BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2010

Real Cool Heating & Air Conditioning

(704) 537-947211515 Gelding Dr, CharlotteNC 28215-8015

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2010

BBB has determined that Real Cool Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Real Cool Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Real Cool Heating & Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company cancelled me as a cutomer becuse they wer not making enough money off of me.
I have been a customer of Real Cool since Nov. 2009 and on 6/16/14 I was told that I keep my heating/cooling in condition, they are not makeing enough money on me and are cancelling me as a customer. I have had no problem with their work and I had them come out twice a year to service my unit. My unit was just purchase a year before I hired them.

Desired Settlement
Make note that this seems to be unfare practice for a company.

Business Response
Real Cool has performed HVAC maintenance for this customer for four years and he has been a maintenance agreement holder during that time. The benefits of being a maintenance agreement holder with us is that it entitles you to one air conditioning tune up & cleaning, one heating system tune up & cleaning and 15% discount on repairs.
During our last visit I, xxxxx - the business owner, performed the maintenance for this customer and after the visit was completed I spoke to the customer as to why we would no longer be able to provide maintenance services for him. I explained that due to the fact that the customer made his own repairs after we diagnosed problems that it was actually costing Real Cool more money to do the maintenance visits than we charge for our maintenance agreement. The customer asked if we could just charge him more for the agreement but I did not feel that increasing the maintenance agreement price for one customer was fair. The price for a maintenance agreement must be the same for all customers. I explained it was not personal but a business decision.
The customer stated that we cancelled him due to not making enough money but this was not the case. It was not that we were not making enough money, it is that we were losing money because he would perform all his own repairs and use us only to tune-up his system and let him know what repairs were needed.
Our maintenance agreements are priced low so that they can be affordable to the customer and allow them to have their annual tune-up which is important for the life and efficiency of their system and also for us to build a relationship with the customer. By this I mean that our hope is that in being a maintenance agreement holder with our company, means that the customer will trust us in performing their repairs and use us over another company (or in this case over doing their own repairs). So despite our low price for our maintenance agreements, they are beneficial as they help build a relationship of trust with our customer, who will call us when they need a repair or a new system. But when a customer continually performs their own repairs and in that process we lose money by having them as a maintenance agreement holder, we need to consider letting the customer know that we can no longer provide his maintenance.
There was no ill intention on our part. We continued providing the customer maintenance for four years and did not make this decision hastily and definitely did not intend to cause the customer any offence.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If there was an item that could be replace that I was capable of doing, I would, If there a repair that I could not do, I would have had them do the work. Sine I had a farely new heat/ air conditioner, no major repairs ahd to be done.

Final Business Response
The customer reports; "My unit was just purchase a year before I hired them." and " I have had no problem with their work".

To address the first statement; based on the units serial numbers and checking with the equipment manufacturer, the air conditioner is over 14 years old (manufacture date: 05/2000 purchased June 27, 2000, install date not available since unit was not registered by the contractor who installed) and the air handler is almost 12 years old (manufacture date: 11/2002, shipped from factory 11/9/2002 purchased Jan 8, 2003, install date not available since unit was not registered by the contractor who installed). So 4 years ago, when we started doing work for the customer, the units were actually almost 10 and 8 years old and not just purchased a year before. Units of that age range can have maintenance related repairs and during our visits, repairs were recommended and the customer chose to address them himself. The customer has a right to perform his own repairs but he should also understand that we have the right to say that his choice results in us losing money, so we need to stop performing his maintenance.

To address the second statement; the customer stated he had no problem with our work. We are not sure what the customer is expecting us to offer or what we can offer that would satisfy the customer. We completed his contract with us and let him know we could not continue to renew his contract. We know the customer wishes to continue performing his own repairs and we explained the situation that results for us due to his wish to continue to perform his own repairs. He has the right to find another company for his maintenance and he has the right to perform the maintenance himself as he does with his repairs. We are not stopping him from pursuing either of those options. Although we do (and always have) recommend only a qualified HVAC technician work on your heating and cooling systems.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/02/2010Business started: 09/08/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC
1109 Dresser Ct
Raleigh, NC 27609-7302
(919) 875-3612
http://www.nclicensing.org

Electrical Contractors Examiners Licensing Board, NC
PO Box 18727
Raleigh, NC 27619-8727
(919) 733-9042

BBB records show a license number of 28286 for this company, issued by Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclicensing.org.

BBB records show a license number of 25889-L for this company, issued by Electrical Contractors Examiners Licensing Board, NC.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2006, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Atkinson (Co-Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Sonia Atkinson (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Real Cool Heating, Air Conditioning & Indoor Air Quality, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Real Cool Heating & Air Conditioning has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Real Cool Heating & Air Conditioning

11515 Gelding Dr

Charlotte, NC 28215-8015

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11515 Gelding Dr 

    Charlotte, NC 28215-8015(704) 537-9472

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Real Cool Heating & Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.