BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2013

Concord Lawn Care and Landscaping

(704) 612-4099View Additional Phone Numbers108 McKinnon Ave NE, ConcordNC 28025-3390

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2013

BBB has determined that Concord Lawn Care and Landscaping meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Concord Lawn Care and Landscaping's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Concord Lawn Care and Landscaping

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Landscape Installation not completed. Lawn sod is now dried and not serviceable. Verbal promise to water and maintain and contractor did not comply.
Verbal agreement to start project July 29. Contractor started July 30. Verbal promise to water and maintain (SOD) everyday. Contractor has not watered lawn. SOD (lawn is not serviceable) Project is not incomplete. Started project and did not finish. I have photos to prove contractor did not complete obligation.

Does not return texts or emails in a timely fashion.

As a contractor he is suppose to install SOD and maintain until project is completed.

Home was suppose to be listed for sale this week. Home can not be listed due to incomplete work.

Desired Settlement
100% refund.

Business Response
Sent: Friday, September 04, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ***************** <***********>
Subject: RE: FW: RE: Case # ******* ******* *****

We have contacted *** and are working to resolve the issue. Unfortunately it took us time for him to respond. Please note the job will be completed to the customers standards as soon as possible.

04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The shrubs were not trimmed and my home was not powerwashed during the contract period as agreed upon.
Beginning in August of 2013, I entered into an agreement with the above landscaping company to have my lawn cut weekly, shrubs trimmed as needed and my home powerwashed. The agreement was for the months of August, September, October and November of 2013 at a cost of $95 a month to me for a weekly lawn cut,shrubs trimmed as needed, and one powerwashing to my home. At the beginning of August, *****, an employee of above landscaping company, informed me that the equipment needed to complete the powerwash had been stolen. He let me know several weeks later that the equipment had been recovered and that someone from his company would be out to my home to complete the powerwashing "within the next week or two". A couple of weeks later, I asked ***** again about when the powerwashing on my home would be completed. He told me that his company had many homes to powerwash (due to not having been able to do so without the necessary equipment)and that it would be sometime soon that my home would be powerwashed. After the month of October, no one from Concord Lawncare and Landscaping came out to my house. I called their offices and emailed to inquire as to why they stopped coming out to my home, but received no response. I called and emailed the office again in early March, but never received a response back from anyone at Concord Lawncare and Landscaping. I feel that since the powerwashing to my home and the shrub trimming were included in the $95 a month fee I paid to the company (for the months of August, September and October), that Concord Lawncare and Landscaping is responsible for completing the powerwashing to my home and shrub trimming. I thank you for your time in this matter.

***** *****

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Concord Lawncare and Landscaping come out to my home and complete the home powerwashing and trim all shrubs on my property. Due to the fact that these services were contracted into with Concord Lawncare and Landscaping last Summer and have not been completed to date, the services I am requesting should be at no cost to me.

Business Response
Mr.***** entered into a verbal agreement with our company in the month of July 2013. Our normal residential client that receives our extra services such as shrub maintenance, and powerwashing etc. are on annual service agreements 12 months of the year. Mr.***** expressed his need for service only during the four month period (Aug0-Nov). We offered Mr.***** bi weekly lawn maintenance, one shrub trimming (up to 6 bushes less than 6 ft tall). The total rate of his service monthly was $95.00 a month. The November portion of service consists of shrub trimming, and pressure washing. We contacted Mr.***** in regards to payment that would be due for November which would cover the additional services but was unsuccessful which led us to believe he may have just cancelled service. After not receiving a call back or email, we did not perform services. These services are normally offered as a per service item if the client isn't on a service agreement with us, Mr.***** was our only client we've ever done this for. Since November our first contact was with him through our contact lead capture page through our website in late March, we responded yet received no response back. We've also emailed, and called since his complaint with the BBB, however we haven't been successful with having an actual conversation with him, although he did try to respond to one of our phone calls he missed that we in turned missed. On April 8th 2014 we sent an employee from our company to trim his shrubs within the front and side of Mr.*****'s home. We have scheduled his pressure washing service for 4/27/14. We will make several more attempts to speak with Mr.***** directly to resolve the matter. We pride ourselves on high integrity and continue to do so, and with your help Mr.***** will receive the necessary services to ensure his satisfaction as a client. Kindest Regards.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawncare Service, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Mulches, Hardscapes, Tree Service - Pruning, Lawn Maintenance, Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall, Landscape Maintenance, Pine Straw

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/01/2013Business started: 06/01/2011
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt McElheny (Owner)Mr. Jason Willis (Operations Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Lawncare Service, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Mulches, Hardscapes, Tree Service - Pruning, Lawn Maintenance, Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall, Landscape Maintenance, Pine Straw

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Concord Lawn Care and Landscaping

108 McKinnon Ave NE

Concord, NC 28025-3390

To | From


1 Locations

  • 108 McKinnon Ave NE 

    Concord, NC 28025-3390(704) 612-4099
    (980) 202-8243

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Concord Lawn Care and Landscaping is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (980) 202-8243

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Lawncare Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.