BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2010

Henson Mechanical Services, Inc.

Phone: (704) 489-8428

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Due to repairs not being completed I incurred in excess of $1200.00 additional electrical charges for the months of July and August
Back in the beginning of June I contacted Henson Mechanical Services. They had done work for me previously, and my 1st level air conditioning unit was not blowing cold air. Henson sent one of their technicians (James). James said that a part would need to be ordered and they would contact me with an estimate. I spoke to Charleen the following week and she quoted me a price of 1,563.00. I agreed to have them order the part, and do the repair. The part came in, and was replaced on 6/29/2012. On July 4th I received my June Duke energy bill. It was 317.64. The air worked fine for about 2 weeks, then it seemed to be blowing warm air again. I called Henson on 7/16/2012, They sent someone else out on 7/18/2012.. I was not at home, my room mate let the tech in. I got home, and the air seemed to be working again. He left an invoice for what he had done, and indicated that it was part of the original visit, and no charge was due, other than the original charge of 1,563. On 8/3/2012, I received my Duke energy bill. I was charged 940.28. I was shocked. The highest Electric bill I had ever received was in December several years ago, and it was only a little over 500.00. I called Henson and Spoke to Charleen, she said that she would speak to the owner and get back to me. She didn't call me back, I called her again several weeks later. On Sunday September 2nd. The weather was perfect, I turned off the unit and opened the windows to air out the house. The problem was the air would not shut off. It continued to run, then I knew why the bill for July was 940.00 the air had run non stop the entire month. I immediately called Henson. Melvin (one of the owners) answered the phone and told me that I would need to shut off the breaker to get it to turn off. I went to the garage and flipped the breaker, which was extremely hot. I explained to him about the extremely large electric bill. He then told me he would get someone out first thing Monday. And, that he would look at adjusting my initial charge to compensate for the large bill. Then on Sept. 4th I received my Duke energy bill. It was 919.67. I now owe Duke energy over 2000.00......And Henson does not seem to care. 3 weeks ago I dropped off copies of my electric bills for the last 5 months showing them my bill is usually around 300.00 per month during the summer months. The secretary made copies and told me she would see Melvin later that day, and would put the paperwork on his desk. I called last week, and once again, Charleen was still checking with Melvin. They don't seem to want to help me. I'm hoping someone can, My husband passed away several years ago and I pay all of the bills on my salary alone. I canon afford 4 months of electric bills in 2 months.

Desired Settlement
Since I have an invoice dated 7/18/2012 showing that the work was complete when in fact it wasn't I'm asking that they adjust my bill of 1563.00, to 363.00 and refund me 1200.00. That would be 600.00 for the month of July and 600.00 for the month of August to cover my Duke Energy bill. the total for those two months is 1859.95

Business' Initial Response
****** Mechanical Services made the following repairs:
Invoice #XXXXX XX-XX-XX - Replaced TXV on evaporator systems as per quote - $ 1563.00
Invoice # XXXXX XX-XX-XX - Checked downstairs for not cooling well. Found small leak at expansion valve connection near distribution tubes. Tightened fittings and leak stopped. Added refrigerant, started and monitored system. System was operating properly and cooling well upon departure. NO CHARGE
Invoice # XXXXX XX-XX-XX - Customer complained of high power bills and system running constantly. Found that the control board on the system had failed causing heat strips to run with A/C. Installed a new control and cycled through system to make sure system was operating properly and it was. Told customer that there would be NO CHARGE for this additional failure (normal charge - $ 450.00) to aid in high power bills for the last two months.
Ms. ****** states in her complaint that she dropped off 5 months of power bills but we only have 3 months (June, July and August). Also, we believe it to be pertinent to have the power bills for the equivalent time periods for the previous summer to be able to make fair and accurate comparisons. Although we do not have all the information stated that is needed to make a fair evaluation we are willing to make a good faith restitution to Ms. ******.
xxxxx ****** was made aware of Ms. ******'s request and after going over the 3 power bills and invoices for repairs made, he tried to call Ms. ****** and left a message to call him from which he received no reply. ****** Mechanical services is willing to issue Ms. ****** a check for $ 300.00 to help her recoup some of the excess expense of her power bills. Please keep in mind that this $300.00 is in addition to the $450.00 repair made on invoice XXXXX for which we did NOT charge her.
In conclusion, the $300.00 check and $450.00 NO CHARGE repair total a $750.00 restitution for an additional failure to the unit that was beyond our, ****** Mechanical Services, control.

Consumer's Final Response
When should I expect to receive the check from Henson Mechanical?

Business' Final Response
We will mail a check for $400.00 Monday Feb 4th

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.