BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

In Your Home Furnishings

Phone: (828) 304-0741Fax: (828) 304-0841

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints22

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (22)
06/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Can't get service tech
China cabinet draw broke, spring on couch broke

Desired Settlement
To send service tech out

Business Response
***** ****** purchased on 02-08-2014, invoice #XXXXX. Mr. ****** bought furniture on the condition that we would order the product and store for him at no charge until he closed on his home. Mr. ****** picked up his purchase on XX-XX-XXXX and signed stating that all furniture was in good condition and in satisfactory condition accept a cocktail table. In Your Home Furnishings told Mr. ***** we would reorder the cocktail and deliver the cocktail at no charge to his home located in Taylorsville. On XX-XX-XXXX IYHF delivered the cocktail to Mr. ****** and he signed stating that he received the cocktail in good condition.
Mr. ****** contacted IYHF on XX-XX-XXXX and stated his furniture needed repair on his buffet and his sofa has a spring that seems loose. IYHF ask if he would send over pictures of the issues and that we would get a technician to give him a call to set up a date for repair. NOTE: ANYTIME WE HAVE AN ISSUE WITH A CUSTOMER WE ALWAYS TELL THE CUSTOMER THAT THERE IS AN OPEN 2-3 WEEK OPEN WINDOW FOR A TECHNICIAN TO GIVE THEM A CALL.
Mr. ******'s work order has been turned in as of XX-XX-XXXX and Mr. ******'s issues are being resolved in a timely manner. IYHF takes customer's issues very serious. Mr. ****** **** be hearing from a technician for repair.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I. Feel that it not being handled in a timely manner

Final Business Response
Technician **** be in touch with the Mr. ****** and get all his issues resolved.

10/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund not received as promised
On X-X-XXXX purchased a bedroom suite from catalog thru store. Inv #XXXXX. Deposit of $791.78 was made on X-X-XXXX for half of sales price. They decided not to order furniture until later because not needed until August. When they finally ordered furniture it was told to me that it is on backorder and not be able to deliver on time for our move out of Hickory. They asked us if we want to cancel the order 3 times. Their policy is an "All Sales Final" policy, however due to the circumstances, ******* ******, VP, agreed to refund $791.78 within 2 weeks. She confimed that by writing the amount of refund and signing her name on the invoice. We continually e-mailed and called ******* ****** and ******* ****** over the past 6 weeks in reference to when the check **** be mailed. On X-XX-XXXX she emailed and said there is no problem with refunding the money and the corporate office mailed this out the previous Friday. On X-XX-XXXX she replied to our email that she saw a copy of the check going out. We informed her we never received the check by e-mail and have tried to contact her by phone but getting no response. I feel like they **** not refund the deposit and need your help.

Desired Settlement
$791.78 for deposit of furniture never ordered or received

Business Response
Customer requested a refund for a purchase he was not going to receive before his move and never forwarded his mail and never gave us his correct address for his move. So we are waiting for the check to come back to us to rewrite a new check for him. When we receive the old check account payable **** rewrite a new check with his new address. If you don't have the correct information you can't complete the task.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A forwarding address was given to the Post Office on Tuesday, August 20, 2013 from our old address to our new address. We have been receiving the forwarded mail from our old address within 5 days. I went to the store and talked to ******* ****** on August 21 or 22 in reference to the status of our order. We agreed to cancel the order. She agreed to refund me and I provided the new address to her. If that wasn't sufficient enough, we emailed her on Tuesday, September 10, 2013 and provided her again with the new mailing address. If the check was written and mailed (even to the old address) at the time she indicated, the post office would have forwarded the mail and we would have received it by now. We believe a check has never been mailed. The store indicates they are waiting for the check to come back to them to rewrite a new check. If the check is never returned, do we never receive a refund?

Final Business Response
CHECK HAS CLEARED MY BANK TODAY.

07/10/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received bad service, waste of time for multiple visits and calls.
Received some stuff at 5 week later on delivery and still wait for other stuff.

On 02/23/2013, I purchased 2 sofas and dining table with 6 chairs at "In Your Home furnishing" shop in Hickory NC.

In the **** of sale it was scheduled 4-8 week delivery. After the initial 8 weeks I had not received even a phone call to update me on delivery

I had to call several times and even visited the store in person several times to find out why the furniture had not been delivered.
Only after my visit or calls, they started to call the manufacturer for information on my order.

