BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2011

Air Comfort Services, Inc.

Phone: (704) 545-8889Fax: (704) 545-8191View Additional Phone Numbers4455 Morris Park Dr STE G, Mint HillNC 28227-9207



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2011

BBB has determined that Air Comfort Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air Comfort Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Air Comfort Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Air Comfort failed to repair the air conditioning units correctly and per industry standard procedure.
Our AC stopped working on July 14. On July 15, Air Comfort technician xxxxx came and said that both our AC units were frozen. He said they needed to thaw out and that he couldn't do anything that day. We paid $89 for the service call and had another night without air.

On July 16, he pumped 5 lbs of R-22 freeon and then put a dye to detect the leak. He said that the units had been cleaned. He also told us he would come back the next day to see where the leak was. We paid $637.50 for the service.

On July 17, he came to check the leak and told us something about a bulb being broken on his flashlight. He said that he would replace it and be back in an hour. Later he called that there were some issues in procuring the bulb and that he would be back on Monday.

On Saturday, July 18, the upstairs unit stopped working and the inside temperature was 86 degrees. I called the office and as usual, got the call center. I left 3 messages for the technician on call and did not get a response. I finally called xxxxx and was told that nothing could be done because we were not on the maintenance program. I asked him to call the technician on call. xxxxx called late Saturday and after hearing the case, confirmed there was a major leak. xxxxx said he would get into the office soon after 8 am on Monday and have them send him or another person Monday morning. On Monday morning, no one from Air Comfort called. I called and left a message with the call center again informing them that I would lodge a complaint with BBB.

On Monday, July 20 I called two large heating/cooling companies in the xxxxx area to verify whether the process Air Comfort had followed was an industry standard. Both companies confirmed that that the leak should have been detected BEFORE 5 lbs of freeon was pumped in. Finally I scheduled one of them to run a diagnostic and paid $89 for it. This company did an electronic leak search, took apart the units and showed us exactly where the leak was, what caused it, and said that both units were so dirty that Air Comfort should not have proceeded with the freeon without cleaning out the units and finding the leak. I have pictures to prove it.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of $637, the charge for 5 lbs of free on that should not have been pumped in without the prior detection of leaks and cleaning out the coils.

Business Response
There are a number of facts this customer has intentionally omitted. For the record, we are not beyond making mistakes. If we do make a mistake we will go above and beyond expectations to make up for an error. However, in this case the only mistake we made was not providing enough explanation to make sure that the customer understood our processes. We did explain the process but based on her complaint she must have not understood or simply chose to ignore our instructions.

On 7/15/15 the customer called our office claiming that neither of her two AC units was cooling. We instructed her to turn off the system and to wait for our arrival. We instruct our customers to turn off the equipment as continuing operation can cause further complications. When our technician arrived both units were still running. Upon inspection our tech discovered that both systems were severely iced over. Ice formation will occur for several reasons including low refrigerant (Freon).

Please keep in mind that we have been extremely bust due to the warm temperatures in the area over recent weeks. Our technicians are running 6-8 calls per day and the techs must move from call to call in a timely manner.

When our tech arrived and saw the systems incased in ice he knew that the customer failed to turn off the equipment. At that point he turned the system off and told the customer that it would take 3-6 hours for the ice to melt. We cannot service or repair a system incased in ice, so we told the customer we would return the following day. The customer claims she spent "another night without air" but fails to tell you that the reason was her failure to turn off the system as she was instructed to do.
On 7/16/15 our technician returned and found the ice had melted and began to run a system diagnostic. The tech determined that the problem was low Freon on both systems and that the systems had a Freon leak. Keep in mind that at this point the technician has no idea as to the leak rate. The tech explained the three different types of leak search and the pros and cons with each. The three types of leak search are: electronic leak detection, dye test or pressure test. For various reasons technicians will recommend one of these three methods. Some techs simply prefer one test over the other and sometimes the situation may dictate which test may be more suitable, but all the aforementioned methods adhere to industry standards.

