BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

HBL Insurance Agency, Inc.

Fax: (704) 749-9971

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
07/08/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$1400 was deducted from my checking account on 10/15/13 for workers comp through the above co. 4/14 I find I have not been covered. Where is my $1400?
***** ******** deducted $1400 from my checking account 10/14/13 for my workmans comp insurance I have to have for my sub contractors jobs. It is required by the company I work for. I assumed I was covered since HBL insurance took my money. I find, from the company I work for, April, 2014 that I have not had coverage & after numerous calls & voice messages left with HBL, ***** ******** insurance co with no responses I want my money. I have had to purchase workers comp through another company to cover from 10/13 through 4/14.

Desired Settlement
I want the $1400.00 that they took from my checking account & did not provide my workers compensation coverage that I was paying for....

Business Response
His credit card was declined

Consumer Response
Funny ***** ******** says my credit card was declined. What did he do with the $1400.00 that was deducted from my account to HBL (***** ********) Insurance Company. The documentation from my bank says different! This $1400.00 that was supposed to be for workers compensation insurance that ***** ******** took from my bank account. Of which I have documentation....I will also need proof that the $1250.00 that he took August 29, 2012 went to workers compensation insurance that I purchased from him. I also have documentation for that transaction that I have to make available to the authorities.

Business Response
While on a several month medical leave, our Agency had a few employees that were not performing up to our tradition and of doing dishonest business. We are glad we have a 10 million dollar Errors and Omissions policy just in case. We have corrected the situation and refunded or corrected the problem. In over 30 years of business we have never had any complaints or problems., and we deeply regret any now.


Business Response
While on a several month medical leave, our Agency had a few employees that were not performing up to our tradition and of doing dishonest business. We are glad we have a 10 million dollar Errors and Omissions policy just in case. We have corrected the situation and refunded or corrected the problem. In over 30 years of business we have never had any complaints or problems., and we deeply regret any now.


Consumer Response
HBL insurance co/***** ******** has not reimbursed anyone that he conned. I found I did not have workers comp insurance in 2012 that I paid $1050.00 to ******** for or 2013 that I paid him $1400.00 for. I had to purchase retroactive policies to cover for the contractors I worked for those years. He knowingly took my money for workers comp insurance that he never purchased for me. I was not covered for 2 years and thank God I didn't have any claims. That could of been a real disaster. I will expect him to reimburse me for the money he stole from me. This person had not made any effort to replace the money he took from me. He owes me a total of $2450.00. I will be active in pursuing his prosecution if he chooses not to reimburse me of the thousands of dollars he has stolen.........................

I would like to correct a mistake that I have made regarding the above issue. I was incorrectly informed that I did not have workers comp coverage with for the $1250.00 I gave to HBL insurance co. 8/2012. I found yesterday, 6/27/14 that I was covered through that period. I was NOT covered for the $1400.00 I gave to HBL insurance for 2013. I had to purchase this coverage a second time since ******** didn't get my coverage I paid him for. So correction. ********, HBL insurance co owes me $1400.00.

Thank you,

******* *********

07/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issued fake certificate of insurance
Our company, ******** Painting Company, Inc, paid HBL Insurance $2000 on Jan. 28, 2014 for general liability & workers compensation insurance. They issued a certificate of insurance. When I called the insurances listed on the certificate, I was told that the policy number was not valid & they had no record of our company as having insurance. I have been in contact with several people who have had the same thing happen to them by HBL Insurance. I have called HBL, several times & emailed as we'll and no response from them. I have filed a complaint with NC Dept. of Insurance as well as the others against HBL. I believe they are committing fraud.

Desired Settlement
A complete refund, plus fees we will now face due yo working without the proper insurance coverage.

Consumer Response
Consumer indicated they have not heard from the company


Business Response
We had an employee make some mistakes and we let them go. We regret the errors made and we have refunded the monies.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have NOT refunded ANYTHING!!! No calls, no emails, NOTHING from them!! If they say they have refunded the money, I would like to see proof and so would my bank!!! How can ONE employee make just our mistake but many more? I have emails from numerous companies that the same "mistake" was made to them and will gladly share if needed. The owner himself Mr.***** did not respond to any of our phon calls or emails either.If you regret anything then man up to the mistakes you made!

Consumer Response
Consumer indicated they have not heard from the company


Business Response
We had an employee make some mistakes and we let them go. We regret the errors made and we have refunded the monies.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have NOT refunded ANYTHING!!! No calls, no emails, NOTHING from them!! If they say they have refunded the money, I would like to see proof and so would my bank!!! How can ONE employee make just our mistake but many more? I have emails from numerous companies that the same "mistake" was made to them and will gladly share if needed. The owner himself Mr.***** did not respond to any of our phon calls or emails either.If you regret anything then man up to the mistakes you made!


