BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1989

PulteGroup, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 543-4922Fax: (704) 543-6630View Additional Phone Numbers11121 Carmel Commons Blvd Ste 450, CharlotteNC 28226-4498

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1989

BBB has determined that PulteGroup, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised PulteGroup, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on PulteGroup, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A rusted metal bar placed deep in the ground was left in our back yard after the construction. This is becoming a safety hazard as little children.
There is a rusted metal bar left in our backyard after home construction was over. This is placed fairly deep in the ground. We tried to remove it ourselves however was not possible. This should be a home builder's responsibility to ensure the product built meet the quality and safety standard.
My kids are now toddlers and they are running around in the backyard. The metal bar has becoming an increasing concern of safety as they can easily run into it. I contacted ****** through online link I found however the request was rejected. They indicated the bar is designed to stay in place to mark the property line and for future home owners' benefits. This is odd to hear as we were not given the option to say if we want the property marking bar to be left in or taken out. We purchased the property so we should have a say in this matter. ****** mentioned future home owners, I do not understand why they made an assumption we will move, this is irrelevant. The concern here is safety.
We closed the house in 2009 so I understand it is out of any service warranty period. However, given the nature of the concern and this should not have happened at the first place plus Pulte is building another community less then 10 minutes away, it is very disappointing to heard such a large and reputable company is not willing to consider this request.
I am writing to see if BBB can determine if this is an issue you could help me to get Pulte to address for my family.

Desired Settlement
I am asking Pulte to come back and take out the rusted metal bar placed during the construction from my back yard.

Business Response
The silt fence stake post was removed from the homeowner's property.

07/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sod with my new home build was almost entirely weeds. After requesting repair, Pulte performed one treatment, which did not fix the problem.
I checked a box on the feedback form that says I'm posting my opinion... but I will be as objective as possible. And the pictures I'm attaching are not my opinion - they are exactly how my yard looked at the time. Here's my story...

I closed on my Pulte home in November of 2015; the build experience was good. The salesperson and the project manager were both a pleasure to work with. The sod that the landscapers had laid down was dormant Bermuda grass (which is normal, considering it was put down in late Oct / early Nov).

In late February and early March, we noticed weeds were growing up from the sod. The grass was still dormant. We notified Pulte immediately, and they said it was normal - that when the grass comes alive, we can spread some young grass fertilizer / weed killer, and that will solve the issue. It made sense to me, and it was consistent with what I heard and read elsewhere. So we waited a few weeks for the grass to come alive. Instead, we got more weeds, and no grass.

The pictures attached here are from mid-March... by this time the weeds were out of control, and there was no grass to be seen. I contacted Pulte again, requesting they replace the sod. They were willing to treat the grass with weed killer and fertilizer until the grass took over, so I accepted that compromise.

Three weeks later, the fertilizing and weed killing was performed. Over the next month, the yard improved. When it looked like the yard was ready for treatment number 2, I contacted Pulte to let them know. Three weeks later, I received the response that they would only be doing the one treatment. At this point, weeds have once again taken over.

I'm disappointed with how Pulte handled my issue. My neighbors' lawns were mostly weed-free from the beginning. I must have received a bad batch of sod, or the conditions weren't right when it was laid down. Whatever caused it, I expected more from Pulte when purchasing a home over $400k. But I was wrong. The lawn you see in the pictures here is what Pulte customers can expect when building with them.

On the other hand, I'm relieved that I can take ownership of my lawn now and start to fix it instead of waiting three weeks at a time for a reply.

Desired Settlement
I would like the sod on my property replaced with new, relatively weed-free sod.

Business Response
Per the warranty manual that in an included document at time of contact, Section 31: "Landscaping states Due to regional vaiances in temperature and terrain, the Builder does not offer any warranty on landscaping, e.g. Sod, Trees, Shrubs and Flowers ect" The condition of the sod was acceptable and was signed as such when the customer signed the Walk Through documents as complete. The customer has been told that treatment for weeds and overall maintenance is the homeowner's responsibility. Pulte Group took it one step further and went above and beyond by paying for is first treatment for free. The customer has also been given the landscape maintenance's contract information for future use. It is up to them what they want to do. Pulte Homes will do nothing else and consider this issue closed.