After each visit or phone call I was told that it was shipping or was going to ship and that it would be one or couple more week, I feel that outright lied to me every time.

I received my dining table and sofas on 05/24/2013, 13 weeks after order and 5 weeks after the 8 week delivery on the **** of sale. I also did not receive the chairs with the dining table.

Day before when I discussed this with shop owner -she told me that she not see any problem in delivery delay for more then one month.
And that delivery time - "estimated".

The owner promised me that my chairs would be only 2 more weeks.
I asked for her to send me any chairs to use temporarily while I wait for the delivery and she agreed.

I never received an chairs on loan. I asked the movers about this and they told me that no chairs were on the delivery, the store told me by phone that the movers "forgot" chairs and they **** send to me ASAP.

I am finally submitting this complaint today, 06/11/2013. In the last 3 weeks I have not received one phone call about the status of my chairs.

Yesterday I called the shop and, as usual, they started to tell me the manufacturer had issues.
They called me back to tell me - it **** be delivered by end of June.That means 18 weeks (more than 4 months!!!) after original order and more than 4 weeks after they promised delivery of "a couple weeks" (10 week late after estimated 8 week delivery time!).

My family and I have suffered all this time without being able to sit at a table with no chairs and they have also had almost $5,000 of my money since the initial purchase.
They offered nothing for restitution until I asked at which time they took $100 off delivery.......it should have been $500 off the order.

Had I realized how terrible the service was going to be I would never have made a purchase at this store. I believe they have lied to me on many occasions.

This has been the worst buying experience ever, I highly recommend that future customers be prepared for what I went through............better yet buy somewhere else.

Desired Settlement
I want fully refund for 6 chairs.

I can't wait it any more.

Business' Initial Response
****** ****** purchased at In Your Home Furnishings (IYHF) on 2-23-13, invoice number XXXXX by the store manager*********** Mr. ****** purchased Southern Motion, XXX-XX, powered sofa and XXX-XX loveseat in color, Alfresco, Baca. Mr. ****** also purchased on this same invoice Home Elegance XXX-XXRD, round table top and XXX-XXW, six white bar stools.
IYHF has a contract that is printed communicating with customers that all special orders are 6-8 weeks and paragraph 3 on the back of Mr. ******* invoice communicates that if any product is out of stock due to the availability of the manufacturer then IYHF is at the mercy of the manufacturer and if the customer chooses not to wait on an acknowledged order then there is a 25% restocking fee because IYHF still must receive the merchandise into inventory for resell. Mr. ****** did sign and initial both, invoice and the back of the contract. IYHF takes every step to communicate all this information to the customer before any signatures are requested. Mr. ****** entered our store on XX-XX-XX and explained he was traveling to Israel and that we could deliver when he returned back to his home. Mr. ****** owed a balance of $2528.95 and stated he would pay when he returned. Customer service explained that his order was 8 weeks out from purchase date and was due in anytime except the bar stools. Bar stools were on back order till the end of June. Customer service explained that we could deliver all his product except the bar stools and we would take an additional $100 off deliver for his inconvenience. Customer service also told Mr. ****** that we could bring some other bar stools out for him to use but he explained only if they matched and IYHF did not have any that would accommodate Mr. ****** in a fashion manner.
On X-XX-XX Mr. ****** came into our store and paid his balance of $1851.96 which would leave a remaining half balance of $576.99. Mr. ****** refused to pay for the bar stools and we accepted that and told him he could pay when they arrived. IYHF also told Mr. ****** that we would deliver the bar stools at no charge when they arrived. Mr. ****** then drove to our warehouse and inspected all his product and wanted to verify that it was all new product and not floor models. Customer service then set Mr. ****** up for delivery for X-XX-XX and then Mr. ****** purchased a bookcase for the delivery also. Product was delivered on X-XX-XX and Mr. ****** signed that everything was received in good condition. Customer service has been in touch with Mr. ****** every week letting him know that the manufacturer is to receive his stools in est. the last week of June and we **** deliver them as soon as we can get them in. IYHF **** be glad to refund all but 25% of the bar stools and credit his account. IYHF in no way wants to hold or delay any customers product. We are very grateful for all our customers and we have compensated Mr. ****** for his troubles with the bar stools. Mr. ****** has slandered IYHF on several social sights and I understand he is angry but our intentions are never to make a customer unhappy but to try to compensate when something goes wrong that isn't in our control.
IYHF **** be glad to refund bar stools minus 25% or deliver them at no charge when they arrive. Please if you have any questions please let me know.

