BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2000

Blacklion

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 540-1111Fax: (704) 541-810010605 Park Rd, CharlotteNC 28210-8403

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2000

BBB has determined that Blacklion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blacklion's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blacklion

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered table 4/9/13 (paid 1/2). Notified table was in 5/9/13 (paid 1/2). Table re-ordered 06/06/13, still has not recd. table, but told item is in.
I ordered an occasional table through Blacklion International INC.(#********)on 04/09/13, paid $490.00 through paypal, which was 1/2 of the total cost. On 05/09/13 I was notified by Sales Rep. **** that the table was in,at which time I paid 1/2 balance of $490.00 through paypal. On 5/9 when I was notified that the table was in Sales Rep.****,told me that someone would call me within week to schedule delivery. On 5/28 I notified **** that no one had called. On 5/29 delivery company called and delivery was scheduled for 6/4 between 1:00-5:00p.m. I Called delivery company serveral times between 4:30 and 5:00pm on 06/4 to confirm delivery and was promised that delivery would still occur as scheduled. Later spoke with delivery personnel (*** and ****). Was later told by **** that the warehouse was 100,000 sq. ft. and table could be anywhere, she did not know where it was and was not aware that it was on the truck. On 6/6 spoke back with **** and was told that she would re-order table or re-fund money. I still wanted table and asked that it be re-ordered. I later called back to learn that table was not re-ordered until 6/19. I called **** on 8/12 to see if table was in and she stated it was in (but no one called to notify me that the table was in prior to my call). **** told me that someone would call me on that day to schdule delivery, no one never called. I call **** back on 08/19 and informed her that it had been a week and no one had called to schedule delivery. **** agreed to call delivery company and also agreed to call me back at the end of the day to confirm that delivery had been scheduled. **** nor the delivery company called me back. I called **** on 08/20 and left message asking her to call me about the table.

This is very poor customer service at both ends (Blacklion and Delivery Company). I made this purchased in good faith, paid for it timely (on day notified)and have been waiting on this item for months and no one seem to care whether I receive my purchase, yet along receive it in a timely manner.

The item is an occasional table from the CAPRIS Furniture line. ***** -42"X42"X23H I would like to know why am I being treated so unfair and so poorly as a customer. I have lost money by taking off work to meet the delivery people and have made numerous calls on an item that has been paid in full. Please let me know what can be done at this point.

Desired Settlement
I would the like the table that I ordered and paid for and a reason as to why I have been treated so poorly. I would also like to know what good faith effort Blacklion can put forth that will/can compensate for such poor customer service.

Business' Initial Response
In response to Mrs *******'s complaint. BLACKLION received an order for a table from this customer and promptly placed it with the manufacturer. The delivery company, as the customer stated, did indeed lose the table and didn't find this out until a delivery was scheduled with Mrs *******. At this point, BLACKLION offered Mrs ******* a full refund which she declined. She preferred that we reorder the table. The delivery for the second/replacement table has been scheduled with Mrs ******* and with Mrs *******'s consent on September 4th betwen 12-4. We regret that Mrs ******* has had a less than favorable experience with her order. When an item is lost in transit, it effectively doubles the length of time to complete an order. In light of this, BLACKLION has always been willing to issue Mrs ******* a full refund. In reference to the phone calls that Mrs ******* expected to receive from either BLACKLION or the delivery company, it appears that there was either a lack of communication or miscommunication. Either way, we will offer Mrs ******* a $50 courtesy credit for the inconvenience. Please let me know if you have any questions. Thanks! **** *****

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The chair arrived with several defects. This company will not replace, and is charging me $250 to send it back.
I ordered A custom chair through BLACKLION FURNITURE. It arrived with several defects, including, leather is twisted, one side of the chair is wrinkled, the footrest will not stay in place, and the core cushion is crooked. BLACKLION has given me three options.
1. They will give me $100 to keep the defective chair.
2. I can let the pick up my $1800 chair and send it back to North Carolina, they will fix it, and send it back to me in approx. 6 weeks.
#. I can pay them $250 to ship the chair back, and they will accept it.

