BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

Garage Door Doctor, LLC

(704) 858-4040View Additional Phone Numbers1316 Nandina St, Charlotte NC 28205-5118View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

BBB has determined that Garage Door Doctor, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Garage Door Doctor, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Garage Door Doctor, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was to be billed twice for $897.50 for a total of $1795 for a garage door. This company billed my card three times.
I ordered a garage door to be installed at my house. the total for the door,including installation, was $1795. i was charged once for $897.50 when he came out and it was determined i needed a new door. the second half, also $897.50, would be charged when the door arrived and would be installed. the day of installation i gave them my credit card again and agreed to pay the second half of the bill. well, over a week late on 2/10/15 i see another charge on my card for $897.50. i called the garage door doctor to discuss the matter. the customer service representative called me an ******* and hung up on me. i have tried repeatedly getting in touch with this guy but he will no longer answer the phone or return messages.

Desired Settlement
i want $897.50 refunded back to my credit card. this charge was NOT authorized.

Business Response
This has already been solved- her bank screwed up.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*************** took the money from the garage door doctor. after the complaint with BBB was filed i received a call from the owner, **** ********, where he threatened me and my family. he called me after 10:00PM and threatened to "whoop my ***" if I came back to is office again. This company never made an attempt to make this situation correct. I had to force his hand with *************** by showing them the quote and the invoice from the garage door doctor (fortunately i saved both!). *************** took the money from his account after being shown the proof he had over charged me. All of this could have been reconciled quickly if the garage door doctor would have just refunded my money like any other respectable business would. instead i had to jump through hoops with *************** and listen to threats from petulant little man. **** ******** is the worst person I have ever had the misfortune of doing business with. *************** told me the 2nd and 3rd withdraws on my checking and savings account, made by The garage door doctor, were "intentional" and done within 5 minutes of one another. To have to listen to this company try and blame *************** for his thievery is insulting. **** ******** got caught. He thought i would not notice the last draw on the savings account. i had paid him the deposit, 1st payment, on my savings account and the last payment on my checking account. he felt he could charge me a third time back on the savings account and i would just think that was my deposit. this man is a con artist through and through. beware consumer!

08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The technician did not adequately install a wall mounted key pad or clean up behind himself after installation.
On 6-1-15, ******* from the Garage Door Doctor came to service my garage door. It was determined that a new belt drive was needed. Once I inspected the completed work, I told ******* that the key pad on the wall was crooked and would need to be straightened as well as cleaning multiple greasy hand prints from the wall, molding and garage door. ******* did not straighten the key pad nor did he clean the hand prints. Once my husband came home, he called and spoke with a man who identified himself as the manager. The manager did not listen to the entire complaint, but told my husband to stop being a ******** and hung up on him. Within the hour, ******* called me and said he could be at our house in 15 minutes to "clean up." I was at work and asked him to give me another day and time to make repairs. To date, no one has called to set up another appointment. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone. We were repeat customers and previously had 2 excellent service calls from the Garage Door Doctor.

Desired Settlement
not sure that I would like for this company to clean the handprints or set the key pad straight.

Business Response
We offered to come back and she declined.

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They came out to fix my garage door and door was not fixed. Had to fix the problem myself because door would not close. Can't leave it open all day.
I called Garage Door Doctor on January 30, 2015 and told them I was having issues with my garage door sensors. The wires from the sensor were split and needed a repair. The first thing i asked was the service call fee and they told me $65.00. They came out the next day. They replaced the sensors and lubed up the garage door parts. They replaced the sensor on the right side of the garage (right side if you are standing inside the garage) with a bolt that was too big for the track. The garage door DID close but it would get caught on the bolt and would cause it to get stuck for a second then went down in a jerky motion. The installer noticed it and said he didn't like the way it was going down. We thought it was just from the new install and would stop after a few times. The next day it still did it. Then the next day it would not go down at all and would get stuck on the bolt and the garage door would go back up. I called about the problem and at around 11 or 12 and they said the tech would call me back. Waited for a call and heard nothing. I can't keep my garage door open all day long because I do have tools and other things i do not wish to get stolen so i took action myself. I took the bolt out, went to ***** and bought a few materials and had to move the sensor off the track they installed it on and moved it onto the wall next to it. I realigned the sensor, mounted it and did all the correct measurements and now my garage door works smoothly and perfectly with no issues. The tech called around 7:30 that night. He said he was on his way but I told him I fixed the problem myself and there was no need for his assistance. He apologized and said next time it would be a free fix. I honestly hope there isn't a next time and i am just asking for the service call fee back. The problem should have been fixed the first time. I paid $170 for a job that took maybe 30 minutes at most to complete and it still was not fixed 100%. I had to spend my time and extra money buying supplies to fix the problem i was already charged for. I just want the $65 i was charged for the service fee and I don't think that is too much to ask.

