BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1983

James Oxygen & Supply Co.

Phone: (828) 322-5438Fax: (828) 324-5164

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
06/18/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: James Oxygen will not stop sending me bills for bottle rentals that I did not rent.
To Whom it May Concern,
I used to have an account with James Oxygen that I used for rentals, items, & services from 2003 until 2007, when I owned a race team. The account was always paid on time as has any bill that I have ever incurred. Starting in Aug 5 2010, I started receiving a bill from James Oxygen for $7.79. I called to inquire about the bill and to explain that I have not used their services for 3 years, since I sold my team. They said that xxxxx, xxxxx, came in under my account to rent a bottle. I explained to them that my xxxxx who owns his own business is not affiliated with me and is not authorized to use my old account. I spoke to accounting, a customer service manager, and to the Vice President, xxxxx with no luck in resolving the issue. They told me to speak with my xxxxx and have the gas bottle returned and they would zero out my account. To try and resolve this, I pleaded with my xxxxx to return the bottle and rent it under his company name. He returned the bottle on Nov 2 as requested by James Oxygen. To this date I have been receiving rental bills from Aug 5, 2010 to Nov 2, 2011. This is a total of 16 months plus interest, for a total of $157.29 for a rental service that I did not request, acknowledge, nor approve.

Business' Initial Response
I have reviewed this account and it is exactly as xxxxx explained in this statement. I have clear all charges from his account and closed it so his xxxxx cannot use it any more.

I'm very sorry It took so long to fix this problem.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/25/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Charging us for a large storage tank, after we authorized them to replace it with a smaller tank.
I am not going into details with dates etc. James 02 has excellent records of all billings and dates of d correspondence. We were notified that our tank that came with house was to large for the amount of gas we were consuming and were told we had to pay rent on the tank. We were told they would come and switch out to a smaller tank and the rent charge would not apply. We said go . James 02 has decide not to change out the tank. But they continue to charge us for the large tank, along with finance charges,because we have paid the fee.
This dispute HS been going on since 2011. I went the office to talk face to face and try and resolve. A employee named xxxxx said he felt my request was resonable and he would try to resolve with management.
I have since left two voicemails on xxxxxs phone but he has gotten back with me.
If this can not br resolved,we will have leave james02 and they will have to come get the tank anyway. It makes a lot more sence to for them to come get the tank and replace with a smaller one, or if they do not want to this ( as this is what they have chosen to do)

Business' Initial Response
First our policy is if a customer has a large propane tank (250 gallons or larger) and does not use a tank of gas per calender we charge a tank lease. xxxxx has a 500 gallon tank and the lease is $180.00 plus tax. We sent xxxxx a lease in January 2011.xxxxxcontacted xxxxx our CSR and talked to her about switching down to a smaller tank. She told xxxxx we would do that. She also told him that we charge a lease of $69.00 plus tax for all small tanks. He agreed to switching to a slammer tank.

We sent a service truck out to switch down the large tank to a small tank. The service man said the tank was in a difficult place to switch out and we should leave the tank in place. xxxxx contacted xxxxx and told him of the problem and offer he a comprise of keeping the large tank and paying for a small tank lease. He agreed to this so we set it up in our computer to bill him for that.

In January 2012 we sent xxxxxa bill for the small tank lease and that's when he filed this complaint. xxxxx(manager) and xxxxx(salesman) have been trying to work this out with the xxxxx. They have been in touch with xxxxx and she indicated that she was going to leave it up to her husband to decide what to do. They have both tried to get in touch with xxxxx but he has not returned their calls.

We are still trying to work this out and will update this response when we hear from xxxxx.

xxxxx

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2012Billing / Collection Issues
07/29/2011Billing / Collection Issues
10/01/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gas - Propane

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.