BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2012

Saussy Burbank

Phone: (704) 945-1515Fax: (704) 945-15223730 Glenlake Dr Ste 125, Charlotte NC 28208-6841

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2012

BBB has determined that Saussy Burbank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Saussy Burbank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Saussy Burbank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The hardwoods on the entire main floor of the home are "cupped", as verified by a flooring inspector, and the builder will not acknowledge/repair.
Complete documentation available here:

http://www.****************************.com/

I purchased a new home in the ********** community of Rock Hill, SC from builder - Saussy Burbank, in late December of 2012. No major issues until 5-7 months later, when the "site finished" red oak hardwood flooring starting cupping, on the entire main floor of the home.

The builder sent a warranty rep to the home on 10/11/12, who convinced me that the cupping was normal, and would be resolved in the winter months, when the heat reduced the moisture content of the wood. The rep showed me a few cell phone pictures of severely cupped unfinished/installed floors in homes under construction, and pointed out that the Saussy Burbank model home had the same issue, but with finished floors.

The cupping did get better through early December, but was still present. I viewed many other finished floors in the neighborhood, and found other issues (that I will post about later), but other than the model, no major cupping issues like my floor.

The floors were inspected by a hardwood flooring inspector on 12/9/13. The inspector determined that the hardwood was not properly acclimated to the home (with running HVAC) before being nailed down, and expanded when the HVAC was turned on later and the boards were cupping because they gained moisture and were actually wider than they were when initially installed. He noted that the issue was "Acclimation cupping", was permanent, and the floors would need to be refinished or replaced. He noted that refinishing carries risks of the issue repeating or morphing into "crowning".

The inspection report was forwarded to the builder on 12/17/13, and they sent to the same warranty rep to look at the floors, who quickly denied that cupping is an issue, claimed it was within spec, and denied the warranty claim.

I'm now left with wavy floors, that will expand and contract seasonally, with extreme cupping in summer/spring, and better, but still unacceptable cupping in the winter months (current).


Desired Settlement
The inspector indicated the cupping is permanent due to installing the wood in an unheated home, in the middle of the winter.Refinishing was suggested, but only at a later time as there is a risk of the issue returning. I would like the floors replaced, after being properly acclimated to the home.

Business Response
The Vice President of Construction, will contact the customer and personally inspect the property, evaluate the findings and suggest an appropriate resolution to the issue in a timely manner. If necessary, we will incorporate the services of qualified unbiased third parties to review the complaint and help us determine the nature, cause and resolution of the issue. Our response will be guided by the appropriate industry standards for this type of issue.

11/27/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My water heater is in a unaccessible area.
My water heater is leaking. A licensed plumber came out to replace the heater and said he could not as there was not enough room to remove the unit. According to code the unit should be in a serviceable and accessible area. Upon contacting Saussy ****** a ****** ******* said there was nothing they could do about it.

Desired Settlement
Providing a serviceable and accessible area to repair/replace my water heater.

Business' Initial Response
The home was constructed in 1995 and subject to a series of inspections from the Mecklenburg County Building Inspections Department in order to obtain a certificate of occupancy at the time of completion. Inspections would include a mechanical inspection AFTER the HVAC and hot water tank were installed and AFTER the access door and related trim material were completed. Therefore, at the time this home was delivered to the buyer(not the current owner)some 17 years ago, it was compliant with existing code. As for access, the current door is 32 inches wide, the hot water heater is 20 inches wide and therefore can be removed. It should be noted the current HVAC system in the space is not the one originally installed. We have put the homeowner in contact with a plumber (Price Brothers) who can replace the existing hot water heater (at the owners expense).

Consumer's Final Response
This house was built during the building boom and I'm not convinced the code was met. I had to hire a carpenter to cut a hole in in the wall to remove the water heater. In addition the house suffered water damage in the garage. The licensed plumber said the drain pipe was not pitched properly and was sitting level. Water accumulated and leaked as it had nowhere to exit the home.

