BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. (The)

Phone: (704) 569-4220Fax: (704) 569-98085940 Monroe Rd, CharlotteNC 28212-6106http://www.bainbridgecrew.com ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. (The) is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. (The)'s rating include:

  • Failure to comply with arbitration decision or mediated settlement.
  • 17 complaints filed against business
  • 7 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • 5 serious complaints filed against business.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate this business has a pattern of complaints concerning the contract area. Consumers report that Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. has been unable to complete the terms of the contract in a timely manner after being paid to do so.

In July 2013, the business met with BBB to discuss concerns regarding the patterns of complaints surrounding the company's failure to honor the contracts in a timely fashion. Although these complaints had been resolved, at times a company may work to resolve every complaint brought to its attention but fail to correct the underlying cause of the complaints.

Additionally, complaints may be routine based on the industry but allege serious and ongoing problems. The company reported issues based on the economy as well as that of the home improvement industry.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. (The)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
10/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: The agreed upon and contracted for services have not been completed in a reasonable time. Quality issues have also not been addressed.
A contract was agreed to and signed on 3/2/2012 to install a 3 piece bathroom in my basement. The contract has a starting date of 3/26 and an end date of 4/10. Work started late and has still not been completed, as of 8/31/12. Payment was $5000 ( 50 %) down, due and paid on contract signing, and with 3 further payments specified: $2500 on start of mechanical ( paid 5/11/12 ); $2575 of start of drywall ( paid 6/13 ); and $250 at completion ( not yet paid ).
In June the drywall was completed and tile installed, albeit poorly. No company representative has been to the job site since June, despite repeated assurances that a representative would come out and inspect the tile.
Since the tile was installed, in June, the only work done was to install, partially, a drop ceiling in the bathroom -- a 6 x 10 space.

Repeatably, work has been scheduled and cancelled, either formally or when no one shows up as scheduled.

It is remarkably coincidental that the service declined markedly after the most recent payment.

Business' Initial Response
We have been working with customer to resolve this complaint since last week, and have materials on site to complete project in an expeditious manner. The complaint itself was addressed with this customer this week after an appropriate plan of action was developed.
A lead carpenter has been assigned to stay on this job until completion as of the beginning of this week, and will complete the work to the homeowner's satisfaction.
The issue of the poor tile workmanship has been addressed and is being corrected to the homeowner's satisfaction. All final trim out and punchlist will be completed next week if not by Friday and the final inpsections for plumbing, electrical, and final building will be completed after that. Once project is closed out to the homeowner's satisfaction, we will warranty the project for a period of one year.
We apologize in earnest to this customer for having to wait such a long time for the completion of their project and want to assure them we will complete the project to their satisfaction and move with a purpose from here on out.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While progress has been made, the job has not been completed. Even in the the last 2 weeks there have been postponements, and delays. I can not accept closure of this complaint until the job has been completed.

Business' Final Response
We are getting the final inspection for the project tomorrow 10/10/12. We did not realize the homeowner had not accepted our response, and have completed the project between the time the customer made a counterresponse stating that they would not close the case as resolved until the project was complete. After double-checking with production, it has been confirmed that the project has been completed to the customer's satisfaction as of today 10/9/12 and that the final inspection to close the project out with Cabarrus County Building Standards is scheduled for 10/10/12, and should pass barring any unforeseen circumstances.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/23/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/14/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/27/2011Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: After paying *************** 75% of the total requested projects, only 25% is complete. Has provide no estimated completion time on any projects
I contracted with *************** on Feb 17, 2014 with a check for $13,000. Work began the first week in March. He had a number of projects to do and committed to do them with an estimated completion time of 2.5 months. The projects were 1) reconfigure washer/dryer area to include a double oven system. 2) Reconfigure the area where the ovens use to be to a pantry. 3) Replace french door system in den, 4) Add extra window to upstairs master bedroom. 5) Completely rennovate master bathroom, 6) Completely rennovate upstairs hall bathroom, 7) replace tile floor in kitchen, entrance hall and 1/2 bath. As of 5/19/14, only the floor has been 100% completed but left with stains that I cannot clean. The reconfigured washer dryer area is basically done. My upstairs hall bathroom has been gutted since March 7. Nothing there but a wrong tub that doesn't fit. I have paid $31,835 on projects totaling $43,835. Master bathroom not started, French door system not started, extra window not started. Kitchen cabinet doors not ordered, kitchen shelves not completed. No materials at all ordered. For $31,835, I have a partially completed cabinet, partially completed washer dryer area and a new stained kitchen floor. I have sent numerous emails, texts and made countless phone calls. Always an excuse. He has trouble getting contractors and is not ordering material despite my overpayemt to him. He also refuses to replace the wrong tub currently in the gutted bathroom despite promises to do so