Consumer's Final Response
Got my chairs finally at 07/10/12 .

Almost after 20 weeks from original order.
BBB can close my complaint.

Business' Final Response
Mr. ****** has his chairs delivered and a **** of lading has been signed that he received them.

05/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased furniture and material tore on cushion. Store wont talk to me about it ,how to repair it, or even if they will repair it after several conta
Purchased a Loveseat from company. Item was delivered and over time (less than a year) the leather tore. I contacted the store told them about my issue. I sent pictures and was told that they would contact the manufacturer and get back to me. That was in November 2015. A week or so went by and no contact . I called them and they suddenly appeared ignorant about my recent contact. I gave information again and they said they would get back to me. Several weeks went by . No calls . I called them and same response. I told them what was going on and never heard from him. I talked to store manager 1 time and nothing. I talked to the gentleman that sold me the loveseat on 2 occasions They said they would get back to me and to this day never have responded in any way. I have called them 6 times about this and no response. I want my loveseat repaired or replaced or a refund.
I have done everything they asked for but they have done nothing for me. I am tired of getting the run around from them.
Now they **** probably say the seat is no longer under warranty and they wont repair it. It was under warranty when I first brought it to their attention . But their lack of caring to do anything about it infuriates me .

Desired Settlement
I want my Loveseat repaired , replaced or I want a refund.

Business Response
Mr. ********* Jr. purchased furniture on XX-XX-XXXX on invoice XXXXX, sales associate *************.
Purchased was the following:
England Furniture 2917AL Ottoman Salvador Caboose
2914L Chair Salvador Caboose
Southern Motion XXX-XX Dbl Rec Powered Loveseat
Body: Leather, XXX-XX Surell Bur
Original price $3559.95, sold for $2699.95.
Invoice shows that leather protection was not purchased. Offered by ************* by initialed by Mr. ********* that he rejected it under protection plan. Leather must be protected at least every 6 months; bottle that is offered **** last 5 years and costs $24.95.
Warranty was emailed on XX-XX-XXXX @ 2:00pm. Pictures attached shows that the seam is not pulling. There are two holes that are in the side. With leather not being conditioned leather **** dry out and this **** cause an issue to arise in the apperance of the leather.
Customer service emailed back on XX-XX-XXXX @ 2:05pm to ask Mr. ********* for his invoice number and the date he purchased so we can file a warranty claim with the manufacturer.
On XX-XX-XXXX @ 8:07am Mr ********* emailed stating that we should have that information; that he did not have it.
On XX-XX-XXXX @ 10:05am customer service called to let Mr. ********* know that we had received his email and that we needed additional information.
On XX-XX-XXXX customer service sent all the information to file a claim through the manufacturer representative and this does not fall under the warranty due to wear and tear. Looking at the first picutre above the two holes you **** see two cracks in the welt. This is from drying out. In Your Home Furnishings educates all our customers that when you purchase leather it must be conditioned. This is why we have the customer initial that we offered this product. In Your Home Furnishings can educate and offer the product but we can't make someone purchase and use it.
Mr Dagenharts issue is a concern to us but the warranty is through the manufacturer and it is for us to make sure that the manufacturer stands behind any issues as long as it is within the warranty guidelines.
IYHF does have and has offered to give Mr. ********* a name and phone number that **** correct the issue for $85.00.
Customer service **** contact Mr. ********* on this day and explain the warranty to him.
Thank you for your time in this matter.
I have sent invoice, pictures, docamentation to email correspondence.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All LIES. I was NEVER contacted by anyone at the business. I was NEVER offered any liquid form the material. I was NEVER told anything about any of this. There are NO HOLES in the Love Seat. The tear is from leather sewn too tight and due to that it tore because it didn't have any stretch allowance in the seam. This is per Southern Motion Sales Rep **************** He came to my house and looked at it. Leather protection is for the leather drying out . The leather doesn't dry out in less than a year. Any idiot knows this.
I was told they could get the invoice and it would be no problem. These people have lied from the first letter about this issue. I was NEVER contacted in any manner about anything in this manner.
As far as I know the store never contacted anybody about this. I have no documentation sent to me for anything about this issue. The store is a typical store. You buy it there is no service after the sale. Just worthless lip service.

