BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/1992

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

Fax: (803) 789-3574

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service23
Total Closed Complaints29

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (29)
05/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two reclining leather sofas I purchased in October are still off gasing since delivery. The smell was so strong, I had to move them to my garage.
Purchased: September 5, 2015
Delivered: Mid October, 2015
Rowan Pwr Recliner XRw Reclining Sofa (33P765LBXXXXXX FN 000)and Rowan Pwr Reclining XRW Loveseat (32P765 LBXXXXXX FN 000)
Sales Rep: ************
Total Payment Amt $7,936.32 which included $1,2400 for tables). Paid in full with a personal check.
I saw two sofas in beige but wanted ***** leather, so the store ordered them. I had to sign a contract regarding not being able to return them. Since I had dealt with the company years ago in Ohio, I had no worries about signing. The second day after delivery, I noticed a strong smell that was offensive to my sinuses. I thought it would go away, but it did not. I got headaches, swollen sinuses, and labored breathing when I sat on the couch or even went into the room where they were. After a couple of weeks, I called the Smith Corners location and was told by my sales person, that I had to call Corporate. I did. A few weeks later, their rep came and took pictures of the sofa and told me that the smell was just new leather smell which would dissipate. A few days later, Corporate told me that they could not afford to take the couches back and reminded me that I had signed a contract. I ended up having to go to the doctor and received Predisone to improve my breathing. At night I had to put a towel at my closed bedroom to block the smell. Even with that, I would awaken throughout the night with breathing issues and with heart palpitations. Finally, after much depression and thought, I hired a moving compay to move the sofas to my garage. I aired out the house, and finally I feel fine INSIDE my house. However, when I go into the garage to get into my car, the smell hits me in the face. I have had guest to ask me about the smell. I am new to the area and had no idea what to do after they refused to help me. I recently called the store after I heard about "trade-in month in April. I talked with the store manager who told me he would talk with my salesperson who would get back with me. She did not call, so I called the next day. They are both conveniently unavailable or out of the store. As a senior, I do not have money to lose and cannot afford to buy replacement furniture, and my family room is empty.

Desired Settlement
I just want Lazy Boy to take responsibility for selling me furniture by giving me a store credit or fabric store model couches that have aired out, not reeking with chemicals.

Business Response
My name is **** ******, Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Ms. ******'s complaint and was able to determine the following:
Ms. ****** custom-ordered a reclining leather power sofa and a reclining leather power loveseat on September 5, 2015, on sales ticket XXX-XXXXX from our North Charlotte, NC location. She accepted delivery of her new furniture on October 9, 2015. On November 3, 2015, Ms. ****** called in to our service department to report a strong odor coming from her new furniture. We dispatched a factory certified La-Z-Boy furniture repair technician to Ms. ******'s home on November 16th to inspect and advise as to Ms. ******'s concerns. The technician reported back that there was nothing wrong with either unit, but they did exhibit a new-leather smell which is characteristic of all new leather furniture. Since the units were custom-ordered just for her and they meet or exceed the standards for quality set forth by La-Z-Boy, Inc., Ms. ****** was not permitted to just return them. She did sign the sales agreement accepting them as hers. The store manager spoke with her on November 20, 2015, and advised that the furniture could take some time to air out and the odor was not a defect, which she also accepted. Since she accepted this fact at that time, we closed her case and had not heard from her until she filed her BBB complaint.
When we learned that Ms. ****** was still having trouble with the odor from her furniture, and that it continues to irritate her, we opened a case with La-Z-Boy, Inc. on Ms. ******'s behalf to try to get her furniture replaced. We do not want Ms. ****** to be subject to unnecessary physiological distress from her furniture. We are currently waiting for a response from them so we know what steps to take next.
We believe in and stand behind the La-Z-Boy product. We strive for excellence and hope that each of our customers has an exceptional experience from the moment they step into one of our galleries and throughout the entire time they own their La-Z-Boy furniture.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am pleased that Mr. ****** has opened a case with La-z-Boy, Inc. on my behalf. However, I am quite concerned about the phrase, "to try to get my furniture replaced." I did not accept what each representative told me but felt I had no recourse because I was always reminded of the contract I signed. An acceptable response from La-z-Boy would be that I could trade in my sofas for upholstered floor models that have already off gassed.

