BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2010

LeafFilter North of North Carolina - Charlotte

Phone: (800) 290-6106Fax: (330) 655-795620484 Chartwell Center Dr. Ste A, CorneliusNC 28031-6431

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2010

BBB has determined that LeafFilter North of North Carolina - Charlotte meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for LeafFilter North of North Carolina - Charlotte include:

  • 21 complaints filed against business

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service17
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on LeafFilter North of North Carolina - Charlotte

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
10/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I made several phone calls for service and no one ever shows up. Improper installation has ruined my gutters.
Gutter guards were installed on my house in March of 2014. Installation was not per my contract - the gutters were not realigned and subsequent installation of the product pulled apart all the seams and now leaks at every junction. Several phone calls to customer service over the course of two years and no service call to date. I had an appointment on August 6, 2016 and no one showed up or called to explain why or to reschedule. *********** at XXX-XXX-XXXX was the salesman and he never returned my call. Last contact person was **********

Desired Settlement
Even though my gutters are now ruined and need to be replaced, I am asking for a refund of the product only.

Business Response
We have received the complaint from the BBB filed by the customer. In reference to that complaint we would like to respond as follows.
The customer contends that we had an appointment on August 6th and no one showed up. That is not entirely correct. We did indeed show up. We were delayed as the community is a gated community and upon trying to enter our technician was detoured to an office to file for an access pass. This process put us behind the scheduled time approximately an hour. When we finally got to the home, we were told by another occupant of the home that the customer had gone out of town. Since we were unable to meet the client we called the following week and left a message for the customer at the two numbers we had on file. Both of which had the customer's name on the answering message. We have not heard back from the customer since. That being said we are still willing to meet with the customer and agree upon any items the customer would like rectified. Since receipt of this BBB notification we have left 2 messages for the customer and have not received a return call.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is a total lie. I was home all day and no one ever showed up. There is no other occupant living in this house to tell them I was out of town. A rep from the company called me once and I have tried to return the call with no success. I do not want this case closed.

Final Business Response
We have received and reviewed the complaint from the customer. In the interest in addressing the customer's concerns we have agreed to meet the customer at their property on Friday, 9/30. The agreed upon goal is to identify and agree upon what issues need to be addressed and how to address them.

Final Consumer Response

08/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Salesman made offer on Guttering for my home with a payment and price quote. When bill came was not what we discussed. Opened credit account not okay!
xxxxx came to my home to give quote on guttering system from Leaf Filter...June 22, 2016.
Called and said all was well, credit okayed would put in next day. Have voice mail of this.
They came 2 days later and installed on 24th of June. I signed the Work Completion Form and that was it.
On the initial meeting with Mr. xxxxx had told us a certain payment and price. We said no to the first quote and he said he could offer some promotions and made it $1000 less and the payment $20+ less. We talked with him for some time on this and asked him numerous times if this would change and was told no. We told him upfront our credit was not great but he said not worry about that they would take care of it.
MNy husband is on disability (fixed income) and Mr xxxxx was aware of this.
Over 45 days later we get a bill from some credit company we never heard of and it was higher than the first quote we turned down. Mr xxxxx will not contact us not can we get in touch with credit company to ask for agreement and who authorized it to be open in my name...don't know yet.
They did not honor their quote and without permission opened an account with a company in my name.
xxxxx, a manager finally called and wanted to see how he could make this better and he would call us back in about an hour. 5 - 6 hours ago. He told me that we were told of this change in finance and we okayed...not true. We would have said no. If we could not afford the first quote then why would we say yes to one even higher? We would not.I need this to be taken care of or come take your product back.
We now do not trust any company or what they say. It has caused a lot of stress and worry for us. We have a youngest daughter going to school mto be a nurse and cannot afford this crazy mess. Refund it and close it, come get your product.

Desired Settlement
We either want them to stick to the salesman quote or take their product back. Close this account they opened with xxxxx and refund the amount on it. We did not okay any account with this rate or payment.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and come to an amicable resolution in regards to their financing concerns.

Consumer Response

06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The saleman made representations about the installation and performance that were not kept.

The salesman said the gutters would be realigned as needed and would be cleaned and reconditioned to look like new. The installer said they would not do any reconditioning the salesman said he or the company would take care of it. It wasn't done. I called them several times and was told someone would try to clean the gutter. Never done.

The product does not shed debris as was claimed and builds up causing run over of the gutters making them ineffective as a gutter allowing water to drop at my foundation. Also the run over has caused water to run onto my front wall discoloring it. I am concerned that water may be going back under the shingles because of the debris and damaging my roof sheating. I have also found that the shingles were not renailed when the installer removed the nails to remove my old Gutter Helmut system.

