BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Legacy Building Group, LLC

(803) 242-0332View Additional Phone Numbers5987 Natoma Rd, Lake WylieSC 29710-9111http://www.lbg-llc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Legacy Building Group, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Legacy Building Group, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Legacy Building Group, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refuses to repair cabinets, flooring, porch. Refusing to respond to text messages or phone calls.
Cabinets have had cracks in them for months, and ************ was at my residence in April 2014 and took photographs. He has been aware of the issues with the cabinets for over a year, and nothing has been done. Hardwood flooring throughout entire house needs to be re coated, as ****** allowed us to move in knowing that the floors were not completely done (since 10/2012). Front deck had boards coming loose and lifting. He sent a worker to repair and in the process more damage was done (7/2014). He now refuses to respond to text messages or phone calls.

Desired Settlement
$5000 to repair / replace damaged boards on front porch.

Have Legacy Building Group repair damage to cabinets, or pay us to have said repairs done.

Have Legacy Building Group repair / re-coat wood flooring throughout house, or pay us to have said repair done.

Business Response
I MEET EVERY OBLIGATION FROM ************ PREVIOUS COMPLAINT AND DID SEVERAL OF THIER ITEMS MULTIPLE TIMES AND GAVE THEM N ADDITIONAL YEAR WARRANTY. I DID A WALK THRU ON 4/9/14 IN FRONT OF THEIR LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE AND PROVIDED THEM A COPY. THEIR WERE 20 ITEMS ON THE LIST OF WHICH 18 ARE COMPLETED. THE 2 REMAINING ITEMS ARE THE REPAIR TO 2 CABINETS IN THE KITCHEN AND SAND, FILL AND POLY THE HARDWOOD FLOORS ON THE 1ST FLOOR. ON THE 2ND YEAR WARRANTY I HAVE ONE YEAR TO COMPLETE THE TEMS ON THIS LIST UNTIL 4/9/2015. I COMPLETED 90% OF THIS LIST WITHIN 60 DAYS OF 4/9/14. I HAVE HAD 2 SEPERATE CONTRACTORS INSPECT THE CABINET REPAIR AND NEITHER ONE WOULD ATTEMPT THE REPAIR. I WAS REFERRED TO A CONTRACTOR FURNITURE MEDIC. HE HAS AGREED TO PERFORM THE CABINET REPAIR ON OCT, 29TH 2014. I AM PROVIDING THE PAINT FINISH ON THE SAME DATE AND THIS ITEM WILL BE COMPLETED ON THE 29TH IF THE PAINT MATCHES. I WILL SAND AND POLY THE MAIN FLOOR HARDWOODS AS SOON AS THE ********* SET UP A TIME WHEN THE HOUSE WILL BE VACATED FOR 5 DAYS. THE MAIN FLOOR MUST BE COMPLETELEY CLEARED WITH NO FURNITURE OR PERSONAL BELONGINGS. I WILL MAKE SURE THAT THESE LAST TWO ITEMS ARE COMPLETED AND THEN I WILL BE FOREVER DONE WITH THE *********. AS FOR THE PORCH DECKING, I COMPLETED ALL PORCH ITEMS ON THE PREVIOUSLY COMPLAINT AND IT HAS ALREADY BEEN SIGNED OFF BY THE ********* AND THE CASE WAS RESOLVED. I SPOKE TO *********** AND EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT WE COULD FACE SCREW THE DECK BOARDS WHICH WOULD ADD ADDITIONAL STRENGTH TO THE DECK BOARDS. I ALSO EXPLAINED THAT THE DECK BOARDS WOULD NOT LOOK THE SAME AS THE HIDDEN SCREW SYSTEM THAT WAS USED TO INSTALL THEM ORIGINALLY AND I WILL NOT DO ANY ADDITIONAL WORK ON THE DECK FOR COSMETIC ISSUES AS I AM NOT REQUIRED TO BASED ON NC RESIDENTAL CODE REQUIREMENTS. AS FOR THE LACK OF COMMUNICATION I HAVE SUSPENDED ALL DIRECT COMMUNICATION WITH THE ********* BY TEXT OR BY PHONE DUE TO THE FACT THAT I CALLED TO SPEAK WITH *********** ON HIS PERSONAL CELL PHONE AND ************ ANSWERED THE PHONE. I SAID I WOULD LIKE TO SPEAK TO *********** AND SHE SAID HE DID NOT WANT TO SPEAK TO ME AND SHE VERBALLY ABUSD ME THRU OUT THE CALL AND ALSO THREATED TO SHOT ME IN THE LEG SO I COULD SUFFER LIKE HER FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE. I HAVE NOT SPOKEN TO MR OR ************ SINCE. I WILL ADD THAT ************ HAS PERSONALLY