like the initial $****** plus the tax back and an additional $*** for new seed and fertilizer to plant my yard later. I do not think it is unreasonable due to the fact I did not include labor to replant my perfect lawn that was ruined.

Business Response
I met Mr. ********* on the lawn Monday 09/22/14. It is my opinion that the damage on the lawn was caused by armyworms which can cause alot of damage in a short period of time. I understand Mr. *********s frustrations on the way the lawn has taken a turn for the worse ,however it was not caused from anything we have applied to the lawn. Mr. said he talked with someone from Trugreen which they told him they would refund his money and i will honor what we have told him . I also told Mr. we would aerate and seed the lawn and honor our Guarantee which was set up for today. This is what we will honor.If he would like it done today i can still make sure this gets accomplished if the response is in time to get it done or we can reschedule this service. Our goal is to get the lawn back into the shape it was before the damage took place.Thank You and i hope we can get this resolved. Feel free to call me at ************

Consumer Response
The information they gave in response is false. They have continued to lie from day one of my initial phone call. I did in fact meet with *****, the general manager from Trugreen, and upon investigation I my lawn he concluded that it was not army worms that caused this damage. We walked the entire property and found no evidence of any army worms so for him to respond with that as an answer is an insult. He also failed to mention the other areas of the lawn full of crab grass and Bermuda grass that should have been treated. I also was told by ***** that Trugreen would be present on my property to attempt a repair on 9/30/2014. I took the day off from work to meet them and they never showed up. They are constantly wasting my time and money. I called to find out why no one came to my property on 9/30/2014 and was old my account again had been canceled and no one was allowed to speak to me on the matter. I was told by the representative that day on the phone that she could see where Trugreen was to issue me a full refund of the $****** plus other funds but she was confused on how they were to credit me. She could no longer assist me in the matter. The only refund they have given was $*** dollars back on the credit card I intially paid with. This is still not correct. No one at any office knows exactly what is going on. ***** contacted me again today, 10/1/2014, saying he was confused on why I chose to not have the lawn seeded and why I had filed a complaint with the BBB. I never turned down their service for 9/30/2014 and in fact made myself available all day. It's constant lies, no one does what they say they are going to do. I had two further estimates, one from *********** and the other from ********, both companies provide a similar service as Trugreen. Neither one has said anything about army worms but both said that the majority of their business comes from people wronged by Trugreen. Both estimates for my lawn repair from them were around $****. This is all I ask for from Trugreen at this point as ***** rudely told me today he would not sod my lawn.

Final Business Response
Today the Regional Technical Manager (**********) and myself (***************) met Mr. ********* on the property.We feel the cause of damage to the lawn was a result of armyworms and grubs which we found and pointed this out.We left information about armyworms from *******************. We also noted the bermuda grass can not be selectivey controlled. Mr. ********* requested we aerate,seed, and fertilize today due to the rain moving into the area.This was performed and completed. I explained to Mr. ********* that there were weeds beginning to germinate and they would mature along with the seed coming up and said we could address the weeds once the young grass has matured. I feel the will recover nicely. We told Mr. we would revisit with him when it was time for the weed control. I hope Mr. ********* is satisfied with the work that has been performed.

08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service performed even though request had been made to reschedule. Lack of promised follow up. Rude call center reps. Services too close together.
I had signed up for a maintenance plan through TruGreen which was to include services performed at monthly or bi-monthly intervals at $66.00 per visit. On 8/12/14, a service visit was made, after which the TruGreen technician **************** called to inform me that our aeration service was to be performed the following week. I stated to Mr. ******** that due to upcoming school tuition payments that I would NOT be able to pay the extra $189 fee at this time and to please reschedule. Mr. ******** stated that he would need to speak with his supervisor to ensure this could be done, and actually took the time to call his supervisor and then called me back to advise that yes, they would call back in early September to reschedule the aeration service. On 8/18/14 I was at home, but in the shower when 2 additional technicians arrived and started the aeration service even though I had requested it to be done at a later date. They informed me that had I told them before they started work that they could have skipped the service. I immediately called the number listed for my local TruGreen office, but was connected to a call center instead. The phone rep told me she would relay a message and that someone from the local office would contact me that afternoon (8/18/14).

