BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2006

Spring-Green Lawn and Tree Care

Phone: (704) 992-2802Fax: (704) 875-1636

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Spring-Green promised service and care for my lawn to destroy weeds and enhance lawn growth and appearance. They came out and provided work that Destroyed my lawn, brought back more weeds and diseases that were not there before. They caused my Homeowner Association to send me a Citation regarding the looks of my lawn after their treatment. They charged me $349 for the destruction of my lawn and Never provided the service that was promised when the job was set up (to provide a lawn free of weeds and enhanced looks and growth). I have before and after pictures of my lawn. I now have to pay another Lawn Care Service to provide the care and lawn service that I originally requested from Spring-Green. I do not expect that I should pay for a service that was NOT provided as promised.Product_Or_Service: Lawn Service

Desired Settlement
I would like for Spring-Green to adjust my bill to $0.00 (zero) instead of the $349.00 that they are charging me. I did NOT receive the service that I was promised. I now have to pay someone else to fix what they have made worse.

Business Response
Thank you for allowing me to respond to this. This customer has been a customer on and off since 2010 with the most recent time being 2015. She signed up in late summer 2015 for Spring-Green to kill her entire lawn followed up with a Fall Aeration with overseeding. The attached Timeline of services details her past history as well as last years services. We completed the services agreed upon and check the lawn when the customer alerted us to little germination. It was determined to be lack of watering the lawn. We applied additional seed and instructed the customer that the conditions were dry, that the weather was not providing enough water and it should be supplemented. Even without being paid for services rendered to that point we continued to follow-up, add seed and give recommendations. Several letters went back and forth which can be found in the Supporting documents file.

The file April X XXXX Pictures of D-******** Lawn shows currently that the lawn has filled in with mature grass. If new grass had been planted this spring, it would not be this full yet. The entire lawn had been killed. The seed that we had sown in the Fall germinated as we said it would as conditions improved. Weeds at this time are to be expected, but are easy to control. This is a result of a vigorous aeration which will bring any weed seeds in the soil to the surface. We were willing to work out a payment plan or split the payments as we have done in the past when she has been late on payments.

We have provided the services as we said we would. We stood by the services and asked to see it through to Spring, she did not want us to. Please see the attached documents for a complete picture of this case. Please feel free to contact me with additional questions or concerns. Thank you.

Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
Attached are pictures of my Lawn on 3/18/2016 (SpringGreen work),BEFORE I hired Another Service to repair my lawn! I hired Pine Valley Turf Mgt (see invoice attached) to get my lawn restored. Pine Valley got the lawn green & growing in less than 1 mo. NOT SpringGreen! I'm glad Springreen took pictures of my lawn NOW, that is from Pine Valley work NOT THEIRS! I also have attached emails from my HOA suggesting that SpringGreen work was not done effectively last year in October. The grass did NOT improve from Oct-Mar from SpringGreen.

Final Business Response
I am sorry you feel that we did not do what we agreed to do. Again on August 28, 2015 we provided an estimate. We Recommended killing the entire lawn and starting over with all fescue or aerating and seeding into existing lawn resulting in a mix of fescue and bermuda, Our Production Manager spoke with Ms. explaining the process and Ms. signed up for 2 complete sprays of the lawn to kill everything, Fall aeration with Overseeding and Lime. Mrs. was sent a confirmation letter summarizing services to be completed. On September 3, 2015 the First of 2 non-selective sprays to kill entire lawn was completed.

September 12, 2015 the Second of 2 non-selective sprays to kill entire lawn was completed. Mr. spoke with tech at visit. TO DATE WE STILL NOT HAVE RECEIVED PAYMENT FOR THESE TWO SERVICES WHICH IN FACT KILLED THE ENTIRE LAWN AS AGREED TO DO THIS IS NOT DISPUTABLE AS MS. COMMENTED WE KILLED THE LAWN.

