BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2009

Ashley Furniture HomeStore

Phone: (704) 664-7440

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overall horrible experience with promised delivery dates, failure to communicate delivery timeframe, promised follow up and inability to deliver.
I have never been more dissatisfied with customer service and doing what you say you will than I am with my overall experience with Ashley Furniture! We found a sectional sofa that we really liked and were moving into a new home. We couldnt purchase that day due to needing dimensions to ensure it would work in the room we wanted to use it in. When we came back a week later to purchase the couch they had raised the price $500 from the original price. We worked with the same salesperson and even had a picture of the original price. None the less, we worked a deal out. After going through numerous confirmation calls and telling me that the delivery date would be firm, here I was still waiting for the delivery. I was on hold with customer service for the 4th time (already logged more than 4 hours on phone, and this doesnt include calls to the store). I work in the customer service industry and I know how difficult it can be to work with the public. However, that DOES NOT excuse their inability to communicate with their customers and feed them full of BS just to get them off of the phone. AFter learning that we would have delivery, they said not all pieces could be delivered at the same time. At this point, i have had to take off from work to be available to meet the delivery guys. After being told by a CS rep that I could not return the piece already delivered due to the 3 day cancellation period, i requested to cancel the entire order (including a coffee table, that has yet to be delivered or confirmed). The CS rep got on the phone with the store and then notifies me that the piece in question (chaise) is set to be delivered to store on a Wednesday and that can complete the order. (again with the exception of the coffee table). After being put throught the ringer, she coul dhave simply called the store in the first place. Instead, I felt backed into a corner after being told "no" repeatedly. I also feared if I were to CXL the order in its entirety that I would never see my money back. I paid with my debit card and the funds had cleared 3 days after the purchase was made. The delivery was scheduled from 9:30-12:30 on Thursday (9-4-14). I was instructed that i would recieve a "courtesy call" since i had such a horrible experience (shouldnbt EVERYONE receive this kind of call?) None the less, I did not recieve a courtesy call when the delivery was en route and the delivery was 2 hours late (arriving at 2pm). Again, having to be home and missing work. When they arrived all pieces were on the truck and when the assembly began, there was abracket missing to anchor the sectional together. Really? I was told by the delivery driver that I would recieve a phone call to schedule a technician to come back out and deliver the bracket and install. I ALSO was told that I would receive a follow up from CS, neither has happened. I called yesterday and never was able to speak to someone. In one of the inital calls, the CS rep said that they would assist me to lodge a formal complaint and offer compensation in the form of store credit or Ashley gift card...do they really think that I want to order MORE furniture from them so that I can go through this again? I am an easy going consumer that simply wishes to receive the service that I was promised. I have never made a formalk complaint against any organization, but i feel that the actions, or lack there of, in this siutation are inexcusable. I would never want another consumer to have to go through the experience that we did and I simply want resolution on the above items.

Desired Settlement
I want explanation of communication breakdown, delivery and time frame of bracket and other piece (coffee table). I also want compensation in some form for the hassle, headache and time spent battling the automated service with ZERO follow up. I have been an Ashley customer for 2 bedroom sets, 2 LR sets and now this most recent purchase. It may be smnall potatoes in the grand scheme, but as a consumer I should be able to receive services as they are purchased and promised.

Business Response
Good Morning,

The merchandise Ms. xxxxx purchased was unfortunately delayed from the manufacturer. We certainly apologize for the delays but once the merchandise was delivered to our distribution center we delivered it to Ms. xxxxx. We have addressed Ms. xxxxx request for compensation for the inconvenience of having to wait longer than expected for her furniture to arrive.

Sincerely,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I do accept the response for refunding the delivery fee, I still do not know why I have YET to be called regarding the missing bracket on the wedge portion of the sectional sofa. I was told that I would receive a phone call from the CS rep the next day (Thursday morning, Sept 11) After I had re-told and expressed my dissapointment in the reaction of the company, lack of service and follow-up: I have still yet to receive a follow up call. While I completley understood and still do that the manufacturer dictates delivery etc, they DO NOT dictate the customer service dept's ability to communicate issues with their customers or returning phone calls. I want this put to bed. I honestly want you to come and pick up all of the items we purchased, but given the speed of follow up and response I can surely guarantee that i will never see my money again...All I am asking for is closure...I still need a bracket and promise to never bug you again. I hate that I will not be shopping with you guys in the future because Iam such a huge fan of your furniture.