I think this place has a very bad way of doing business, and that they are scamming people. There has been no offer to replace this defective chair, only to refurbish it. I did not pay $1800 for a refurbished chair. This chair is manufacture by Bradington Young. I have yet to speak with them, but I have a feeling that I will be posting about them, as well as BLACKLION FURNITURE. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I want this piece of junk out of my house and my money back.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding Mr ********'s BBB complaint to my attention. Although I disagree with the complaint and feel that it is unwarranted, at this time we have reached an understanding with the customer and have agreed to pick up his recliner and provide a full refund. We have authorized our delivery agent to pick up the recliner on their next trip to his state.

I would like to comment briefly though on the comments made by this customer. Mr ********'s main problem with this transaction seems to be that we didn't offer a replacement piece and only offered to restore the item in his home. The policy of restoring furniture is not unique to BLACKLION. It is an industry accepted practice and virtually all furniture dealers would restore a piece of furniture if possible. When restored, a piece of furniture is in "New Condition", especially if the work is performed by the actual manufacturer which was going to be the case for Mr ********'s recliner. If a piece of furniture can't be restored to new condition then our policy is to replace the piece.

This policy shouldn't have been a surprise to Mr ******** since he agreed to it in writing. Our order agreement clearly states (multiple times) how we handle these types of issues. We also show our terms and conditions on our website. I have attached the order agreement with Mr ********'s signature.

I also attached the delivery ticket which Mr ******** signed stating that "I was given sufficient time by the drivers to inspect the furniture for defects or damages. I have found everything to meet my approval and my signature releases the trucking company and seller from any further liability from damages to the property or the furniture on this delivery as noted."

In closing, BLACKLION takes Mr ********'s concerns seriously, just like we do all customers. In his case, however, we weren't given an opportunity to resolve his problem per the terms of our agreement.
That being said, we are resolving this issue exactly as he wishes in his complaint by picking up the recliner and issuing a full refund. I appreciate your help in resolving this issue with Mr ********.

Sincerely,
**** *****
XXX XXX XXXX

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 2 living room seats from Blacklion on April/May of this year. The items were paid in full and have yet to receive the furniture.
I made purchases of two living room seats- items #660-75 (Love seat) $ #660-75 (Recliner) back in April/May of 2014 with total cost of $3780 charged to my American Express Card. The order number is #XXXXXXXX. As of this writing (July 21) I have NOT received the merchandise that I paid for. A trucking company hired by Blacklion (Star Delivery) was schedule to deliver the furniture to my home on July 20 between the hours XXXX-XXXX and failed to do so. Blacklion employee **** ******* indicated that the trucking company told her that the drivers arrived at my home and tried calling me, but I saw no one and received no phone calls from anyone. I have received little or no cooperation from Blacklion to expedite this process and resolve this transaction for which I've already paid in FULL-$3780.

The sales rep is **** ******** She can be reached at XXX XXX XXXX Ext 246. She charged my AMEX card on APRIL 11, April 30, and July 18 for total cost of $3780. As of today, July 21, I have NOT received any furniture from this company.

Given my experience with Blacklion, I find their business practice to be suspect and unprofessional in not working with customers to resolve money transactions expeditiously. I would NEVER purchase anything from this company ever again.




Desired Settlement
Blacklion needs to deliver merchandise to customers as promised on the scheduled date of delivery to maintain reputation and credibility. At this point it would be best to obtain a refund. I have no interest in any further business transaction with this company

Business Response
Thanks for contacting us about this customer's complaint. Mr ****** rescheduled with the delivery company and received delivery approximately 30 minutes ago. This case should now be resolved. Please let me know if you have any questions.
Sincerely,
**** *****
BLACKLION

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Home Furnishings, Home Accessories, Furniture - Outdoor, Gift Shops, Antiques - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/24/1999Business started: 01/01/1988Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1989, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Emory (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Rick Smith (VP Internet Ops)Ms. Nita L. Emory (Vice President/Secretary)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Home Furnishings, Home Accessories, Furniture - Outdoor, Gift Shops, Antiques - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Blacklion International, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blacklion

10605 Park Rd

Charlotte, NC 28210-8403

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 10605 Park Rd 

    Charlotte, NC 28210-8403Fax: (704) 541-8100

  • PO Box 472825 

    Charlotte, NC 28247-2825(704) 540-1111

  • 9751 Sam Furr Rd 

    Huntersville, NC 28078

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blacklion is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.