Initial Business Response
Dear BBB,
I met with Mr. **** on Saturday May 24th and we decided together to finish the hall bath, install the French door, and finish the balance of the kitchen work by June 30th. Whether we continue with the remainder of the work will be decided by both parties at this point.
Mr. **** is happy with the quality of the work that has been completed to date and we will continue to cooperate with the BBB in this matter.
Sincerely,

**** **********,****
CEO, The Bainbridge Crew


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I partially accept Mr. **********'s response. I will need to wait until work has resumed for me to determine if i 100% accept his response to the BBB. So far, work has not resumed

Final Business Response
From: Bain Bridge Crew (mailto:**********@bainbridgecrew.com)
Sent: Monday, June 02, 2014 1:14 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: *********** (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

Good Afternoon. I am emailing to inform you that we are meeting with the homeowner today, Monday, June 2, 2014 at 5:30p.m. Also that we will be working on this matter Wednesday and Thursday of this week.

*** ** ******
*** ** ******
Production Manager
The Bainbridge Crew
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The meeting that was suppose to have happened never occurred. I waited until 6:30 and messaged **** that his new assistant never showed as planned.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

05/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: We have a completed deck, however, it did not pass inspection. We have been trying to get item corrected since 10/2013. No corrections made to date.
We signed a contract on June 12, 2013 to have a 12x8 deck completed with the old existing deck torn down. The old deck was be done done ASAP because of water damage/leakage and the new deck to be finished by August 30, 2013. We had to tear down the old ourselves due to delays and the deadline for the completed deck was missed. After the old deck was torn down and prior to the new deck being installed we did not have any water leakage and all damages resulting from the old deck were repaired. Once the new deck was completely installed, with heavy rain, the leaking returned. The water is leaking in our basement and on the first floor by the deck exit door. We are beginning to incur new damages to the first floor and the ceiling in the basement. In addition to these problems the deck did not pass inspection. There are several code violations. The contractor was notified of all of the code violations and we have spoken to Mr. xxxxx multiple times on the water damage. Mr. xxxxx has sent someone out on three occasions and he has even come once himself but no corrections have been made. Only promises that the issues will be fixed.

Initial Business Response
Response from ********************, the owner of The Bainbridge Crew:
I visited the site the week of 4/21/14 and was disgusted by the workmanship. I called Mr. xxxxx on 4/25/14 and apologized that we couldn\'t get out there this week. He said to just keep them posted. We will remedy the deck within the next thirty days. I know they have been waiting for this to get corrected and I am doing the best I can at this point.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We appreciate Mr. xxxxx efforts in repairing our deck. However, we are in the mist of Spring with the likelihood of many rainy days. We would like this resolved prior to the 30 days quoted. The longer we wait the longer we are at risk for additional water damage. We have already been waiting since late last year to have these issues corrected and have only received visits to evaluate the errors with promises of crews to come back to fix the problems. This is a 12 X 8 deck, a very small job I do not understand why so much time is needed to correct the problems. It's been 6 months and we are still waiting.