Desired Settlement
I have had several discussions with LeafFilter requesting a refund. They have only offered to send a crew from Cornelius, NC to Columbia, SC when I called and remove the debris from the gutter. This is impractical and defeats the purpose of having a carefree gutter system that they represented I was purchasing. I believe a refund of my $2673 and they remove their product would be my request.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and reached an amicable resolution. The customer has reported to us he is now satisfied.

04/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Improper Installation resulting in leaks and damage to shingles.
LeafFilter of North Carolina installed gutter guards on September 10th 2015. Within the week, heavy rains started and in was evident that water was leaking back under the shingles and/or underlayment onto the soffit and up to the house walls. This in addition to water overflow problems in several places. There was also leaks at the corners and other places that they were have to sealed.

I immediately started calling and attempting to contact anyone in the company with no success. Finally, on October 10, 2015,*************** called and said he would get back to me. Never heard anything further. I continued to call and finally talked to an Amy. She said that she would follow up and let me know what was happening. No further calls but on arriving home on November 2, 2015 found a business card from ***** stuck in my door. I attempted to contact him several times but he never answered and his CMS (??)account was full
and would take no messages.

Rains started again with all the associated leaks and I was very concerned that water would be getting into my home, so I went ahead and had repairs made.

What was found was that the original installation crew did not have enough space to install the gutter guards correctly, and rather that informing me or lowering the gutters, used pry bars to bend up the metal drip edge on the roof which lifted the ends of the shingles. Additionally, the underlayment was torn as were many shingle.

On November 11, 2015, ***** arrived and I told him that the repairs had been made but the were still leaks and water overruns. He got on the roof and made repairs to fix the leaks, but said that the gutters were too high and should have been lowered and the shingles were too long (?) to stop all the overrunning during heavy rains.

I presented him with a copy of the repair costs as well as showing him the pile of bent up drip edge that had been removed. He took the bill and a piece of the bent up metal edge with him and said that he would get it taken care of.

Since then, I have submitted bills to the company and attempted to talk with anyone there. NO LUCK.

Finally, I was contacted by ***********, manager of the Jacksonville FL office in February 2016 and he asked for a copy of the bill, which was immediately sent to him. Never another call.

I have met and talked with the LeafFilter salesman************* at both local home shows. He took a copy of the bills and said that he would pass ** on....

So, I feel that I have given LeafFilter ample opportunity to make right the damages that I suffered due to their employees poor original installation. I only requested my out of pocket expenses and labor. I see on this site that many folks have requested their full refund on lesser problems.

Desired Settlement
The original installation was $2150 for 164 feet of gutter guard.

I requested reimbursement of $400 for repairs.

HOWEVER, if they would like to make a good faith refund of the original installation this LATE date, I would find that more that acceptable.

Business Response
We have investigated the customer's concerns and while we cannot confirm the alleged damage was caused by our installation, we have agreed to reimburse him for the invoiced repairs. I spoke with the customer directly and he confirmed this would be an agreeable solution.

Consumer Response
In regards to LeafFilter's investigation of my damages, I think that when*************** arrived on 11/11/15, his inspection and comments should have been clear and concise admission of the damages being done by the installation crew.

Final Consumer Response

08/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I had the LeafFilter Gutters installed at my residence by LeafFilter North of North Carolina in March 2015. July 7, 2015 I contacted the customer service number, XXX-XXX XXXX, requesting a representative come out to check possible clogging of the gutters on the front of my residence. I was told someone would be out on the 14th or 15th of July to check. No one came. Made second and third calls on July 15th and 20th. July 20th told someone would come out on July 22nd. No one came. Made fourth call on August 12th. As of August 12th no one has come out or even returned my call. I do not appreciate the run around. The overflow from the rain gushing down is ruining my landscape. I did not have this problem before the gutters were installed.
Product_Or_Service: March 18, 2015
Order_Number: xxxxx

Desired Settlement
Provide me with a date and time a representative will come out to repair/correct the clogged gutter and ACTUALLY show up to do the repair.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

This has been resolved as of 8/14/15. Thank you for your time on this;



Consumer Response

Page 1 of 2
05/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had leaf filter gutter guards installed and they do not work as promised by the salesperson. The regional rep refuses to return my phone call.
On 9/3/14 I had Leaf Filter gutter guards installed. The salesperson stated they were guaranteed not to clog or overflow. Since then I have had numerous times when they have collected leaves, trash and other items in the gutters. Twice I have called to have the regional representative call me but he has yet to return my call. I had a friend who does alot of work for me (I am a widow on a fixed income) and he contacted the consumer division of the company who stated we did have a problem and she would contact the regional rep. She said he would call back but as before he has not called. The warranty states that there is a lifetime guarantee and I would like my refund since it is not doing what they said it would!