As a company we prefer the dye test as it will leave a trace of dye at all leak points. Electronics can give you false readings or in some cases not find the smaller leaks. In either case the system has to have refrigerant in order to detect a leak. As with all customers we explained the choices and the customer and technician agreed on the dye test. At this point we recommend charging the system and adding the dye. The dye must be in the system with the system running for 24-48 hours. The system must be charged to factory specs in order to operate and circulate the dye. This is exactly the process that must be followed and is certainly directly on line with industry standards practices. Furthermore, adding Freon will also enable the system to work properly and cool the home. As you might be able to tell by her letter this customer was insisting that we leave with her system cooling. We added two pounds to the first system and 5 pounds to the second system.

As the federal government is phasing out R22 freon the cost has become very expensive. Our prices are certainly in line with industry standards, but this customer immediately began to complain of the cost. While the technician was there she called two other companies and found that one had higher rates and the other was slightly lower but had a higher service call fee. We normally charge $150.00 per pound, which for seven lbs. would be $1050.00, but our tech felt so bad for her that he gave her a 15% discount on the first five lbs. (637.50) and gave her the other two lbs at no charge. In addition a leak search is normally $257.00 per system, again feeling bad for the customer he told her that he would provide the dye test at no charge if she used us for repairs. How dare this person complain!!!! Our technician saved her over eight hundred and she complains. We are a family owned business and we try to help those who claim they are in need...we just don't understand some people.

We informed the customer we would return Friday the 17th or Monday the 20th to look for the leak. As the technician was experiencing a problem with the black light used for dye detection, we called the customer and told her that it would be Monday 7/20/15 when we would return. The customer told us that Monday would be fine. On 7/18/15 the customer again called our afterhour's answering service claiming the system was not cooling again. A technician returned her call and let her that a leak repair had to be completed during normal business hours. Distributers who handle coils and various repair items are closed on the weekends. He told her that we would be out Monday as planned.

Apparently this was not a good enough answer and she called out another company. That company performed a electronic leak test and told her she had a Freon leak.

Our owner spoke with her early Monday morning and assured her that our service manager would be her home between 10:00 and 12:00 she agreed to that appointment and then an hour later cancelled and asked us to place her on the schedule for Tuesday 7/21/15. Late Monday afternoon she called and cancelled that appointment. We don't know what game she is playing but we want nothing else to do with her. We certainly don't believe that it is fair that we provided two dye tests at no charge and discounts on Freon and still be manipulated in this manner. Our records will show her as owing an outstanding balance for both leak searches (unless she uses us for repairs). Actually, at this point we simply feel used. We will go ahead and no charge the two dye tests, as we do not wish to return to this customer's home.

We invite any BBB member or reader to call any licensed HVAC contractor and pose the following question. Do you have to insure that a system is charged to factory specs in order to perform a standard HVAC dye leak search? We are confident you find that our statements are 100% accurate.

Very Sincerely,

Air Comfort


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Having dealt with Air Comfort from July 15-20, I am not surprised by the unprofessional and retaliatory tone of their response.

Bottom line is: Air Comfort charged me $89 plus $637 to repair 2 AC units. They only fixed one and it took 5 days and 9 calls to partially fix the problem. They found the units low on Freon, pumped 5 lbs (per their record) and 7 lbs (per notation on my receipt made by the technician) of Freon, knowing and acknowledging that there was a major leak in the system and that the Freon would leak out. Lastly, they put in the dye to test the leak. It was like putting a bandaid on a cut that needed stitches.

The other company came and fixed the problem in 1 day with 1 phone call - they first performed an electronic leak detection, found the leak, fixed the leak, cleaned the units and THEN put in Freon. I have called 2 other companies which confirmed that this was the correct way to deal with a major leak, not just pump in a quick and expensive fix like Freon.

Now I will respond to their specific points:

Their claim that we were asked to switch off the units when we called for an appointment is FALSE. We were not asked to turn off the units when we called on July 15 to make the appointment. At that time, Air Comfort had not been to our house yet and did not know that both units were frozen. So their claim is false. On July 15, when the technician came to our house, he looked at the units and THEN told us they were frozen. He switched off the upstairs unit before he left and asked us to keep it off throughout the night, as it would take longer to thaw. The technician told us that since the downstairs unit was outside, it would not take as long to thaw. So he switched off the downstairs unit while he was here and asked us to turn it on again at 7 pm so we could sleep in more comfort that a 92 degree house and switch it off 3 hours before he came the next morning. The downstairs unit was switched off at 6 am on July 16.