Final Business Response
Good Evening,

We apologize that Ms. xxxxx bracket has not arrived to her home. We will contact the parts department in xxxxx, WI and update Ms. xxxxx after speaking with them.

Sincerely,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ashley Furniture has advised that I will receive a refund, however I am told conflicting stories by the store and customer service department.
I originally purchased a sofa and love seat in 2012. The sofa continued to have issues with the fabric on the cushions where you sit. After several shipments of cushions, the customer service department agreed to give me a store credit. After looking at several different Ashley Store locations I found the perfect leather sectional and paid the 1692.50 additional cash. The furniture was delivered several weeks late, and upon arrival the delivery company damaged every piece coming into my home. Ashley agreed to send a tech out to look at the pieces. They repaired what they could. However the wedge had deep scratches and Ashley agreed to replace this piece. After 12 attempts and 12 wedges later they agreed to replace the two armless recliners on each side of the wedge to see if this was the problem as to why the wedges that they were sending would not line up accurately. Each piece that was delivered was defective, so they agreed to send a entire new set. The delivery gentleman that should up were rude and treated me as if I was in the wrong. Took out my furniture and sat it in the rain. Brought in the new to find that 2 recliners were broken. They then go to bring in the old that has been in the rain and do not even attempt to dry it off etc. Ashley sends two more recliners and they two are damaged and the customer service department advised that they would have to give me a refund that they were not going to spend anymore money on sending new pieces. Really I am costing you money what about the money and time I have had to spend. After 5 weeks of not hearing back from xxxxx in Customer Service about my refund, or when they are planning to pick up my furniture etc. I called the main customer service number and was rudely thrown on hold twice and then hung up on and when I called back Customer Service was closed. Finally I get in touch with xxxxx the next business day that advised that I would receive a refund after my sofa was picked up. She also advised that I would receive the full refund for the initial sofa and love seat and the additional amount that I paid for the sectional total 2799.95 and that the initial amount would not have to be sent back to xxxxx the finance company since I had already paid that amount in full. This was a total different story from what I received from xxxxx at the xxxxx location. She advised that the money would be sent to xxxx and then xxxxx would have to issue me the refund. Now xxxxx in customer is advising she does not recall telling me this, and that all the money will be sent to xxxxx and they will have to refund me my money. When 1692.50 was paid cash with a debit card and not with the finance company. Then after numerous calls I am advised by xxxxx that she will refund my card the 1692.50 and that was to be done 7/14/14 which has yet to show in my account. She also advised that she would call me each day and I had to call her at 5:00pm just to try and see when the other balance is being mailed to xxxxx. She still as of now 5:57 7/15 has no answer and my furniture was picked up on Wednesday 7/9/14. I have asked numerous times to talk to a manager with the customer service department and the local xxxxx Store and I am either told they will call me back or they are in a meeting etc. I have yet to hear from a manager. I am once again inconvenienced by Ashley Furniture and I have no furniture for me and my family to sit on and cannot go order new furniture without the money I am owed. ALL I WANT IS MY MONEY THAT IS OWED TO ME and I want it all at one time not half now and half in 45 days!

Desired Settlement
I am wanting the $2799.95 that I am due all at once so that I can go order furniture to have something for me and my family to sit on. Because of Ashley Furniture I have a huge empty room and NO MONEY to go purchase new furniture. All Ashley furniture has to do is have their accounting department verify that I paid off and closed my finance account that I originally opened with them. I do not understand why this cannot be done and that my money is refunded to me in a timely manner.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

We do apologize for any frustration Ms. xxxxx has experienced. Her refund has been completed. A partial refund was placed on Ms. xxxxx credit card on 7/14/14. The other part of the refund was submitted to the finance company on 7/16. Unfortunately, the finance company relayed to us that they did not receive that transmission. The refund was re-submitted 7/29/14 and will take 48 hours to post.
Again, we apologize for the delay in rectifying this matter.