Final Business Response
My name is **** ******, Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
In response to Ms. ******'s rebuttal:
I personally apologize for the delay in our response, but we had been waiting for final word from the manufacturer. We received final word late yesterday that the return and reselection has been approved, and Ms. ****** **** receive store credit for her full purchase price towards selecting replacement furniture! Our sales and inventory teams have also agreed to honor Ms. ******'s request to reselect the floor models at the store, since they have aired out and should not give Ms. ****** any respiratory distress.
We are pleased that we are able to come to a satisfactory agreement with Ms. ******, because we value her as a loyal customer and appreciate her patience as we worked through this matter with the manufacturer, on her behalf.
We believe in and stand behind the La-Z-Boy product. We strive for excellence and hope that each of our customers has an exceptional experience from the moment they step into one of our galleries and throughout the entire time they own their La-Z-Boy furniture.


Final Consumer Response

04/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was not told correct description of items I purchased and that they were not returnable.
I purchased a rug that I was told was reversible, the pattern would be opposite on bottom side (blue rug with white design on one side, white rug with blue design on the other side). Talked to *** (sales person) about the warehouse flipping it to opposite side before delivery. He stated it would not be a problem, they could flip it upon delivery. I have an email from him on March 17 saying "they **** definitely flip the rug to the light side for you". *** is now saying that he never told me that.
Purchased 2 lamps that are 1-way. I wanted 3-way lamps, would have never bought them had I known they were not 3-way.
Purchased 2 pictures that I did not like when they arrived (all of these items were shown to me via catalogues, I did not see any of them in the store).
I told *** I wanted to return the items within 30 minutes of the items being delivered and he told me it was all special order and I cannot return them. I told him no, the furniture that I ordered with specific fabric is special order. All these items came off a shelf in a warehouse and can go back on that shelf and out to another customer (everything is wrapped up in my dining room in the condition it arrived, nothing has been used).
******* from the store called tonight and said they would not take any of the pieces back. She told me this afternoon when she called and again tonight that the staff does not do a good job telling people that the items are final sale. Had I known that I would have never purchased these items without having seen them in person first.
Sales Ticket #XXX-XXXXX, 1/8/16, *** Holland (sales associate)
Rug - Frontier FT-366 (item #FTXXX-XXX) Xx11 $805.09
Rug Pad - LUXEH 0005E 7'8" x 10'8" (item #*********) $107.89
Lamp x 2 - Mantello 2 Per Box (item #XXXXX) $124.49
Pictures - Karma/Kismet pk/2 (item #4284) $319.98

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a refund for these items.

Business Response
My name is D.J. ******, Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Mrs. **********'s complaint and was able to determine the following:
Mr. and Mrs. ********** purchased their furniture and accessories on January 8, 2016, under sales ticket XXX-XXXXX. They received complimentary design service from a professional, degreed interior designer in our Pineville, NC location. They agreed upon and ordered their merchandise from catalogs and descriptions, under the guidance of the designer, and accepted their delivery in two parts, one on February 10, 2016, and the bulk of the remainder of the order on March 26, 2016. While the items Mrs. ********** has requested refund on may not have been manufactured specifically for her, they are considered "custom" pieces by Tipperary because we do not keep any stock of these items at our warehouse, and the vendors require us to purchase them in order to deliver to our customers. The vendors do not accept these items back if the customers decide they no longer want them, therefore accurate representation by the designers and design consultants, and careful selection by the customers is imperative.
We believe there was no intentional misguidance by our staff, and the *********** signed off on all items and the terms and conditions of the sale, at the point of sale. But in an effort to satisfy Mrs. ********** and instill a sense of confidence in our program, our management has agreed to return these items and refund Mr. and Mrs. ********** as requested. The store has returned and refunded the purchase price of the rug and wall art on April 6, 2016, and the lamps **** be returned and refunded when the delivery of the ***********' remaining chair occurs on April 13, 2016.
We appreciate the opportunity to serve Mrs. ********** and address any concerns she had with her La-Z-Boy purchase.
We believe in and stand behind the La-Z-Boy product. We strive for excellence and hope that each of our customer's has an exceptional experience from the moment they step into one of our galleries and throughout the entire time they own their La-Z-Boy furniture.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a Kimberly High Leg Recliner on August 8, 2014. The left wing of the chair is broken, a structural issue. I contacted the store on August 10, 2015 by phone, and August 11 in person and was told a repair order would be made, by *************, Operations Manager. I have since contacted the store by voice mail and in person with no response. I contacted the national company and was told the repair request would be forwarded to the store in Charlotte. The e-mail from La-Z-Boy Customer Service is dated 10-10-15, but I have still not heard from the local store in Charlotte. Nothing done, no contact.
Product_Or_Service: Kimberly High Leg Recliner
Order_Number: XXX-XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want the chair repaired or replaced immediately.

Business Response
I am **** ********* the Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Mr. ********'s complaint and here is what I was able to determine.

