BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2009

Confia Insurance Agency

Phone: (704) 323-7572Fax: (704) 527-44286823 South Blvd Ste D, CharlotteNC 28217-4457

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2009

BBB has determined that Confia Insurance Agency meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Confia Insurance Agency's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Confia Insurance Agency

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Confia refuses to provide my 2011 NC 400XWS. I have been trying to get this form for my NC Income Tax refund.
email communication to Mr. ****** of Confia

Tuesday, February 18, XXXX XX:XX AM

Subject: Fw: ****** R. Lockhart 2011 NC 400X WS

Greetings Mr. ******,

After several requests for the document referenced above, I am writing you to request this information once again. I initially began contacting you for this information in December 2012. Having left several messages for you both on your voice mail and with your staff that were never returned, I simply gave up. This year I'm determined to secure this information because it is required by North Carolina as part of the amended tax return for 2011.

For the record, so far this year I have:

1/7- left message on answering machine at 1:10 and 4:11 p.m. - no response.
1/10 - phoned office at 11:07 a.m. - left on hold. Visited the office at 3:35, met with ******** left detailed information, i.e. address, phone number, and form number. Never received any response.
1/15 - left message with ******** at 11:30. I phoned you again later in the day, we spoke and you assured me that you would send the 400X WS, I gave you my address again.
1/28 - left a message for you with **** at 1:50. **** called me back at 2:05 advising that she would mail the form to me as soon as you printed it out. Never received anything.
2/7 - spoke with ******** at 10:05, she advised that she would try to find out about the mailing of the form and call me back.
2/17 - phoned your office at 3:10 and spoke with ***** who advised that all though she did taxes, she did not have access to past years returns. I then spoke with ******** who promised she would try to get you to print the information for me.

Mr.******** as you can see, I have invested a significant amount of time trying to obtain something that should have been included and filed with my amended 2011 return in 2012. North Carolina is withholding my 2011 refund pending receipt of this information.

Please provide this information to me within the next three business days. I have copied Mr. ******** in the Attorney General's Office to ensure the timely completion of this request. You can email it to me if you like or you can mail to:
****** ********* - ****************** Charlotte, NC XXXXX. If you have any questions regarding this request, you can reach me at XXX XXX-XXXX.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Response from Mr. ******:
On Tuesday, February 18, XXXX XX:XX AM, ***** ****** <*******@confia.us> wrote:
Im so sorry this has been such a hassle. Let me email it to you personally. Im glad you emailed me directly. Just send me your new address. Seems like it didn't save. Im still showing the old.

My response:
My email address is ************@ymail.com. My mailing address is ****************** Charlotte, NC XXXXX.



Desired Settlement
I want the service I paid for. I want the document that should have been completed and mailed with my NC 2011 tax return. I need this in order to get my refund from NC. I WANT THE NC 400XWS FOR 2011.

Business Response
Original documents were provided on the day service was provided. Her request for a copy was delayed due to changes to our system. Let it be known the Confia Insurance Agency no longer provides the service of income tax return preparation. Either way, I was grateful she emailed me directly and replied back to her email on the 9th of February with a copy of the taxes. I have not heard back from her since so I assumed she had gotten it. I have already emailed another copy today 03/20/2014 at . Would like a confirmation that this has been taken care of.

02/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This Agency was delinquent in my filing corporate taxes and resulted in penalty to my business of $585.
I started working with Confia in July 2013 to have my 2012 corporate and personal tax returns completed. After the initial visit several weeks went by with no communications with this firm. Appointments would be set and not kept consistently. I mentioned to Mr. ****** that the corporate taxes were due in September per the IRS. I met with him in August and even though he had not completed the taxes he asked for payment. I didn't expect to pay at this time because the taxes had not been completed. After that date there was another lapse in communications and when I finally spoke with Mr. ****** in late September he said the corporate taxes had already been filed. We met again in December to finalize my personal taxes and get copies of the corporate taxes he claimed to have filed earlier. I received a letter from the IRS recently stating that I owed a late filing penalty of $585. That is $195 per month for every month the taxes were late. If Mr. ****** filed these taxes when he said, there wouldn't be a penalty or a very small one. At our last meeting in December, Mr. ****** also made an appointment for January 7th to begin doing our accounting for 2014. He never showed up for the appointment and did not call.

Desired Settlement
I would like Mr. ****** to pay this delinquent fee of $585. I started working with this firm 2 months prior to my deadlines. He never filed my corporate taxes when he claimed. I gave him all the information he requested and even told him when the deadlines were after speaking with the IRS.