Business Response
While on a several month medical leave, our Agency had a few employees that were not performing up to our tradition and of doing dishonest business. We are glad we have a 10 million dollar Errors and Omissions policy just in case. We have corrected the situation and refunded or corrected the problem. In over 30 years of business we have never had any complaints or problems., and we deeply regret any now.


Consumer Response
From: ************** (mailto:***********************@yahoo.com)
Sent: Thursday, July 03, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: *****************
Subject: Re: Please see business rebuttal and advise.

I was unable to respond via internet. I went to website and did not see where I could submit a response. My response is as follows:

HBL has NOT refunded any monies to us, the ONLY communication they have given us is through this complaint. So with their 10 million in insurance, not a penny has been given to our company. please stop making excuses for your company especially when you do nothing to correct the situation

02/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** and **** of this company got my money for getting insurance coverage of 3 properties for a period of 6 months. They never got me any coverage.
After getting quotation amounts on three properties, one Residential and two Commercial properties, I met with Mr. ***** ******** (principal) and Mr. *************** on December 3rd. 2013 and paid him $1066.50 to cover above mentioned three properties for a period of six months. I was told that I will be covered as of midnight of the same day. That tomorrow, I should cancel my existing policies. On not hearing back from them and not receiving my policies, I called them. I was told that he was emailing me the policies. I did receive 2 policies (bankers Insurance Group and Universal Property and Casualty) where I found discrepancies. I called Mr. ******** and had to leave a message only to get no response back. I then called Mr. ******** and had to leave a message. I then called the Insurance Company Bankers Insurance Group only to be told that they have not received the money, and was told that I am not covered. I called Mr. ******** and he told me that everything is in order. I asked where is the coverage on the third property, he said that is also been taken care of. Last Friday I contacted Bankers Insurance Group and Universal property and casualty. After speaking to one Ms. Holly who told me that the money for coverage has not been received from the HBL Insurance Agency. I told her that I paid them on Dec. 3rd 2013, she then told me that the area manager was in the Charlotte area and he will call HBL to find out what the problem is. I then proceeded and called Universal Property and Casualty, they too had not received any money. Upon asking to speak to a manager, I was connected to one Mr. ************ heard me out and then asked me to stay on the line, He made a 3 way call to Mr. ******** and got him on the phone. Mr. ******** clearly told him that he only got a quotation from him and actually got coverage from another Company. I promptly asked him which Insurance Company did he get coverage from. He replied, "***** I will have to get back to you in two minutes after checking my files. I never heard back from him. After waiting for more than two hours, I called him again and got Mr. ******** instead and got no answers from him. I have been sending them emails but have yet to get a email response back. Friday Jan. 3rd. Mr. ******** called and said that he is sending me $1066.50 via overnight mail and that I should have it before mid-day on Saturday since they do deliver on Saturdays. I asked him what address is he sending then overnight mail to. He answered Greyson Heights. I corrected him and repeated twice my mailing address and finished the call. I called him right back and told him that I can come and get my money now and that this would avoid any mishaps with the mail etc. He stated that Mr. ******** was not in the office but assured me that he will have it in the overnight mail immediately as soon as Mr. ******** comes back. I waited but no mail came. I sent out an email and then I got an email back from Mr. ******** that he will be calling me in the afternoon on Monday. No phone call came and when I called him back, I only got his voice mail. I called again and Mr. ******** picked up the phone. I asked him where is the money that he promised was getting sent via overnight mail. He stated that that he was waiting for the insurance company to pay him back and upon receiving he will forward it to me. I asked him which Insurance Company was sending him the money. He answered "have a good day *****" and hung up. Now I am sitting with no coverage on my properties and have no funds to buy the coverage elsewhere since HBL has not paid me back. Please help and oblige.
Sincerely,
***** *********
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I am seeking full refund of my money that they took fraudulently.

