BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2010

Henson Mechanical Services, Inc.

Find a Location

(704) 489-84282471 N Highway 16, DenverNC 28037-8256

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2010

BBB has determined that Henson Mechanical Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Henson Mechanical Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Henson Mechanical Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Due to repairs not being completed I incurred in excess of $1200.00 additional electrical charges for the months of July and August
Back in the beginning of June I contacted Henson Mechanical Services. They had done work for me previously, and my 1st level air conditioning unit was not blowing cold air. Henson sent one of their technicians (James). James said that a part would need to be ordered and they would contact me with an estimate. I spoke to Charleen the following week and she quoted me a price of 1,563.00. I agreed to have them order the part, and do the repair. The part came in, and was replaced on 6/29/2012. On July 4th I received my June Duke energy bill. It was 317.64. The air worked fine for about 2 weeks, then it seemed to be blowing warm air again. I called Henson on 7/16/2012, They sent someone else out on 7/18/2012.. I was not at home, my room mate let the tech in. I got home, and the air seemed to be working again. He left an invoice for what he had done, and indicated that it was part of the original visit, and no charge was due, other than the original charge of 1,563. On 8/3/2012, I received my Duke energy bill. I was charged 940.28. I was shocked. The highest Electric bill I had ever received was in December several years ago, and it was only a little over 500.00. I called Henson and Spoke to Charleen, she said that she would speak to the owner and get back to me. She didn't call me back, I called her again several weeks later. On Sunday September 2nd. The weather was perfect, I turned off the unit and opened the windows to air out the house. The problem was the air would not shut off. It continued to run, then I knew why the bill for July was 940.00 the air had run non stop the entire month. I immediately called Henson. Melvin (one of the owners) answered the phone and told me that I would need to shut off the breaker to get it to turn off. I went to the garage and flipped the breaker, which was extremely hot. I explained to him about the extremely large electric bill. He then told me he would get someone out first thing Monday. And, that he would look at adjusting my initial charge to compensate for the large bill. Then on Sept. 4th I received my Duke energy bill. It was 919.67. I now owe Duke energy over 2000.00......And Henson does not seem to care. 3 weeks ago I dropped off copies of my electric bills for the last 5 months showing them my bill is usually around 300.00 per month during the summer months. The secretary made copies and told me she would see Melvin later that day, and would put the paperwork on his desk. I called last week, and once again, Charleen was still checking with Melvin. They don't seem to want to help me. I'm hoping someone can, My husband passed away several years ago and I pay all of the bills on my salary alone. I canon afford 4 months of electric bills in 2 months.

Desired Settlement
Since I have an invoice dated 7/18/2012 showing that the work was complete when in fact it wasn't I'm asking that they adjust my bill of 1563.00, to 363.00 and refund me 1200.00. That would be 600.00 for the month of July and 600.00 for the month of August to cover my Duke Energy bill. the total for those two months is 1859.95

Business' Initial Response
****** Mechanical Services made the following repairs:
Invoice #XXXXX XX-XX-XX - Replaced TXV on evaporator systems as per quote - $ 1563.00
Invoice # XXXXX XX-XX-XX - Checked downstairs for not cooling well. Found small leak at expansion valve connection near distribution tubes. Tightened fittings and leak stopped. Added refrigerant, started and monitored system. System was operating properly and cooling well upon departure. NO CHARGE
Invoice # XXXXX XX-XX-XX - Customer complained of high power bills and system running constantly. Found that the control board on the system had failed causing heat strips to run with A/C. Installed a new control and cycled through system to make sure system was operating properly and it was. Told customer that there would be NO CHARGE for this additional failure (normal charge - $ 450.00) to aid in high power bills for the last two months.
Ms. ****** states in her complaint that she dropped off 5 months of power bills but we only have 3 months (June, July and August). Also, we believe it to be pertinent to have the power bills for the equivalent time periods for the previous summer to be able to make fair and accurate comparisons. Although we do not have all the information stated that is needed to make a fair evaluation we are willing to make a good faith restitution to Ms. ******.
xxxxx ****** was made aware of Ms. ******'s request and after going over the 3 power bills and invoices for repairs made, he tried to call Ms. ****** and left a message to call him from which he received no reply. ****** Mechanical services is willing to issue Ms. ****** a check for $ 300.00 to help her recoup some of the excess expense of her power bills. Please keep in mind that this $300.00 is in addition to the $450.00 repair made on invoice XXXXX for which we did NOT charge her.
In conclusion, the $300.00 check and $450.00 NO CHARGE repair total a $750.00 restitution for an additional failure to the unit that was beyond our, ****** Mechanical Services, control.

Consumer's Final Response
When should I expect to receive the check from Henson Mechanical?

Business' Final Response
We will mail a check for $400.00 Monday Feb 4th

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/27/2008Business started: 09/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC
1109 Dresser Ct
Raleigh, NC27609-7302
(919) 875-3612
http://www.nclicensing.org

BBB records show a license number of 19179 for this company, issued by Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclicensing.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2006, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Henson (Owner)Mr. M. E. Boulware (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Henson Mechanical Services, Inc.

2471 N Highway 16

Denver, NC 28037-8256

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2471 N Highway 16 

    Denver, NC 28037-8256(704) 489-8428

  • PO Box 2460 

    Denver, NC 28037-2460

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Henson Mechanical Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.