We received a service request from Mr. ********'s store on 9/2/15. His service ticket was written, and on 9/4/15 a call was placed to the phone number that we had on file for Mr. ********, and the attendant received a message that the phone number was disconnected or no longer in service. At that time, Mr. ********'s ticket was closed pending further contact from Mr. ******** with a correct phone number. Now that we have received Mr. ********'s current phone number with this complaint, we have opened a new service ticket for Mr. ******** (service ticket XXX-XXXXX) and **** contact him to schedule regarding the issues with his furniture. Mr. ********'s recliner is covered under La-Z-Boy's limted lifetime warranty, and any defective frame parts or mechanism parts are covered for the life of the product. We apologize for any miscommunication related to not having a current phone number, and we **** schedule his inspection for the first available date in his area that is convenient for him.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because I have not heard from them as of 11/10/15. Plus, I have had the same phone number long before I bought the recliner. If,when they contact me and repair the recliner I **** accept their response. To say they had the wrong phone number is ridiculous. However, once they do the right thing I **** be glad to close this file.

Final Business Response
Mr.******** was contacted on 11/11/2015 by ***************. Mr.******** was offered in-home service, however he declined due to the cost of service (the terms of Mr. ********'s sales order does not provide for free in-home service). As an alternative, he was offered the opportunity to bring his chair to our warehouse for service with the labor fee waived. Our documentation indicates that Mr. ******** was very appreciative for the contact and the offer.

We have received no further contact from Mr. ********, and there is no indication that he has brought his chair to our warehouse for service or repair since that time. That said, we have left Mr. ********'s service order open should he choose to proceed with service at our warehouse.

Thanks,

****

**** *********, Jr Customer Service Manager
Tipperary Sales, Inc. d.b.a. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries(**
3159 Crenshaw Parkway Richburg, SC XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX Ext. 93810 ************@lzbsoutheast.com
Website Facebook


Final Consumer Response
I took my recliner to the Laz-Z-Boy repair center and they have it to repair. I am supposed to get it back in about a week. They contacted me and offered to fix the broken wing of the chair. Hopefully, the issue **** be resolved by the end of this November.

03/03/2016Problems with Product / Service
11/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
03/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We went to La-z-boy store to purchase a new leather sofa and 2 recliners. The sales lady *********** told us that our furniture would be delivered on 2/29/2016 and if she could not get one recliner from another store or warehouse because they were back ordered until 3/21/2016 that she would let us use the showroom power recliner until ours came in. after a lot of phone calls I went down to the store to confront her and told her that she lied to us about the recliner. She was upset because people in the store heard me tell her she told us a lie. I then asked her if she also lied about her brother dying and she told me to leave the store or she **** call the police. I did not leave and she did not call police but another lady named ***** came out and told me would get the recliner today 3/1/16 off showroom floor and her boss would cal when he got back in from doctors. He called and said that he wasn't going to let us use the showroom recliner because it cost $ 1800.00 and he offered a ***** recliner that does not match mine. Ours cost $ 1274.98 so I don't know what the problem was. In total we paid $ 6096.97 for a sofa and 2 recliners but only have one recliner with no knowledge of when the next recliner **** be sent.
Product_Or_Service: Marvick Sofa & 2 Reclina/Rocker

Desired Settlement
Would like to be compensated for my trouble with this matter and also my recliner that was promised to be delivered be delivered a.s.a.p. I also want a letter written to me to apology for the rude way we have been treated from this store and their employees.

Business Response
My name is ***. ******, Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Mr. *******'s complaint and was able to determine the following:
Mr. and Mrs. ******* visited our Northlake location on February 24, 2016, and ordered a leather reclining sofa and two leather rocker-recliners. The sofa and one of the recliners were in stock at our warehouse and ready to be delivered, and the second recliner was on an incoming order that was expected to be received at our warehouse no later than March 21. Mr. *******'s sales associate set the delivery date for February 29, in the hopes that the second recliner would be received and make the delivery, and although it is not typically approved, she did say that if the second recliner did not make the delivery date, she would ask her manager to allow a loaner recliner to the ******** while they awaited their second chair. The sales associate made no promise of a power recliner as the loaner. The second recliner had not been received by the delivery date, but the sofa and one recliner were still delivered as promised. Apparently, Mrs. ******* called the store on the delivery date to speak with her sales associate regarding the missing chair, but the sales associate was indeed attending a funeral. Since they did not get an answer that day, Mrs. ******* visited the store again on March 1. According to witnesses in the store, Mrs. ******* entered the store screaming and cursing and accusing her sales associate of lying about both the chair and the funeral she had attended. The store personnel were prepared to call authorities because of the scene. The store designer stepped in to attempt to ease the situation by asking Mrs. ******* what they could do to make her happy, to which she responded that she wanted a chair. The designer agreed to confer with the store manager as soon as he returned to the store that day to try to get the ******** a loaner chair.
Again, while our sales team typically does not approve loaners but in extreme and extenuating circumstances (i.e. medical/mobility reasons), it is at the manager's discretion as to what the customer is offered and the customer is never approved for a loaner unit that exceeds the value of what they have paid for. The store manager called the ******** as soon as he returned to the store to offer them a loaner recliner, but it was a unit of comparable or lesser value. The ******** refused his gesture.
The ********' second chair was received on March 4, over two weeks ahead of schedule, and only four days after their initial delivery date. The Sales Logistics Assistant at another store made contact with the ********. The second chair is scheduled for delivery to the ********' residence on March 12.
In light of the above, we respectfully request that this case be closed.
We believe in and stand behind the La-Z-Boy product. We strive for excellence and hope that each of our customer's has an exceptional experience from the moment they step into one of our galleries and throughout the entire time they own their La-Z-Boy furniture.