Final Business Response
Response by **** **********, Jr on 6 May 14:
I understand that the customer does not want to wait 30 more days based on the additional information the customer provided on 1 May 14.
I will try and aim for the week of 5/19/14 to do the repairs. If this is not acceptable please contact me. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not understand why is has taken so long thus far and why we are still being given future dates to correct these problems. This is not a new problem and this situation should have been handled months ago after the inspection was done(stopped). Please note, the inspector found so many defects that the inspection was stopped. Therefore, there could be other issues outside of the ones captured in the inspection that was partially done. Someone needs to come to ensure all the things in the current inspection can be corrected timely and to inspect the deck for additional things the inspector did not get to. We do not want someone to come to our home again to evaluate just what needs to be done on May 19 but a crew needs to be at our house making corrections. Someone needs to be here prior to that to ensure all supplies and needed material is here on sight to correct these issues. Although we are not pleased with the new date listed of May 19, it feel like it will be even later than that based on this process if we have to keeping waiting for a response each time we do not like what the company is proposing. I feel like this is another way for the company to take advantage of the delays. If all of issues can not be completed and the deck not pass inspection by May 19, give us our money back so we can hire someone to do it right.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Bainbridge agreed to complete a basement finishing project by June 15, 2013, as of October 31 this project remains incomplete with no clear plan.
I signed the contract for this job on March 21. This job officially commenced on May 1 with a completion date of June 15 for a total duration of 6.5 weeks. My project has been in process for 26 weeks with no clear end date in site.

I complained and requested scheduling information and received no response for over 10 weeks. The response was then that it would take another 6 weeks to finish the project. Those 6 weeks have come and gone and we are no closer to completion.

There have been no unusual or extraordinary causes to justify such a delay. These delays were all within the control of Bainbridge, some of our issues:
1) Project leadership on our project has gone through six different individuals, none of which have achieved any real progress
2) Materials continue to be ordered incorrectly, causing delay an other issues: tile ordered over a month late, and order arrived short, tile installed incompletely then reorder of tile waited over four weeks, once reordered original tile not available, so incomplete tile job is sitting with no action or plan. Doors ordered late and when finally received, were wrong size. Bathroom cabinets finally ordered many months late, and arrived, but were not measured properly so ended up not fitting and now we are awaiting a plan for reorder and installation.
3) Fundamental lack of professional project leadership. Electrical sub arrives without clear direction, constantly asking for clarification that he cannot get from Bainbridge. Carpenters unclear on project plan, unable to get direction from leadership. Sub for shower door installation arrives to complete work, problem is that he is out of sequence as tile not completed. No adherence to plan or timelines. No response to request for timelines for stretches of 10 weeks at a time.
4) Damage and disregard for instructions or property. We provided specific instruction on a rug that was carefully wrapped to protect it from dust and damage as work proceeded in the basement. This property was moved, unwrapped, and damaged. Bainbridge has agreed to pay to have the rug cleanned, but added to our headache in the process. Our fence gate was damaged while bring materials in and out. In disregard to our instructions, subs were allowed to block our driveway, and store materials in locations we did not want (i.e. front porch)
5) Poor customer service. We have made multiple requests of Bainbridge to provide documentation of the schedule for building inspections as well as documentation of successful completion of those inspections. We have requested this information six times over 5 weeks and we are yet to receive a response. We have made multiple request for schedule information and get inaccurate, incomplete and late responses, including a delay of 10 weeks before getting any attention.
6) Numerous meetings on site to bring new people up to speed have only wasted our time and not resulted in any advancement of the project.

I would add that I cannot yet comment on the quality of Bainbridge's work as there is nothing yet to comment on in half a years work because nothing is completed.

Initial Business Response
We met with the homeowner, Mr. ***** on Monday, Nov. 4, 2013 at 1:00. We are currently working with him to resolve the issue at hand. We sent him a schedule and are working there now.