Sincerely,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because I am told a different story daily when I call the Customer Service department or the main store in xxxxx, NC where I purchased the furniture. I was told on 7/18 that my check would be mailed to me directly from Ashley Furniture and not xxxxx and that it was processed on 7/16. Then I am told on 7/21 that no it will have to go to xxxxx first and that xxxxx will have to issue the check. Then I was told 7/29 that the credit was issued on 7/14. TRUST ME I call xxxxx DAILY looking for my refund!! Today 7/30 I requested a manager with xxxxx that advised that there has been no activity on my account since September 2013 when I paid in full and closed the account. I asked the manager directly what is the process for the refund. He advised that the store would issue the refund and that they would have it within 3 days and that if they had indeed issued the refund on 7/14 or 7/16 this would be showing in their system at this point. Therefore I believe NOTHING that this company or their representatives have to say. Until I hear from xxxxx directly that yes my refund has been sent to them I DO NOT ACCEPT ANY RESPONSE from Ashley Furniture!

Final Business Response
Good Evening,

Our records indicate all refunds have been submitted for Ms. XXXXX. We are sorry this situation has caused her such frustration.

Best Regards,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

Consumer Response
I have not received my refund still as of today 8/18/14. I was told by the finance company xxxxx that Ashley advised that they had to mail my $1310.46 refund to that they would be mailing the check the week of 8/4/14. I received a letter today from the finance company advising today that they have determined that there is no refund due at this time. After calling the finance company I am told that on 7/30/14 Ashley furniture issued a sale for $1310.46 to the account, then a refund was issued that same day, therefore the account was zeroed out again. Per the general manager with the xxxxx store location she could not help me, and advised that I would have to speak with the office manager xxxxx. xxxxx advises me that she will have to email accounting and that that is all she can do since the store cannot refund my money. I really am without words at this point. I have never had to deal with such absurdness in my life. I am really at the point that I will go file a Small Claims Lawsuit against the owner this week against the stores owner xxxxx. As I write this email I am on hold with the customer service department in hopes of receiving some sort of help!

Thank You.

xxxxx


Business Response
Good Evening,

We certainly apologize for the frustration Ms. xxxxx has endured. We have verified with xxxxx that they have received the credit submitted to them for Ms. xxxxx.

Sincerely,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today 8/27/14 I have yet to receive my refund. Per xxxxx it will take 10-15 days to receive. This was also stated back on 7/29/14 and then I received a letter from xxxxx last week advising I was not due a credit. All because Ashley Furniturea Accounting department issued a charge in the same amount as my refund that is due instead of a credit, then issued a credit for that same amount. Therefore making my account show a 0 balance. I get no apologies and nothing but attitudes from the people at the xxxxx location that I purchased the furniture from. Even the general manager when finally getting her on the phone after 6 weeks of asking! She advises she can't help me with refund issues she does not touch the money. You are the General manager and you cannot help a customer with any issue! I have never had to deal with such unproffesionalism! Until I have a check in my hand I believe nothing that Ashley Furniture and their representatives have to say. Being lied to on a constant basis is a huge reason that they cannot be believed!


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today 8/27/14 I have yet to receive my refund. Per xxxxx it will take 10-15 days to receive. This was also stated back on 7/29/14 and then I received a letter from xxxxx last week advising I was not due a credit. All because Ashley Furniturea Accounting department issued a charge in the same amount as my refund that is due instead of a credit, then issued a credit for that same amount. Therefore making my account show a 0 balance. I get no apologies and nothing but attitudes from the people at the xxxxx location that I purchased the furniture from. Even the general manager when finally getting her on the phone after 6 weeks of asking! She advises she can't help me with refund issues she does not touch the money. You are the General manager and you cannot help a customer with any issue! I have never had to deal with such unproffesionalism! Until I have a check in my hand I believe nothing that Ashley Furniture and their representatives have to say. Being lied to on a constant basis is a huge reason that they cannot be believed!


