BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2010

American Insurance Marketing Solutions, LLC

(704) 542-0707View Additional Phone Numbers8720 Red Oak Blvd STE 101, CharlotteNC 28217-4936

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2010

BBB has determined that American Insurance Marketing Solutions, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Insurance Marketing Solutions, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Insurance Marketing Solutions, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Telemarketing call to a number on the Federal Do Not Call Registry
Caller ID Info:
"8/19 14 11:04 AM
xxxxx
Our telephone number is on the Federal Do Not Call Register.
Received a call; lady addressed me as "Mr. xxxxx", which is not my name.
Asked if I had a xxxxx supplement - in such a manner I believed she knew, but then how could she know, she did not know my name. I asked if she knew; she responded she did not. At that point I requested she put us on her do not call roster.
She hastily responded she would and hung up.
Internet research indicates the call originated from American Insurance Marketing Solutions, LLC, xxxxx, NC; the firm has had previous complaints for high pressure sales practices; and is engaged in making unwanted telemarketing calls.
It is a shame this firm does not avail itself of "free" registered numbers from the Do Not Call Registry.
This incident is put on report to the BBB and the Federal Do Not Call Registry.

Desired Settlement
The behavior of your employees reflects your corporate culture. You talk smooth; sadly, your behavior reflects it as slime.
So, Abide by the law: do not call folks who are on the do not call registry.
Terminate your telemarketing staff for breaking the law in your name; if it is a contracted company, terminate the contract for violation of the law -- in your name.
Engage someone with the knowledge and ethics to provide the service; if you really want it.
And last, go pay your fines for making the illegal calls.

Business Response
It is always unfortunate to receive complaints. It is even more unfortunate to receive complaints which show for the public to see, when there has been no violation of the law or of Business ethics. According to the NC Department of Justice, North Carolina Law, xxxxx, xxxxx, there is a provision which states that it is permissible for a business to call if the sole purpose of the call is to make an appointment and never to sell anything over the phone. We ALWAYS abide by the law. There are no fines to pay and there has been no unprofessional business practices.
Sincerely
xxxxx

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These folks are in violation of both the spirit and intent of the law; regardless how they claim to have addressed their call.

Final Business Response
he is removed, we remove EVERYONE who request it

03/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
constant phone calls - 3x today - the 4th of March
I have had repeated phone calls from xxxxx- this morning I hung up on the nasty woman- she called me back 2x- the 2nd time I picked up the phone and she slammed it down. I am on a do not call list which has done no good-

Desired Settlement
stop calling me- I have asked over and over- to be taken off their list.

Business Response
I was very concerned to receive this complaint and take this very serious. This behavior cannot and is not allowed in this office, I have made sure there is no financial reward in this type of behavior as i have been very careful to make sure the telemarketers pay would not encourage any type of unprofessional behavior.

For starts Please relay my sincere Apologizes to Mrs. xxxxx as we never want this to happen. Also please relay the steps I have taken to correct.

I called my telemarketers (i have 5) together and discussed this and asked who did it, and I received no answer, so I gave them to the end of the day. Still no answer. After business hours I spent about 4 hours going thru many pages of call sheets (excel format) and finally found who made the call. The next morning I terminated that telemarketer and had a meeting with the rest. I have since purchased a sensitivity training course from xxxxx at a price of $795.00, a course with 72 clips of different situations and workbooks with topics and questions on each clip. We are breaking this down into 20 minute sessions, 3 times per week so they can take small bites but learn and not drag out too long. We simply cannot allow rogue employees to hurt our customers or us.
Unfortunately, I cannot control 100% the actions of people, but I can fix the problem and train others to understand they have responsibilities.
Again, please relay my apologizes to Mrs xxxxx, this is unprofessional and very upsetting that she was treated this way.