On October 7, 2015 - Round 6 - We Aerated and overseeded lawn using approximately 80lbs of Fescue seed and Starter Fertilizer. Care instructions were left with the invoice. Still No Payments had been made on services to date.

November 2, 2015 Ms. Requested that we check the condition of the lawn as she doesn't see germination. We checked the lawn and Ms. Reminded of the need to water. Spot Seeded lawn at no cost. Still No Payments had been made on services to date.

November 6, 2015 Condition of lawn checked. Aeration plugs still present. New germination seen. Lots of seed present. Lawn is extremely dry. Spot seeded at no cost. Noted to customer the need to water. Still No Payments had been made on services to date.

November 18, 2015 Condition of lawn checked. Aeration plugs still present. Lawn extremely dry. Noted to customer the need to water. Told we will seed through spring. Still No Payments had been made on services to date.

November 23, 2015 Ms. sent a letter in expressing her disappointment in the condition of her lawn. Ms. Stated she didn't want any additional work until she saw improvements in her lawn Still No Payments had been made on services to date. As she had not yet made any attempts to make payments on any of the services to date she was on credit hold. She also stated she did not want us to do anything more to the lawn, as such she was missing out on an important fertilization, the winterizer which would continue the growing process of the lawn.

December 3, 2015 Letter sent to Ms. ******** providing reasoning for the condition of the lawn, photos showing the condition of the lawn, another care instruction sheet and another cultural practices sheet. We assured her that with the amount of seed applied and favorable conditions the grass would germinate into the spring. We also made mention that what we do is only part of the process. Still No Payments had been made on services to date.

As we had not been on the lawn per her request AND being on credit hold again, the lawn did not receive the Early spring application of pre-emergent and fertilzer we would have applied in early February and again in March. As the temperatures warmed up the grass continued to germinate and with additional moisture, warming temperatures has filled in. The grass that is present did not get there by the wind, we sowed the seed. The one fertilization that Pine Valley did with Pre-emergent (per their invoice) is what we would have done, and the grass we planted would have greened up as it has done. We have done over 3000 aeration and overseedings over the last 5 years. We know what to do, when to do it. As demonstrated above we go above and beyond to respond to customers concerns, and that is why this is the first time in 10 years we have had to respond to a complaint on the BBB.

We are more than willing to work with the customer to resolve this, but we have done what we were contracted to do. Our initial services never even were paid. We said it would be fine and would come in, but were not given the opportunity to see it through.

Final Consumer Response
The seeds that SpringGreen put on lawn obviously did not work. I asked if they were possibly old as most of them did not germinate and grass did not grow. From October-March my lawn has been totally destroyed and did not renew as promised with the overseeing. This even caused my HOA to send me letters and weigh in on my lawn. SpringGreenn did not leave watering instructions with my original bill, where I could see them. As I told them, I would not know what the lawn needed, I am not the professional. I had less than 30 days of service from Pine Valley, and my lawn has come back green and full as you have seen. I did Not water my lawn with their service. They did not give me any special watering instructions. I believe that My lawn did not react well to the destruction of all the grass, as Springreen suggested. I also believe that the seeds were old or somehow not effective on my lawn. These are all my own speculation on why my lawn did not grow after the killed all grass. I do know my lawn was not growing from October-March. And I know that after one month with the other service, the lawn is growing. As SpringGreen stated I have used them in the past. But they change service reps. I have had to complain in the past of work scheduled not seeming to be done. Also, I have previously never left an open invoice with Springreen. This time my yard was destroyed and they did not restore it in 5 months. I did not believe that I should pay SpringGreen until I saw some progress on anything they said would be done. I saw none. Springreen only killed my grass, they never restored it in 5 months. I had to get someone else to restore my lawn. I cannot live in my home with the grass destroyed as it was with Springreen. My HOA has already given me one citation when Springreen destroyed the lawn and it never grew back. I don't believe I should pay for the "lack" of service that Springreen has given. Thank you

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawncare Service, Tree Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.