Desired Settlement
I believe they took advantage of a senior widow when he charged me $3000 for the job. He had stated a higher price but then he lowered it. I don't see that these gutter guards work. It is possible that based on other reviews they were not installed properly. I just want my money back so I can get something that works.Thank you for your help.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and set an appointment for 5/10/16 to inspect for her concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was contacted by a person from corporate and they have scheduled a visit on Monday, May 16th at which time they will review my complaint and hopefully correct the problem. At that time I will decide whether or not the issue has been resolved.

Final Business Response
My apologies. We made a typo - yes, the appointment is set for Monday morning 5/16/16.

01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Roof damaged during installation of gutter guards. No response to multiple requests for customer service.
LeafFilter product purchased and salesman assured us that installation would not damage our aged roof. Shingles on back of house were lifted up which will allow wind to get under them. The shingles don't reach into the product to allow proper flow of water. There is a big difference in the installation on the front of the house compared to the back. There is all around inferior installation.

I have never seen such poor customer service. We started with the salesman, ******************, and he said he'd visit and didn't. Would not return phone calls. Have made multiple phone calls to customer service center with no return phone calls from managers on the installation side. Posted on their Facebook page and received a reply that someone would contact me. That was 11/16 and I got no call.

Second posting on 11/22 yielded a phone call on 11/23 and Aaron came out on 11/24 and agreed there are issues. Said he had been out the week before and took pictures and gave them to a manager. We did not give permission for him to be there and were unaware he had been. He assured us someone would call the next day and it has been 9 days with no call.

I have since posted a negative review on Trust Pilot with no follow up.

The salesman said they had few customers in our area and they wanted to put a sign in our yard to advertise the product. The installer didn't even have a sign to leave, but based on the poor customer service they obviously don't care about more customers since our issues have been unresolved for more than 2 months!

Desired Settlement
We are going to have to have our roof replaced sooner than we had planned due to the damage. We have not budgeted for this expense at this time. We need at least a partial refund to be able to help with roof replacement costs.

Business Response
Attached are photos that clearly show the drip edge of the existing roof is raised. This is NOT the result of the LeafFilter installation as our product does/will not impede the installation of the screens. Our screens are simply installed over the gutters and screwed down with 1/8" zip screws and in no way do we install the product under the shingles.

Our pictures will verify the correct installation and substantiate the issues with her existing roof.

Consumer Response
please see attached consumer attached rebuttal letter also

I am trying to reply online but having issues with your website. In addition, I have a question. I copied the statement below from the online site. The zip file that opens is empty. Please advise me as to what should be in the file.

There is an electronic document associated with this information. Click here to download this document.

Also, I tried three times to submit my online reply. Twice, I tried Google Chrome. The first time it timed out. The second time it seemed to work but then halted. So I switched and used Internet Explorer. The page behaved differently than Chrome, but it still did not tell me that it submitted and popped back up to the response needed page.

Please use the attached document as my reply - note this has been edited from my multiple attempts online. I also have additional photos to support the new issues I discovered. I have tried to upload and to attach with no luck. So I have placed them in a Dropbox folder which is online at

Please let me know if you can use these documents and photos or if I need to try yet again via the web.

Thank you,
******* *****

Final Business Response
***Document Attached***
1/7/16 - We went out to the customer's home, as requested, to address her concern of leaking seams and gaps. The customer was present at the home and we inspected and took pictures (attached). There are no gaps between the LeafFilter. The gaps the customer is referencing are at the back of the filter and shingle. This is due to her shingles being short and not going past the fascia. The customer stated at the end of the winter she will be getting a new roof. Per our assessment, a new roof where the shingles extend a little further should alleviate the issue.

Please consider this matter closed, as our company has provided service on our installation as needed and requested and have found our system to be installed properly and operating as designed. The customer's concern is due to the nature of her roof, which she told us she would be rectifying in the near future.

Final Consumer Response
The company did visit as they stated they would. While I am satisfied with the product at this point I am still not satisfied with the poor customer service I received for months and that I continue to receive with no response to multiple emails. I deserve to be compensated for the hours I have had to spend to get responses to my customer service requests. And the company never produced the "before installation" pictures that they supposedly have. I will remain unsatisfied in that regard.

