BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/2013

Better Than Before Remodel Repair and Restore/Siding and Trim

(704) 332-1234View Additional Phone Numbers3621 N Rocky River Rd, MonroeNC 28110-9296

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/2013

BBB has determined that Better Than Before Remodel Repair and Restore/Siding and Trim meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Better Than Before Remodel Repair and Restore/Siding and Trim's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Better Than Before Remodel Repair and Restore/Siding and Trim
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Better Than Before was to pay ******************** for work performed at ***************, Charlotte NC XXXXX from Escrow. Invoice was never paid.
Upon closing on the property of ***************, Charlotte, NC XXXXX in November 2011, funds were delivered to escrow for home repair. The funds were to be distributed to Better than Before Home Repair for repairs. An estimate was requested from Better than Before Home Repair for the installation of a fence. The estimate was provided but was extremely high. I asked the owner of Better than Before, Brian, if I could get a company to complete the work on my own but still pay his fee of 10%. He said this would be fine. The fence was completed on February 2, 2012 and an invoice was provided from ********************. ****** ***** requested my permission to release $3000.00 to Brian from Better than Before Home Repair on February 17, 2012. The amount of the check paid to Brian from The ****** ***** Law Firm(************, ****** *****) on February 17, 2012 was $3000.00. Brian was to pay $2700.00 to ********************(************, *** *****) and keep 10% or $300.00. The bill at ******************** continued to go past due without payment from Better than Before Home Repair. I paid ******************** with personal funds to settle our contract.(I have canceled check) ******************** nor I have seen any payment from Better than Before Home Repair. I have continued to follow up with Brian at Better than Before Home Repair every other week to obtain reimbursement for funds. He no longer takes my phone call or returns my messages.

Business' Initial Response
I owe mr ****** for fence work at his house. I agree to pay $3000.00 for the fence work done by others. I can make payments in the amout of $500 per month starting on the 10 of September. If I can make bigger payments I will. Better Than Before Home Repair.

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer indicated they have not heard from the company

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Fences - Wood, Pressure Washing, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Landscape Lighting, Windows, Vinyl Flooring, Handyman Services, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck - Repair, Patio & Deck Builders, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Home Repairs and Maintenance, Gutter Cleaning, Carpet Installation, Carpet & Rug Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/26/2007Business started: 01/01/1989
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Long (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Home Improvements, Fences - Wood, Pressure Washing, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Landscape Lighting, Windows, Vinyl Flooring, Handyman Services, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck - Repair, Patio & Deck Builders, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Home Repairs and Maintenance, Gutter Cleaning, Carpet Installation, Carpet & Rug Repair

Alternate Business Names
Better Than Before Home Repair
Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Carpet Cleaning Services - How to Get Your Moneys Worth
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Better Than Before Remodel Repair and Restore/Siding and Trim

3621 N Rocky River Rd

Monroe, NC 28110-9296

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3621 N Rocky River Rd 

    Monroe, NC 28110-9296(704) 332-1234
    (704) 507-6210

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Better Than Before Remodel Repair and Restore/Siding and Trim is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 507-6210
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.