******* ******

Business' Final Response
As a courtesy, **** *********, VP of Construction, will follow up with the homeowner to schedule an onsite inspection of the property. Mr. ********* may also engage a member of the County Building Inspection department to consult on this matter as well. Mr ********* will follow up with the homeowner within two weeks and at that time determine whether or not Saussy ****** has complied with applicable code.

11/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SB sold me a home and warranted it ten years for structural problems. My garage has a serious crack in its foundation and they refuse help.
I notified SB about a structural defect in my Saussy Burbank house. The damaged was first observed over one year ago (May 2013) and was reported to Saussy Burbank. At that time they sent their repairman to fix the cracked brick foundation.

Now, over a year later, the crack has reappeared and I again contacted Saussy Burbank. This time they gave me the run-around about sending their man out to repair it. The repair man never came and he won't return calls. The damage is clearly a subsiding foundation. Saussy Burbank has been in contact with me three times about this matter. They assured me they would come up with a fix. That was five weeks ago and no contact since!

This is a major crack!

Desired Settlement
Expect the foundation to be repaired....

Business Response
In response to the complaint regarding a potential structural foundation issue with a garage built by Saussy Burbank, we have communicated to the homeowner that there is a specific process for making a claim through 2/10 Warranty, the company that provides for a 10 year structural warranty on houses built by Saussy Burbank. This process would require the homeowner to complete the appropriate forms (which have been provided to the customer) and submit a $250 fee to 2/10 Warranty. 2/10 Warranty would engage an independent structural engineer to make a visual inspection of the issue and, in the event it was determined by 2/10 Warranty to be a structural deficiency (a clear set of guidelines is included in the 2/10 Warranty manual provided to the homeowner at closing), Saussy Burbank would make the repairs in a timely manner for the homeowner in the manner prescribed by the engineer. Our understanding is that the homeowner is unwilling to pay the application fee to 2/10 to move this process forward. We stand ready to make any required repairs to the property as determined by 2/10 Warranty.

Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
Saussy Burbank's directions to use 2-10 Home Warranty is a means of avoiding responsibility. 2-20 Home Warranty is dishonorable company as evidenced by their "claim application fee" and the many customer complaints on internet websites.

Requiring a customer to pay a fee just to file a claim is devious means of discouraging claims. Furthermore, I spoke with a representative of 2-10 Home Warranty and they told me they would not cover a crack caused by a settling foundation.

So, Saussy Burbank's use of 2-10 Home Warranty is not helpful. I paid $350,000 to Saussy ******* for a new house 7 years ago with the understanding that the house's foundation was covered. IT'S NOT and that is bad business. Customers BEWARE!

Final Business Response
The homeowner has been provided a 2/10 Warranty, purchased on their behalf by Saussy *******. The warranty is acknowledged both prior to and at closing. The warranty is with a 3rd party provider with which Saussy Burbank has no affiliation or financial interest. The process for filing a claim includes a processing fee directly to the 3rd party. This was agreed to by the homeowner at closing. As a good faith gesture, Saussy Burbank will agree to reimburse the homeowner for this application fee in the event 2/10 Warranty determines there is a structural issue, as defined in the policy, which requires repair. We feel its in the best interests of all parties to engage 2/10 so that any/all required repairs will be overseen by a licensed engineer and independent 3rd party.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1998Business started: 06/01/1997New Owner Date: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

General Contractors Licensing Board, NC
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.com

BBB records show a license number of 56631 for this company, issued by General Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclbgc.com.

BBB records show a license number of 38000 for this company, issued by General Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclbgc.com.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Zweier ( President)Mr. Jim Burbank (Owner)Mr. Brant McConkey (Internet Marketing/Sales Representative)Mr. Charles Teal (CEO)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Carolina Cottage Homes, LLC
Industry Tips
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Saussy Burbank

3730 Glenlake Dr Ste 125

Charlotte , NC 28208-6841

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3730 Glenlake Dr Ste 125 

    Charlotte, NC 28208-6841(704) 945-1515

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Saussy Burbank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.