The reason they claim above for not coming out to fix the upstaters AC on Saturday is FALSE. On July 18, we called 5 times and reached their call center. We told them the upstaters unit was dead - no air at all. We were told that they would only respond if we had purchased a maintenance agreement from Air Comfort. Otherwise wait it out through Saturday and Sunday. A technician did call us finally on Saturday night and said it would cost a lot of money for him to come out and advised us to wait till Monday. He said he usually was in the office around 8 am and would make sure they sent him or someone else to fix it.

Their claim that the owner called on Monday is correct, but only after I called them twice on Monday morning and threatened to lodge a complaint with BBB.

Again, bottom line:

Air Comfort charged me for something they only partially fixed.

They did not make right their own mistake in a timely fashion because I was not on the "maintenance program."

They followed a procedure that is not recommended as an industry standard for a "major" leak in the units - you find the leak, you fix it, and then put in Freon, not the other way around.

They put on their records that 5 lbs of Freon was used. The technician put on my record that 7 lbs was used. That itself is an unethical business practice.

Since they fixed half the problem, I feel the right thing for them to do is refund at least half the cost, even though the upstairs unit was pumped with 4 lbs of Freon.

Please see attached 2 pictures taken by another company that proved wrong the technician's claim that the units were cleaned. The upstairs unit was still sealed when they came out on Monday.


Final Business Response
Again, if the reader will take the time to read this complaint closely, it is obvious this customer simply does not understand HVAC...to be honest we do not expect her to understand. But it is important for the reader to understand as well as possible.

After explaining the pros and cons of the three types of leak searches the customer and technician agreed to do a "Dye Test." Neither the customer nor any technician will dispute that a system must be charged to factory specs in order to perform this test. We will be more than happy to supply HVAC manuals to prove this point. Furthermore, we added seven lbs. of Freon and only charged her for five lbs. This is another fact she does not dispute.

Another fact she does not dispute is that we gave her both leak searches at no charge. We did these things prior to any complaints simply because she asked for our financial assistance. As a family owned business we try to help when we can.

We strongly feel that she is trying to get something for nothing. We also feel that with the warm temperatures she decided not to wait for the dye test results. She decided that she wanted cold air and wanted it right away. But we could not undue the dye test...the dye was added and we had a Monday appointment to go out to her home and look for the leak. Unfortunately there are customers that will call one company and then call another and just pay the one that gets the system fixed first. In this case, there were several different acceptable approaches to correct the problem. Either way...she is the one that cancelled the Monday appointment.

The bottom line is that we added the Freon and added the dye and gave her serious discounts for both and now she wants more discounts and doesn't' want to pay for the dye test. Why? Simply because she did not want to wait...NOT BECAUSE WE DID SOMETHING WRONG. You must wait 24-48 before looking for traces of dye which will highlight the leak(s).

If she continues to slander our company we will not hesitate to take legal action. Our agreement was to not charge her for the dye test if we completed repairs. We were scheduled to complete those repairs Monday, but she did not want to wait and cancelled our Monday appointment. This is another fact she does not dispute.

If you examine at our BBB record you will see that we get very few complaints. We go out of our way to help our customers...Including this customer. It is unreal how some people can be. We are so thankful that 99.9% of our customers are good honest people. This customer simply is not! Not only does she not want to pay for the dye test, but she wants us to refund her for the Freon that kept her cool Thursday and Friday. Tell me what you think...email me at xxxxx.

If a preponderance of readers truly feel we have done wrong we will acquiesce. If she is going to go to these lengths...she must need the money more than our company or employees. We just don't understand. We have always tried to give to the community. If she needs our financial assistance, all she needs to do is retract her complaint and call me. We just don't like to feel used and manipulated.

