BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2010

Nautical Decor & Gifts

(704) 375-1036View Additional Phone Numbers2222 Selwyn Ave Apt 406, CharlotteNC 28207-2780

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2010

BBB has determined that Nautical Decor & Gifts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nautical Decor & Gifts' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nautical Decor & Gifts

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their online site misleads you and after paying they sent email asking for additional $150.00 !
Online site for xxxxx enamelware: Pay $30.00 then it ask if you want to add Small Basin $3.00, 4 salad bowls-$11.00, Med. Tray $19.00,4 Sandwich Plts $21.00,Chargers $53.00, 4 Party Plates $27.00. Free Shipping. All added up to $164.00 which from their site that totaled the amount I paid via xxxxx. I had spoke with xxxxx at their Store to question this and initially was told it was right. Then after I spoke to him again he told me to pay $30.00 for each item then add the additional amount also. This didn't make sense since their site stated otherwise so I ordered from there. Now I received an email stating they want another $150.00 to order. Their site has this procedure for several different dishware. This pricing has been on their site for months- NOT new, NOT employee error. False Advertising!!

Desired Settlement
Sell me what I ordered at the price they advertised and their site totaled my invoice and I paid via xxxxx for!

Business Response
We acknowledge the pricing error on our website for the product referred to by the customer. On July 18th, we spoke to the customer indicating that we would honor the pricing that was advertised on our site at the time. The customer indicated she was pleased with the action taken. Her order is being processed and is shipping to her.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Accessories, Home Furnishings, Gift Shops, Furniture - Retail, Collectibles, Nautical Instruments

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/28/2010Business started: 10/21/2005Business started locally: 12/01/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harvey Grasty (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Home Accessories, Home Furnishings, Gift Shops, Furniture - Retail, Collectibles, Nautical Instruments

Alternate Business Names
Nauticaldecorandgifts.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nautical Decor & Gifts

2222 Selwyn Ave Apt 406

Charlotte, NC 28207-2780

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2222 Selwyn Ave Apt 406 

    Charlotte, NC 28207-2780(704) 375-1036
    (877) 714-1752

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nautical Decor & Gifts is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 714-1752
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Home Accessories

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.