Business Response
Mr. ****** did not have money to pay for his tax return at the time so therefore can not be filed. I mentioned to him that taxes were READY to file. Not that it had been filed. He asked me to give him a couple of weeks with no set date. I invested time and money to get his taxes ready on the date it needed to be filed only to find out when I asked him to have a check ready that he had no money. It is only customary business procedure to collect fees before or at delivery of service. As for missed appointments, I apologized for the one time that I actually missed an appointment and others were due to Mr. ****** not putting into his calendar correctly. For example, Our appointment in January was set for the 27th. Confia is in the business of making money and growing its practice. It is my desire to capture as many clients I can, not to neglect them. I have not gotten a call from Mr. ****** nor an email. He has my cell phone number, office number, e-mail address and my assistance email address and we have not heard of us missing another appointment with Mr. ******. I **** be more then happy to assist him in asking for an abatement of fees with the IRS. It is process that Confia normally charges for, but we **** do it for free. We are always obtainable for solutions when approached directly. Please let us know if you are still interested in us helping you out.
Again my sincere apologies for the mix up. we are here to help.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no mix up and no charity service is necessary. Mr. ****** asked for a check but he was not ready to file taxes in middle September nor was he ready in October or November. I was somewhat skeptical of Mr. ****** and his firm's ability to complete this work on time after my first meeting with him and he reported my business had gross sales double what I knew them to be.

He used a P&L statement from my business and said the taxes **** be completed from this document. While that may be true, it is not the document used to file the returns with the U.S. Government and that's what I am use to signing off on. I am not accustom to paying for tax preparation that is not prepared and on the appropriate forms, completed and ready to be filed. He did not get a check because he wasn't finished with the work. Maybe he got offended because he wasn't paid upfront and filed the taxes late as some sort of retribution or punishment . If that was the case, it was wrong and he should be held accountable. Usually a person pays for tax preparation once the job is completed.

He indeed procrastinated until the deadline passed ** filing these taxes and in my mind, it had nothing to do with money. Even after I so desperately tried to reach him in early October to finalize this effort, he was reluctant to do so. This type of behavior should be exposed since many business owners turn this work over solely to people like Mr. ****** and depend on their leadership and guideance.

To make this a complaint a little clearer, I am including an email thread which demonstrates the lack of communication, and missed appointments on the part of Mr. ******. Actual emails are available if needed and **** be forwarded to the IRS to further substantiate this complaint.

Mr. ****** suggested I correspond with ******************(Accountant at his firm)in addition to himself.

Notation: Below are email exchanges between ******************* and Myself. Also exchanges between Mr. ****** and Myself. The exchanges are in order by date.

****: 8/26/13
Hi *******
Here are the statements for the business 2012. You **** get a subsequent emails with the other 3 qtrs, because the files are large.

******: 8/26/13
Thank you!

******: 9/3/13
Hi ****,
Hope you had a great holiday weekend! I should have your taxes completed by the end of the week. I **** also like to schedule a meeting with you and ***** so we can begin having your monthly accounting done for your new company. Please let me know what would be a good time to meet.

****: 9/3/13
Hi *******
I had a great weekend and hope yours was as well. I am not sure if ***** has told you that our personal taxes are to be done also and we are quickly approaching the deadline for the filing extension that was filed in April this year, September 15). Is this going to be an issue to get all this work completed in less than 2 weeks? Early week (Mon-Tues) is usually good for me to meet, In the afternoons.


******: 9/3/13
No, it won't be an issue. How does next Tuesday, September 10 at 3pm sound?

****: 9/3/13
That sounds fine I **** put it on the calendar. I guess I **** be coming to your office right?

******: 9/4/13
Hello,
Sorry for the late responses, yes it **** be here at our office.

******: 9/9/13
Hello,
Quick question, did you have employees last year? If so, I **** need those amounts. Thank you!

****: 9/9/13
No employees last year.

Notation: 9/10/13 There was a meeting with Mr. ****** at his office to go over the taxes. He showed me a P&L statement and said everything is ready to go. The P&L showed my business grossing twice the revenues that I knew to be accurate. I never saw the actual return hard copy or electronic. My personal taxes were not discussed in any detail.


Email conversations with ***** ******

*****: 9/11/13
Very nice!!! I have fixed the problem. File needed to be reloaded and it worked... sorry about the glitch. Please remember to bring Socials and date of births for your dependants. Thank you!! See you tomorrow.