SABATOAGED THE SERVICE WORK ON HER PREVIOUS LIST BY HIDING MATERIALS IN HER ATTIC. MATERIALS THAT I HAD TO REPURCHASE AND SPEND SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS DOING. I ALSO HAD 4 MEN ON SITE TO FINISH THE UPPER DECK BUT WITHOUT THE MATERIALS I HAD TO RESCHEDULE THEM AND PAY THEM FOR A WASTED TRIP TO THE *********. I KNOW THAT ************ HAS BEEN CONSTANTLY SLANDERING MYSELF AND MY COMPANY NO MATTER WHAT I DO OR HAVE DONE. I ALSO KNOW THAT ************ HAS HAD SOME HEAD TRAMA IN HER PREVIOUS CARRIER AS A POLICE OFFICER WHICH IS WHY SHE IS NO LONGER AN ACTIVE POLICE OFFICER AND RECIEVES DISIBILTY. WITH ALL OF THIS BEING SAID WITH HER MEDICAL HISTORY AND HER RECENT THREATS TO SHOOT ME, I DO NOT FEEL SAFE ON HER PROPERTY WITH HER PRESENT. I HAVE NO PROBLEMS WORKING DIRECTLY WITH *********** IN PERSON OR BY PHONE. I WILL ALSO EMAIL *********** DIRECTLY. MY GOAL IS TO COMPLETE THE LAST 2 ITEMS ON THE 2ND YEAR WARRANTY LIST AND BE DONE WITH THI PROJECT FOREVER.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******** NEVER conducted a walk thru of my home on 4/9/14, and I have NO idea what he means by "in front of their legal representative ". He did come into my home, sit in my kitchen, sign & hand me a copy of his "new" warranty, and tell me how sorry he was for his actions in the past, blaming the delays & his financial problems on his cousin, who was a former employee of LBG.This is an excuse we've heard from ****** since mid 2012. ************ was given $500,000 to build our home, and it is not yet 100% complete. As for him completing the work in 60 days, it is now October 2014, the last time ANY work was done here was shortly after 7/4/2014, well beyond 60 days, and that work caused unsightly damage to the front porch, which he claims I signed off on its completion. NO repair has EVER been signed off on by either myself or my wife. I had a separate contractor inspect the "repairs" that ************ had done to my front porch, and I was told that the composite deck boards now had to be replaced, as they were severely damaged by the "repair work". ****** likes to fall back on "basic NC code", but sells you "custom built", and will not repair it to its original, promised, and paid for state. ************ has refused to answer or reply to any calls,or text messages from me, making me believe that he no longer will honor his warranty. He stated in his reply that he has cabinet repair scheduled for my home on 10/29, this is the FIRST I've heard of this, as NOTHING was scheduled with me. The cabinet maker who originally built & installed the cabinets will not work with ******, as he stated to me several times that ****** still owes him several thousand dollars. The last cabinet repair person that came to our home informed me that he would NOT be doing any work for ******, as he discovered NUMEROUS legal judgements against ******.
As for ******s claim of a threat of violence, that is quite comical. My wife does NOT answer my phone if ****** calls, ever. If ****** was threatened with violence in any way, he should have made a police report. If he feels "slandered or abused", maybe he should get thicker skin, complete the work that he promises, and keep lines of communication open with customers that have paid him in full, instead of us having to REPEATEDLY ask when things might get done.
At NO time were ANY items, materials, construction supplies, hidden in my attic. Delays in any previous repair at our home was due to ****** sending workers to our home with NO supplies, or NO instructions on what was supposed to be repaired. Its quite insulting for him to imply that, since the repair he speaks of took almost 10 months & a BBB arbitration to get it completed. ****** left an upper front porch open with NO railing and a 14 foot drop, knowing that a childs room was adjacent to it.

