BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

Extended Stay America (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (980) 345-1600Fax: (980) 335-3102View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 49289, Charlotte NC 28277-0076View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

BBB has determined that Extended Stay America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Extended Stay America's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 364 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

364 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 158 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues36
Billing / Collection Issues44
Delivery Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service276
Total Closed Complaints 364

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Extended Stay America

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 14
Total Customer Reviews 14 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (364)
09/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

On July 6, 2015 at approximately 5:20 pm I went to the front desk and complained about the loud noises coming from the occupants in the room on top of ours. I brought this to the attention of Ms. *******. I explained that there were loud noises coming from the room on top of ours and it was distracting because we were resting. I told Ms. ******* that the noises sounded like stomping, and jumping noises. Ms. ******* said that the residents had just checked in today. I felt that comment was very unprofessional because it did not address the issue that we were having. I then asked Ms. ******* for the number to their corporate office. Ms. ******* said that if I call corporate they would not do anything but just send it back to her.On the same day shortly after I returned to my room, two police officers knocked on our door (room ***)and said that the manager Ms. ******* has asked us to vacate the room in 15 minutes. Ms. ******* told the officers to tell us not to concern ourselves with money because we owed them. What Ms. ******* told the officer ***** calls into question her veracity. We told Officer ***** that the hotel owed us money. When we moved in on July 1st we paid for one week ($392), ($150 pet fee), and a $100 deposit.We are good customers and professional people. The only mistake we made was making a complaint about the noise coming from the room over ours. We did not deserve the way we were treated by the manager and Extended Stay America Hotel. I am certain that both officers would attest to our deportment which was non-combative, non-argumentative, and non-confrontational. We informed the officers that we would vacate as soon as possible but it would take longer than 15 minutes. The officers looked into our room and agreed that we would need longer than 15 minutes. We left the room in very good condition. It was clean and we have pictures and witnesses to prove it.All required documents can be provided.
Product_Or_Service: Hotel Stay

Desired Settlement
I want the Better Business Bureau and other legal organizations to investigate the Extended Stay America Hotel and the manager Ms. ******** ******* for unprofessionalism, mismanagement, and a nefarious use of the law. If possible I would like Ms. ******** ******* to be relieved of her duties as manager at the hotel.Finally I would like to be reimbursed for $292.92. The money we are requesting to be refunded is the unused portion of our weekly room rate and pet fee, and our deposit.

Business Response
Spoke with guest about his experience at the hotel. We apologize that it was not up to the guest nor our standards. I have advised that a refund for the unused portion of his stay will be refunded as well as the deposit. I advised that refunds will be coming from the corporate office. Guest was happy with this resolution.

09/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I think I deserve a refund...I have never stayed a hotel so nasty and filthy in my life. I recently stayed your Extended Stay Hotel in **********/***********. The only reason we stayed is because they had already charged by credit card and would not refund me my money. When we arrived at the hotel there was trash all over the place. The room was not clean; luckily we always bring our own sheets and pillows. We could not put our things away because there was bugs and nasty stuff in every draw. Dead bugs were all over the walls and ceilings which you will see in the pic I have included. The stove did not work. The refrigerator was disgusting and there was mold in the freezer. We did not feel safe putting our food in it, so we left it in the coolers we brought. The main reason we pick the Extended Stay was because we wanted to save money but cooking and bringing our own food; but so much for that. The bathroom was nasty also. The sink was filled w stains. Stains were all on the floor and ceilings. I dont know about you and if you ever stayed at a hotel but I am sure that there is no way in holy H@#* that you would be ok with a room like this. I am a recent kidney transplant patient and am easily accessible to germs and infections; this room was an infection waiting to happen. On top of that I was charged $318.26 on my credit card but the receipt that I was given stated that the amount for the room was $263.20. I could not enjoy my trip know that every night I had to go back to a nasty bug infested room. I have attached the following photos as proof of what my family and I had to endure. If I do not get a valid response, I will be forwarding this fax/email to the local health department, news channel, and BBB. Thanks, Reservation (Folio )XXXXXXRoom ***
Product_Or_Service: Hotel Room
Order_Number: Confirmation # XXXXX
Account_Number: Folio # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
i would like a full refund.

Business Response
Extended Stay America truly regrets the experience our guest had at this hotel and the delay in response from our management team. The photos provided and the details of this experience have already been shared with upper management to ensure corrective action is taken.

I have also had the opportunity to speak with our guest and apologize for the aggravation and inconvenience she endured. There is no excuse for this situation and we value her patronage. Thank you again, for bringing this to my attention. Please let me know if you have any additional questions. Thank you.