****: 9/11/13
Thanks, I got right on it!! Glad to hear you found the glitch. We don't have any dependents although I am paying off the balance of my youngest daughters student loan. I **** email over the statement today that shows the interest paid on that loan for 2012. Both our socials are on the documents I left yesterday. I **** have DOB for us both tomorrow if needed. See you at 3pm tomorrow. Thx

****: 9/11/13
Hello *****,
Here is the document with student loan interest on it. thx

*****: 9/11/13
Thank you

****: 9/13/13
*****,
The inventory total for year 2012 is $11,775. I have to leave the shop today at 5pm to go to a sporting event to do networking and Marketing for the business. Any chance you can come over before then?

No Response from *****......

****: 9/17/13
*****,
So where do we go from here? I haven't heard anything from you and I am concerned about penalties for filing late. Can you contact me to discuss this. Thanks,

No Response from *****.....

****: 10/8/13
Hello *****,
I really would like to get our taxes completed. Please follow through with this today like you promised.

*****: 10/8/13
Im on it... my day got a little complicated, my wife blew a tire and had to go rescue her.. So im working y am appointments right now... I **** keep you posted.

Mr. ****** didn't keep me posted; in fact he vanished, as you can see from the following email threads. Almost a 6 week gap in communications with him. When I finally reached him by phone in November he said that the business taxes had already been filed earlier. This angered me because I had not seen the return. In all my years of working and having taxes prepared, I had never been exposed to this type of behavior.


******: 11/18/13
Hi ****,
Wanted to touch bases with you and see were you ready to finalize your personal taxes, with *****. Give us a call at the office or you can email me back and let us know. Thanks!

****: 11/18/13
Hi *******

Thanks for contacting me. I have been waiting since the beginning of October to finalize the taxes. Give me the time and I **** make every effort to be available. Can someone come here or do I have to come in to your office to complete this? Let me know. Thx

******: 11/19/13
We apologize for the delay. We can do either option, whichever is better for you. It would be an easier and quicker process if you could come to our office to do your personal taxes, but if you are not available to come, he has no problem coming to you. It **** be a longer process though given that he would have to first come to your office and get your information then come back to our office and complete it. Either way, ***** is available tomorrow anytime after 12pm. Let us know which option and time works. Thanks!

****: 11/19/13
Why would ***** have to come to get information that I could provide either over the phone, email or fax. In fact I would rather he collected all the information he needs to complete this before we meet. I would rather he came here to do this and I **** make time. Just let me know when.

******: 11/20/13
Ok, ***** **** come to your office tomorrow at 12.

****: 11/20/13
Hi *******

Where is *****? He was not here at 12pm and it's now 2pm. I didn't receive a call, has things changed? This has been hanging out much too long, I'd really like to get this done. PLEASE.

Notation: Mr. ****** contacted me by phone and requested additional documents. The following email is my response.

****: 11/22/13
Hello *****,
Here is the spreadsheet. Hopefully we can pull this to a close soon. There is also a cost sheet for the expenses when we were getting Grand Ave ready for rental. I **** forward that over as soon as it is completed.

Notation: Mr. ****** came to my place of business with copies of both my personal and business returns on December 3, 2013 and he filed these taxes on December 9, 2013, 3 months after the deadline. In that meeting he said, "once you become a regular customer, then the response would be better". Well Mr. ******, if you didn't consider me a customer, you never should have accepted the job.


Final Business Response
it is unfortunate that this has happened. I have still not been contacted directly by client to solve issue. I was paid for services rendered on December 3, 2013. This is when taxes were filed. In response to his comments of me saying "if he was a regular client" it was clearly explained to him that I did not have the time for FREE consultations. That once he became a recurring client, in other words, if he signed up for my services to provide monthly book reviews, he would be on my "clients to visit" list. he was upset because I wouldn't help him establish other things for his business that we charge for. Every time I asked for that business he would ask for price and never felt comfortable with what I was asking for. yet he still wanted me to show up and keep in touch and be available whenever he wanted. I explained many time... I cant do it for free. I filed his taxes when he paid. I am willing to assist him with filing for an abatement of penalties with the IRS. There is no guarantees, but I **** do my best. other then that, its against our policy to file taxes with no payment. in fact I was not even suppose to start the process but did as a courtesy.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance - Life, Insurance - Property

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/26/2007Business started: 12/02/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Commission, NC
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC27699-1200
(800) 546-5664
http://www.ncdoi.com

BBB records show a license number of 8190553 for this company, issued by Insurance Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncdoi.com.

BBB records show a license number of 146364 for this company.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Tomala (CEO)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Insurance - Life, Insurance - Property

Alternate Business Names
Confia Financial Group, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Confia Insurance Agency

6823 South Blvd Ste D

Charlotte, NC 28217-4457

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6823 South Blvd Ste D 

    Charlotte, NC 28217-4457(704) 323-7572

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Confia Insurance Agency is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance - Life

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.