BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

Tyndall Furniture Galleries

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 889-4393Fax: (704) 889-2377View Additional Phone Numbers208 N Polk St, PinevilleNC 28134-8134View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

BBB has determined that Tyndall Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tyndall Furniture Galleries' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tyndall Furniture Galleries

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

$5000 sectional, 5 months old, falling apart
I purchased a sectional in July and received it in September. From the moment I got this sectional feathers would come out everyday and strings keep hanging from different parts. The cushions look an feel like they are 10 years old and the couch is not wearing well. I contacted Tyndall in mid-December and they still have not resolved the issue. On top of that is they do not return phone calls or follow through. They keep passing someone else. I have been polite and patient in this whole matter.

Desired Settlement
either a refund or a replacement of something else. why would i want the same couch that falls apart?

Business Response

After receiving your reply this morning, management has decided to go over and above what the manufacturer said.

We will replace all the cushion cores (seat and back). This should make you sectional more comfortable.

If there are any cushion casing that are ripped at the seams or zipper, we will have them replaced also.

Please let me know if this is acceptable to you. Once we get your approval, we will go forward on ordering your new pieces and once received here will will schedule our Service Tech to come out and install them for you.

11/21/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a mattress in 2004 that has a 20 year non-prorated warranty and I was offered a discount on another mattress instead.
In July of 2004 I purchased a "Tyndallpedic" mattress from Tyndall furniture that was advertised as having a 20 year non-prorated warranty. I contacted them in Oct of 2013 and was told that the manufacturer went out of business but that they would give me 50% off another mattress. I was frustrated by this because they still sell the Tyndalpedic mattress and offer the 20 year non-prorated warranty and I have never heard anything about any changes in the mattress or manufacturer. These mattresses have been advertised on a local radio station since before I bought mine. That's how I heard about it. The warranty is why I bought it.
This past summer I heard another advertisement on the radio for this mattress and the DJ/spokesman (************) said that he had his mattress for 12-14 years and that these mattresses are covered by a 20 year non-prorated warranty. Because of this add I recontacted Tyndall and they said the same thing. I told them what I heard on the radio and they said I bought a "THERMO" matress, implying that I did not buy the Tyndallpedic. Again I was offered a 50% discount on another mattress. The man I was dealing with had only been with Tyndall for about a year. I asked if the current mattress said Tyndallpedic on them and if they were labeled with Tyndallpedic 10 years ago. He said they currently are labeled with Tyndallpedic but he was not sure how long they had labeled them like that. I am pointing that out because they had started calling them by that name 10 years ago because someone had called into the radio station they were advertising with and used that name and it sort of stuck. Since then they have run with the name and even have it on the side of their stores.
When I bought my mattress I specifically asked about the Tyndallpedic advertised by ************ (radio DJ). My salesman was **********, who was Tyndall's spokesman on their radio ads along with ************. When I asked about the Tyndallpedic mattress he even played me the ads with him and ************ on the radio talking with people that had previously bought the mattress and asking how they liked it. They would call previous buyers and record the conversation and use it in their advertising. We talked about the ads and we talked about how ************ loved his mattress and that these were popular mattresses. I purchased the mattress that day. About a month later I received a call from ********** asking me how I liked my Tyndallpedic mattress. The call was recorded to be used in radio advertising for the Tyndallpedic. I want to add that I told all of this to the customer service man at Tyndall and he wouldn't do anything but offer a 50% discount because he said I bought a "Thermo" mattres and that manufacturer had gone out of business.
I don't understand how they can advertise this mattress on the radio for over ten years and as stated, recently ************ says his mattress is 12-14 years old and still has the 20 year non-prorated warranty and not honor said warranty. I don't know who the manufacturer was but I bought a Tyndalpedic from Tyndall. They might be using a different manufacturer but you would never know that by their advertising. They have never said anything in their advertising to make you think there has ever been an issue or a change in manufacturing practices or manufacturer.
I also don't know how they could say I didn't buy a Tyndalpedic and then use may mattress purchase in their advertising. Make no mistake, I did not buy a random mattress, I asked for the mattress ************ was advertising, the mattress referred to as a Tyndallpedic. The salesman was clearly aware of what I wanted, played the recorded advertising for that specific mattress and sold me what was called the Tyndalpedic. The marquee outside the store even said "Home of the Tyndalpedic used by ************" or something close to that.
You cant change manufactures and add a label while still using the same ads, and not honor the warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement Tyndallpedic mattress. My current mattress is seriously sunk in and very uncomfortable.

Business Response
We request that "proof of purchase" via sales order be presented for further review.

Consumer Response

see attached PDF: Invoice - ****** *****

Final Business Response
We have received a copy of the customer's sales order and have advised an independent mattress inspection company (*****************) to contact the customer so that an inspection can be made to determine the warranty issue so that we can reach a possible resolution. The customer should receive a call by Monday, 11/24/14.

Consumer Response
Was looking over case notes and saw a discrepancy or miscommunication in the facts. I was contacted by ********* with ****************** on 11/19, but the message left said he would be back in contact in about 30 days, when he would be working in my area. I was told in the message that I did not have to call back unless I had additional questions. There was no point in returning the call since he specifically said "HE WOULD CALL AGAIN WHEN HE WAS COMING INTO MY AREA."
Here is the note:
"A ***************** request for inspection was placed on 11/18/14.

On 11/19 @ 5:52PM ********* LVM with customer to called him back. AS of this writing the customer has not returned his phone call.