12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Gutter Guards resulted in damage to facia from leakage. Company fixed leak under warranty but not the damage to my wood. They want $225 for that.
Called for service almost 4 weeks ago. Got them out 1 week ago for warranty repair on Leaffilters I purchase about 4 years ago. Company fixed the leak with their product but refused to repair the damage to my wood facia as a result of that leak unless I wanted to pay $225.

Desired Settlement
Fix my facia at no charge.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

According to our managers, we did go by and resolve the customers issues for the gutter protection work. His concerns were to replace the fascia board already rotted from previous rains and wanted this done free of charge. Our company quoted him fairly for the replacement work and this is where we stand. Our offer is FRIM and we cannot simply do work for free.


Consumer Response
Responsibility for damage as a result of product failure is universally understood. Simply stated, not having a stated warranty on something does not necessarily absolve one of their responsibility.

10/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The product fails to correct the problem I originally had; overflowing gutters.
I called the LeafFilter company and asked for a quote with a description of their product because my home gutters were getting clogged and overflowing when raining out. A representative came by, the Regional Operations Manager, Beay Leahy, and gave me a quote and demonstrated the gutter cover/filter to prevent the clogged gutters so I would never have overflowing gutters again.
I purchased the product for my house and garage for a price of $3064.00 of which installation was completed the next week.
Toward the end of last year, 2014, the left side of my garage filter started overflowing again.
I called the company and a rep came by and said the screen may be clogged and he would clean it and they would provide one free cleaning per year. The problem obviously was that their mesh cover had now clogged up, bringing the original problem I had RIGHT BACK.
The following week when it rained again, the gutter continued to overflow. I called the company again... XXX-XXX-XXXX, and the girl told me they would pass ** my call to the service people. NOTHING HAPPENED, no call. I called again a few weeks later making the same complaint and the girl on the phone said they would direct my complaint to the local company, as I was calling another state. I still have not heard back from the company.
My complaint is: I had overflowing gutters and after they installed their product, I still have overflowing gutters in the area of my house under trees....which was the reason I purchased their product.

Desired Settlement
I want a 50% refund of what I paid because now I have to get on a ladder and clean their product on a portion of my house, the garage area. $1532.00

Business Response

To Whom It May Concern:

In response to complaint submitted by ***** ******, we submit the following:

Mr. ******'s statements are not true that our company has been unresponsive to his concerns - his first service call to our company was on 7/2/15 and on 7/6/15 a LeafFilter North representative, Aaron Alspaugh, went to his home and provided a no charge maintenance service of cleaning off the top of his system. While there, Aaron inspected the system and found the system to be installed properly and operating as designed, specifically, keeping debris from clogging the interior of the gutter. The customer was there when Aaron arrived, but had to leave before he finished. Mr. ****** confirmed this with me on the phone when we spoke on 10/13/15.

Mr. ****** called back the following week on 7/14/15 and Aaron called him back the same day and advised if the system needed cleaned off, a nominal service charge would apply for a maintenance service. Mr. ****** declined. When Mr. ****** called back in August, our Project Manager, ***** Stanton also advised that if the system was keeping debris from the interior of the gutter and simply required a maintenance cleaning, a nominal service fee would apply. Customer again declined our services.

In closing, LeafFilter North has provided a service and installed LeafFilter Gutter Protection on the customer's home as contracted in 2012. Mr. ****** first service call to our company was in 2015 and we have responded to him in a timely manner. Upon inspection of the system, we find it to be installed properly and operating as advertised, keeping debris from the interior of the gutter. Therefore, a refund of any amount would not merited in this case.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company has installed a product on my gutters that does NOT perform the way I was sold on. The gutter protection should filter the debris from clogging the gutters,allowing the rain water to go through and continue that protection for many years; but instead the filter product itself clogs up and therefore the overflowing gutter problem is back. Why would anyone want to pay to have their product cleaned, when the reason for installing gutter protection was to prevent having to pay to have the gutters cleaned ! How ridiculous is that! Mr.************* called me and did nothing but defend the decision the local company gave me and just challenge my calls and statements as being not true rather then try to solve the problem and come up with a way to make the system they installed work. He obviously knows there is a problem with their product.

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern,

It does work the way it is designed. Mr.******** agreed in full that he does NOT have any debris in the gutter but it is on the roof, valley and on top of the LF product itself. Once again, we did visit the job, cleaned the system for free and instructed him how our company can be utilized in the future.


