BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2010

Dula Construction Company, Inc.

Find a Location

(704) 599-483310345 Nations Ford Rd Ste W, CharlotteNC 28273-5823

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2010

BBB has determined that Dula Construction Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dula Construction Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Dula Construction Company, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/05/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dula written guarantee stated ***** ***** was installed per ** specs. Dula admitted they did not install per specs & therefore ** warranty is voided.
Our home was purchased in February 2007. Dula construction provided a five year warranty that issue Guaranteed that the ***** ****** siding was installed per manufactures specifications.

A home inspection conducted by a certified ***** ****** inspector verified the product was not installed per the specific guidelines.

Dula later admitted via email that they followed the builders guidelines rather than their guarantee. ***** ****** will not 50 year warranty is therefore voided since the product was installed improperly.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of the product or a Refund to allow a proper installation and the 50 year warranty.

Business Response
I have checked with both my sales manager and my service manager and no one has knowledge of the evaluation of claim made of improper siding installation.

I would like to meet with homeowner and review install issues in hope of resolution before proceeding with complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello,

I am the original owner of my home and carefully considered the overwhelming advantages of using ***** ****** over brick for its long lasting durability natural characteristics and beauty.

I need your help! Our HARDIE plank exterior was NOT installed per your specifications. This was validated by a certified JH home inspector. I am left with an unsightly inferior installation and a warranty that is useless.

Finally, I filed a complaint with the BBB to help me. The installation company has agreed to come and look at the installation yet again.

***** ****** is simply the only authority to provide assistance in reaching a proper resolution.

The outcome of this matter is financially critical to me. I am proud to be both a veteran and a now retired (disabled) law enforcement officer. My finances are very limited.

I pray for you help! After 9 years of seeking an answer it truly is Now or Never.

This letter will be included in my required BBB response.
BBB Complaint Case# ****** (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

I reserve the right to request the BBB to reopen my complaint if D*** Construction Company does not follow through with their inspection within 15 business days.

Final Consumer Response
From: ******* ************ (mailto:*******************)
Sent: Tuesday, May 03, 2016 11:13 PM
To: ***** **** <***********************>
Subject: Case ID: XXXXXX

Hello ******

Please change my response to "accepting the response from the business".

My response letter to the manufacturer ***** ****** should be included with my file and response to Dula Construction.

I included a 15 business day provision for Dula to meet their offer.

Any questions please contact me.

Thank you,

******* ************

Sent from my iPhone

10/16/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** Construction does not deliver the warranty service of the replaced siding specified in the contract.
**** Construction installed the siding for my home in November 2011. On July 27, 2014, I found that a couple pieces of vinyl dropped off from the siding **** installed. I called *********** at **** for the warranty service on July 28, 2014. **** promised to fix it, but nothing happened. On Aug 11, 2014, I called **** Construction again for service, and I got the promise, but nothing happened. On Sept 25, I talked with Mr. **** and got the promise from him to fix it on the same day. But nothing happened. I called Sept 29, the same thing again. I really cannot trust **** Construction regarding their warranty service and business practice.

Desired Settlement
Dula Construction should refund whatever portion the warranty service included in the constract. I paid Dula more than $13000 for the entire work (siding & roof), but I did not get the warranty service promised by Dula Construction!!!

Business Response
From: **********
Sent: Friday, October 03, 2014 11:08 AM
To: ***************
Cc: ***************************
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint *******

*****
I have researched this complaint and have found:
We received the request from the homeowner and made several attempts to contact him to schedule repair. When he did not respond to our repeated requests, we went ahead and performed the repair without an appointment.
The owner now is aware the repair was performed in a timely manner and no complaint should have been registered.
The owner is contacting the BBB to rescind his complaint as of his phone conversation with our manager, **************, at 11:00 a.m. today.
Please let me know if you need any further information.
Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Dula Construction is proud to have a reputation for taking care of our customers.
**********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Finally Dula Construction completed the repair job. However, it took more than 6 weeks to have it done. I requested the service on July 27, 2014. But it was completed around Sept 15 after this BBB complain was filed on Sept 9. I like to see the effect of BBB. I could accept the response except the following statement from **********, which is not correct and should be removed from her response: "We received the request from the homeowner and made several attempts to contact him to schedule repair. When he did not respond to our repeated requests, we went ahead and performed the repair without an appointment. The owner now is aware the repair was performed in a timely manner and no complaint should have been registered."

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Contractor - Interior Trim, Windows, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/19/1997Business started: 01/01/1976Business started locally: 10/01/1980
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1999, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy Dula (President)Mr. Steven Dula (Secretary of Operations)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Home Improvements, Contractor - Interior Trim, Windows, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dula Construction Company, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dula Construction Company, Inc.

10345 Nations Ford Rd Ste W

Charlotte, NC 28273-5823

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 10345 Nations Ford Rd Ste W 

    Charlotte, NC 28273-5823(704) 599-4833

  • PO Box 78350 

    Charlotte, NC 28271-7030

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dula Construction Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

ROOFING CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.