Customer Care Manager
Tyndall Furniture Galleries


Consumer Response
In November I was told a mattress inspector would come inspect my mattress. The inspector called within a few days and said he would be in my area in about 30 days. In mid December he called again to set an appointment but I was out of town the day he could come and he said it would be another 30 days. On Jan 9th the inspector came and inspected the mattress. I am still waiting for a response from Tyndall about the inspection results and a resolution to my situation. Progress on this, has been very slow.

Business Response
From: **************** (mailto:****************************)
Sent: Monday, January 26, 2015 2:57 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint #****** (************) - FINAL NOTICE


I apologize that you didn't receive the response from the information that I entered online last week. It basically stated that we were issuing a credit from the previous mattress price that the customer could use towards the purchase of a new mattress. Also, ********* has already come in to our showroom to make his selection choice.

Thank you!

Office Manager
Tyndall Furniture Galleries
************ ext. ****

08/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Failure to replace faulty mattress.
I purchased a mattress from Tyndall furniture in 2012 with a life time warranty. The sales person guaranteed me if I had any problems at all with the mattress that it would be replaced with no questions asked. I called 3 months ago and asked them to come look at my mattress because it is folding in the middle like a taco. They sent out a representative that red flagged my mattress because of where it is breaking down but they refuse to replace it. They sent out some boards to put under the mattress but that did not solve the problem. It is a faulty mattress so putting boards under it does nothing. They told me the mattress needs to be replaced but the manfacture refuses to replace it. I have been working with XXXXX the customer service manager and he keeps giving me the run around and today he told me they had closed my case. I am a xxxxx who has had back surgery and I need a good mattress. I explained to them that I was told this mattress had a warranty and it should last much longer than a few years. Can you please help me solve this issue.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to honor their advertising and guarantee mattress replacement. I only bought this mattress because the sales person guaranteed me it had a life time warranty and if anything at all went wrong with the mattress they would send out a replacement. There is nothing worse than trying to get a good nights rest and you roll into the center of the mattress because the springs are breaking down. All I ask is for them to honor their guarantee.

Business Response
In response to case #******, we have agreed to replace the customers mattress.

Our mattresses do have warranties that can be anywhere between 5-25 years but no where does it say we are obligated to replace a mattress. ******* has a process for handling mattress complaints. We start off with an inspection of the mattress by ******************, a company we hire to evaluate the condition of the mattress, foundation and frame. They send us back a report which we have the representative of ******** review and advise us what to do. In this particular case, we were told by the mattress rep that the customer needed a better support system. The 'ribcage' like base that the customer had did not seem to be supporting the mattress properly. We made multiple trips to the customers home to try and build a stronger support system. We were told by the mattress rep that doing this would allow the mattress to form back to it's original posture. We considered the case closed.
When the customer called back on Aug 5th, ****** spoke with him regarding his mattress. After conversations with the owners of Tyndall and the customer, we decided to replace the mattress even though the manufacturer denies it being defective.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Defective mattress> I have called and emailed numerous times over the past 4 months and have gotten no resolution.
Defective mattress. The company has been contacted numerous times, with three to four separate customer care coordinators. No response or 2-3 responses finally after 30-40 calls and several emails. Had finally gotten someone to come to house for evaluation and then again no response to numerous emails and calls.

Desired Settlement
Have not responded to numerous requests. At this point want full price refunded as the quality of mattress is not what guaranteed to be and their customer service is not one I wish to ever have to deal with in the future!!

Business Response
In regards to Mr. ******'s complaint, Tyndall has made numerous attempts to resolve the customer's warranty claim. Unfortunately, it became an issue of "phone tag" and we had to leave messages both ways. This occurrence happened throughout May and June. Fortunately, we were finally able to connect and inform the customer that even though his claim was denied by the manufacturer, Tyndall agreed to, at no charge to the customer, pick up his mattress and have the manufacturer repair it. The pickup of his mattress is scheduled for 6/25/14, per Mr. ******'s request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Finally had a return call. They missed scheduled appointment time and had me waiting around the house all day for truck. Has not resolved issue yet. Has agreed to send mattress to be "Looked at" by manufacturer so do not know if/how this will be resolved.

Final Business Response
In response to Mrs. ******'s rebuttal, we are currently working to insure the manufacturer is resolving the issue with the mattress to the full extent of the warranty. In regards to the late pick up of the mattress, Mr. ****** was given a 3 hour time frame (11-2pm) in which we would arrive and unfortunately we had to extend the time frame by 40 minutes. During that delay, we did have contact with him and his wife 3 separate times to insure they knew the revised time of 2:40pm. Tyndall Furniture is working diligently and look forward to a positive outcome.

03/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/13/1984Business started: 04/12/1984
Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 1979, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Tyndall (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Linsday Crawford Mr. Greg Blankenship Ms. Diane Jones Mr. Chuck Tyndall Mrs. Gladys Tyndall
Number of Employees


Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Tyndall Furniture Galleries, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tyndall Furniture Galleries

208 N Polk St

Pineville, NC 28134-8134

To | From


3 Locations

  • 208 N Polk St 

    Pineville, NC 28134-8134(704) 889-4393
    (704) 889-4304
    (704) 889-7631
    (704) 889-7632
    Fax: (704) 889-2377
    Fax: (704) 889-2377
    Fax: (704) 889-2377
    Fax: (704) 889-2377

  • PO Box 789 

    Pineville, NC 28134-0789

  • 9741 Harrisburg Rd 

    Fort Mill, SC 29707-8609(803) 802-7710

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tyndall Furniture Galleries is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 889-7631
  • (704) 889-4304
  • (704) 889-7632

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.