BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Z.L. Metz Homes, LLC

(704) 948-5494View Additional Phone NumbersP. O. Box 1147, HuntersvilleNC 28070

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Z.L. Metz Homes, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Z.L. Metz Homes, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
12/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Failure to submit builders warranty as agreed upon in closing causing loss of money when AC went out.
I had several complaints issued to Z.L. Metz concerning poor quality building and appliance issues (which were installed prior to my arrival.) they consisntly refused to assist with any of the items. Two of the issues including paint faded due to their use of Chemicals cleaning the house and the AC going out were not able to be addressed under a builders warranty because "they forgot" to and th check in for payment. The only reason I found out is because I called the warranty company on a loose board issue (also never fixed). I could have been reimbursed the money for the repair on the AC but the time ran out because of the check being sent in late and application process. Luckily the house paint was fixed under warranty from the siding manufacturer. We were out $200 from the AC which they refused to pay and wouldn't send the warranty if I pursued the issue. Th entire neighborhood is still suffering from their horrible building methods and one poor woman has been waiting almost a year for her house to be completed. They haven't properly prevented th run off of mud and the sewer grate in front off my house has to be dug out by my neighbor so we don't flood from the mud run off.

Desired Settlement
i would like to see the street stop flooding with the proper drainage and containment of the mud in the construction across the street. I have placed a flood policy on my house in fear of more issues. Also I want my $200 back from the AC company fixing our unit.

Business Response
Hello this is in response to the complaint filed by our homeowner **************, who purchased our Model Home/Sales Center in the ******** Community. I have attached below a copy of the signed warranty and the Homeowner Disclosure where she signed off that there are no issues with her home, and excepting it as is by the builder and Bonded Builders Warranty. The warranty was not turned in after closing due to an over sight in our office, it unfortunately, got filed with the closing paper work so she is correct that it was not issued directly after closing, however when it was brought to our attention by her, see attached email, I immediately replied and handled the situation. This is the second home that this buyer purchased from us in the last 15 years, she was represented by a real estate agent and unfortunately, her agent should have written down her issues at the walk through and submit them to us to make necessary repairs so that they would have been in writing and acknowledged but that was not done. As far as the siding, I have attached photos of the home where the siding was fine and two months later she post on facebook that she had pressure washed the siding. She used a chemical that caused the siding to fade and show pressure wash marks. I can request those photos from my agent if needed. As far as the run off of the mud going on across the street from her home, we are required by law to abide by County and State Erosion Control by NCDNER. We keep the silt fence installed and keep the job site to code to avoid fines. The fact that there is water standing in the road in front of her home is because the improper development of the roads by the land developer, they are not sloped at an angle where run off can drain properly. We have been in contact numerous times with the developer and he refused to correct the problem. This was a problem when her home was our past Model Home and Sales Center for the community. We do not feel at this time that we are responsible for any of the desired resolution. If she had contacted us or the original HVAC Contractor, she would not have had to pay the $200.00 whether the warranty was on the home or not. By NC law the subcontractor has to warrant his work for one year. If a part was needed its possible that is what she had to pay for, but not for labor of the original HVAC sub. Please let me know if there is anything else that you need from us to resolve or close this complaint. Again, we don't feel responsible because of the Homeowner Disclosure she signed off on dated 9/24/15 saying that the home was inspected by her and no open issues or disputes with the builder regarding any defects. See attached.

12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Home built by ZL Metz has shown defects since purchase. Attempts to rectify with the company have been unsuccessful.
I purchased my home from ZL Metz in October 2007. The home is in the Crosswinds subdivision. Since moving in I have noted the following: (1)the planting area in front of our porch has sunk in three times, (2)the front steps are separating from the porch, (3)various interior walls have hairline cracks & other walls are bowing, (4)wood floor pieces shifted/pulled apart, (5)hairline crack in bathroom tile, (6)closet doors that will not close, (7)crack in the exterior foundation, and the least of my concerns (8)faulty electrical wiring in some of the rooms (lights flicker when switched on or the light and fan switch has been installed backwards).

I and/or my wife have attempted to contact ZL Metz at least 3 times in the last 4 years to have them address the issues with the home as they appeared. Each time we have been referred to the warranty company who in turn denies our request for repair or refund. I made requests in August 2008 and August 2011; my wife made an additional request or two between and after those.

I believe that the foundation of the home is damaged and that the damage to the home is not the result of "normal settling."

Desired Settlement
A home is an investment. It is something that we should be proud of. For many of us purchasing a home is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. My wife and I chose ZL Metz because of their reputation and because of their commitment to their product. Since the product that I was sold appears to be defective and not up to the standards guaranteed by ZL Metz at the time of purchase I am seeking a refund for the original purchase price. This requested settlement has nothing to do with my mortgage payment; in fact, my wife and I are fortunate to be "above water" with our monthly mortgage.

Business Response
I have sent this to our warranty company for review. I am trying to get them to contact this homeowner and send someone out to inspect his concerns. I will send another response once I know how we plan to proceed.

Final Consumer Response
I still have not been contacted by the warranty company or by the builder, ZL Metz. I believe that I have a valid claim, and I would appreciate the courtesy of someone at least stopping by my home to examine what I believe are structural flaws.

Final Business Response
As indicated in our response dated November 14, the consumer has not followed proper guidelines according to the warranty agreement they signed and agreed to follow at time of closing their home. If they would have followed proper complaint procedure their concerns would already be resolved at the 1 year warranty we offer and not 6 years later when all but the structural warranty has expired. We as the builder are under no obligation to them to do anything further until they notify us and Quality Builders Warranty in writing. However, because we are a small family locally owned and operated builder that stands behind their product we will be at their home on Tuesday December 3, 2013 at 9:30am to investigate their concerns. At this time a call to action will be determined by the builder after further review and consultation with Quality Builders Warranty. I think that all would be in agreement that offering a full refund for the original purchase price is extreme. I look forward to meeting the homeowner on Tuesday. Sincerely, ****** **** ****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1971Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Hollie Metz (Managing Partner)Mr. Zane Lee Metz III
Number of Employees


Business Category

Home Builders


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Z.L. Metz Homes, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 200-3568

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Home Builders


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.