07/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sod laid in our new yard by the builder was dead and has only grown in patches throughout our yard. Pulte had acknowledge issues with their farmer
I purchased my home on January 28,2016 for roughly $357,200. During our final walk through, I specifically asked ************, our project manager, about our grass and was assured with warmer whether and watering the grass would be fine. We have fertilized multiple times and water multiple times for hours a week since January. I have spoken to several landscaping companies who brought to my attention several things Pulte did which is a known no-no. 1. Once the sod is rolled it should be rolled immediately; however, it was at least several days when it sat on a pallet in our yard before it was laid (we went out of town so could have been longer). 2. The sod should be watered immediately and often. My wife and I only recall the sprinklers in our yard a week to two before we moved in which left several weeks without the natural rain. 3. It appears no topsoil was used which allows the grass to grow. Pulte has not refuted these three items when I spoke to ***** ***** nor denied them. I want Pulte, a national builder, to honor the commitment to provide you a yard which doesn't need one to two years of work. Finally, if their third party farmer and landscaper are unable to provide services which meet customer's needs based on legal contracts then they need to be held responsible for their products.

Desired Settlement
I would like Pulte's landscaping vendor to replace the areas of my yard which are dead despite efforts of constant fertilization and watering since I've moved in. The company stated: 1. researching multiple complaints from customers about similar issues with their sod 2. Their "construction workers" make the determination if the sod is dead or good. Since when do construction workers know sod? 3. My neighbor had portions of his yard replaced after his closing date despite Pulte's stance they do not replace sod. If that is there firm stance then they flat lied on the phone. My neighbors roughly 6 of them (all the last homes built in the neighborhood) have similar issues with their sod. This is not an isolated issue and would hope they make all my neighbors right. ***** ***** specifically said give it a year or two before it comes in. Is that acceptable in any practice or industry as a response to a complaint?

Business Response
Mr. ********* closed in January of 2016. The home was signed off complete with no outstanding issues. The Pulte Group Warranty clearly states that landscaping is not a warrantable item.

Section 31:
Landscape
31.1 Landscape
Due to regional variances in temperature and
terrain, the Builder does not offer any warranty on
landscaping, e.g., sod, trees, shrubs, flowers, etc.

Mr. ********* did report erosion issues May 23rd that Pulte took care of. The customer care manager talked to Mr. ********* and discussed the maintenance of his yard or to hire a maintenance company.We contacted him again on June 10th to discuss the same issue. There will be no further action taken by Pulte in this matter and consider this issue closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They mentioned an erosion issue which was filled for the moment as of May 23.

My issue is the dead sod laid by Pulte before I moved in. They can say all day the landscaping isn't covered; however, here are aggrevating factors which are unacceptable and must be fixed at their cost immediately.

1. When the sod was laid and before we closed, our project manager assured us the sod was alive and would come in with constant watering and fertilizer. We water every other day and have fertilized three separate times and large areas of our yard are DEAD!!!

2. ***********, head of customer service for Carolinas, admitted they have had a lot of concerns about the quality of sod from their sod farmer. If you are aware of issues and continue to use a bad farmer, bad landscaper, bad product THEN YOU ARE LIABLE AND MUST ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY!!!! THIS IS NEGLIGENT. They have accepted awareness and thus by legal law are liable due to their premeditated neglect.

3. *****'s original reposne was give it a year or two once he stated the statement above. UNACCEPTABLE

4. If my yard was the only yard with the issue I would accept their claim and leave it alone. However, please drive to ************* and look at the homes which were built within the last year and notice 1/4 of yards are DEAD!!!!!! THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED ISSUE AND REVERTS BACK TO ***********'S STATEMENT LLISTED IN BULLET POINT 2.