Boston Environmental States, "the most precise method for locating a Freon leak is for the technician to install a liquid tracer (DYE) into the system. Go to the link provided below.
xxxxx

Or Read this article http:xxxxx

"There are leaks that can occur in evaporator and condensing coils that just will not trigger on some leak detectors. Either that or they just take too long to find. One option that will save you time, and will 100% pinpoint your leak (unless line set is underground) is the dye leak detection test."

This customer is either lying or misinformed. We follow standard practices for our industry. PERIOD. We can produce as many HVAC articles as she wants to prove our point.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I continue to be amazed at the erroneous claim of Air Comfort that I'm trying to get something for nothing, when they charged me to fix TWO AC units and only fixed one.

The only reason I canceled the appointment on Monday was that I refused to be played by this company for a 5th day. Additionally, the tone of the owner who called on Monday was unprofessional, when he said they would come back and not charge for additional Freon "if I did the work with them." As the owner of the company, he should have apologized and asked to make things right, not try to lock me into new business.

I am relieved that I went with another company that is reputable, professional, and not surprisingly, a bigger presence in xxxxx than Air Comfort. Air Comfort can throw around all the articles they want - anyone who is not stupid will know the value of getting a HVAC problem fixed in ONE day versus FIVE days.

I am glad that future customers of Air Comfort will be able to reference BBB, xxxxx reviews, and other customer feedback platforms to avoid the mistake I made in hiring Air Comfort.

When it comes to customer service, the power of word-of-mouth is very strong in the xxxxx market.

Air Comfort's refusal to make right on their product/service and refund $300+ will ultimately cost them much more.

https:/xxxxx world-but-haven-t

I don't want to deal with this company anymore. Thank you, BBB, for your mediation.

03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 12/3 a technician incorrectly adjusted a working HVAC unit. Two months and 5 other Service personal latter the system still isn't working properly.
In Nov I accepted an annual inspection offer and on 12/3 a technician inspected my HVAC units making adjustments and replacing a transformer. The same technician returned 3 times to UNDO whatever he had done to one of my units so the system would work as it did prior to his initial visit. After multiple calls other technicians were sent out on subsequent visits of which one told me a thermostat was bad and one injected dye to determine if leaks exist. He never returned to check for leaks.
The company that installed the thermostat was summoned and they determined the thermostat was fine (3 years old) and that valves were sticking because dye had been injected in the unit. I was told that dye should never be used to determine leaks. More costs for me!
Since 1/27 I have called Air Comfort 7 times and I was assured they would fix the problem. HASN'T HAPPENED. On 2/27 I asked for the owner to call me but that hasn't happened. I want is my system to work as it did on 12/1/13 without additional costs to me. Because the HVAC system runs almost constantly my electric bills are out of sight; $300-$400 for the last 3 months. Air Comfort needs to fix the problem or pay for another company to fix it and reimburse me for a portion of the large electric bills.

Desired Settlement
Simply repair my HVAC unit and return my HVAC unit to the working status that it was on 12/1/13. OR PAY for another company to repair the unit. AND pay half of my electric bills for Dec, Jan and Feb that were close to $300-$400 each month.

Business Response
BBB Southern Piedmont
RE: case# xxxxx
Dear BBB,
On 12/3/13 we performed a tune-up at the home of xxxxx. Per the customers letter we did find a bad transformer which we replaced on 12/10/13. We did not have to make any other changes or adjustments in the system and the system was operating normally upon completion. (See invoice xxxxx dated 12/10/13)
We did not hear from the customer again until 1/7/14. At this time the customer complained that the system was not heating correctly. The customer claimed he should not be charged for the service call because the problem was due to the previous tech. We found no issues with the replaced transformer or any problems that would have resulted from a poorly performed tune-up. The problem described by the customer was not occurring while we were present although we did find that the system was a little low on refrigerant. At this time we reset the breakers and circuit boards and charged the system to factory specs.
Although we knew the problem had nothing to do with the previous technician, as a courtesy, we "no-charged" Mr. xxxxx for the call. We did not charge for the service call $79.00 or the Freon, $125.00. As the system was low on Freon we did recommend a leak search.
A "dye test" is one of the four accepted methods for discovering the location of freon leaks. This is an HVAC industry standard method and was not the cause of Mr. xxxxx problems. Again, as a courtesy we waived the fee of the leak search as well ($250.00) and with the customers permission added dye to the system. Although we could not immediately find any dye present, which would indicate a leak, we let the customer know that it may take several days for the dye to be detected.
On 1/24/14 the customer called again stating that the system was not heating properly. At this point we informed him we needed to come back anyway to check for the presence of dye. On 1/27/14 we sent our service manager xxxxx to check the system. xxxxx found no leaks present but did find what he believed to be a faulty reversing valve. xxxxx also recommended that the TXV valve be checked closely as well. We told the customer what the cost of repairs would be and have not received permission to proceed.
We know that a tune-up and a dye test WILL NOT cause a reversing valve to fail. We will be more than happy to complete repairs if the customer is willing to pay for those repairs. As a courtesy we have already given this customer over $400.00 in free services, for a problem that is consistent with the normal failures of any given system. More importantly, there is no reputable firm that will claim that a dye test will cause a reversing valve to fail. We simply ask that this customer pay for any future services and/or repairs. Mr. xxxxx is welcome to call my office directly if he wishes resolve this issue in good faith.
xxxxx, Pres. Air Comfort