Consumer Response
I did visit the store on 3/01/2016 but I was not cussing or screaming at the sales lady. I did how ever csll her out about the 2nd recliner she said we could use until ours came in. The store designer ***** came out when ****** went to get her and she also stated that when her boss came back from his doctors appointment that we would get the store power recliner she said we could use if our second recliner was not delivered to our home on March the 1st. I stated that I had a expensive car and that I would not put a chair in the car. ****** said she was going to call the police only after I aked her if she also was lying about the funeral of her brother, I then asked her if she wanted me to call the police as I had my phone in my hand and she went to the back and the store designer ***** came out then. Mr ****** refuse to let us use the power chair as it cost $ 1800 dollars but was used due to everone trying it out in the store.The management stated in their answer to my complaint that my sales lady was attending the funeral but unless they don't bury soon after they die that also was not true since when we went to the store on the 24th of Feburary and she stated that I came in on March the 1st. No one made contact with me, I called another store to see if they had a chair and the sales lady told me that they could have it in on the 11th of March and they would deliver it on the 12th of March. As for the store at Smith Corners in Charlotte I have not heard anything from them since we purchaed the furniture on the 24 th of February except when Mr. ****** called about a ***** relciner I could use and my was burgany and I did not want a ***** one when they promised me a store burgany relciner. They had no problem getting the money out of my account before we got home.We did get a delivery of the couch and 1 chair on Feburary the 29th. Mr ***. ****** needs to know what his management is doing to their customers and also the sales people. I done a review to Mr. ****** and he thanked me for my comments, which goes to show everyone they don't read them and answer them all the same way. I think I deserve something for the way we were treated by ****** and Mr.******. The corp. office that you received the answer to my complaint from had no idea what went on at their store in Charlotte since they are in another state. Also Mr ****** stated that if I contacted the Attorney General and the BBS that would give me something to do on the afternoon of March the 1st. Also when I stated that we also owned at company and if we told them that we were going to do some thing we done it and he said in respone to that, well I am glad you own at company. I thought the whole thing concerning the management and sales lady was very un- professional and there for they should face up to their mistake and Mr. ****** should also.If our second chair was received on the 4th of March what took them so long to deliver and why did the store not notify us the chair was in and why did we have to call another store to get it on order and they said it would be in on the the 11th of March and and they would deliver on the 12th. This is our 3** den set we have purchased from Lazy Boy and because of the way we were treated it **** be our last purchase from Lay- Boy Furniture any where. I intent to let eveyone know how we were treated and lied to and had no communication from the store we purchased it from. I know they are a big company and we are just one customer and that they could care leas about us but we do own a company and we treat everyone the same way whether it is a large or small business. This is in reference to the complaint #XXXXXX. Thank You Mr. ***** ** *******

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was not given pertinent info upfront before ordering very expensive furniture. Would have waited to place my order if adequate info was provided.
I wanted to reach out to express my extreme discontent with the La-Z-Boy Furniture Gallery located on Smith Corners Blvd, Charlotte XXXXX.

In September, I ordered a Tribeca sectional sofa from La-Z-Boy. It was to be used in the living room of my new house that was under construction at the time we ordered.

Because we wanted what is called a "cuddler" on the end of the sofa, its dimensions are more unique than a standard sofa as one side "juts out". Due to the unique dimensions, we were unsure if we would need two "middle" sections for the sofa or just one (2 may have made the sofa too long). The sofa delivery time was 8-12 weeks so we needed to get it ordered so we had somewhere to sit in our new house after we moved in! As I notified the sales rep when I ordered, depending on how the cuddler fit in the space we assumed we could very simply order the 2nd middle piece (if needed) to make the sofa bigger. We did want to order too big of a sofa since you can't return custom orders.