Final Consumer Response
Following my initial complaint, *************** and *** ******** met me at the property to develop a path forward. They promised me a plan by close of business or next day morning. I did not receive a plan until close of business the next day. The plan provided for action on the unfinished items with a project completion date of 21 Nov.

Bainbridge did not meet the timing on one a single item identified in their plan. The painting had progressed, but is still not completed. The tile was laid yesterday 21 NOV, but this work was over a week late in completion meaning all the other items had to wait. Missing doors are still not installed, cabinets not built, not top for the vanity, shower doors not installed, plumbing finishing not installed, some trip still missing, HVAC not completed, no flooring material on site let alone installed.

Back in early SEP we asked Bainbridge to complete this work as we were hosting family and friends for Thanksgiving and needed the project completed. We were told on three occasions different completion dates that enabled us to keep our celebration intact. This latest failure is too late to cancel our guests, so we are accommodating them in local hotels and adjusting our plans. We have even incurred additional time and hassle to move furniture as well as storage charges.

It is true that two items have progressed, but not even to the schedule provided two weeks ago. There is no reason that this job could not have been completed in the six months they have spent on this six week job.

This response, and the action on our project remains well below our expectations, and even fails to withstand any reasonable scrutiny. Our flooring material has still not been ordered, and yet it was scheduled to deliver last week Wed in their plan. I do not see the plan or the response as credible given my experience of Bainbridge's performance.

As this job stands, they have spent time painting, but all other items remain undone. As an additional affront to reason, rather than employ a professional painting subcontractor to complete our project, Bainbridge staffed with one and a partial person who are not professional painters. As such, the painting has been worked on for six days and is still not complete. I cannot understand why Bainbridge would choose to staff and resource in this way. The irony is that they expect me to be pleased that something is happening, rather than be angry about their spending six days on a project that could have been done in two half days by a professional painting crew.

As their last plan showed completion on 21 Nov, and it is now 22 Nov, they have missed another in a long series of commitments, and I have no plan of action from Bainbridge to get this job completed.

I am asking Bainbridge for the same thing I have been asking for since Jun 15 ... what is the plan for completing this project? When will it be completed? There is no end in sight.

Final Business Response
We are continuing to produce the project as per the scope of work we contracted for. There is no question that it has taken far too long to complete, but that was the case when the complaint was first lodged. The idea that **** ******* is not a professional painter is not true - he has in fact done several large painting jobs for our customers and they have all been very pleased with his work. Just because he is our employee rather than a subcontractor should not make him less professional. There has only been one complaint from this homeowner about the quality of his work and that was corrected as per **** when he was asked about it this past Friday. Tile has been completed and frameless glass will be installed next week (we are ceasing work after Tuesday 11/26 per the homeowner's request for holiday and will begin again 12/2)by OHM and interior doors that were special order will be delivered tomorrow. The countertop was templated Fri 11/22 and will be installed after 12/2 as well. Finish plumbing consists of a toilet, a lav faucet, and a shower faucet and trim. These will be installed in a matter of a couple hours after 12/2 as well. There has been work going on to complete the project and it is our intent to complete the project as per the scope of work we agreed to with this customer. We do apologize for being backed up and this taking so long.

Consumer Response
From: **********
Sent: Wednesday, March 05, 2014 4:14 PM
To: **********
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case# ****** (Ref#************************)

Hi *****,

Rebuttal statement:
* No work done on project for over six months
* Job site abandoned incomplete with construction debris
* Physical damage to property (told would be reimbursed) has not been reimbursed
* No part of the project is completed:
o Painting not done, parts that have been started are substandard
o Trim not complete
o Cabinets not built
o Door frame out for duct not complete
o Bathroom plumbing and fixtures not complete, waste line not complete, no pump installed
o Shower door not complete
o Electrical not complete, wiring for waste pump, Hvac, and other items
o AC systems not complete, rough in done, but no units installed
o Flooring not installed
* Loss of use of property resulted in costs:
o Loss of use for rental space for excess time to complete
o Loss of use caused for rental storage cost and labor costs for moving furniture and household goods
* My time for project management on project not reimbursed
* Been in direct contact with *************** on multiple occasions with no action, no reimbursement