Desired Settlement
I am just asking for the $65 service call fee i was charged. Problem was not fixed and i repaired it myself 2 days later. Can't exactly leave my garage door open all day long while i am not at home.

Business Response
We take pride in our workmenship. It's unfortunate that our same day services wasn't fast enough for this customer and that he took matters into his own hands. I'm still wondering if he went to Home Depot how he closed the door before hand as stated he wouldn't leave his door open because of tools ( hmmmmmm) nonetheless this doesn't negate the services rendered. We will not issue any refunds.
Thanks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** is right down the street from my house. 5 minutes away. The door was not fixed and i do not appreciate your rude reply calling me a liar. I paid 170 for a repair that was not repaired properly in the first place. My point is i paid for a repair that was not done. If need be i can get a lawyer and we can take this issue to court. All i asked for was the service fee back. You are lucky i didnt ask for the whole $170 back since i was overcharged in the first place. I will continue to pursue this. Your workmanship was not acceptable and the job should have been completed correctly the first time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Services were NOT received. If you had done the job correctly the first time, you would not have been called, and then reported to the BBB for your incompetent work. I have pictures enclosed of what was fixed by me. The work this company failed to do correctly. The picture of the sensor on the wooden board was what i did to correct the mistake this company made. The picture of the other sensor on the track was what they did.

Final Business Response
Services were performed, no monies will be refunded

03/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Garage Door Doctor installed a ***** operating board in my Gate operating box on 5-23-13. It ceased to operate on 1-21-14, while under warranty.
The ***** Operating board from ********** was purchased and installed at my home by *** of Garage Door Doctor on 5-29-2013 for a total of $645.00. The work order was #****. The board ceased to function on 1-21-2014 while under warranty from the manufacturer. I made multiple calls to the manager **** for three weeks in order for them to assist me in obtaining a new board from the manufacturer. The basic answer was they couldn't help me. However, the manufacturer confirmed that the unit was under warranty and needed to be redeemed by the installation firm. On a final call to **** he became angry and screamed profanity and threats. Amuzing as it was, it was certainly not unexpected.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of the $645 that I paid to the Garage Door Doctor on 5-29-13. I did not/do not want these individuals at my home to perform a replacement of the part. I have contracted another firm to replace the board at an additional $625 already. The level of unprofessionalism at Garage Door Doctor is unmatched. Its truly amazing how they can continue to operate with the service model they execute.

Business Response
We don't nor will we honor any warranty for this ex-customer. There simply is no warranty provided from Garage Door Doctor, this abusive ex-customer knew this from day one as we recommended on several occasions to change the gate opener out for a better performing brand. Being a unreasonable home owner he choose not to move forward with the recommended services. No further action on our part.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did exactly what any reasonable homeowner would do. I chose to repair my gate operator instead of purchasing a new system for quadruple the expense. The part installed is under warranty, however, the production firm ********** requires the servicing firm Garage Door Doctor to return and subsequently replace the part. The simple request was to have Garage Door ****** and **** ******** follow through on their work. This certainly does not qualify as unreasonable and abusive behavior. However, the multiple findings from consumer advocate sites such as ripoffreport.com clearly present that Mr ******** has a history not following up his work and yelling profanities at his "ex-customers" when they call back to request that he do so. Lastly, claiming a warranty from a manufacturer for a customer or ex-customer is a non expense activity for any business. The expense comes from the labor time to install the new part, which I offered to pay for. There really is no excuse for "no further action" other than just lousy business.

Final Business Response
30 day warranty as stated on invoice . With over 35k customers we will still continue to provide superior service as we did in this case.

01/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife called for a price to correct a track on a garage door. Overhead door.
She was told $130.00 plain and simple.
paid $225.00 for 1 hour of work.
Garage door doctor technician worked for 1 (one) hour.
Before he started, he told me $65 trip charge, $65 for the first hour of labor. We agreed.
After one hour where the technician hammered and straightened the track with my help, it was done.
I was charged, $65.00 trip charge
$65.00 for first hour
$95.00 to fix the track!!!!! which was 100% labor and all done in the first and only hour that the technician worked for me. NO materials.
I Paid $225.00 for ONE Hour of labor.
It is a rip off and I need the $95.00 reimbursed.

Desired Settlement
Reimburse me for $95.00 cashier check.

Business Response
These are our rates. - his wife requested a rail be replaced. That was not what services were performed. Plain and simple, off tracks are 225.00 which is fair and reasonable.

10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Doors & Openers, Garage Door Repair, Door & Gate Operating Devices

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/08/2009Business started: 10/28/2005
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Brummond (Owner)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers, Garage Door Repair, Door & Gate Operating Devices


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Garage Door Doctor, LLC has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Garage Door Doctor, LLC

1316 Nandina St

Charlotte , NC 28205-5118

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1316 Nandina St 

    Charlotte, NC 28205-5118(704) 858-4040

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Garage Door Doctor, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 705-8444
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Garage Doors & Openers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.