BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/04/2013

McLaurin's Landscaping & Lawn Services

(704) 363-2408950 Oak St, MooresvilleNC 28115-2269

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/04/2013

BBB has determined that McLaurin's Landscaping & Lawn Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised McLaurin's Landscaping & Lawn Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on McLaurin's Landscaping & Lawn Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract includes weekly service.It included pine needles in my gardens 2x per yr.Coming 2x a mth until I wrote a letter, and to date no Pine Needles.
I hate complaining, but I like even less not getting what I pay for. I hired this service because it was BBB accredited. I have used this company 2 years now and suspended service during the winter. I pay 130.00 per month for .14 acre lot and half of that is a garden with pine needles. Earlier this year they were only showing up every other week yet I paid them the 130.00 fee.Even though my front yard looked fine my back yard was high and needed to be cut weekly. I sent a letter and explained this and for the most part this was fixed.Part of my service includes cutting back my shrubs in the garden in the fall. I had to call repeatedly last year and it was freezing cold in late November when they finally came out and did it. November is to late in the season to be cutting bushes back and could have damaged them. Spring arrived and I contacted them to resume my service.I questioned him about Pine Needles when I paid my bill for May. I simply wrote on a copy of the invoice when were they coming to do it. On my June invoice was hand written by him that Pine Needles to go down 7/13/15, I'm still waiting. In fact it wont be long before its time to cut the bushes and put the fall pine straw down. I mailed my check in for July which the invoice comes the end of July and due by Aug 3, and I wrote in the memo of my check Pine Straw????? Still nothing. Sept 3, 2015 was the last day my yard was mowed, no weed ending no blowing. My grandson came and blew the porches and drive way off.I received my invoice the end of Aug. and decided if I didn't mail the payment it would get his attention and he would come put my pine needles down. All that happened though is he just hasn't been back since Sept. 3, 2015 after realizing I had not paid. I have his check wrote out with a stamp on it and I would much rather pay him and have my lawn mowed and the work done and pine needles down then to be filing a complaint about it or with hold payment. I hired him to do this service because I am unable to but I am not going to be taken advantage of. I owe him for his services for August and have no problem paying him, He owes me Pine Needles in my gardens and should not be expected to be paid for the month of August until this service is provided , especially since he skipped the spring and was only coming out every other week, and he only put pine needles down in the fall last year as well.This can be fixed with Pine Needles going down immediately. I will pay him for August as soon as that is done.If he wants to continue our contract in September I am fine with that as long as it is done on a weekly basis and my yard is mowed, weed eat and all porches deck and steps blew off and the other terms of our contract are met. He will receive his payment in a timely manner like he always has.If he does not want to continue for Sept.of which he has already missed a week that's fine and if he wants to violate the contract and not put Pine needles down that's fine too. However payment for August should be forfeited since that was part of our contract 2 x a year and never happened.My grass is in need of being mowed right now and I will need to have it done , my house is up for sale and it is high and I live in a HOA. I will hire someone else in the next few days so I need to hear back on how he wants to handle this. I am sorry I had to go this route but I am extremely frustrated and just want what I pay for.

Desired Settlement
I want my pine needles down and my yard work done as per our contract.

