BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/2003

Exterior Accents

Phone: (704) 795-6950Fax: (704) 720-9100

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
05/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Savannah Bird Girl 24" that was greatly reduced because it was damaged. The photo depicted the statue with a glued head and arm. (For my garden) I thought I'd spray painted her and it would be fine!However, what I received was not in the condition that was depicted in the photo. The head was not attached (missing pieces) one arm is glued..but the other is cracked to where the metal is exposed and none of the pieces fit!I realized they stated NO REFUNDS because it was from the scratch and dent stock. The damage to it would take a professional..that I'm not.I would like another in its place and packed with care. I do not know if this damage was done in transit..I think not because pieces are missing.s
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Business' Initial Response
We have spoke to this customer and offered her a full refund. The statue was broken much more severely in transit. We have filed a claim with UPS and are waiting to receive the item back. The other option, which we offered, would be for her to order a different bird girl statue as a replacement. She just needs to let us know which option she prefers.

Consumer's Final Response
As of April 23rd I have received a response to my complaint from Exterior Accents. They are willing to send me a replacement, they will be filing a complaint with UPS, because they feel there was neglect on the part of UPS. I am waiting for a call back.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product was shipped and pint was splattered everywhere on the plaque. Not worth $135. Terrible customer service they need to get new employees!
9/28/12 is when the nightmare started. I received the order a week later. The plaque was not attatched anymore with their XXXXXX glue. There was white paint splattered all over and the letters & #'s were missing paint as well. Was told that they would sent me a new one. I then received another stone not a plaque! I called again and was told that I said stone and that they would check into it and call me back. I requested my money back at that point because of the customer service. I paid $135.90 order #XXXXXX. That day I received another e-mail stating that my order has been shipped. Sent me a new plaque and there is also paint splattered all over this one. I called again this morning and ***** told me again that I told her stone and that I needed to sent pitures of everything in order to get the product picked up and my money returned! That is not what the website says. They have been nothing but rude and unhelpful. Blaming the customer because they didn't listen and the manufacturer didn't do it right the first time.

Business' Initial Response
We have emailed this customer Return labels back on 10/15/12 but never got the defective products back. We have just emailed 2 more return labels today. As soon as we get the stones back, we will issue a full refund.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Purchased item-wrong color. Returned, asked company if received item, several emails sent due to poor communication. Refund promised, never received.
I ordered a gazing globe stand on 6/12/2011 from Exterior-Accents.com with order number xxxxx. The item cost $26.95 with shipping and handling $9.95. The total was $36.90. I used Paypal to pay for the item. The item was a different color from the website. I received a return authorization number of xxxxx from the company and returned the item in its original packaging. I did not receive any emails if the item reached them, so I emailed them but no reply was heard. I emailed again a week and a half later on 8/10/2011 and finally got a reply. xxxxx in customer service replied saying the item was received damaged/shattered, however, they would give me a refund within 5-7 business days. After 7 business days with no refund in my Paypal account, I sent another email to ask about it. A reply to my email was sent 8/31/2011. It mentioned again that the item I returned was shattered by USPS and that I should file a claim with USPS to receive a refund. They also said that they cannot refund a item that is returned damaged. By the time they responded to all my emails, it was too late to file a claim through Paypal to dispute the charge.

Business' Initial Response
The customer returned the item but it was not packaged properly and was shattered when we received it back to us via USPS. Customer was instructed to file a damage claim with USPS but apparently she never did.
At this point, we will incur the loss and mail a check to this customer for a full refund as a gesture of good will. To what address should we mail the check?

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Response not accepted until check is received. An email was sent on June 24th to the company including my mailing address. No reply to my email has been made by the company.

As stated before, the item was repackaged with the same packing material and in the same manner as the company. For future reference, the one who needs to request a damage claim with USPS is the company who received the damaged item.

Business' Final Response
We had no record of being contacted with the address to send the check, so we have mailed the check to the address on the BBB complaint.
Check # 4118 in the amount of $36.90 was mailed on 7/11/12.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/27/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: These products were ordered on May 18 with delivery promissed by June 1.
Ordered on May 18, with delivery prommised by June 1, as of June 11th still not even shipped. I have contacted them online, by phone and e-mail. No change in the status. "we'll ship tomarrow"

Business' Initial Response
This customer order some statuary and there was a delay with shipping due to the manufacturer being extra busy during the spring season. Items did ship on 6/8/12 and were delivered on 6/15/12. UPS tracking # xxxxx
We certainly do apologize for the delay and any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
09/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garden Furnishings & Accessories, Gardening Hand Tools, Mail Boxes - Manufacturers & Distributors, Internet Shopping, Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops, Home Accessories, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Furniture - Outdoor, Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds, Fountains - Garden, Display, Bird Feeders & Houses

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.