BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2008

Griffin Home Health Care, Inc.

Phone: (704) 347-1993Fax: (704) 347-19944231 Monroe Rd, CharlotteNC 28205-7709View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2008

BBB has determined that Griffin Home Health Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Griffin Home Health Care, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Griffin Home Health Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Griffin store forgot for a month to order my compression stockings they sized me for. Then they mailed me the wrong size! No one returned my calls!
Griffin home health store sized me for compression stockings and stated I wore a petite size, which would be special ordered and I'd receive a call when they came in. For about a month, I called several times and left messages on machines inquiring if they arrived. No one called back. I finally spoke w/ a person who stated they would be mailed to me. I received them and assumed they were the size that they sized me for, special ordered and I waited a month for. I needed to wear them following a medical procedure to reduce leg swelling. After the procedure my leg was very swollen. It felt the hose were not tight enough and the extra material/ length was very uncomfortable bunching up. They were too long. I was suspicious they were not petite size. I called the store 4 times in a 2 week period following my medical procedure. The call either went straight to voice mail or a person would transfer me to someone's voice mail. No one called me back! On the 4th attempt, I complained to the man and insisted on talking w/ a person. The customer service lady confirmed that I received a size regular. ( 2 sizes too big for me.) and she said I should have received a size petite b/c they knew my height was 5'1.
She said they would exchange them but it would take a week for them to receive petite size. I asked to speak to manager. The manager really upset me. She LIED and said the size mailed to me was a "short size" ( which is one size bigger than petite.) She tried to dismiss my complaint by saying it was ONLY 3 inches too big. But the truth is, they sent me a regular which is 20 cm/ about 8 inches too long!! Then she said they didn't have my sizes and I'd have to be remeasured. I said I wanted the size which I had bought and paid for. She agreed and said she would try to expedite but she did NOT grasp the concept that I endured 2 weeks of extra pain and swelling after my procedure b/c the hose were not the right size and therefore not compressing properly! The lack of caring from the Charlotte store frustrated me to the point that I called the Gastonia store. The service at Gastonia store was much better, I reached a person immediately, he said he would try to get my size right away. Oh, he said the Charlotte store would still have my original measurements, although Charlotte store said they didn't keep them. It still felt the concern was only on the hose and not the extra pain/swelling I endured and I stated this to him. I also stated the ultrasound tech said she had never heard of more swelling after the procedure. I said I believe it is b/c the hose were not the proper size. He then apologized many times. I believe I will receive the proper size. But buyer beware of Charlotte store, they forget and don't place your special order until you repeatedly call, they don't return calls, they don't mail you the proper size and then they ignore your calls some more! Oh,the real kicker, AFTER I insisted on talking w/ a person at Charlotte store and then called Gastonia, THEN the mysterious person behind the infamous voice mail decided to finally return my call and she stated that she knew by the notes that I had spoken w/ other people. Oh, the company excuse is they have a new phone system put in a few weeks ago. Well, I've been calling for weeks. And if they knew it wasn't working, then they shouldn't have been transferring me to a voice mail. But, it was working b/c the lady said she got my message. Bottom line, mistakes happen, but admit it without excuses and have a heart with what the customer endured b/c of your mistake.

Initial Business Response
Ms. ****, I am very sorry for the trouble we may have caused you. I have been made aware of the issues you presented here and in converations with our staff last week. Again, I am sorry an I hope to put something in place to ensure that this does not happen again.
To the best of my knowledge your complaint has now been resolved. I understand that we offered to come to your home and remeasure you on Friday. We agreed to bring what products we had that may fit. It is my understanding that you asked for a full refund, which we processed and mailed on Friday. If there is anything else we can do to assist or resolve, please dont hesitate to reach out to us.
Again, please accept our apologies.
Sincerly,

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/25/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: They never sent the bill to insurance, never advised me that they did not have a Dr order but the medical device was recd in the hospital
Explained and discussed with them, as well as insurance, they would need to submit the bill to insurance for them to process but they want me to pay. I have insurance, they have other claims for me that went fine, not sure what happened on this one but they dropped the ball, also I paid over 200 to them and wll never get that back but refuse to pay the balacne as it should have went to my health insurance

Business' Initial Response
Mr. *****, I am very sorry for the confusion and frustration you have felt over this. What I show is that you received a knee walker, ice man unit and ice man sleeve from our company on 4/2011. As indicated on the receipt, the ice man unit was to be paid for by you as an iceman unit is a non covered item. The notes on our ticket instruct our service technician to pick up payment from you. You requested that we bill you for the equipiment. At that time, we agreed to do so. Bills were sent to you for the rental of that equipment for some time. In August of 2012, you contacted our office to discuss the balance and notified us of your concerns regarding the fact that the insurance was not billed. Our Medical Billing Team researched and identified that a prescription was never provided for billing to commence. Mr. *****, anything we file with the insurance MUST be accompanied by a prescription. The lack of a prescription and the fact that this is a non covered item through insurance is why you were asked to pay for the item up front at the time of delivery. Again, I do apologize for any misunderstanding but you did accept the item as a rental item and you did agree to pay for the item at the time of delivery. The balance is valid and we would appreciate you resolving that.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/21/2012Billing / Collection Issues
09/13/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Health Products, Medical Equipment-Sales & Rental

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/02/2008Business started: 01/01/1983
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pharmacy Licensing Board, NC
PO Box 459
Carrboro, NC27510-0459
(919) 942-4454
http://www.ncbop.org

BBB records show a license number of ACTIVE for this company, issued by Pharmacy Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncbop.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1986, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William H. Griffin (President)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Home Health Products, Medical Equipment-Sales & Rental

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Griffin Home Health Care, Inc.

4231 Monroe Rd

Charlotte, NC 28205-7709

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4231 Monroe Rd 

    Charlotte, NC 28205-7709(704) 347-1993

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Griffin Home Health Care, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Home Health Products

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.