Business Response
Good Evening,

We certainly do apologize to Ms. xxxxx for the length of time it has taken to get this situation resolved. Our accounting department has completed the necessary steps, on our end, to ensure Ms. xxxxx gets her refund. They will continue to monitor the interaction until the refund reaches Ms. xxxxx.

Again, we sincerely apologize for our errors in this matter.

Ashley Furniture HomeStore

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product damaged upon delivery on May 24th, still not fixed. Terrible customer service.
This is the worst company I have ever had to deal with. The day I bought my furniture was the ONLY positive experience I've had with this business and I made the MISTAKE of paying for my furniture up front in cash. Where to begin...
My fiance and I shopped around to different furniture stores in the beginning of May for our new home. On May 18th, we decided to purchase a reclining sofa and chair while my parents bought a kitchen table with 8 chairs for us (housewarming present.) On May 24th, our furniture with delivered with defects. We were told the soonest we could have out someone to repair it was in June 4th. June 4th rolls around and the tech that came out looked at our damaged chairs (wood was splintering from where screws poked out of the legs) and said there is nothing he can do and would advise the store to order new ones. He said someone should be in contact with you in a couple of days... no one ever called.
A week later we call back in and customer support says they don't see any notes and a customer service manager will be in touch. No one ever called. Another weeks goes by and we are quite upset, the soonest someone can come out is July 3rd. At this point I request that I do not want any furniture and I want a refund. They refer me back to my purchase store in xxxxx, NC. I speak with someone who says only the store manager can approve the refunds and we are within a month of delivery so the return should not be an issue. Do you think the store manager returned my call? No. We didn't hear from anyone.
Called BACK into customer service and stated we were going out of town for the holiday weekend so it was pushed out our delivery of our "new" chairs on July 9th. Still no mention of repairing our sofa that doesn't recline. July 9th they come to deliver our new chairs that are worse condition than the previous chairs. We are then told a tech would be sent out. No a tech can not repair splintered wood. After speaking with a customer service rep, they inform us that 2 managers will inspect our next set of chairs. Oh, so you mean someone is doing there job for the first time? Still no mention of repairing our sofa when TODAY a technician calls my fiance to say we were supposed to have a service visit. Who knew? The technician even stated he thought it was funny that our information was not on his service ticket and he had to call in to his office to get it.

Desired Settlement
It's been 2 months, I want my furniture fixed NOW. Not in 2 weeks, or 2 months, NOW. I also want a refund in check format for my time I've had to take off work and 2 months of defective furniture. I do not want a store credit. If you can't fix my furniture by the end of this week and give me a reinbursment, come pick up your furniture and give me a full refund PLUS additional money for my time.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Ms. xxxxx has been contacted and we have apologized for the frustration and inconvenience we caused her. In order to address our fall downs, we ordered new dining chairs for Ms. xxxxx and delivered those on July 18, 2014. We also issued a store credit for Ms. xxxxx to use towards a power recliner.
We again apologize for the poor experience Ms. xxxxx had after her purchase was made. We hope our attempts to resolve the problems will show Ms. xxxxx how important she is to Ashley Furniture HomeStore.


Sincerely,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

02/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They were notified in December of an unauthorized charge on my acct but have nothing to assist me with the refund. The bank is telling me 90 days.
on 12/24/13, I called Ashley Furniture and told them of an unauthorized charge on my account. Several days later, I called them again and they looked in their records and advised me that it was an error and they had no paperwork showing I made another purchase (the day after my initial one). They said they werent sure how it happened. I was told they were gooing to credit my account. As of today, nothing has been done to refund me for their error. The manager xxxxx and his manager xxxxx are not properly addressing the situtation and keep telling me they're emailing accounting. This unauthorized charge of $740.04 has maxed out my credit line and appearing as thought my credit line is higher than it truly is. I was told by the bank I would have to wait 90 days for them to dispute the charge. I will haveto maintain paying the bill that isnt even my debt.