I encourage someone from the Better Business Bureau to drive here and meet with myself, and my neighbors to see our yards. I encourage BBB to contact the local media and have them come film and stream the story on public television to protect our individuals and family from PULTE'S Neglect. The Better Business Bureau is to protect citizens from companies who attempt to take advantage of people knowingly. ***********s statement in number 2 is a direct implication of Pulte knowingly aware of an issue and has done nothing to fix it or prevent it from continuing to happen. They continue to use the same sod farmer.

Please let me know if legal action can be taken and I have a large amount of neighbors who will sign and file a class action suit.

I will be happy to supply pictures

Final Business Response
Mr. ********* closed in January of 2016. The home was signed off complete with no outstanding issues. The Pulte Group Warranty clearly states that landscaping is not a warrantable item.
Section 31:
Landscape
31.1 Landscape
Due to regional variances in temperature and
terrain, the Builder does not offer any warranty on
landscaping, e.g., sod, trees, shrubs, flowers, etc.
Mr. ********* did report erosion issues May 23rd that Pulte took care of. The customer care manager talked to Mr. ********* and discussed the maintenance of his yard or to hire a maintenance company.We contacted him again on June 10th to discuss the same issue. There will be no further action taken by Pulte in this matter and consider this issue closed

***** *******
VP of Construction
Charlotte Division
XXXXX Carmel Commons Blvd, Suite 450
Charlotte, NC XXXXX
Direct - XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell - XXX-XXX-XXXX

Built For Life. Built To Last.

08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pulte Homes, specifically ***********, has ignored and failed to provide a response to fix damage caused to roof by his sub-contractors
On May 29, 2014, a third party insurance adjuster provided a report to document inspection results to my roof. The report was requested due to the possibility of hail damage cause by a storm 2 weeks earlier. The results documented in this report found that there was no hail damage to the roofing shingles. However, extensive mechanical damage due to "foot traffic" was observed and documented within this report.

The report was submitted through Pulte Homes electronic warranty system (Owner's Entry) in June of 2014. The Site Manger responded accordingly, reviewed the report, agreed with the findings and submitted this to his manager, ***********. Since June of 2014 to present day, August of 2014, *********** and Pulte Homes have ignored all requests for replacement, explanations, or reasons for delays.

All of this was documented and submitted within the one year warranty period and no response was provided. But this is not a warranty claim, this is a damage to property claim against a company and their sub-contractors.

My roof is damaged and it needs to be replaced. Pulte Homes and *********** have failed to provide any response to provide replacement or explanations.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the roof to be replaced as the mechanical wear will lead to issues in the future as documented by the 3rd party inspector.

Business Response
**** ****** has a meeting set with the cutomer to review their issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Meeting was held on August 29, 2014, to discuss the resolution of the issue regarding the damage of mechanical wear (foot traffic) on the roof. ***********, *****************, 2 manufacture reps (***** and *****), and ************** were present to discuss the issue.

Pulte admitted and agreed that: 1) there is mechanical wear damage, 2) It was caused by either Pulte or their contractors/subcontractors, and 3) it needs to be repaired. However, no final answer was provided if they were actually going to repair the roof.

***************** explained that he needs to follow an undocumented process in order to determine the resolution. He explained that he or another Pulte individual would provide an answer as to 1) if the repair would be done, and 2) to what extent, i.e. whole replacement, partial replacement, etc.

At this point, no resolution to the initial issue has been provided, and this is unsatisfactory.

***************** explained his undocumented process is to gather information, speak to Pulte's insurance (presumably insurance to cover poor workmanship and damage) and have their insurance company accept or deny Pulte's claim. This is what he said he will be determining and would be able to provide a response by end of business (assumed 5:00pm) on Friday September 5, 2014.