03/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we repeadtedly cancelled appointment and salespeople showed up after telling them not to come to house.
multiple telemarketers called my grandmother on 2/18/2014. My granmother told the telemarketer she was not interested and did not want to change her incurance. one of the telemarketers told my grandmother a salesperson would come to her house tomorrow at 1 pm. My mother and uncle called the office on 2/19/2014 and cancelled the appointment that the telemarketer made even though my grandmother told them she didnt want their services. I left a message on the 18th tellling them to return my call and to cancel the appointment. My call was returned morning of 19th prior to forced house visit. I told the lady on the phone to remove my grandmother from their list and to cancel the salesperson from coming and for them not to solicit or come to house. the lady on the phone said she would cancel appointment and have salesperson call my grandmother to let them know it was canceled. i asked her to have them call me to not be calling my grandmother. they called neither me nor my grandmother and showed up after being told not to repeatedly by 3 family members. At 1 pm salesperson xxxxx and a man showed up at my grandmothers house. She went outside and talked to them telling them repeatdly she did not want to change her insurance and they repeatedly requested to come in house. I am reporting this company and the salespeople for high pressure sales and disregard of our privacy and multiple request to not be solicited.

Desired Settlement
Action to be taken to protect us from any further communication, solicitation or visits by this company to our family.

Also, awareness to be made of this company's approach in marketing and high pressure tactics to elderly and other consumers.

Business Response
I called the Gentleman who sent in this complaint and discussed.
He and his brother did in fact call on the morning of the appointment to cancel but the agent who went to see the lady was not in the office. He is how we work.
We have telemarketers call and do a survey and ask the person if they would like to have a medicare supplement agent give them a call to see if they could lower the price of their supplement, if they say "yes" we consider this a lead. The lady agreed. Then this lead is turned over to a licensed agent who called the same lady approx. 3-5 days later, reminds her of the conversation with the telemarketer and set the appointment. the agents are in the office on Tuesday and Friday making appointments. They do not turn in the names of appointments as they are all independent 1099 employees.
the Office administrator sent an email out to all agents stating if this was your appointment to cancel. Some agents do check their email on their phone and some do not. This agent does not.
The agent went to the house on the agreed time and the lady asked could they stay on the poach till her daughter got there, which they did. When the daughter got there she simply said they didn't want to change and the agent said ok and left. The lady was not upset, the daughter was not upset and nothing besides showing up at an agreed upon time was done along with about 10 minutes of standing on the porch and talking.

I told the Gentleman this same thing and how we operate, we had a nice conversation and he actually said "I used to do telemarketing, I know that is a tough job" and he understood why the agent showed up as he never was informed not to. The office would have no way of knowing which agent was scheduled to see her which is why we sent out the email to all.

I hope this settles this as we have a very professional office with this being the very 1st complaint to the BBB and none to the insurance commissioner. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.
sincerely,
xxxxx

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Agency, Retirement Planning Service, Annuities, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Accident & Health, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Life

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/11/2010Business started: 04/14/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Commission, NC
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC27699-1200
(800) 546-5664
http://www.ncdoi.com

Insurance Commission, SC
1612 Marion St # 100105
Columbia, SC29201-2939
(803) 737-6180

BBB records show a license number of NPN 559311 for this company, issued by Insurance Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncdoi.com.

BBB records show a license number of 1000063949 for this company, issued by Insurance Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncdoi.com.

BBB records show a license number of 1000081127 for this company, issued by Insurance Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncdoi.com.

BBB records show a license number of 254029 for this company, issued by Insurance Commission, SC.

BBB records show a license number of 163146 for this company, issued by Insurance Commission, SC.

BBB records show a license number of 176111 for this company, issued by Insurance Commission, SC.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Baker (Managing Partner)Mr. Burton Campbell III (Managing Partner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Insurance Agency, Retirement Planning Service, Annuities, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Accident & Health, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Life

Alternate Business Names
AIMS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Insurance Marketing Solutions, LLC

8720 Red Oak Blvd STE 101

Charlotte, NC 28217-4936

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8720 Red Oak Blvd STE 101 

    Charlotte, NC 28217-4936(980) 333-0001

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Insurance Marketing Solutions, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (803) 487-1995
  • (980) 333-0001

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (866) 400-5279
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance Agency

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.