BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Charlotte Outdoor Living

Phone: (704) 560-8915

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incomplete construction project, will not offer partial refund
I hired **** ***** and Charlotte Outdoor Living to build a porch on the back patio of my residence. The project was started on September 28, 2013. After several delays and days of **** not showing up to finish work on the project, he finally finished most of the construction on 11/8/2013. I submitted the final balance of $5K to **** that day and he deposited the check immediately. The remaining items he needed to complete after that included a few pieces of touch-up work AND the installation of a storm door on our porch. I told him I was okay not having the door immediately because I needed to paint the frame of the porch and we were also ordering windows (not from Charlotte Outdoor Living) which wouldn't be installed for a couple of weeks.

In order to match the color of the frames for our windows, we needed to order a custom door from Lowe's that was $270, which was $100 more expensive than the door we originally discussed. I agreed to pay the price difference for the custom door and **** said he would order it and install it once received. He confirmed with me that he ordered the door on 11/9/2013.

In the past 10+ days, I have attempted to communicate with **** for him to install our door. I have left voicemails and sent messages to his phone that have confirmed delivery. Neither **** nor anyone else at his company had returned any of my messages until 12/11/12, when he sent me text messages to communicate. At this point, **** is claiming he can't install the door until January, which is an unacceptable timeframe for us and he still will not respond to phone calls to resolve this issue.

I asked **** if he was able to cancel the door order with Lowe's; he proceeded to cancel the order immediately and messaged me confirmation that the order was cancelled. At that point, I asked **** for a refund of the price of our initial door, $1XX-XXX, and a portion of the labor cost for Lowe's to install it. In total I asked for a $220 refund. **** has refused to pay the refund and only offered $70, which won't even cover the cost of the door. **** is claiming that I still owed him $50 for the construction of the porch--but that price was cancelled out due to the fact that I paid for the permits which **** said he would pay for.

**** and his company, which seems to be owned by his wife *******, are not responding to messages or any phone calls to resolve this issue. I feel like I have presented a deal that is more than fair ($220 refund), but he is refusing to come to any agreement.

Desired Settlement
As explained above, I am seeking at least a refund of $220, which will not cover my full cost to install a door on my porch. **** and Charlotte Outdoor Living agreed to install the door as part of the overall package of building the porch, but this has not been completed.

Business Response
Correction: After further research, **** never provided an estimate on company letterhead. The porch drawing and cost of the project were submitted in an email and then later agreed to verbally between **** and ***** and not through Charlotte Outdoor Living.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The email sent by **** from his work address is an electronic contract. The point that **** also uses his work email address for personal purposes is irrelevant. Any estimates for construction projects sent through his work address--and indicating his company name and information in the signature line--clearly constitute a business deal through Charlotte Outdoor Living. Furthermore, I have also attached the porch drawing provided by **** that clearly represents himself as Charlotte Outdoor Living, not a personal deal. Quite frankly, I have no idea why **** is lying and trying to claim this was proposed as a personal deal. This is a clear demonstration of unethical and untrustworthy business practices.

As previously stated, Charlotte Outdoor Living did not communicate with me for over 3 weeks, then finally offered to install the door after an additional month, so this was never a short delay. This is why I refused his offer. Additionally, **** promised on several other occasions to complete the work and continuously failed to follow through, so why would any consumer continue to be trusting?

This complaint is 100% warranted. At this point, **** has provided the partial refund of $220. In my opinion, the BBB should make a proper determination of counting this as complaint filed against the company. By the EVIDENCE I have provided, it's clear Charlotte Outdoor Living operates with a lack of professionalism and dishonesty. The general public should be aware of Charlotte Outdoor Living's business practices based upon their baseless and untrue claims that have arisen during this process.

Final Business Response
Email is a form a communication. **** uses his email for both business and personal. If it were intended to be a business deal it would have been submitted via a proposal. There was no written agreement with Charlotte Outdoor Living and the funds did not go through the business. This was a personal deal between **** and *****.

**** did receive a text from ***** on Friday 1/10/2014 stating that he was okay that payment be received by this Friday 1/17/2014. Furthermore, **** did offer to install the door in the beginning of January (less than 3 weeks time) which would have completed the project according to both **** and *****, but ***** refused to accept that as an offer.

Charlotte Outdoor Living operates with professionalism at all times and we disagree with the accusations of ***** that state otherwise. We believe this issue was never the company's problem to settle, but have addressed this issue because we are required too and firmly believe that this complaint should have never been placed as it was never a business deal between ***** ****** and Charlotte Outdoor Living.

**** has stated that the USPS has worked with him in finding the lost payment that was sent in December and ***** will receive payment in full no later than 1/17/2014 which satisfies his resolution request and should furthermore remove this complaint from the company's profile (even though it should have never been placed against the company).

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** ***** received $3,350 to purchase supplies in February 2014.
He will not refund the funds for work not performed.
There are 2 complaints.
**** ***** completed a new driveway in October & the final step was to seal the pavers. This has never been been done & was part of the contracted price.

At that time of the driveway installation we discussed a project for replacing my front porch & sidewalk in the same pavers used on the driveway. We discussed the price & looked at another home as an example of the completed work.

He asked for$3350 to order the pavers as they come from Virginia. After repeated phone calls & emails the job has never been started.
**** has had a series of excuses that prevent him from doing the job which have gone on way too long.

I notified him inApril that the job was cancelled & refund the funds. He finally replied that the pavers were special order & were a big chunk of the money. He could refund $439 which has never happened. He also said that he was arranging for delivery of the pavers to my house. I asked about a restocking fee which I have never received an answer from him. I also checked the 3 local companies that carry Belgard pavers & he did not order from them. After emailing him & requesting a copy of the invoice which he refused to send & indicated that he had not ordered them locally. He supposedly went straight to the supplier which I have checked & they do not ship to anyone except authorized dealers.

I have notified **** that I am very disappointed in the succession of events after he did such a good job on the driveway. He said that he would come last week to discuss the project but had a dental emergency & would call me. I have not heard anything.

I feel that a refund is in order.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for the $3,350 that he was given in February. THIS IS NOT TOO MUCH TO EXPECT WITH THE WORK NEVER HAVING BEEN DONE.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hardscapes, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Landscape Lighting, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Gates, Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds, Fireplaces, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Sunrooms & Solariums, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio Builder, Patio Design, Cabanas - Beach & Pool, Outdoor Kitchens, Landscape Designers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.