So my sofa was delivered in November (about 7 weeks later, earlier than we expected!) and we love it! However, we decided immediately when it was delivered, that yes, we definitely need a 2nd middle section because it is too small for the space. So not more than 5 min after it was delivered, I called La-Z-Boy to put in the order for the 2nd middle piece. ***** called me back and said she would place my order.

***** called back the next day to let me know our fabric had been discontinued and we would not be able to get another piece. Disappointed and a little frustrated, I begged ***** to see if there was any way she could track down some fabric to get the final middle piece built for our sofa. After about a week of calls, we were disappointed to find out that not only was the fabric discontinued, it was also completely out of availability.

***** I notified ***** when I ordered my (very expensive) sofa that we'd likely want to add on, I feel that we should have absolutely been notified either one of the following:
That La-Z-Boy periodically discontinues fabrics and there was a chance this could happen. This was never even mentioned or discussed.
That my particular fabric was on the list to be potentially discontinued.

Had my husband and I known that fabrics are periodically discontinued I absolutely would have waited to order the sofa until I was in the house and could better assess how it would fit. However, this was never even mentioned, at any point during our time there. Secondly, La-Z-Boy needs to revise their policy such that they notify stores which fabrics **** be discontinued in the next, say, 12 weeks. Pulling a fabric with no notice is awful customer service.

Fast forward now over 2 months, and I am STILL dealing with the manager, ***********, who has done nothing about the situation but punt me to corporate, tell me he's waiting on a manager from xyz to call me back and avoid my phone calls. After now 2 discussions with corporate, they have confirmed the store manager is the one who should be handling the satiation, yet he continues to avoid my phone calls, not return calls, and give me numbers that are not useful.

Desired Settlement
My request is that La-Z-Boy simply take the sofa I have back in order to provide me a new sofa with the pieces that I need, all in one fabric. I'm happy to get the sofa in a different fabric than the one I have, I just want the complete set to fit my space. I'm also happy to pay for the additional piece. I do not want a refund of any sort, I simply want them to make right of the situation. I have no doubts they can take my current sofa back and sell it as a floor model, but the manager has done nothing to help remedy the situation. At this juncture, we are fed up with the lack of customer service and the policies of La-Z-Boy.

Business Response
My name is***** ******, Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Ms. ******'s complaint and was able to determine the following:
Ms. ****** ordered a three piece sectional for her new house on November 1, 2015. It arrived and was available for delivery on December 9, 2015, at which point her sales associate called and notified her as such. Ms. ****** took delivery of her sectional on December 12, 2015. It is not noted in her sales order, but I was able to verify from our phone records that she did call the store on the day of her delivery as she stated. The following day we discovered the fabric was being discontinued, and her sales associate entered a note that we were not able to order the extra piece that Ms. ****** requested, but that we were going to try to find out if any fabric was still available as the fabric drop was not supposed to occur until December 28, 2015. On December 18, 2015, we were informed by La-Z-Boy Product Support that there was no more fabric available to fulfill Ms. ******'s request for the final sectional piece.
Furniture is widely accepted as part of the fashion industry, and styles of fabrics and patterns change as fashions come and go. While this extreme situation rarely happens, unfortunately in Ms. ******'s situation, La-Z-Boy, Inc. decided to discontinue the fabric and pattern before her order was complete. Also unfortunately, La-Z-Boy, Inc. does not always send out declarations of intent when making the decision to drop a fabric from their lineup, so Ms. ******'s sales person could not have known at the time of the order that the fabric would no longer be available.
We certainly want Ms. ****** to be happy and comfortable with her La-Z-Boy furniture, so even though her order was a custom order and non-returnable/non-refundable as per the guidelines of the sales agreement set forth and signed at the time of the sale, we have agreed to allow her to return and **-order her sectional with a 20% restocking fee, which she has found satisfactory.
We appreciate the opportunity to serve Ms. ****** and address any concerns she had with her La-Z-Boy purchase.
We believe in and stand behind the La-Z-Boy product. We strive for excellence and hope that each of our customer's has an exceptional experience from the moment they step into one of our galleries and throughout the entire time they own their La-Z-Boy furniture.