This complaint and issue should remain open until a response is provided and an agreed resolution is determined.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The home still has paint on the carpeting,the hood of our stove fell off,there is paint on everything throughout the home.Mail keys not given.
We were forced to sign off on the home, ***** ****** ****** *********** threatened us and bullied us into the closing. We were told if we didnt sign off on the completion of the house they would not let us go to closing. ****** was so mad that we didnt want to sign off on the house until we were positive that the carpets would be cleaned properly. He just kept saying he would push the closing back, or change it if we didnt sign. He would not come back after closing to deal with the carpets. Due to ALL the errors, we had to miss work; ****** ********** said this is all part of the process. But, it cost us money to leave work. They built a wall crooked, and ******' reply was "I have never seen a straight wall." We had to argue with them on that statement in order for them to fix the wall. We tried to get ***** ******* involved. We called and emailed without any reply. **** ****** and ***** ***** lied to us numerous times. We requested to have our carpets covered while they fixed the mistakes. They promised they would, but never did. **** tried to cut corners on our drop zone by giving us a smaller product then what were promised. They were not paying attention to the home and contractors were smoking in the home. **** ****** blamed every mistake on the contracts and took no responsibility for the numerous things that were wrong. ***** ***** is the one who first threatened to stop our closing. When we confronted him in writing he just ignored the emails. ****** then took over the threat. Our carpets still have paint on them, there is paint all over many items throughout the home, the hood to our stove fell off within 3 hours of us being there (not using the stove) we were never given mail box keys, we left messages for **** ****** and ***** ********* without any reply. During the process, we would send emails to all the above mentioned men without any reply. We are still in shock over the way these men threatened and bullied us into our closing. We are extremely upset at the way Pulte does business. Over the weekend we spoke to a few neighbors who all said they had a horrible experience too.

Desired Settlement
We want a call back on our concerns. We want our carpets re-cleaned. We want to be provided paint remover so that we can remove the paint from our hardware and cabinets. We want our mailbox keys. We want a formal apology for the threats meaning: being forced to sign or ****** and ***** would stop our closing, and for the lies we were told, about the drop zone and the carpets by ***** and ****. We want to know that we can call if things go wrong per our warranty and received a reply. We want an apology from ***** ******* for ignoring our call and email. He is their boss; he needs to lead by example. We feel Pulte needs to know exactly what is happening with these men in charge.

Business Response
Pulte Homes is committed to standing behind our warranty should any homeowner have a warrantable issue need to be addressed. All warrantable issues should be communicated to the following web address so that we can correct the issue. Please see the attached link for the homeowner to submit those items.

http://pulte.com/************************



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no apology made. They are not even acknowledging the complaint. Nor did they address the carpet issue we are complaining about. This sounds like an automated reply. We didn't take the time to contact the BBB to go to a link and re-write our concerns. We want what we are asking for, we want an apology and we want our carpets re-cleaned. We fixed the stove ourselves, we were told hot water will take off the paint, and we received the keys. But we have not heard a formal apology nor have our carpet issue been addressed. We were bullied and threatened, we have emails where we are confronting the men who were threating and bulling us. We think Pulte should take this more seriously. It seems that all of Pulte refuses to get involved in the mistakes the employees make. We filled this complaint for the things we are requesting but also so that Pulte would know what is happening down here. These men handled this situation very poorly. And we deserve a formal apology.

Final Business Response
The customers carpet was cleaned prior to closing.

Should the customer have warrantable issues they would like for us to address the customer needs to submit a formal service request.

Thank you.

11/05/2015Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/06/1989Business started: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

General Contractors Licensing Board, NC
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC 27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.com

BBB records show a license number of 19311 for this company, issued by General Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclbgc.com.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1987, MI

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Locke Landino (VP of Construction)Mr. Chris Branham (SR Customer Care Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Cherry (Division President)Ms. Nakia Felder (Customer Relations Coordinator)Mr. Brent Landry (VP of Sales)Mr. Jeff Neudecker (Director of Construction Operations)
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Pulte Homes, Del Webb, Centex

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for PulteGroup, Inc.

11121 Carmel Commons Blvd Ste 450

Charlotte, NC 28226-4498

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 401 Harrison Oaks Blvd Ste 250 (Ho 

    Cary, NC 27513-2412Fax: (704) 543-6630

  • 11121 Carmel Commons Blvd Ste 450 

    Charlotte, NC 28226-4498(704) 543-4922
    Fax: (704) 602-2447

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*PulteGroup, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 414-7030
  • (704) 414-7056

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (704) 602-2447
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.