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not an HVAC technician and can only rely on the advice given to me by the experts. The original technician came out 4 times, 3 to undo what he had done because my system was NOT putting out heat and ran constantly to catch up. He no longer works for Air Comfort or we could ask him about it. The next technician told me the thermostat was causing the problem. He no longer works for Air Comfort or we could ask him about it, etc.
On 1/3 a guy came out, looked around and said he would send someone else out to fix the problem. On 1/7 the technician injected dye. After several calls and a service call from another company on 1/27 a technician finally confirmed there are no leaks in the system. From 1/27 until 3/3 I reached out to Air Comfort 7 times and asked Mr. xxxxx to call me with no return calls. So, I reached out to the BBB. I will no longer waist the BBB's time or mine with an ongoing discussion. Thank you BBB for your professional assistance with this matter.


Final Business Response
Air Comfort technicians are trained based on the principles and practices recommended by xxxxx), founded in 1894, is a building technology society with more than 54,000 members worldwide. The Society and its members focus on building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability within the industry. xxxxx is the organization that establishes the standard practices of the HVAC industry. Air Comfort conducts dye tests in accordance with xxxxx standards 97 and 86.

Furthermore, xxxxx a frequent speaker for xxxxx) states," UV-dye injection can help to pinpoint leaks. It leaks out of an exit point with the refrigerant and leaves dye residue that can be detected easily with UV detection lights. The five previous methods all depend on continuous leaking and are not helpful in intermittent leaking incidences. UV dyes can detect a continuous leak, but can also find intermittent- leak-residue evidence that a service technician will be able to see days and even months later. Independent laboratory data reveals that approximately 35% of refrigeration leaks have an intermittent characteristic. "

The Air Comfort Technician who performed the leak search and diagnosed Mr. xxxxx system is a xxxxx certified technician. I am sure that xxxxx and xxxxx would love to hear from Mr. xxxxx"expert." Some of the foremost engineers of our industry disagree with Mr. xxxxx claim that a dye test will cause a "reversing valve failure."

Mr. xxxxx did not deny that we no charged our service call and leak search ($400). First he claims our technician caused problems, and then he claims the dye test is at fault. If he is attempting to defraud our company he should at least do his research and stick to one story. Unfortunately, there are some that simply don't pay their debts and want something for nothing. Let's see if Mr. xxxxx is willing to take on xxxxx. This entire complaint is complete nonsense and is without any merit whatsoever. We kindly ask that the BBB disregard this complaint and remove it from our record. Anyone that conducts just a reasonable amount of research will find that a "dye test" is normal operating procedure. In my first response I offered to work with Mr. xxxx if he would work with us in "good faith." Unfortunately, I am now convinced that this man is not a customer we wish to service. We can supply much more documentation to support our position, please remove this complaint from our record.