11/18/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I purchased a leather recliner loveseat on 10/13/15. The salesman was pleasant and helpful. At the time of purchase, we told him that because of my knee surgery we would need help loading the item to take home when we picked it up. He said we would have help. On 10/15 we went to pick it up and the store manager of store 162, Mr.************* was rude and basically yelled that we would have to load it ourselves. My wife and I asked for our money back. At that point, the manager said we could not have out money back because we had ordered a clearance item. This was untrue and we told the manager that we knew what we signed for and that the document was legally binding and they had to return our money.. They returned what we paid on out card and tried to make us leave the store with a document saying they owed us nothing. My wife told him that was not acceptable as we were owed almost $800. He said verbatim, that is all I can give you. My wife made him aware that was not true, that we knew our rights and that because of her profession she had many lawyers she could contact if they continued acting in such a way. A woman next to him gave us a refund request receipt. She was also rude towards us. They said they could not give us a check; that the check was something that would be sent from corporate no later than 10/22. To date we have not received our money. Not only was the manager rude, but we feel he was trying to act in a dishonest manner. We also feel that his behavior towards us was because we are minorities as he didn't treat other customers that we there in the way we were treated. It is sad that a person who has no people skills or respect for other human beings can not only run a store, but be in charge of other people. Furthermore, it is my opinion that his dishonest tactics could one day bring them legal troubles.
Product_Or_Service: Reclining Leather Loveseat
Order_Number: XXX-XXXXX

Desired Settlement
We want to get our money back and we also want to be reimbursed for the expenses for the truck rental and the men that we hired to unload the loveseat once we got home. Even though the furniture never made it home, I still had to spend $100.00 for the truck and the helpers.As much as an apology for such disrespect is improbable, that would be good business practice. I honestly believe that a review of the online complaints about that store should be looked into by corporate.

Business Response
I am***** ********* the Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Mr. *****'s complaint and here is what I was able to determine. Mr. ***** requested his refund on 10/15/2015, and the refund of the portion he financed was processed immediately in the store. The terms and conditions of his sales order state that refunds of sales paid for by cash or check are processed by our corporate office and can take 10-12 business days to process. Mr. *****'s refund check was mailed on 10/28/2015, the 9th business day following his request. Since his refund has now been processed in full, we consider this matter closed.




09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We bought two recliners with lifetime fabric warranty on November 11, 2013. The fabric is failing and we are receiving no help in resolving the issue.
On Novemver 7, 2015, we bought $8735.16 with of furniture from Lazy Boy in Greenville, SC. Included in that puchase were twi Fletcher High Leg Recliners, Model number XXXXXX HXXXXXX FN 021. The cost of these recliners was $1,049.98 each, plus tax. In addition, we purchased the Lifetime Fabric Protector for each at $79.98 plus tax.
We worked with a design consultant and a decorator to help pick and coordinate the colors, fabrics, etc. We accepted all protection/warranty plans offered to us.
Our problem is that the fabric is failing. The fabric on the recliners has a pattern. On the pattern, the float yarns are breaking, and coming loose.
When we contacted the Lazy Boy Customer Care, we were informed that we would need a technician to come out and look at the problem. There would be a charge of over $200 that would be non-refundable. If the technician did any work, there may be additional fees. I balked at this, and sent pictures of the failing fabric via e-mail to the address ***** by the Lazy Boy Customer Care.
We have received no response for over three weeks. We expected a prompt and satisfactory response, based on what we were led to believe at the point of purchase. We were told about quality, and bought a lifetime warranty on the fabric.
There are two people in my home. These are not high wear areas with kids and multiple people. The fabric failed, and now the company is not responding.
We shopped at Lazy Boy for quality, fashion, and durability. We paid more at Lazy Boy than many other places. If The quality and warranty is not there, then there is no reason to shop there.

Desired Settlement
First, I expect a response from Lazy Boy. I guess customer service is dead at this company.
I worked with a decorator at Lazy Boy to help pick fabrics, and I purchased all warranties that were offered to me. Quite frankly, I expect the furniture to be repaired, which means recovered, or replaced.
This is clearly a defective product

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Mr. *******,

We are the office of the manufacturer here in Monroe, Michigan.

We the manufacturer of the furniture do not have service in the customers area.

The privately owned and operated dealership where the customer made his purchase has a service department in Richburg, SC at XXX-XXX-XXXX. We believe the customer contacted the Richburg, SC service department.