My Proposed Resolution:
* Bainbridge to engage sub to complete bathroom systems ($500 parts, $500 labor needed to complete) within 30 days
* Bainbridge to engage sub to complete HVAC systems (don't know what is needed to get the sub to complete) within 30 days
* Reimburse for my damages: Physical property damages and loss of use damages
* Reimburse for my costs to have the finish work completed
* Reimburse for my costs to have the other elements of the job completed
* Reimbursement for my costs and time experienced so far as well as to complete the job
* Reimbursement for my costs and time for disposing of the construction debris

Please let me know if this is sufficient for your information needs. I have considerable more detail and documented amounts for each item.

Thanks,
****

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

07/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: We paid for the terms of the contract and have not had the work completed, no one has shown up, and no one from the Bainbridge crew has called us back
We paid for a bathroom renovation, per the terms of the contract. The work has not been completed, no one will call us back to let us know where the items are (ie: cabinets, mirrors, etc). Bainbridge workers tell us they have not been paid by **** **********, so they are not showing up to work. The trades (ie: plumber, drywall trades, electrician) tell us they have not been paid, so they are not coming to complete the job that **** opened. Our project was set for completion on Oct 31st, it is now Dec 26, and I left 4 voicemails, 3 emails to *** (project manager)and he has not called back for an update. We never know if someone is showing up, and the odds are they are not. For the past 2 months, we had about an hours worth of work done each week. Each trade/worker that shows us tell us that they open a job to get the upfront money, then do not go back, and just continue to open our jobs per the contract to get a draw and we constantly call to see what the next steps are. **** has told us he doesn't have the money to complete the job, however we paid per the terms of the contract for the materials, etc to be purchased. It feels like a major scam and our house has been filthy with renovation as the workers do not care and leave everything a mess. We received a text this morning that ***, our main contractor that was occasionally showing up, was faxing in his resignation this am. We are left out to dry at this point and have no idea what ****'s intentions are of completing our project. We need the final steps completed and we need an update as to where our purchased materials are, so that we can look at Plan B.