Final Business Response
Mr. ********** please look at the documentation that I sent and you can not date an email that was sent. If you **** come by the store I **** be glad to show you the emails and clear that up for you. Mr. ******** has been contacted and he is on vacation this week. He has all the information and states that it is out of warranty and **** discuss with you.
IYHF also has you signature on all invoices and we **** be glad to help in anyway that we can but must abide by the manufactures warranty. When I hear from Mr. ******** I **** be more than glad to communicate by email with you.

Final Consumer Response
I have just contacted the*****************. and was told that ************************* is not in good standing . That tells me that they have expensive junk. There are several complaints about the same issue I have . There are several complaints about warranty and warranty repairs. Its seems that they have a pattern of poor customer service. Just Like the store I bought the furniture from.

11/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased furniture at In Your Home Furnishings in Hickory, NC. At pick-up, furniture was damaged. Have been trying since April 29, 2015 to get fixed.
February 2015 we purchased a sofa, recliner and wedge. Furniture was picked up in April. At pick-up, all pieces were inspected. The back of the wedge was damaged. The loading dock manager took a picture and relayed the information to the salesperson at the store office. On paperwork it is noted that a replacement was to be ordered on or around 4-29-15. After numerous phone calls from that date until now, November 5, 2015, the wedge still has not been repaired. We have talked to store personnel and they keep telling us it has been ordered. After further discussion with ******* (who said she was the store manager moments after telling me that the store manager wasn't present) we learned that the replacement piece would be shipped to our home. On November 3, she said the piece had already been shipped and delivered but we have never received the item. Today, November 5, when I spoke with her, she never mentioned that the item had been delivered but said that it was ordered. Then, she told us that after the piece was delivered, we would have to contact them again to request a repairman to come to our home to fix the item. It has been 7 months and an item we paid over $4,000 for has yet to be fixed. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!

Desired Settlement
At this point in time, we want the piece repaired at no cost to us. Also, a monetary refund (cash or check, NOT STORE CREDIT)for 100% of the cost of the wedge.

Business Response
Mr. ******** **** purchased on XX-XX-XXXX invoice XXXXX. Mr. **** was contacted and told that his furniture was ready for pick up. Mr. **** came to pick his furntiure up on 03-25-2015. Mr. **** did not want to open and inspect. When he opened at his home a nightstand was damaged and the back of a wedge for a sectional. The distrabution ordered him a new nightstand and that was picked up on 04-29-2015. Mr. **** signed that he did not want to open and inspect, that if he had damage either parts or a return would need to be done. When Mr. **** contact our store about the damaged wedge we ordered an outback for repair. MR. **** would need to contact the manufacturer when he received the part. When parts are ordered from us to the customer..the part ships from overseas and this this goes around us and straight to the customer. The customer must call the manufacturer and then they send a technician out. In Your Home Furnishings sent a warranty request to Franklin Furniture on X-XX-XX for the back on the wedge. Mr. **** contacts In Your Home Furnishings on XX-XX-XXXX and states he never received the back on the wedge. *************** in customer service told him the policy with the manufacturer and Mr. **** stated we have lied and was not telling the truth. In Your Home Furnishings would not lie to the customer or have any need to delay a repair. Mr. **** has not contacted our store since March. ******** contacted the manufacturer and they are sending out the back again. I say again because they state they have sent it once. No problem thou we have reordered the back again and Mr. **** has been instructed to contact us this time and we **** contact the manufacturer for repair.

11/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We ordered $1800.00 of living room furniture 7-6-15 from this place. Was told we would receive furniture in 6 to 8 weeks - 8 being on high end. We are now in 18 weeks & NO FURNITURE. Our checks have cleared bank and everytime we call a different excuse is told to us by ************************* or *******. We've been told backorder on chair frame,backorder on material for chair, furniture is on way from Mississippi (total untruth) every week it is another lie actually had delivery set up for Tues.XX-XX-XX and we stayed home all day waiting NO SHOW & no call. We do not trust these people and at this time want a refund in complete Horrible company to deal with
Product_Or_Service: 3 piece living room furniture
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
We want our furniture after 18 weeks immediately in perfect condition or a complete REFUND

Business Response
Customer has been delivered and signed off on the satifaction of the delivery and furniture. IYHF is replacing a chair that was with the correct packaging on the product but wrong frame inside. IYHF will deliver as soon as we receive the correct chair.