On 8/19/14 I arrived home and found ANOTHER slip from an additional service visit, even though I had just had a visit 1 week prior. I again called the local number on my service slip, and was again connected to a call center rep (****************) who informed me that nothing could be done and that the local office would have to contact. I stated that I had already been told someone would call me back the previous day, but no such call had been received. Ms. ******** informed me that it could take up to 24 hours to be contacted, at which time I again stated that I was told I would receive a call the same day. I asked to speak with a supervisor (***********) and was told that again there is nothing they can do over the phone, so Ms. ***** refused to speak with me entirely. As it stands right now I have an outstanding balance of $255 with TruGreen - $189 for the aeration that was not requested at the time it was performed, and $66 for an additional service visit 1 week after I had already been charged for the 8/12/14 visit. I was told by Ms. ******** that I would be given 30 days to pay the balance or my account would be sent to collections. This is unacceptable to me due to the fact that on 8/12 I asked for the service to be rescheduled and was told by Mr. ******** that it would indeed be rescheduled. I should NOT have to be on their time table for payment when they are performing services that were requested to be done at a later time.

The pricing of their aeration service is also exorbitant, due to the fact that NO seeding was done, only aeration. I can go online and find any number of local lawn service providers that can perform the same service for considerably less than what TruGreen is trying to charge. I could also rent the same equipment that TruGreen uses for FAR less and do the work myself. I was also led to believe when the initial sales pitch was made that the fall service included aeration AND over seeding. $189 for a 39 minute service call is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement
It is now 8/20/14 and I still have not received the promised call from the local TruGreen office. I want someone to contact me to let me know why they performed only aeration but no seeding. If no seeding is to be done they need to lower their charge for the service. I understand that they did complete work and that money is owed, but I absolutely am not ok with $189 being charged.

Business Response
We have talked with Mr. ******* and put in a credit for the aeration and told him we wouls seed at no charge.We believe he is satisfied and will be continuing our service.

04/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A TruGreen solicitor encouraged me to give him my credit card number to reserve a potential appointment then used it in an unauthorized transaction.
A TruGreen solicitor visited my home on April 10, 2014. He encouraged my to give him my credit card number to hold a "potential" appointment for April 18. It was potential because I informed him that I needed to discuss this with my husband. Later, on Friday April 11, we decided we would cancel the appointment. We were informed by TruGreen corporate that a charge of $470.70 was charged to our credit card as an unauthorized transaction. TruGreen said they would cancel the pending charge and did not do so. No services were rendered and the charge was made well before the "potential" appointment date that was scheduled.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the unauthorized charge from TruGreen from April 10, 2014 for $470.70. Charges were not authorized and services not provided. There was no contract and I was misled by the solicitor as to the nature of giving my credit card number.

Business Response
I Spoke with Mr. xxxxx on 4-10-14 and discussed this matter. I believe there was confusion between the sales rep and The xxxx. The Sales representative was a newer rep and could have not explained the program and processes as well as he did. We have since refunded the Prepayment amount and did so on 4-14-14 as i instructed Mr.xxxxx I would. This issue has been resolved on our end and training for the Sales Rep has already taken place.

Thank you

xxxxx

06/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid in full end of last season for healthy lawn program. Was not satisfied with results. Also, company came unauth for addt treatment
Hired Tru Green 6/22/12 for the healthy lawn program with satisfaction guarantee. Paid in full 293.40 Extremely dissatisfied with results.I have complained but apparently there are stipulations on their gaurantee. My "lawn" is mostly dirt. Nothing healthy or green about it. Many complaints from neighbors of my unsightly yard.
In April after program expired I was told the plan auto renewed and a service had been completed for 69.00. I am unaware of any treatment.No itemized sheet left on door or trugreen stick left in lawn. I have called to dispute this numerous times but I am always told nobody is available at my office to help me and they will call back within 24 hrs. Of course They never call back. Also asked to speak with billing dept, which I was informed they do not speak directly to customers!
I have taken multiple pics of my destroyed lawn if needed.
All I am asking for, at this time, is the unauthorized visit for 69.00 be taken off

Desired Settlement
I feel I should receive a refund for the program (293.40) due to the satisfaction gaurantee but I am demanding the 69.00 be taken off for the unauth treatment allegedly placed in April.

Business' Initial Response
We have credited the $69.00.Again my apologies and hope you will consider using our services in the future.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawncare Service, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Maintenance

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.