Initial Business Response
We are responding to the complaint filed by the homeowner to the BBB on 12/26/13. On Dec 4th *** ******** met with one homeowner (the husband) to review all items left to complete project. On Dec 5th a list that was reveiwed with the homeowner on site on Dec 4th was sent to the homeowner and placed on the jobsite (where *** met the other homeowner, the wife, and received plumbing fixtures from ******** the same day) so as to remove items as they were completed and organize what remained into action items needed to complete. He reviewed the list with *** ****** (a Bainbridge Crew carpenter and full time employee) the morning of 12/31/13 and there are not many items left to completed, and the materials needed to complete were a couple pieces of baseboard molding, some 1x material, and some silicone sealant and maybe some caulk. This is, of course, in addition to the referenced cabinet above toilet and the glass from ***; the etc mentioned in the complaint must be referring to the couple pieces of baseboard trim, silicone, and 1x material for a door jamb. As of 1/2/14 at 4:20pm, ***, the carpenter working to complete the project since 12/31/13, said there were only a couple items remaining of the attached list to completion. *** will be back out to complete these items Friday 1/3/13 and should finish these items by close of business Friday.
The complaint makes claims that the electrician (****** ******, our licensed electrician and an employee on payroll) hasn't been paid, that the drywall subcontractor hasn't been paid (which the homeowner knows he was, even though he - the drywall subcontractor - shook the homeowner's hand and said he was done; there were spots all over that we - The Bainbridge Crew - have since touched up), and represents *** as "the main contractor" when he in fact was our employee. We would like to have supporting evidence provided by the homeowner to validate these claims.
Also, in the complaint there is reference to a major scam (because we haven't provided mirrors and a wall cabinet above commode), when the items in question account for approximately $500 out of a $32,000 remodeling project.
The homeowner was willing to pay for the mirrors directly through our vendor, which we were willing to accommodate and deduct from the money outstanding on the agreement (this will be approx $300 for both mirrors) so as to complete the job immediatley; the homeowner withdrew that offer as of Monday 1/2/14 and stated that they would wait for us to pay vendor to install the mirrors. The mirror molding, which will be used to trim out the mirrors in the same finish as the cabinet, has been on site since the vanities were delivered (approximately mid November) and can't be installed until the mirrors are in.
All timesheets for December were pulled from accounting to address the statement "in the past two months, we had an hours worth of work done each week". Since Dec 18, 2013, this is the labor that has been logged on this project: *** ****** worked for 8 hours at *********** on Wed 12/18; On Thurs 12/19, *** ******* worked for 4 hours at *********; On Fri 12/20, *** ******* worked for 5 hours at *********; ****** ******, our electrcian, worked for 1 1/2 hours at ********* on Mon 12/21; ****** ****** worked on Mon 12/23 for 2 hours - these were just the timesheets for the last two weeks. *** ****** has also worked at ********* Tues 12/31 for 8 hours and scheduled for today, Thurs 1/2/14, for 8 hours and should be able to complete all items on the punchlist (attached with strikethroughs for work completed at of 12/31/13) by close of business tomorrow Friday 1/3/14 with the exception of the cabinet above toilet and the mirrors that have been referenced in this response.
The first two lines of the complaint state "we paid for the terms of the contract and have not had the work completed..." in the first sentence; "We paid for a bathroom renovation, per the terms of the contract." The agreement was for $32,000. the amount of the deposit and draws paid to The Bainbridge Crew to date (as of 1/2/14) has been $26,000. That left a balance of $6000, which was to be paid at countertop installation ($5500) and completion of project ($500) as per the draw schedule on the agreement. The plumbing order was $5300.45, and the client paid for this directly through our vendor at our builder cost, and we agreed to deduct the $5300.45 from the money owed on the contract so as to make sure the homeowner did not spend any additional money outside of the $32,000 we had agreed to initially. We can provide a receipt from ********, our plumbing supplier, should the BBB like to review this supporting document.
The amount remaining to the agreement should be $699.55, minus the out of pocket expense paid by the homeowner to the plumber to complete the trim out of the bathroom (which the homeowner stated was $400 - we do not have a receipt for this, but will have to have one so as to deduct the amount from the plumber's final invoice). Please note the plumber had already been paid for the plumbing rough in, which is 60% of the purchase order value that was paid after rough-in work and rough inspection was done, as well as to do additional work that was required at rough in to meet current buidling code. Known in the construction industry as change orders triggered by unforeseen or hidden conditions, these can be very costly for a homeowner; in this instance, we did not charge the homeowner any additional money for the extra plumbing work, but the plumber itemized the additional work and charged us $683.25 as per the invoice submitted by plumber on 9/30/13. In summary, that should leave $299.55 for the balance owed once the project is complete. If there are any more items the homeowner has paid for directly that we have omitted, we will adjust response with any of that updated information.
Lastly, when the site visit and notes were made by *** ******** on 12/4 and 12/5, the jobsite was broom swept and in good condition, as were the hallway, the bedroom, and the closet. No mention was made by the homeowner of a messy jobsite; on Dec 5th *** ******* removed the cardboard from the cabinet boxes that were broken down and stacked in the garage and hauled those away, so the only "debris" left on site were approximately 3 or 4 boxes of large field tile (12x12's?) and 2-3 boxes of smaller field tile (6x6's?) - approximately of $500 in unused tile that we paid for but offered to allow the homeowner to keep for future use. We will remove the tile from the garage and return for store credit with our vendor if the homeowner does not wish to keep the tile. Paper and plastic has been at the job site to protect the stairway and floor finishes since the project began with demo and protection was in place as of meeting on 4 Dec 13. Also, all items that were reviewed and posted at job site since walk through were reviewed in detail with the homeowner on Dec 4 to make sure everything had been accounted for.
We have every intention of providing and installing the cabinet above the commode and paying for the mirrors to be fabricated and installed, and hope this information being provided to the BBB is adequate to assure the homeowner of our intention to complete these small items, and apologize for the time to completion it has taken thus far. Also, we would encourage the BBB to view the images of the project taken to date so as to weigh whether this is a scam or a custom master bath addition (five piece master bathroom added to existing interior space) that took longer than scheduled and was delayed to completion due to some cash flow issues at the end of the project.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want to be clear on the terms of our project. It commenced on 9/16 with a completion date of 10/30/13, a 6 week project. It is now 1/3/2014, 15 WEEKS LATER and we are still NOT complete. If it wasn't' for our relentless follow-up and the fact that we hired our own HVAC crew on 10/4 (Money issues were evident at this time, although we took ****'s word that things would continue per the terms of the contract, which I will gladly supply supporting the issues I am currently going to address), WE PAID for the plumbing materials OURSELVES from ******** on 12/10 (below it states that Bainbridge has the invoice--they may have a copy of what we were forced to purchase directly ourselves, as I'm certain this would still be outstanding to date 1/3), and paid the plumber to complete the outstanding items (as our bathroom was in complete disarray since 9/16) we would still be waiting on a functional bathroom. We had to pay for the items ourselves from ******** as Bainbridge could not come up with the money ($5,387), although we paid **** $11,000 on 8/19/2013, to be used for these "rough materials"-- see contract. We also paid the plumber directly, as he was NOT willing to come back, since Bainbridge owes him approximately $7K that they still have not paid him. Obviously he did not wish to work for free, so we contacted him directly as we needed a functional bathroom. Since the onset of our project, employees ***, ***, & ****** have left, as their checks bounced and they were not confident that they would be paid for work. ******, ***, ****** and *** have absolutely had checks bounce and all were extremely upset that they wouldn't be able to buy Christmas gifts for their families! They were all very upset and vented to us after I would ask if I would see them the following day--they could not confidently tell me, since they also did not want to work for free. It became a joke, so much so that when *** would show up, he didn't do much, knowing that he had one foot out the door (He told *** otherwise, but I have been here every day and have witnessed the absurdity of this project). They would tell us that they had to go to ****'s bank to cash the checks (if they could even cash them), since they would bounce at their respective banks. We had to wait until mid-November to get our cabinetry, due to the fact that Bainbridge could not PAY for them, again our project was set to complete on 10/30.