10/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our sofa has been repaired three time in 18 mos. and is still not repaired correctly.
Problem date: 9/18/14
Purchase date: 2/17/14
Item # XXXXXXX
Customer #XXXXX
Serial #SXXXXXXXXX
Sales Rep Pat
Payment Amount: $1,365.22 Payment Method: Debit

September 26, 2015

To Whom It May Concern:
We looked several months for a leather recliner sofa with power,one that would be very firm and have a short cushion so that we could sit up straight and our feet would touch the ground. We both have major back and leg problems and we were extremely happy with the way this sofa fit us. We had this sofa for only 6 months before we filed or 1st complaint with them. Now were very unhappy with the way it is wearing.(it is just the two of us,no children)The cushions sink when you sit down (I now have to have a pillow behind me to sit up straight) and it is very difficult for me to get off the sofa, due to the fact it is so soft. We sent photo's showing the indentions that are very noticeable where you sit, you could see how stretch out the leather is, it showed where the right side is slanted down and yet the middle cushion showed how much firmer and higher it was then the end ones. On the right when you adjust the recliner it made a rubbing noise against the leather and on the left side the arm feels like the wood frame wearing down. It has gone from a very firm sofa to a very soft sofa in 7 mos.
We made our 1st complaint on 9/18/14. Sent 5 photos. 9/19/14 they ordered parts from the photos I sent them on 9/18/14.(No one came to look at the sofa) On XX-XX-XX their repair tech came out to repair the sofa. He re-stuffed it and added new form.
On 2/21/15 Second time complaint, I notified them regarding the sofa in less then a year. They requested photos which I sent. Same day I got a email from ******* the manager, basically saying that they weren't going to do anything about it.
2/23/15 Sent another email to ******** she replied back with an email saying since the stitching is stitched underneath that it **** pull apart. Then she went on to say that leather stretches(not less then a year old) And the reasons for the reclining ends not matching up as ******* puts it, the middle is stationary and does not recline, the ends stick out about 2" further then the middle. The repair tech came out the first time he told me the wood frame on the arm was damaged and the whole arm would have to be taken apart. They sent the wrong parts to repair the sofa. Had to reorder new parts. I called when the new parts arrived. He came out & replaced new foam & cotton.(not the arm) At that time he told me I was always going to have problems with this sofa every 5-6 mos. because of the material they used.
In early March I called and complained for the 3rd time,the repairman was right it wasn't holding up. They requested more pictures, no one came out to look at it. Again they ordered new parts on 3/27/15 (from the pictures)Received the parts on 4/7/15 but it wasn't until 9/19/15 did the repairman come out to repair it and again told us the material they used would not hold up more then 6 mos. It hasn't been 2 weeks and again were have problems. They sent us parts to three different sofa, so the repairman did the best he could from what he had to work with.
In June I received a call from ******** (saleslady) saying they would give us a store credit or exchange it for a new one. We went & picked out a new sofa, the price was a lot higher then our store credit, ******** wrote down the difference in price and we decided to get it, then we were told two different price then what she wrote, which were a lot higher, they said she didn't add delivery or tax so we decided to have the sofa repaired again. They were going to charge us delivery over twice what we paid the 1st time. They have lied to us, change prices, haven't returned calls, they have sent wrong parts twice to repair our sofa. Every time you talk to them they say almost refer to you as a liar.
We willing to pay the $625.00 difference on a new sofa, not over $900.00!
Thank you,
***** ******


Desired Settlement
Problem date: 9/18/14
Purchase date: 2/17/14
Item # XXXXXXX
Customer #XXXXX
Serial #SXXXXXXXXX
Sales Rep ***
Payment Amount: $1,365.22 Payment Method: Debit