We have forwarded the complaint to the Richburg, SC service department for their review and to contact the customer on the matter.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

*********
Escalation Specialist

Final Business Response
I am***** ********* the Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Mr.*********** complaint, and below is what I was able to determine.
In addition to several other items, Mr. ******** did purchase the merchandise he describes, and he did elect to purchase the available UltraShield Lifetime Fabric Protection Plan from our dealership on 11/14/2013. These recliners are warranted under the terms of the La-Z-Boy Limited Lifetime warranty, which customers acknowledge in writing with their signature on the signed Terms and Conditions of their sales order. Warranty information is also provided with the product at delivery on the product information tags attached to the product by the manufacturer. Additionally, since Mr. ******** chose to pay for our delivery service to deliver his order, he was also covered under our dealership's service agreement, which provides the customer with free in-home inspections and warranty-related labor for the first year of ownership. Our service agreement is also explained in detail in the Terms and Conditions of Mr.*********** sales order. Until the issues outlined in his complaint, we have no record of any previous service history.
La-Z-Boy's warranty is a Limited Lifetime Warranty, and I am attaching a copy for review as it appears on La-Z-Boy's website at http://www.la-z-boy.com/Support/Warranty. The warranty covers both the frame and any mechanism parts against defects for the lifetime of the product, fabric/leather and poly cushion parts are covered against defects for the one year, and the labor necessary to repair any of these parts is also covered for one-year. Inspections or transportation of the product to a service center or factory for a free inspection are not covered by the manufacturer's warranty at any time during the life of the product. The La-Z-Boy warranty is one of the best in the furniture business, and I urge Mr. ******** to compare it to other furniture manufacturers' warranties. I think he **** find that it at least as favorable to the consumer, if not more favorable, relative to other furniture manufacturer's warranties.
UltraShield is a third-party vendor, neither owned, operated nor controlled by La-Z-Boy or Tipperary Sales, therefore, UltraShield is responsible for the terms, conditions and service of its warranty coverage. UltraShield warrants one-time, accidental damage from a specific incident reported within 5 days of occurrence under their Lifetime Fabric Protection Plan. When a customer purchases this plan, they are provided with documentation clearly explaining what is covered and what is specifically not covered under the plan. I am also attaching a copy of this UltraShield protection plan for review.
Our records indicate that Ms. Sue ******** initially contacted the store from which their order was placed on 7/23/2015 with concerns that one of the recliners had a sinking lumbar area and threads in the fabric upholstery showing excessive wear. The representative at the store referred Ms. ******** to our dealership's customer service department and also advised her that service fees may apply as the cover/upholstery, poly and labor were outside of the one-year warranty term.
On 7/24/2015, Ms. ******** contacted our customer service department stating that both recliners were exhibiting poly compression and that the upholstery on both items had an issue with the float yarn. The representative taking the call opened a service order for Ms. ********, offered to order the parts needed to address the concerns and advised her that she would be responsible for the cost of parts and labor as the poly and upholstery were no longer in warranty. The cost of the parts and labor quoted to Ms. ******** was $249, which Ms. ******** refused to pay. At this point, the representative gave Ms. ******** the option to email us photos of the recliners and the issues to review, and the service order was closed pending receipt of any photos. Thus far, we have no record or any indication that any photos have been submitted by or received from either Mr. or Ms. ********.
We remain willing to honor and fulfill our obligations under the terms of the La-Z-Boy warranty for Mr. and Ms. ********. The service fees that Mr. ******** would be responsible for are not being charged inappropriately or unfairly. We **** be happy to review any photos of their concerns, and those photos may be sent via email to: ************@lzbsoutheast.com.

08/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i have been waiting for furniture for a year and a half
I ordered 7 pieces of furniture in February 2014 they told me it would be 6 weeks before it was delivered. They arrived on time. 6 out of the 7 pieces were wrong and had to be replaced or repaired. So 6 weeks after that they sent a table and two replacement chairs and a few weeks later they had a repair man come and repair one of the other chairs so that left me with a chair that didn't recline and a console that was the wrong one (the cheap version). Now all that I get is the run around and excuses from the store manager the last thing he told me was that my furniture was discontinued and that they would start back manufacturing it in June 2015. So I waited until 6 weeks after June to contact the store and as of now 8/13/15 I have not been able to contact the store manager I have been trying for 3 days and he has been either helping a customer or has left for the day . Seems like he doesn't want to talk to me

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the product I paid for or a full refund so that I can go somewhere else to get what I want because without the console that I wanted the whole thing won't work for me

Business Response
I am **** ********* the Customer Service Manager for Tipperary Sales, Inc. dba La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Tipperary Sales is an independently owned dealer for La-Z-Boy Inc., and we provide service under the terms of La-Z-Boy Inc.'s warranty, and additionally under our service warranty/agreement. We operate six stores in five markets located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. As an independently owned dealer, there is no common/shared ownership control between our dealership and La-Z-Boy, Inc.
I have reviewed Mr. ********'s complaint and here is what I was able to determine.
Mr. ********'s order, sales ticket number XXX-XXXXX, was initiated on 1/15/2014 and approved, initialed and signed by the customer. I am attaching a copy of Mr. ********'s original signed sales order to this response for review, and this shows the specific items he selected. At the time his order was placed, he was advised both verbally and in writing that his special order was not subject to cancellation, refund or exchange. This is disclosed in writing on the Terms and Conditions of their sales order, which all customer's initial and sign at the time of sale. This is disclosed as follows on the sales order:

"Special Orders: Items not in stock at time of purchase are SPECIAL ORDERS. Special Orders are not subject to Cancellation, Refund or Exchange. A non-refundable minimum deposit of 25% or credit approval for full order with immediate funding of 25% non-refundable deposit by finance company is required to place the order. The majority of Special Orders take approximately 8-10 weeks to arrive at our warehouse. However, shipment delays from manufacturer suppliers can detain an order up to 16 weeks. Fabric, leather and wood delays are out of our control and out of the control of La-Z-Boy Incorporated. Delivery of special order must be scheduled within 10 days of receipt of merchandise into our warehouse."

Prior to the arrival of the sectional pieces to our warehouse, Mr. ******** did advise us that he no longer wanted the lamp on his order, and since this was not an issue for the vendor, we accommodated his request and cancelled the lamp from his order.
Once all of the remaining items Mr. ******** selected arrived at our warehouse, he paid the balance due on his order; his delivery was scheduled and took place on 3/29/2014. I am attaching a copy of the delivery report which includes photos of the product as placed by the delivery team and Mr. ********'s signature indicating that he accepted delivery of the product in good condition.
Shortly after delivery, Mr. ******** contacted us with concerns regarding 4 of the items he received. The Armless Recliner he ordered had seams in the back of the piece that were stitched incorrectly at the factory. The LSS and RSS (left side, sitting and right side, sitting, respectively) Power Recliners were ordered incorrectly by us, and the Lift-Top Cocktail Table had finish-loss. We agreed to **-order and replace the LSS and RSS Power Recliners to correct our error in ordering these pieces, and we also agreed to replace the exchange the Lift-Top Cocktail Table with a new one that we had in stock. Finally we agreed to replace the upholstery on the back of the Armless Recliner to address the incorrectly stitched seams in the back of that piece.
The merchandise that we agreed to either exchange or replace was delivered to Mr. ******** on 6/5/2015. I am attaching a copy of the delivery report to document what was delivered and this again shows Mr. ********'s signature indicating that he received and accepted the merchandise in good condition. Finally the armless recliner was brought back to factory specifications with the replacement of the upholstery once this part arrived.
At no time while these issues were being resolved did Mr. ******** voice any concerns with the console that he ordered. His signed sales order shows that he reviewed his order, initialing each item to confirm that it was what he selected. We have consistently **-stated to him our policy concerning special orders and asked that he accept the merchandise that he ordered and that we attempted to deliver and service in good faith according to the terms and conditions of his sales order. In light of the above, we expect Mr. ******** to honor the agreement he signed at the time the order was placed and we ask that this complaint be closed. We have fulfilled our obligation to deliver exactly what Mr. ******** chose when he placed his special order.
We believe in and stand behind the La-Z-Boy product. We hope that each of our customer's has an exceptional experience from the moment they step into one of our galleries and throughout the entire time they own their La-Z-Boy furniture.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The original invoice that I signed and initialed was very vague in description of what I was getting. The sales person assured me that everything was correct and she explained what each item was. I did tell lazboy that the console was wrong the day that the furniture arrived. And I was never told anything about policies after the original perchance and I have been in contact with the store several times regarding this and was told something different each time. Some excuse why it hasn't arrived. Why it wasn't there fault. It was always an error with the factory or paper work. All I want is what I was supposed to get when I ordered the furniture

Final Business Response
I apologize for the confusion regarding the second delivery date - the pieces that were **-ordered were delivered on 6/5/2014, not 6/5/2015. This was a typographical error.

We disagree that the sales order is confusing - the pieces that Mr. ******** did choose to purchase with power are clearly identified as such on the sales order with the designation "PWR" in the product description and the additional "Complimentary Battery - Battery for Power Units." Each of these designations appear right next to his initials on the first page of the sales order.

Additionally, it is evident that Mr. ******** was ***** the opportunity to review the policies in the terms and conditions of the sale prior to delivery. Again, these were initialed by him at the time of sale when he signed and dated the sales order.

Finally, after discussing this further with personnel at the store, the issue regarding whether or not a power console was ordered was already resolved when the product was originally delivered in 2014. Apparently, Mr. ******** expressed interest in a power console during the sales process, then declined due to the additional cost of upgrading to power, thus the decision to purchase a non-power console. If Mr. ******** has any written documentation that shows this is not the case we ask that he submit this for review.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.