The fact that Bainbridge cannot come up with the money to purchase our mirrors (approx. $300) and cabinet (approx. $300) shows that they are in a serious crisis and just "opening/starting" projects to get the initial draw, with no intentions of honoring the terms of the contract (again, we provided the funding for this in October, our mistake). Had we not paid the plumber and contacted him directly or paid for the materials, we wouldn't even be close to completion--how can Bainbridge confidently say that they will complete our project with $600 for the outstanding items if they couldn't even pay the plumber the remaining $400 that was due to him 3 weeks ago??? Every employee of Bainbridge's that has walked through our door has made mention to the fact that there are numerous upset clients. There has been continuous turnover and we didn't know who our actual Project manager was, as ***, ***, ***, ******, and ***** would ask me what was complete/not complete and when their employees were here at my house. NO ONE took ownership of our renovation. I called *** 4 times the week of 12/16 and sent 4 e-mails asking about the cabinet/mirrors, of which he told us were ordered back in October--none of my calls/emails were addressed or answered. We have felt like the General contractors of our own project, as we are forced to contact the trades directly and pay directly---absolutely ridiculous and completely unprofessional and unacceptable. We ONLY did this to alleviate the stress involved in having a non-functional bathroom and the fact that we had a new baby on 10/10. Our project was to be completed on Oct 30th. We are STILL waiting on the Mirrors and Cabinet and the punch list, again which were paid for in September. Of course we are not paying for the mirrors, it in NOT our responsibility, it is Bainbridge's, and we are truly sick and tired of picking up their slack.