September 26, 2015

To Whom It May Concern:
We looked several months for a leather recliner sofa with power,one that would be very firm and have a short cushion so that we could sit up straight and our feet would touch the ground. We both have major back and leg problems and we were extremely happy with the way this sofa fit us. We had this sofa for only 6 months before we filed or 1st complaint with them. Now were very unhappy with the way it is wearing.(it is just the two of us,no children)The cushions sink when you sit down (I now have to have a pillow behind me to sit up straight) and it is very difficult for me to get off the sofa, due to the fact it is so soft. We sent photo's showing the indentions that are very noticeable where you sit, you could see how stretch out the leather is, it showed where the right side is slanted down and yet the middle cushion showed how much firmer and higher it was then the end ones. On the right when you adjust the recliner it made a rubbing noise against the leather and on the left side the arm feels like the wood frame wearing down. It has gone from a very firm sofa to a very soft sofa in 7 mos.
We made our 1st complaint on 9/18/14. Sent 5 photos. 9/19/14 they ordered parts from the photos I sent them on 9/18/14.(No one came to look at the sofa) On XX-XX-XX their repair tech came out to repair the sofa. He re-stuffed it and added new form.
On 2/21/15 Second time complaint, I notified them regarding the sofa in less then a year. They requested photos which I sent. Same day I got a email from ******* the manager, basically saying that they weren't going to do anything about it.
2/23/15 Sent another email to *******, she replied back with an email saying since the stitching is stitched underneath that it **** pull apart. Then she went on to say that leather stretches(not less then a year old) And the reasons for the reclining ends not matching up as ******* puts it, the middle is stationary and does not recline, the ends stick out about 2" further then the middle. The repair tech came out the first time he told me the wood frame on the arm was damaged and the whole arm would have to be taken apart. They sent the wrong parts to repair the sofa. Had to reorder new parts. I called when the new parts arrived. He came out & replaced new foam & cotton.(not the arm) At that time he told me I was always going to have problems with this sofa every 5-6 mos. because of the material they used.
In early March I called and complained for the 3rd time,the repairman was right it wasn't holding up. They requested more pictures, no one came out to look at it. Again they ordered new parts on 3/27/15 (from the pictures)Received the parts on 4/7/15 but it wasn't until 9/19/15 did the repairman come out to repair it and again told us the material they used would not hold up more then 6 mos. It hasn't been 2 weeks and again were have problems. They sent us parts to three different sofa, so the repairman did the best he could from what he had to work with.
In June I received a call from Danielle (saleslady) saying they would give us a store credit or exchange it for a new one. We went & picked out a new sofa, the price was a lot higher then our store credit, Danielle wrote down the difference in price and we decided to get it, then we were told two different price then what she wrote, which were a lot higher, they said she didn't add delivery or tax so we decided to have the sofa repaired again. They were going to charge us delivery over twice what we paid the 1st time. They have lied to us, change prices, haven't returned calls, they have sent wrong parts twice to repair our sofa. Every time you talk to them they say almost refer to you as a liar.
We willing to pay the $625.00 difference on a new sofa, not over $900.00!
Thank you,
***** ******

