BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/07/2005

Grindstaff Interiors/Furniture Design Imports

Phone: (828) 245-4263Fax: (828) 245-7758View Additional Phone Numbers1007 W Main St, Forest CityNC 28043-2519

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/07/2005

BBB has determined that Grindstaff Interiors/Furniture Design Imports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Grindstaff Interiors/Furniture Design Imports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grindstaff Interiors/Furniture Design Imports

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was not able to accept delivery of second ordered chair and Grindstaff will not return my many calls and messages over the past several weeks.
I spoke with *************** in Sept. 2015 asking for her help to order a full reclining chair that I wanted to order from them. I specified that I wanted the chair to recline back and not glide or rock in the frame. With her help we found the motion craft 9010PBD Chair incliner that was also available in the 9010M-TBU Motor Recline Chair. On 9/10/15 I placed an order for the motor recline chair for $1465.00 paying $1200on mastercard when the chair was ordered and the balance by certified check when the chair was ready to be delivered.
The chair was delivered on Dec. 14,2015 but did not realize until after the delivery men left that the chair was not a recliner. It was an incliner. I contacted *************** wnd explained the problem to her. She did not understand it. The chair description states the chair is available as a motor recline Chair. She took several days speaking to Motioncraft explaining that she agreed with me- the description says it is a recliner, and I ordered a recliner not the incliner. Ms ********* also suggested I speak to the representative of Motioncraft. That Gentleman said that anyone in the industry knows that chair is an incliner and not a recliner and ***** should have known better. He said it was not his company's fault and that I had to work it out with Ms *********.
Ms ********* said the best she could do was to take the chair back and refund the money when it sells from their salesfloor. I was not happy with this but that was the best she assured me I could do.
I asked her help in placing the order for another chair just like the previous one except it is to recline all the way back. I didn't want to make any error so we worked together.
the second chair was ordered on Jan. 19,2016. It was the Motioncraft 6901MPBT recliner. The total cost was $1500.00 of which half was paid by mastercard and the balance paid by certified check.
The chair was delivered the end of March 2016. When it was unwrapped, I was upset to see that it was half the size of the previous chair. There was no way I could keep it. I tried calling Grindstaff's but they were closed but I did leave a message for Ms *********. I refused delivery of this second chair and kept the first chair.I have been leaving messages almost every day trying to speak with Ms ********* but none of my calls have been returned. Now I have a chair in my house which is not the recliner it is supposed to be. Grindstaff has the second chair and the money and they will not return my calls. I believed I was dealing with an experienced reputable company and never imagined these problems would occur. I said I needed help ordering the chair from the very beginning and believed I was getting knowledgeable advise and direction. I am sick over this situation since I have waited so long to save for this recliner. I need help to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a recliner that is the size of the first chair but with the full reclining feature. I believe the way the chair is described in the catalog is deceptive and misleading by motioncraft and Grindstaff should have been aware of this. I also want full refund on the first and second chair.

Business Response
The Customer listed above ordered the original chair on 8-19-15. She provided the Item Number and all of the Specifications regarding this chair. The customer signed a Grindstaff's Interiors Contract stating the exact descriptions requested along with signature acknowledging No Cancellations or Changes or Refunds on Special Orders on our Invoice.

Customer requested another chair. After she spoke with the Mfg's Corporate Office and Representatives, she selected another chair. The customer provided to Grindstaff's the re-selected item number and specifications. We went over these specifications in detail. Again, customer confirmed with signature she acknowledged No Cancellations or Changes or Refunds on Special Orders. We did agree to allow the customer to return the original chair for consignment. Once sold we would refund her money.

Customer refused 2nd chair at delivery, keeping the original chair in her home. The 2nd chair remains at the delivery carrier waiting on her to schedule her re-delivery. All White Glove Shipping Charges are the responsibility of the Customer.

Grindstaff's has honored purchase orders from Ms. ******** and has gone "over board" to accommodate her in selling her chair which she ordered incorrectly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Miss ********* helped me with the first order making sure the. Hair was a recliner as the catalogue indicated. When the incliner rather than the recliner came miss ********* spoke to the manufacturer rep who insisted even though the catalogue was listed as a recliner it was really an incliner. When I spoke to the representative, he said Grindstaff should have known this as anyone in the business would know it. Miss ********* helped my place the order trying to make sure I recieved a chair just like I had first ordered except it was to be a recliner. Miss ********* assisted me in the ordering process. I cannot use this second chair and I am seeking reimbursement for the cost of the chair.


Final Business Response
From: ************************** (mailto:**************************)
Sent: Tuesday, June 21, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *************** <**************************>
Cc: ******************
Subject: Complaint #****** (*****************)

IN RESPONSE TO THE RESOLUTION FROM MRS. ******** ON 6-1-2016,

I WILL HAVE THE CHAIR THAT MRS. ******** REFUSED AND RETURNED ON THE *** LINE, TO BE RETURNED TO GRINDSTAFF'S. WE **** IN TURN TAKE THE CHAIR FOR DONATION TO RUTHERFORD COUNTY HOSPICE AND MAIL THE PROOF OF DONATION TO MRS. ********.


PLEASE ADVISE ONCE THIS HAS BEEN COMPLETED, THIS **** RESOLVE HER COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB.

THANK YOU,

***** ********** *********

GRINDSTAFFS INTERIORS
1007 WEST MAIN STREET
FOREST CITY, NC XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1983Business started: 09/17/1956
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1956, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Boyce Grindstaff (President)
Number of Employees

19

Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Grindstaff. Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grindstaff Interiors/Furniture Design Imports

1007 W Main St

Forest City, NC 28043-2519

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1007 W Main St 

    Forest City, NC 28043-2519(828) 245-0630
    (828) 245-4263
    Fax: (828) 245-7758

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grindstaff Interiors/Furniture Design Imports is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (828) 245-0630
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.