09/18/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

On August 10th, 2015 my daughter and I checked into Extended Stay America ********** **** **********-******** - under the management of Mr. ******** ******** However, on August 12th, 2015 we encountered a serious situation in your check in hall. On August 12th, I went down to the reception of the hotel and was poorly treated by Ms. ******* then working at the front desk. I respectfully asked her to see if it would be possible to provide us with a discount on our rate, mentioning I had pre-paid in full for our stay in full upon arrival. After, providing our room number - *** to Ms. ******* she told me that in fact we had not paid in full, until our check out date on August 15th, as I had said previously, and that our scheduled departure date was August 12th. Additionally, to my surprise and astonishment she told me that I had checked in on August 9th when in fact that was clearly not the case. Evidently, I immediately disagreed with what Ms. ****** said and assured her that what she was telling me was incorrect. Regardless of explaining my situation to her I insisted and said I could prove it with the receipt of our payment that we checked in August 10th. Even though, she insisted that we checked in on August 9th. With her wrong and unfair observation, I felt strongly disrespected by her unacceptable attitude, not to mention guests were passing by, overheard her unfair and wrong judgment. Then, I told her I would go up to my room and would bring her the receipt, to prove that I was right and she was wrong. Immediately after, I brought the receipt with me and showed it to her. Of course, this proved the assertion of what I had mentioned previously. Then, she said: Oh I understood you said you were staying in room **** This was ridiculous! Working at the front desk of a hotel and having an efficient, respectful and proactive attitude is what characterizes a diligent and courteous employee, which was not her case. Ms. ****** should have asked me my name and or my room number if she

Desired Settlement
realized there was a discrepancy between what she was telling me and what I was telling her! But no, she did not do it and insisted that I had even arrived early at the hotel and was being charged for that. The least that I could expect from the hotel is that we should be fully reimbursed for our stay as a demonstration of recognition of completely inadequate, humiliating, and disrespectful behavior originated by Ms. ****** an employee at this very hotel.

Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to review Mr. *******'s concerns and apologize for any inconvenience this incident has caused. We have shared his feedback with upper management and will internally address the concerns mentioned regarding the staff. As a good faith gesture Mr. ******* was provided a refund for two nights as we determined is warranted compensation for this experience. We ask that he provide his financial institution 7-10 business days to reflect the credit. We attempted to contact the guest, however was not successful. We appreciate Mr. *******'s bringing these concerns to our attention and encourage him to contact us directly should he have any additional questions or concerns.

****** **********
Guest Relations Coordinator

09/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I had a two week stay at the Extended Stay America on *************** in **************** back in March and April taking advantage of a 20% off offer. I've stayed in the past with this company always and received the 20% back at the end of my stay. This time at check out I was told I would receive the 20% refund the next day. The refund never came.After a few days and for the next 5 months I called their hotel and corporate office at least 15 times. Always being promised the 20% an approx $120. They promised to credit my credit card 3 or 4 times but two weeks after my stay someone started using my credit card number so I cancelled the card. So then they promised to mail me a check which never came. Last Tuesday I spoke to the hotel manager and he promised to mail me cash because for some reason a check couldn't be written.
Product_Or_Service: Hotel Stay

Desired Settlement
Send the amount due. It would be nice to get something extra for my troubles collecting and for them being ******.

Business Response
Spoke with guest and advised that we have refunded the owed amount to cc. Guest will receive the amount within 3 to 5 business days depending on his finical institution's refund policy. We appreciate the guest patience while we have reviewed this matter. We invite guest to contact us directly should he have any further questions.

08/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

TERRIBLE AND INTIMIDATING CUSTOMER SERVICE BY "*****". Charged for two nights, stayed only one night. Manager failed to keep refund commitment.
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM "*****" and the Manager, especially "*****". I booked for 7 nights, asked for a quiet room and got a noisy room in behind the freeway and could hear vehicles scrambling the whole time.
***** was so arritated, I felt "UNSAFE", because I felt like he was either going to start shouting or hit me in the face because I said I didnt like the room.
Called the manager four times the next day before she returned my call, Manager could not careless about it. She said she wa busy doing other stuff.

First call was made at 10 am and then four more calls but manager was not available to talk until around 5 pm.
She promised to issue the refund but charged me for second day as well. I did not even use the room and could have checked out early if manager had called me earlier.
Charged for two days, stayed only one day and Manager promised to charge for one day.

Desired Settlement
Refund for the second night and disciplinary action against ***** (a NONCHALANT, BULLY Employee who easily feels insulted).

Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to review Mr. *******'s concerns and apologize for any inconvenience this incident has caused. We have shared his feedback with upper management and will internally address the concerns mentioned regarding the staff. Mr. ******* was provided a refund for the additional night he was billed on 08/21/2015. We ask that he provide his financial institution 3-5 business days to reflect the credit. We have also provided a copy of his updated receipt reflecting the credit for his review. We appreciate Mr. ******* bringing these concerns to our attention and encourage him to contact us directly should he have any additional questions or concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you. Issue taken care of quickly and responsibly.
Refund Issued that was requested and good communication and care from Senior Management.
Best regards,

Page 1 of 44
09/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Extended Stay has provided poor customer service which included mail theft and abuse.When trying to reach out to corporate our concerns were ignored.
My complaint is against Extended Stay corporation for condoning unprofessional and unethical behavior displayed by the staff, including management. Also, the disregard for our concern as guests which included infestations of ants, spiders, and bed bugs, plumbing issues, being given dirty towels by staff, mold, theft, yelling, belittlement, and even assault.Together, my mom and I checked in on 8/3/2009. We come from a prominent family in *********, *************. My mom left the home she shared with her abusive husband in ************* to be far away from his abuse. My dad is an attorney and a very powerful influential man. Upon check in to Extended Stay, mom told the manager she left home from my dad who was abusive to her. After learning our dad hired a private detective to find her, she specifically asked that no one on staff give out any information.The same desk clerk who has been withholding the mail, knew this, but gave information to a mysterious caller. This happened in spite of the manager ensuring guest privacy. The manager suggested to register under a different name to be safe. Mom used her mom's middle and maiden name. The manager said mom would be safe and to transfer our mail to our new home. She transferred to to another location and was replaced by a different manager. The new manager ****** ***** never made himself approachable for the guest concerns. When Mother spoke to him about bug bites from the mattress he was dismissive. He was more concerned about how he looked to his superiors than accommodating the guests. Mom called the Extended Stay corporate office to inform them of the issue. The manager assumed she purposely called corporate to make him look bad. As a result, he retaliated and defamed our character with other employees. We noticed that many new employees treated us differently than other guests. Some of them treated us cruelly. Though the previous manager welcomed us to stay as long as we wanted, Mr.***** did not want us at Extended Stay as guests. He tried all he could to get rid of us. Including defaming our character to area manager ***** ***** was once respectful and courteous. After paying our monthly rent the previous day, Mr. ***** yelled at us and said to take her money and get out of his hotel. Mr.*****'s behavior was based on the lies of Mr.***** and his assistant ***** ******* The employees behavior escallated. Mr. ****** who was promoted to assistant manager yelled at Mom in front of the manager saying " I don't like you and I will never respect you." The manager never corrected his behavior. Management is responsible for guests mail. When we noticed the outdated, tampered mail, we informed management. Mr ****** became enraged, violent and assaulted mother. He knew mom left home because of abuse. He had no right to hit a senior guest. When he received a promotion to manager, he transferred to another location. He was gone, but left his wrath. We felt we paid to be treated rude. Upon yet another promotion, he returned more powerful than ever. He now not only intimidates mom, but other seniors citizens as well. He pushes his guests around, especially seniors. He believes the monthly guests are beneath him. He has yelled at my mom and myself numerous times. I have been yelled at to the point of tears. We have been yelled at by other staff including my mom being cussed at by one of them. When Mr. ****** yelled at another senior guest, corporate insisted on him calling to apologize to her. We never received an apology. He and other managers have defamed us to corporate resulting in negligence to our concerns. Corporate ignored all the issues I have indicated. Theft of mail and other personal property. Also, repairs that needed to be made, but were not fixed until we called the Health Department.There were bugs in the mattress and mold growing on door. There is also an entrance with a lock that consistently stays broken allowing anyone entry compromising the safety of all the guests

Desired Settlement
We reached out to corporate expressing our concerns, yet they have done nothing to make amends for the experience my mom and I have had as guests.This company needs to be investigated and should not be allowed to continue unethical business practices. My mother and I would like an apology from corporate as well as the employees involved.

Business Response
Ms. ********* has been a guest of the *** ***** location since February 1, 2010. Since that time, Ms. ********* and her family members have made numerous similar complaints to Extended Stay America's corporate guest services department and to another state consumer protection agency. Extended Stay America has investigated and responded to each complaint. (See attached November 13, 2014 Response to the ********** ********** of ******* and December 20, 2013, Response to ***** ******** ********** of ******* ******** ********** **********

The allegations set forth in this Complaint appear to be based upon the same complaints previously addressed in Extended Stay America's response to the complaint filed on behalf of Ms. ********* with the ***** ******** ********** of ******* ******** ********** ********* As set forth in that response, Extended Stay America has taken appropriate action to handle and resolve Ms. *********'s complaints throughout her stay. Additionally, at no time has Ms. ********* been subjected to any abuse by Hotel management or associates.