The time sheets that were pulled do not accurately reflect what occurred, *** was here approximately 45min-1 hour, and set out to get "supplies" that we never saw. As far as debris, etc, we had to ASK for it to be removed--this is not customary, Bainbridge should remove without our telling of something so obvious. I personally removed all of the lighting boxes and some other excess trim from our bathroom, again, as we needed this space to live. The plastic that was put down on the floor was a nightmare to remove--I took this off and took a picture to show that I spent approximately 4 hours removing it over the course of 3 days as we had family coming in for the holidays and it looked atrocious. Because of the longevity of the project, the glue literally melted into our floors (I told *** this when he was here and he saw it as well). I took it upon myself to remove since I knew it would be another 6 weeks if I asked Bainbridge to remove. We tried to do as much as possible as the homeowner to complete this project--we were here for the inspectors when *** said he needed to be at other job sites, my Father cut and put the flooring in the bathroom for the Drywall crew since the floor was completely exposed and they told us they would need to reschedule for the following week (we did not want to delay the project). The piping was exposed and they would not hang drywall in those dangerous condition, my husband helped carry in materials, etc. The headache and time spent ensuring our project will be completed is draining, exhausting and unacceptable. There are still items on the checklist that need to be complete and other items that will need to be re-done. I will be making that list as well, since *** left at noon today and I need to review the work completed.
We DO NOT want anyone else to be fooled, our project is certainly not complete and we do not have any firm dates from Bainbridge as to when we should anticipate completion.


Final Business Response
From: *** ******** (mailto:****************************)
Sent: Friday, January 03, 2014 9:07 AM
To: ***** ****
Subject: sending attachment for response to ********* ****** complaint

Good morning *****,
I am sending the attachment of items remaining with strike throughs of what has been completed as of 12/31; I am also going to send an updated list of items left as of this morning once *** ****** updates me to what is left and forwards me photos of job as of today as well.
I will send them today once I have them, but I sent in the response through the link the BBB provided and you should have had that around 5pm last night.
Thanks,
***

*** ********, CR
General Manager
The Bainbridge Crew
*************************************************
****************************


Consumer Response
We are still waiting on items from the punch list to be completed--ie: mirrors, cabinet, etc--no one has called --of course we followed up last week, but it has taken Bainbridge 2 weeks to ask us to pay for our mirrors--absolutely ridiculous, they should not be able to conduct business this way. A complete disruption to my family. Not to mention an inspector showed up last week, of which they did not mention to us. The awful cycle continues, and we still have no confidence that our project will ever be 100% complete.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/29/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1996Business started: 02/01/1977
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1997, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard C. Bainbridge, Jr. (President/Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Ben McCollum (Sales and Marketing Manager)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Home Improvements

Alternate Business Names
The Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. (The)

5940 Monroe Rd

Charlotte, NC 28212-6106

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5940 Monroe Rd 

    Charlotte, NC 28212-6106(704) 569-4220

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. (The) is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB files indicate this business has a pattern of complaints concerning the contract area. Consumers report that Bainbridge Crew of NC, Inc. has been unable to complete the terms of the contract in a timely manner after being paid to do so.

In July 2013, the business met with BBB to discuss concerns regarding the patterns of complaints surrounding the company's failure to honor the contracts in a timely fashion. Although these complaints had been resolved, at times a company may work to resolve every complaint brought to its attention but fail to correct the underlying cause of the complaints.

Additionally, complaints may be routine based on the industry but allege serious and ongoing problems. The company reported issues based on the economy as well as that of the home improvement industry.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.