BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2009

Knights Inn

Phone: (704) 394-4131Fax: (704) 394-41314115 Glenwood Dr, CharlotteNC 28208-2946

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2009

BBB has determined that Knights Inn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Knights Inn's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Knights Inn

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was charged a day before reservation. Hotel smelled, lobby and elevator
I disputed $63.14 only for it to be put right back on my card again today due to owner not cancelling reservations as he stated and he told me to cancel with and I did but he didn't hold up his bargain. This is theft and fraud.

Desired Settlement
My refund $63.14 back immediately due to having to wait to dispute this frivolous charge when the owner knows I didn't stay and he still keeps on sending this charge in.

Business Response
Hello xxxxx, i would like to help you resolve this issue, however i need more information about your stay here. **Please can you provide the date in which you checked in or was scheduled to arrive including checkout date. Also i need your booking confirmation number,and i need the last four digits of your Credit Card.

Thank you,

03/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Reservations were made for CIAA weekend 02/27/2015 for two nights for 14 rooms and were cancelled by the hotel previous day.
I made reservations for 14 rooms all under 7 different names there was a party of 14 coming to Charlotte for CIAA.
They stated that they tried to process the credit card on file the day before we were to arrive it didnt go thru so they cancelled all rooms. I booked the reservations over a year ago got a rate half the price of the normal rate of 45.00. The stated that all rooms were cancelled we would have to pay regular price then stated that they had no rooms available. Believe they did this because it was CIAA and they could book room for higher amount of 129.00 per night. they cancelled rooms without notifying anyone that there was an issue.
We went to the hotel site on Nations Ford Road and had to pay the higher amount but the manager stated that they cannot process credit card the day before the person shows up only on the day after 4pm.

Desired Settlement
Refund for the overage that was paid because we had to go to their sister hotel for rooms.

Business Response
I would like to inform our Customer about his reservation for 14 rooms, as I have informed Customer Complain and TripAdvisor. The Guest has made his reservation through Wyndham franchise and as per their policy a customer must provide a VALID CREDIT CARD in order for us (Knights Inn) to hold any room. Wyndham franshise has already informed the Guest that there is nothing they can do as a proper form of payment was not provided. We did not cancel the Guests reservation the day before or charge his card. However his card did not go through on the day of arrival. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because the clerk at the desk stated that they processed the card the day before. And we were in the lobby to pay for rooms so their would have been no need to recharge the card on file. When I'm standing in front of them. If they charge before we got there that day this was also not the correct policy because we arrived by 1pm.

Final Business Response
Once again i have to inform that we never attempt to charge the credit card on day before the arrival date.but we have to charge the card on the day on arrival and card does not go through.
We can not hold the reservation and wait for guest to show up .
All Knights inn are own and operated by individual franchise.We do not have any sister knights inn any where. Customer has received the same answer from knights inn central corporation.
We can not compensate any price difference as per our policy. There is no need for any further clarification in the issue and so case needs to be closed.

09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had received the name of this Motel from Normally they have decent places to stay. We arrived on 7/19 and were going to check out 7/20. We thought the area was very unsafe and the room seemed as though someone was smoking and the beds looked very dirty. I did make a call and complained to what was suppose to be the manager. I never heard from them. The cars coming in looked like the hood. We left and stayed at another nice hotel, of which I could feel safe leaving my car. We were flying out the next morning and felt very uncomfortable if we should have stayed there. Thank you ***********

Desired Settlement
The amount was $43.09 . I don't know if the person I spoke with has proper grammar, he sounded Middle Eastern not sure where.

Business Response
This customer never came or called the desk about any issues that she was having with her room. We would have gladly changed her room or taken care of the issues with her existing room, if we had known. We have never had any problems with peoples cars being broken into or damaged. We're not even sure if this customer left the property or stayed in the room the entire night....they never came to the desk to check out or let us know that they leaving. We don't believe a refund is in order because we're not real sure that they didn't use the room for the rest of the night.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We went to dinner and did not stay in the room. This decision was made at the time we were in route to dinner. We stayed at the ***********, very clean and safe. I did call and ask for a Manager the person who came to the phone could hardly understand English. Sounded like someone from Middle East. Another thing you don't run someone's credit card before they get there, and then give you keys. You go visit if you wish, maybe you could pick up some drugs. Visit the lady at the front desk with no teeth, very classy Hotel, I don't think so. I feel the same as when I wrote you in the beginning. ***********

Final Business Response
I'm very sorry that your experience here at our hotel wasn't a pleasant one. Although I'm not the one who checked you in, I feel bad that you weren't happy with your stay. Also, on your reservation you came through and our policy on the website says that the hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize the card before your arrival. I understand that you're apparently frustrated with the situation and I hope that we can fix this issue. But I have to say I feel very offended about the comment made about me at the front desk (the lady missing some teeth) considering you don't even know me or the circumstances behind my tooth loss. I think it is unfair to take cheap shots at people, especially on the internet where the whole world can see. I will speak to my manager in more detail about the refund and hopefully we can resolve this very soon.

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/20/2000Business started: 04/01/1999
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2006, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. P G Patel (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Nirvan, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Knights Inn

4115 Glenwood Dr

Charlotte, NC 28208-2946

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4115 Glenwood Dr 

    Charlotte, NC 28208-2946(704) 394-4131
    Fax: (704) 394-4131

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Knights Inn is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Hotels


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.