09/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Yes, I recently stayed at Extended Stay America *******. for three nights. I am a doctor and I OFTEN used ESA because it is convenient to be able to cook, etc when I travel for work. This location was absolutely horrific, however. I was placed in a room for 2 nights in which there was no air conditioning and the shower was inoperable. Twice I complained and I was told that there were no additional rooms and that they would move me when a room became available. Twice, a maintenance person came to the room and did not fix the issue. Keep in mind that it was in ********** where the temperature was well near 100 degrees. It was like staying in a sauna and the hotel was uninhabitable. On the third night, I was moved to another room where the AC worked and yet the shower had no shower curtain. That day, the manager called me and told me that he would give me a free hotel stay for the future. What kind of customer service is that? I am requesting a full refund for the inconvenience and I hope that this hotel improves and becomes inhabitable. Additionally, the room next to me for the first 2 nights, the guests were clearly dealing drugs. About 10-15 times, my door was knocked on and people asked me if I "had the crack" and also "you got my weed?" Eventually, I started directing them to the room next to me because I was tired of being bothered and I watched the traffic continually go to that aforementioned room, people stay in the room for about 2-5 minutes and then get in their car and leave. I also brought this information to the attention of the hotel attendant and was told that "there is nothing I can do about that, they can do what they want." I felt unsafe to even go outside and as I have said, the hotel room was registering 100 degrees based on my personal thermometer. I am requesting a full reimbursement and ESA needs to investigate this hotel. The general manager needs to be investigated for allowing this type of third world country treatment at an extended stay hotel. I do not wish to be contacted by the manager of this hotel, I want to be contacted by corporate Extended Stay America but I would like this issue to also be sent to the general manager.
Product_Or_Service: Hotel room

Desired Settlement
Refund of 3 nights stay

Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to review Mr. ******'s concerns. We are disheartened to hear of the experience Mr. ****** documented and have shared this feedback with the upper management of this property to immediately address. The safety of our guests is a top priority and ensuring a comfortable and pleasant stay for all of our guests is imperative. We apologize for this experience and appreciate Mr. ****** bringing this to our attention to address so that this incident is not repeated. We have approved a full refund for his stay through *********. We encourage Mr. ****** to contact ********* directly to ensure his refund is received. The refund should be reflected in their systems within 3-5 business days. Should Mr. ****** have any additional questions or concerns, we invite him to contact us directly.

09/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Dear Sir/MadamI was a guest at the extended stay ********* location from June 29, 2015 to July 12, 2015 . My room no was ***. I wanted to provide some direct feedback how terrible the rooms are maintained and the lack of promised services. Disinterested and unhelpful staff at the counter with too much of attitudeThe weekly cleaning service on July 7 did not even do my dishes or even empty the thrash. I have attached a picture of a sign which clearly states that room cleaning services includes cleaning the dishes . I brought this up to the front desk who refused to even help on this pointThe website promises furnished with utensils.. No such thing was there in the room. It took me a day after I checked in chasing the front desk to get some utensils. The dishes provided were stained and not even cleaned. I have attached pictures. It is NOT ACCEPTABLE that a facility that advertises so much about furnished room rentals provide such unclean utensils which are meant for food consumption.Rooms and website say No smoking premises which is misleading. Folks are allowed to smoke in abundance right outside and the whole corridor stenches in cigratte smokeNo sponge provided for cleaning dishes inspite of asking for it several timesAnimal poop for days at the entrance for daysNo adequate signs to find the room. The facility and numbering system is like a maze making it extremely difficult to locate your roomI have paid more $2200 for my stay and the quality service and rooms was not acceptable. .

Desired Settlement
Refund of 4 days room rental fee

Business Response
I have reached out to guest but was unsuccessfully with reaching him. I have spoken with management of the hotel and been advised that they have spoken with guest, and as requested provided compensation . We strive to ensure that we meet our guest needs and concerns in a timely matter, and are sadden if this stay was not up to the guest standards nor ours. We welcome guest to contact us should they have any further questions or concerns.