Final Consumer Response
The product installed DID NOT solve the overflowing problem I have. The rain run-off of the roof simply goes over their product and onto the ground, it does not FILTER it as designed. Anyone can put a shield over the gutter and not allow debris to enter the gutter which would make the rain water flow over it and hit the ground; and that's what their product does.
It is an inferior product and should be removed from the market.
I am NOT satisfied and still expect some refund.

09/25/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

The warranty from LeafFilter is deceitful. This company won't honor their warranty after demonstrating the product renders gutters ineffective.
The LeafFilter product was installed in Nov. 2012 on a small, single level ranch home with a traditional roof pitch. There are pine, oak and maple trees in close proximity of the house. Cost was ****. Salesman told me that the LeafFilter system was maintenance free and if I ever had any problems ever I would get my money back. After a year it was clear that the screens were becoming clogged with pine needles, pollen, and other tree matter allowing water to flow over the gutter. When I complained the service manager said the installation needed adjustment. The adjustments were made but had no effect. I now have to blow off and stiffly broom the screens every two - three months. It would be easier to clean the gutters with nothing on them. I complained again to LeafFilter multiple times between May - Sept 2015 finally requesting my money back. They sent an inspector who confirmed the condition and referred me to his manager. The manager said that as long as the gutter (not the screen that covers it) was not clogged the system was working. I responded that made no sense because of course the gutter isn't clogged because nothing, including the water it should be collecting, is getting in it. He laughed and said I would have to speak with the ops manager. The Ops manager was even more direct/rude saying I had no claim because too much time had elapsed, that any gutter protection needs maintenance, and that the gutters are clog free which is what the warranty addresses. He became angry when I stated that the gutters are clear because his system is essentially creating a lid on them. This company is not operating in good faith and consumers should be aware of their deceitful practices.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back. Also would like to see their warranty reworded such that it addresses the performance of the product with respect to the intended purpose of the gutter.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

I spoke with the customer on September, 23rd 2015, and he has had the product since November of 2012. He has used our service department for maintenance on 3 separate occasions to clean debris and deal with some minor issues.

As of today, 3 1/2 years later, he is stating that he is not happy with his purchase and would like his money back so that he can do something else. Here is what I recommended.

1.) He can call us for service and perform a complete inspection for a nominal fee.
2.) We will NOT give him back any money for the product.

I have fully informed the customer that we have done our job. We installed our product, cleaned the gutters, downspouts and protected the inside of the gutters for years. Our warranty is very, very specific and if the customer misunderstood the verbiage, the I apologize but we covered the meaning on the phone.

He understands and stated he will remove it from the rear himself and leave the remainder of the LeafFilter as it is working great.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The LeafFilter screens have been in place less than 3 years. After a year (a full cycle of seasons) it was clear product was not working as advertised and it was at this point I made my first complaint. They said that they would send a service team to "tune" the installation. After the adjustment I evaluated performance for another full year. Nothing changed and I was now on the roof cleaning the screens every 3 months. I made my second complaint this time asking for my money back as I was interpreting their "lifetime money back no clog" warranty as including the screens as the screen and gutter should work as a system (vs rendering the gutter useless). A service tech came out but did nothing but verify that yes the LeafFilter screens were covered/clogged with roof/tree debris (see pic). There was no 3rd service call. Their sales rep told me at time of purchase I would be satisfied or they would refund the full purchase price. In trying for a 3rd time to file a money back claim I was told there was no chance that would happen, however, I can request service/cleanings at $80/per. I was skeptical of the product but figured I had nothing to lose. At the end of the day I've learned to very carefully scrutinize any product's warranty. In this case, LeafFilter's warranty as worded is worthless. And by the way ****....I never said the gutters on the front of the house were working great. Its just that given they are on the sunny, windward side they work less bad.

Final Business Response
Nothing to respond to; He is commenting not asking for anything. I already told him he may utilize our service department but will not be refunded back any money.


Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutter Leaf Guards, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/05/2010Business started: 05/01/2005Business started locally: 04/05/2010
Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 2010, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Kaulig (President)Mr. Chris Brosch (VP of Marketing)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Gutter Leaf Guards, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
LeafFilter North of North Carolina, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LeafFilter North of North Carolina - Charlotte has received 3.2 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

1 Locations

  • 20484 Chartwell Center Dr. Ste A 

    Cornelius, NC 28031-6431(800) 290-6106
    Fax: (330) 655-7956

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*LeafFilter North of North Carolina - Charlotte is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Gutter Leaf Guards


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.