"The most precise method for locating Freon leaks is for the technician to install a liquid tracer into the system, and allow it to circulate about two weeks. A small amount of fluorescent dye is added to an air conditioning, refrigeration or industrial fluid system and allowed to circulate. The dye escapes with the system's refrigerant or fluid and remains at all leak sites." ------ xxxxx
Air Comfort

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraud
Upon the regular service as per service agreement, the technician told my husband that there were several issues with heating/cooling systems (3 in our home). Of the issues, the one that needed immediate replacement was a gas valve. The price quoted was $540 (20 minute job), then another $300 plus for the other issues identified. I researched the gas valve for the exact furnace we have, the cost of the gas valve - $46.49. I called another service company and upon their investigation,the gas valve was perfect and did not need replacement, nor was there a problem with any other system in the house. The 2nd service technician said he noticed many many replacement parts and wondered by a system that is less than 10 years old could have needed so many parts.

My husband and I feel that we have given this compnay $1,000s of dollars over the last couple of years and that most of the repairs were unnecessary.

Desired Settlement
The owners of the company need to be made aware of the service technicians practices. If the owners do know and condone it, this company should be severly reprimanded in some fashion. I can't imagine how many people they have defrauded in this manner.

Business Response
Re: case# xxxxx

To whom it may concern,
It is unfortunate that some people do not realize how difficult it can be to make every customer happy. Our efforts to keep customers happy are solely based on our technical expertise and the standard practices of the HVAC industry. Ultimately, it is our goal to prevent equipment failures that may result in loss of heating or cooling operations in extreme conditions. In other words, we are trying to be as predictive as possible to prevent a breakdown on a 10 degree day.
In this case Mrs. xxxxx has an intermittent gas valve failure. We invite anyone to research this problem by contacting a licensed HVAC firm or by using the internet searching, "intermittent sticking gas valve." By definition "intermittent" means that the problem is not always present. The valve will stick at random during start-up operations. In other words, the valve may stick at any given time and is entirely unpredictable. Most companies will recommend valve replacement when this problem begins to occur. The customer may choose to not replace the valve but must also understand that the valve could completely fail at any time, which could result in "no heating" during extreme drops in temperature.
Mrs. xxxxx refused to provide the name and phone number of the company that provided a second opinion or we would have consulted with that firm to discuss our findings. Without hesitation or reservation we stand by our diagnosis of the valve and defy any reputable company to prove us wrong. Furthermore, there is absolutely no HVAC company that has a published installed retail price of $49 dollars for a gas valve. Average retail price of an installed gas valve in the xxxxx area is between $350-$750 dollars. To confuse the reader and the issue Mrs. xxxxx cites the "cost" of a valve at $49.00. What she fails to mention is that price does not include the following: Installation, freight, labor warranty, delivery (gas), profit etc, etc, etc. That price also fails to account for original diagnosis and confirmation that the valve she refers to is in fact the actual valve for her specific furnace. In addition, many times manufactures are aware of the problem and may require up-fitting procedures that can result in wiring changes and additional labor.
Other work we have done at her home has included pan float switches which are state code and protect the home from water damage. We have also replaced two capacitors which are like batteries and considered a common repair for any HVAC system.
We wish Mrs. xxxxx would have contacted us and given us the opportunity to further explain our diagnosis and our previous repairs. We would have been happy to send our service manager out to be sure she is receiving the best customer service possible. Unfortunately, she never contacted us regarding her complaint. She never gave us the opportunity to explain or if necessary, "to make things right." This is the first we have heard of any complaints from this customer. It is sad that someone would choose to slander our name without giving us the first opportunity to prove ourselves just and fair. We do stand by our diagnosis and if necessary we will take legal action against those who slander our good name and reputation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/22/1997Business started: 10/15/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC
1109 Dresser Ct
Raleigh, NC 27609-7302
(919) 875-3612
http://www.nclicensing.org

BBB records show a license number of 21686 for this company, issued by Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclicensing.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1997, NC

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Robert Michael Horton (President)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Air Comfort Heating and Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Air Comfort Services, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Comfort Services, Inc.

4455 Morris Park Dr STE G

Mint Hill, NC 28227-9207

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4455 Morris Park Dr STE G 

    Mint Hill, NC 28227-9207(704) 545-8889
    (704) 545-8140
    Fax: (704) 545-8191

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Comfort Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 545-8140
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.