If ************, LBG, or Legacy Building Group, does not take responsibility for the repair of items he/they were paid for to put in our home, I would ask for an immediate arbitration by BBB.

Photos of any / all items needing repair / replacement , will be provided if BBB requests same.
Also, copies of ALL texts between myself, my wife, and ************ can also be provided.

Final Consumer Response
Our trust of ************, or his company, is non existent. Numerous times he had made appointments with us to complete repairs, and on the dates and times he provided, no one showed up, and no contact was made with us to let us know why ( we had to repeatedly call him to get any answers, and TWICE I had had to go to his house to get some kind of response). This has been a consistent pattern with almost every dealing we've had with ************ since he picked up the final payment check for our home. When the BBB arbitrator ruled against him, and he was given 90 days to complete the work on 12/03/2013, the work was NOT completed in the stipulated time, and actually took over 7 months. Again, with several appointments made and several no shows with no contact or explanation. Our cabinets have been damaged for over 18 months, with ************ being fully aware of this, so it is not a new issue, and there are more than the 2 repairs to be made on them, unlike what ****** would have you believe.
The THREE items needed to be repaired are the cabinets, the wood floors in our entire home, and the front porch. The porch boards were lifting,and ****** did see that. He sent over a worker who did more damage than repair. This is NOT the porch we PAID IN FULL for, as per our contract, and what ****** built for us. Photos can be provided if BBB needs.
As for "missing" building materials, or us attempting to sabotage repairs at out home, the ONE missing item, a wood post and vinyl sleeve, was located by US in a small closet in our guest room, when we were looking for paint that was needed for the original BBB arbitrated repairs. WE informed one of ******s workers of our findings. The last person to go into that closet was HIS worker *************, who was in that closet getting paints and stains while her was doing repair work for ******, and that was the last time he has been at our home, as several other workers came back to complete the work that ************* did not finish.
Regarding ******s call to my cell phone, he did call my phone on 8/27/2014. NO ONE spoke to ******, and he left me a 17 second voice mail, which is still on my phone.
We would like the name & contact information for his cabinet repair company, so we can verify any appointment ****** has supposedly made, as NO appointment was made with us.


Final Business Response
From: ************* (mailto:*******************)
Sent: Monday, November 17, 2014 10:16 AM
To: ***************
Subject:

Here is the signed arbitration form. I am meeting my cabinet repair contractor at their house tomorrow morning as stated on my replies so hopefully that item will be removed for the list after tomorrow. I am also going to inspect the composite decking damage that is new to the list and come up with a game plan to resolve. The only item that should be left in question is the refinishing of the hardwood floors and I have been working on a couple solutions that would take less time for us to refinish the hardwood. There is a great product that only takes one coat of finish and dries in 24 hours so it would only take 2 days to refinish the hardwoods instead of 5. This might be more acceptable to them. I am also willing to do the 2nd floor on a separate date than the main floor which also will help them with the furniture issues. Then hopefully this 2nd year warranty will be concluded. Thanks

***********
Legacy Building Group
Direct #*************
Email: *******************
Website: www.lbg-llc.com

09/27/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2010Business started: 05/19/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell F. Smith (Managing Partner)Ms. Melissa D. Smith (Managing Partner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Legacy Building Group, LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Legacy Building Group, LLC

5987 Natoma Rd

Lake Wylie, SC 29710-9111

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5987 Natoma Rd 

    Lake Wylie, SC 29710-9111(803) 242-0332
    (803) 242-7237

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Legacy Building Group, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (803) 242-7237
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.