Business Response
***** ****** purchased on 02-07-2014, invoice XXXXX by sales associate********** in the amount of $1115.92 for a XXXXXXX Ashley Mnufacturer Reclining Sofa with Power. On or about XX-XX-XX Mrs. ****** contacted IYHF stating the cushions are not holding up the way she would like. IYHF sent out to her home new cushion casings and fiber fill at no cost to the customer. (PLEASE NOTE, PARTS ARE SENT OUT TO THE CUSTOMER FROM THE MANUFACTURER AND WHEN PARTS ARE SENT THE MANUFACTURER **** SEND CERTAIN PARTS THAT YOU MAY NOT NEED BECAUSE THEY SHIP AS KITS FROM OVERSEAS. SO WHEN MRS. ****** STATES SHE HAS BEEN SENT WRONG PARTS, THIS IS NOT TRUE ON OUR PART BECAUSE THEY ARE SENT AS A BULK KIT, EXAMPLE: CUSHION CASING **** BE SENT WITH A CUSHION OR CUSHION SENT WITH A CASING THAT MAY NOT BE THE COLOR OF THE RECLINING SOFA.) IYHF can't be responsible for what or how the manufacturer ships parts as long as the customer gets one of the correct parts out of the kit. Our technician went out and maufacturered the cushions back to first quality. Mrs. ****** signed off stating she was satisfied. On or about XX-XX-XXXX Mrs. ****** called and did not like the way the seats line up across the front. IYHF sent out technician to manufacturer back to first quality and Mrs. ****** signed off stating she was happy. On or about XX-XX-XXXX Mrs. ****** called and stated she was not happy with the cushions so IYHF sent out parts from the manufacturer to manufacturer back to first quality. Mrs. ****** was offered to purchase another sofa at IYHF cost to replace the one she is not happy with and she picked out a leather Southern Motion powered reclining sofa with powered headrest and we gave it to her at cost. Mrs. ****** was not happy with that price. Mrs. ****** stated several people gave her several prices so I emailed her and gave her the price that we offered her in the beginning. Mrs. ****** explained that she did not want to pay more money so could I send out a technician again to manufacturer the sofa back to first quality. IYHF did as she requested and Mrs. ****** signed off that she was not happy. Product was purchased XX-XX-XXXX and Mrs. ****** is still not happy after several repairs and being offered a sofa of her choice at our cost. Ashley Furniture Manufacturer only carries a one year warranty on manufacturer defects. IYHF has been paying for the repairs because the warranty has run out. I **** forward the emails that have been in communication.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On X-XX-XX Not only did I state that the cushions weren't holding up, I also stated that the leather was stretching out and the cushion on the right was slanted down and on the right when you adjusted the recliner it made a rubbing noise against the leather. I also noted the arm on the left felt like the wood frame was wearing, which I was told by the repairman at that time it was. It did not get repaired until this last time when he was here.
Why is IYHF making a statement about new cushion casing and fiber fill sent out to our home at "No cost to customer" When at that time the sofa was under warranty.
I personally spoke to a representative at Ashley's
Manufacturer about sending Bulk Kits and read to her the statement what IYHF wrote BBB (in all capital letters) Her reply to me was "are you kidding, do you know what it would cost us to send Bulk Kits" we do not send Bulk Parts or extra parts, only parts we send is what is ordered!
IYHF made a statement I signed off stating I was happy on the first repair. I **** give IYHF the benefit of doubt that I may have signed something on the first repair. I would like proof where I signed that I was satisfied on all repairs.
On the last to complaints that I made to IYHF all they requested were more pictures of the sofa. Not once did a repairman come out to look at it. All parts were apparently ordered from the picture's I sent. I had requested on one of the phone calls that they send someone from the store to look at the sofa and was told they did not do that.
On X-XX-XX I did speak to someone at IYHF and she said that they were willing to give us a store credit of $1,365.22 or exchange it for another sofa. NOTHING WAS EVER MENTIONED ABOUT GIVING US ONE AT THEIR COST.
At this time we would like a refund of $1,365.22 and they can pick up the sofa at their expense.
We were told by management that we were wrong or that they did not say that on more then one occasion. If this is Customer Service then No Thanks.

Final Business Response
Mrs. ****** on June 24th 2015, you had been contacted @5:51pm and noted that the credit is for $1258.28. That figure is the amount of the sofa in full, tax @ 7% that was paid minus delivery.
Invoice XXXXX was in the amount of $1365.22, this was tax, delivery for everything. IYHF can only give back the amount of the sofa that you actually paid and tax. If you have any questions please let me know.

Final Consumer Response
IYHF stated that on X-XX-XX we were contacted with a credit of $1,258.28 It was mentioned that figure included the sofa in full, tax @ 7% which is $88.08 minus the delivery, which brings the total credit to $1,346.36.
On X-XX-XXXX I was contacted by phone from an IYHF employee that they would give us a store credit of $1,365.22. or exchange it for another sofa. We were also given a business card by an IYHF employee with a written store credit of $1,365.22 Rather then arguing with us regarding the amount of credit, IYHF should honor the amount that was verbally given and written by their employee. The issue needs to be taken up with the employee and not the customer.
My husband and I both owned retail businesses and believe me if the price was marked less then what was advertised or was written in writing, we would of NEVER thought twice about honoring it. That is how you keep a happy customer and one that keeps coming back and sending you business.
As in the last email, I requested three things:
#1 I seriously want it in writing about IYHF letting us purchase a sofa at their cost.
#2 In writing the amount of store credit.
#3 In writing the $99.00 delivery charge.
Again, as soon as we receive our request, then we **** accept IYHF proposed resolution.