Business Response
As of date 9/21/2015,yes contract was voided the end of last year, per the customer, DEcember 2014 and at that time the pine needles had been supplied.The customer did not want services per contract continued.
During spring 2015 the above client called wanting yard mowing resumed,no mention of pine needles or hedge trimming was discussed.As stated the contract for 2014 was voided when client did not want the year round services continued as of December 2014.During this mowing season all customers yards are checked weekly and due to lack of rain,some yards were not in need of mowing every week.MOwing for August was on 12th,19th,26th and Sept.2nd for the customer.There was no contract for 2015 ,services rendered were for mowing only.No further correspondence is needed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Services were suspended for the winter months. The grass is dormant in the winter months, no mowing or weed eating is required, kinda like during a drought except in the drought my back yard keeps growing and in the winter the whole yard goes dormant. What was the company going to do in the winter that would warrant me paying 130.00? blow off the porches and driveway? you didn't blow off anything on the weeks you skipped mowing when you were paid during the active months and you didn't blow or weed eat the last time you were out here and you did mow. Your company skipped weeks of mowing supposedly because of the drought,even though the back yard needed to be mowed weekly and the deck, porches and drive needed to be blown every week which was addressed in the letter that I wrote you earlier this year.When I contacted you to resume service I didn't say I wanted Pine Needles down in the spring and fall or my bushes trimmed back in the fall like last year, but I didn't say I didn't want it either. What would make you think I would want any service less than what I had last year? And what did you say to make me think or know that I would not be receiving the same service as last year? As a business owner why would you not ask? As for the contract being voided as of last year, I am assuming the part where I stated in my original complaint that on your June invoice to me was hand written by your company that the Pine Needles would go down on 7/13/15. If the contract was void as stated then there was no need for you to mention the Pine Needles going down on 7/13/15. Your company should have contacted me when you received my note back in June about the Pine Needles if the contract was in fact void and knowing I wanted the Pine Needles down and tell me the contract was void and what the additional charge if any would be for the Pine Needles instead of stating it would be done 7/13/15 and me waiting for the past couple months for you to do it.


Final Business Response
Due to unfortunate and extenuating circumstances at the present,we will not be able to place the pine needles and for services that have been rendered,please consider paid in full.We are sorry for any inconvenience we have caused the customer.

07/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lawn Service had performed on my lawn at xxxxx, xxxxx, NC xxxxx
I phoned and contacted him, the owner of the business from OH, where I work about one month ago. I asked him to mower my lawn each week. WE agreed to the price of $35, a week. I came back a home this past Saturday on the 27th June, I had a big surprise. There was no trimming an edge done and crab grass is growing over the drive way which looked very messy and look badly. I took pictures of them. I paid for the first two weeks worth $70 was sent it to him via xxxxx. I made an advance payment.

I returned a home on Sat. 6/27 which was surprised was no trimming was done what is so ever. I phoned him yesterday on the 30th June to confronted him about not have the trimming done on the edge of the yard which looked terrible. He said, all I had asked him wasto mower it. In the previous years, I had hired someone to do the lawn work while I was away. I paid one price to mower the lawn, and the trimming was done also. It was a part of the service I had from various mowers. The yard work is not completed without do the trimming of the edges. His being professional, if this trimming was not involved, he should had asked to me,this will be an extra charge and if I needed it. As far as I concern, mowing the yard does not complete until it is being trimmed. What is he thinking. He got very upset and said, do not call me any more He said that I owed him for two mowing but, I am not willing to pay for two times, as horrible as the yard looked. He was so angry, he just hanged the phone up on me. He was acting very unprofessional and am not willing to pay for those reasons. If, any will consider to pay some but not all.

I can not believe, he is considered as A+ rated on your list. I will not give D in my list.

Thank you for your attention.

Best regards,

xxxxx

Desired Settlement
We need to negotiate. But, not willing to pay much at all for the terrible work that was done. He should make himself clear to tell the customers, that trimming is not included in his price.

Business Response
I was contacted in May 2015 to mow,edge and weed eat property of the above owner.At no time was there any discussion of trimming(which would be of hedges),our price was 45.00 per mowing,but discussion with owner, price was reduced to 35.00 per time.Due to the lack of precipitation to the area mowing occurred as needed during this time as had been discussed with owner.The week of June 22 ,home owner called to say she would be home the weekend and her son would mow the yard.On Friday June 26,went to residence to meet homeowner and to see if she wanted yard mowed,since it was in need.There was no answer and referring to the fact,the owner had said her son would mow it,since she was coming home,no mowing occurred on this day.We are sorry for any misunderstanding or communication,our understanding again was to mow,weed eat and edge property and at no time was discussion to trim hedges.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Lighting, Mulches, Lawncare Service, Landscape Designers, Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall, Pine Straw

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1998Business started: 04/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Emory McLaurin (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Lighting, Mulches, Lawncare Service, Landscape Designers, Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall, Pine Straw

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for McLaurin's Landscaping & Lawn Services

950 Oak St

Mooresville, NC 28115-2269

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 950 Oak St 

    Mooresville, NC 28115-2269(704) 363-2408

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*McLaurin's Landscaping & Lawn Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.