09/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have been staying at this hotel since January 2015, and most of the staff knows me by name. I have had two instances in which my belongings were stolen. The first situation I had to leave some speakers behind in the room because I couldn't fit them in my car. When I went back, no one seemed to know what I was talking about, and finally with a little more persistence, I got a few of my items back but one set of speakers which I paid $200 for. The staff didn't offer any explanation or any compensation for my loss. The person who cleaned my room, should have turned my stuff into the management and they should have held on to it. The second situation was just this week, I left a pair of headphones in the room and as soon as I realized it, I contacted the staff who gave me the run around for 4 days. They told me they would let the manager know, which they never did. The manager viewed the tape and told me he didn't see them on my head which is where they always were. I was then told that there was a new person in the room and they would "be there for a while". Once again I wasn't offered any sort of compensation. I paid $ 399 for those headphones. I am furious because not only did I feel totally devalued and disrespected as a customer, it was like a slap in the face. Once again, the person who cleaned the room, should have turned them into the office, which they didn't. I feel like they are supporting their employees from stealing from people.

Desired Settlement
This is absolutely unacceptable and as a customer of theirs for 8 months now, they should be held accountable for the $599 in losses I have incurred at the hands of their staff.

Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to review Mr. *******'s complaint. Upon receiving his concerns, we reviewed with the upper management of this property location and submitted his claims of loss to a third party insurance company to further assist. Mr. *******'s claims will be handled by an insurance adjuster who will be in contact with him personally within 48 hours. We have attempted to contact Mr. ******* to advise of this information and we invite him to contact us directly should he have any additional questions. We appreciate this incident being brought to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

09/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Worst experience ever at a hotel. Dirty rooms, horrible customer service. Felt harassed by manager and district manager
Was kicked out of hotel with no notice due to not have a shirt on directly outside my room. The hotel called the police on me for not wearing my shirt and I was forced to pack my belongings while the police waited for me. I am a sales professional and missed numerous obligations due to this issue. When I asked to see policy that a shirt must be worn, I was told it was manager discretion and that I had to leave despite the fact that I was paid up for 3 more days. Being rushed to pack to try and make it to my obligations, I forgot to pack my cell phone and laptop chargers. When I returned to recover the property that was left, the police were called again even though I was being polite about trying to recover my property. I left and had to spend about 125$ to replace the items that had mysteriously disappeared.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking replacement of the items that I left and were never recovered. I will provide a receipt for the items that needed to be replaced. I am also looking for at least one week credit for the time I spent there to compensate for missing work obligations due to this inconvenience. I would also like to receive a written apology from the general manager of the ******, ******** *********. Would also like to receive a written apology from the district manager of that area for their unprofessional behavior. Both the district manager and general managers refused to provide their full names to me. Was also promised that I would hear from the regional manager within 48 hours of the first complaint call I made on August 14th. Such a bad experience at this *********. I have been using extended stays for years and will not continue to do so without this being rectified.

Business Response
Spoke with guest about his experience at the Crossland and guest was advised we would refund him the amount for the laptop and phone charger that he was not able to retrieve. Guest states that he would like a written apology from the district manager and general manager of the hotel. We welcome guest to contact us directly should he have any further questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Was told I would receive written apologies from their district manager and general manager for their unprofessional behavior and I did not. Was also told I would be refunded the $125 I had to spend to replace my chargers, I haven't checked my statement yet to see if it was refunded, but regardless, the unprofessional nature of this business continues. If I recieved the refund and responses as promised, I would have considered it resolved. Still very unhappy of my overall experience with this company. Don't stay here unless you want to be treated unfairly.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I already spoke with someone from your corporate office and was promised that I would receive written apologies from the district manager and general manager from location for their unprofessional behavior. I will accept not considered the case resolved until I receive those. My email was already provided so I can receive the apologies. This goes to show how unprofessional this company is as not only a hotel but even their corporate office does not follow through.

Final Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ***** had while staying with us. We value all of our guest and strive to provide our guest with a comfortable and safe place while lodging with us. I have verified with upper management that a refund to replace items that guest was not able to retrieve has been processed. We ask that our guest please contact us directly should he have any further questions or concerns.

Page 1 of 29

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels, Executive Suites

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/25/2011Business started: 09/03/1997
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sanjay Shah (VP Training Standards & Guest Relations)Customer Contact: Ms. Toni Fimowicz (Guest Relations Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Hotels, Executive Suites

Alternate Business Names
Crossland Economy Studios, Extended Stay Hotels, Extended Stay Canada, ESA Management, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Extended Stay America has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 14 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Extended Stay America is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 676-0569
  • (704) 510-1636
  • (704) 510-0108
  • (704) 527-1960
  • (704) 676-0083
  • (704) 341-0929
  • (704) 542-9521
  • (980) 345-1892

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (704) 676-0325
  • (864) 591-4344
  • (704) 510-1637
  • (704) 548-3892
  • (704) 529-7482
  • (704) 676-0211
  • (704) 542-9521
  • (980) 335-3122

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Hotels


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.