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty product. Was repaired once which made further issue. No longer helping although was told the sofa had 10 year warranty.
Purchased a Franklin sofa in October 2013 as was told it had a 10 year warranty and was in stock for delivery in one week. Waited 3 weeks for delivery.
Sofa's cushion disintegrated after a few months. Repair man came out and put new foam in cushion. Think cushion pad was too big and it put pressure on seams. One split across the front. Contacted "In Your Home: again and since then until now have had no joy in getting anything done. Dealed with *************** who said it cannot be repaired as they no longer make the fabric. Told the guarantee was only one year and not ten, and no apology as to the lie we were told to obviously get a sale. Cushion seam is now torn about 8 inches and the seat unusable. Last offer and contact from ******** was in August when she was going to look up a cost price of another sofa that we could 'buy'. I do not want to buy another sofa when I spent almost $900 on this two seater one. I do not think it was unrealistic to believe the sales lady as we have had sofa's before that have lasted that long. We are not heavy people who would put pressure on a piece of furniture and we treat our furnishings well. I have asked that perhaps the company could recover the sofa in different fabric but they declined it as being non cost effective. We have a whole string of emails between us, mostly on my side and I do not find the company helpful or sympathetic at all. I am unable to get hold of the manufacturer (Franklin) in any way but believe the retailer should take responsibility for a substandard item and the sales person.

Desired Settlement
Half of cost price so that we can buy a used sofa in better condition than this one.

Business Response
**** ******* purchased on XX-XX-XXXX by sales associate Pat Adams invoice XXXXX. Purchased for original $959.95 discounted to $780.00, ******** XXXXX Rocking Reclining Loveseat. On or about XX-XX-XXXX Mr. ******* contacted IYHF and sent information concerning the cushion was dropping in the back. IYHF sent out Furniture Pro Solutions to manufactur the unit back to first quality. Mr. ******* signed off stating he was satisfied with the work.
On or about 12-18-2014, Mr. ******* called back and stated a rip was in the fabric on the footrest. IYHF requested pictures of the damage for the maufacturer. ******** Furniture only carries a 1 year warranty which is only on manufacturer defects. The manufacturer claimed that the rip was due to wear and tear and that this would not be covered under the warratny. IYHF emailed Mr. ******* and explained to him the situaation and stated that we would try to get a casing to recover the seat and IYHF would pay for the repair. ******** Furniture called IYHF and stated that the unit Mr. ******* purchased was discontinued and they did not have parts that IYHF could purchase. IYHF emailed Mr. ******* and explained the situation and told him that we woul be glad to sell him a new unit of his choice at our cost. Mr. ******* states that he was told ******** Furniture has a 10 year warranty but we train all our sales associates that the warratny attached is ******** Furniture's warratny.
IYHF takes great pride in making sure that all our customers are satisfied but the warranty is through the customer and the manufacturer. In saying that if we have a situation that the customer is not satisfied with a product we **** sell them a new unti at our cost. Depending on the manufacturer that the consumer picks that price range could be as low as $325.00. We **** be glad to help Mr. ******* with replacing his unit. If Mr. ******* wants half of what he paid for his loveseat to put towards a new loveseat then that would be $390.00. If I sold him a new loveseat at retail for $899.00 then that would be the same as giving him half back.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

Mr ******* has requested to IYHF contact information to deal with ******** direct and was not given that help. ******** Furniture do not respond to emails and no phone number is given. Would IYHF request that ******** furniture please contact them regarding this matter.
Secondly The tear in the seat cushion was not due to wear and tear. As explained to IYHF and agreed with by them the tear was caused by overstuffing when the first repair was made. It seemed the cushion was a bit too big for the cushion case.
Thirdly half refunded would not be used to buy another brand new sofa, it would be to purchase a used sofa in good condition. Mr ******* does not see the point of buying new from IYHF when the products do not last. He believes he paid a decent price for a sofa that should last longer than it did. Thank you!

Final Business Response
Purchase was made on 11-08-2013. Issue before Mr. *******'s warranty was up; IYHF took care of all his issues. Going back in our emails I do not see any documentation stating that we agreed that it was our technician that caused the cushion to rip. With the warranty being over it is up to ******** to decide what IYHF can do to resolve the issue.
IYHF **** stand behind the product as stated in the response before within our means.
Mr. ******* can purchase a sofa at cost through our Hickory location. Mr. ******* is more than welcome to contact ******** Furniture. All the contact information is on the tags that he received with his furniture. Mr. ******* can contact the repair company and they can repair the issue, but with it being out of warranty ******** Furniture **** not issue a warranty repair. Mr. ******* can also bring the loveseat back to IYHF and I **** be glad to repair the tear. Doing this we would need this at our location to take the casing off and sew then put back on.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.