Business Response
RE: XXXX-XX-XXXXX
Complainant: ***** *********

To Whom It May Concern:
This is in regards to the complaint received from Mr. ***** *********. The properties that Mr. ********* presented to us were not accurate, nor was the proper documentation provided. We were extremely accommodating and understanding to Mr. ********* throughout the process of getting him coverage, having discussed his properties on a daily basis for two weeks in December of last year. The reason that the properties were not being covered was because, like he had stated in his complaint, that there were "discrepancies". Had we gone ahead and provided the insurance companies with money on the properties that we eventually found to be inaccurate, we would have been committing blatant insurance fraud. Mr. ********* agreed to a full refund of his money as of two days ago.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is utter nonsense and far from truth. The property addresses and zip codes given was absolutely correct,clearly stated which property was residential and which two properties were commercial.I still have one documents created by ***** ******** which clearly states the property addresses with zip codes and the amount it will cost for the coverage.This document is dated 11/21/1023 and should be in the copies i submitted to BBB. I will be glad to resubmit this document. Why would any one give false addresses and misrepresent their properties and yet give money for coverage? ***** ******** is still trying to cover untruth with more untruth.Upon receiving my money he told me to cancel my existing insurance as of midnight of the same day i paid him, never did he call or write stating that he had not payed for coverage of my properties. It is me who called the insurance carriers only to find that i had no insurance coverage and that he had not paid them, yet he sent me via email 3/4 page fictitious policies that i also submitted to BBB.

Final Business Response
Mr. ********* is the first complaint we have ever received in the 40 years we have worked in the financial services industry. He misrepresented his properties and addresses from the beginning, and at no point did we have access to his prior insurance documentation or information. HBL was under the assumption that the information gathered over the phone was true and accurate. We took a deposit for finding him proper coverage as two of his supposed properties turned out to be very difficult to place. Had we known that Mr. ********* was going to be very unaccommodating, we most certainly would have never taken him on as a customer. Full reimbursement of his deposit was made last week.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
no response from these people
I have taken out workers comp and general liability on myself and a employee. paid total of 1500.00 to date. got insurance papers faxed to me in 3/18/2014. Have called numerous times. have left messages with ***** ******** and customer service. Have not yet reached anyone. Have left several messages to call me. I have them recorded. No one has bothered to return my calls as of yet. Trying to find out when next payment is due and to see about additional policy. Dont even know if i am still insured. If i ran my business this way i would not have a business today. Dont understand how people can run a business this way. tired of trying to reach.

Desired Settlement
All i want is a little service. Apparently thats asking a bit much

05/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took money from us and issued fake insurance certificate. No real policy ever existed.
Around end of Feb 2014 we contacted this company to purchase commercial liabilty coverage. They sold us a $1100.00 policy and sent a certificate of insurance. Turns out that after a month of having this or thinking we had this policy, it was a fake. We called the carrier listed on the certificate and were told the policy was never purchased. We have never been advised otherwise by this agent and also was told at one point that he was looking at our policy right in front of him. He obviously was lying. We have purchased a new policy through the same carrier and have been told they are investigating the agentand so is the NC state insurance board.

***** ******** and his partner in crime Matt, does not return or answer any calls now and has not returned any money. They are obviously con artists as there are other victims filing complaints with the state currently.

Desired Settlement
We want 1100 dollars and this company to have a rating with the BBB that reflects their deceptive trade practices so other consumers will not fall victim.

05/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HBL took payments from us for a policy they say was issued last Fall but have been unable to prove or establish as fact. They have taken more money.
We were solicited by a man who identified himself as ****, an agent working for Mr.********* of HBL Insurance last Fall about the time our previous commercial liability policy was to expire. We asked many questions and they came up with a slightly better rate and we sent payment.
In the days and weeks that followed, HBL and the workers **** and Mr.********* would never send us a binder, a receipt, an invoice, a policy book or any other proof of insurance.
They took additional money later on from the corporate credit card we used to make the initial full payment at the beginning. (The additional payments were not requested or authorized and should be considered theft.)
We have been unable to reach them. Until about two weeks ago, the man who identifies himself as Mr.********* said that he had gotten rid of **** because he could not keep proper records and take care of his clients. He said he was cleaning up a lot of mess left by **** and we would have all the documents we asked for very soon. Since then we have been unable to reach Mr.*********. We did however get a call back from the fired **** who said that everything was alright and we would soon have every proof of insurance we might ask for.
For the last week, about 24 calls have been unanswered. The NC Dept of Insurance shows Mr.********* as a recently licensed agent (March 10, 2014) The address he showed for his office we have discovered is on the second floor of a new apartment building in south Charlotte. We were unable to knock on his door - he would not answer the doorbell or call from the lobby - but the manager said that there were to be no businesses operated from that building.
We think we have been swindled and defrauded out of a large amount of money. Worse we now believe our company has been un-insured for over six months. We have begun to seek alternative insurance. We are likely not the only victims of this scheme and Mr.********* needs to be locked up.

Desired Settlement
We would like to get full refund ($3,000) plus an additional $500 for the expense and difficulty of getting insurance when you have had a laspe in coverage as was caused by this gang.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Agency, Insurance - Workers Compensation, Insurance - Disability, Insurance - Liability, Insurance - Accident & Health, Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Auto, Insurance - Property, Insurance - Health, Annuities, Insurance - Marine

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.