Desired Settlement
correct the unauthorized charge.

Business Response
Good Evening,

We certainly apologize for any frustration we caused Ms. xxxxx. Our store manager made the necessary corrections to ensure Ms. xxxxxx account is correct and accurate.

Thank you,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

01/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The customer service is terrible.
I bought a 2000 living room suit, about 2 months after purchasing the recliner couch that I have breaks. I call customer care and they come and fix my couch promptly. The couch breaks again they come out and fix it .. After this I am pretty angry because I'm still paying on a broke couch!! They have refused to fix my couch the 4th time because of "customer damage" explain that when Ashley furniture has fixed the same piece on the same couch 4 times! I just got off the phone with xxxxx and she tells me that they can help me with my still broken couch that I still pay for. She tells me my house is "unsafe " because I had my LEGAL gun out because we went hunting the day before. So you mean to tell me I have to continue paying for a broken couch.

Desired Settlement
I want them to credit my account for that couch and I will gladly bring it back or a new couch.

Business Response
This BBB complaint does not belong to our Ashley Homestore. The Guest is from xxxxx, NC and we are located in xxxxx, NC

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue was not the warranty. This happened after 2 months of haveing the furniture. This was a previous service call that took them 2 weeks to come out to my home to look at it,the tech then used a hammer to try and fix it and then told me it would take 2 more weeks to mAke decision. ONCE they did the 1st thing they told me was they could not fix it because of "customer damage" which is funny because they fixed that part 3 other times. 2nd reason they would not fix it was because it "out of warranty " the 3rd excuse was my home was unsafe because I had my gun out on my table. So on that note I have contacted the NRA and a lawyer.

Final Business Response
Good Evening,

We have been in contact with Mr.xxxxx, the name listed on the sale, and are delivering a new sofa as a one time courtesy, even though they are out of warranty.

Thank you,
xxxxx
Customer Care Manager

Page 1 of 3
10/16/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a Ottoman/xxxx and a 5yr protection on 4/19/2013.Asley Furnture will not honor warranty.The Ottoman has already began to collapse on the top side.Ashley Furniture sells defective furniture.My next step will be small claims court if not resolved here

Desired Settlement
Complete refund of Ottoman and refund of 5yr protection plan,since Asley Furniture will not honor warranty.Eight hundred dollars for both

Business Response
Good Evening,

The extra protection plan being referred to is administered by xxxxx. Because all damage claims are approved or denied by them, we are unaware of any issues. We will contact Mr. xxxxx and discuss the issues he is having with his ottoman and try to resolve them.

Best Regards,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ashley furniture refused to honor the 5yr protection plan.

Final Business Response
Good Evening,

Mr. xxxxx ottoman was exchanged in February of 2014 by Ashley Furniture HomeStore because it fell within the 1 year manufacturer's warranty. He has since surpassed that warranty period. However, he purchased the 5 year extra protection plan that is administered through a company named xxxxx, Inc. This plan covers any accidental damage caused by the owner. If Mr. xxxxx damaged his ottoman, he would need to contact xxxxx and file a claim and submit it for approval through them. They mailed information about the plan, what's covered and how to submit a claim to him after his purchase. He should contact them to discuss the issues he is having with his ottoman.
They will determine if the claim is covered.

Best Regards,
Ashley Furniture HomeStore

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ashley furniture was paid for 5 year extra protection plan and does not want to honor it.The fact that the ottoman has been replaced once before indicates the ottoman was defective from the manufacturer.

06/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a love seat that broke eight months later. I called the warranty company that explained to me that the frame was not covered under the warranty. I called the store and they explained to me that the item was a floor model and there is no warranty. The problem is not something I did, it is poor workmanship. Even if the item is a floor model, there should not be structural problem eight months later. They offered a 50% store credit towards a new piece of furniture. I have tried to talk to the manager and he hung up on me.
Product_Or_Service: 09/25/2013
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the love seat repaired.

Business Response
I contacted the customer and he didn't buy at my location. This is Ashley in Charlotte.
This already hit my complaints and should be taken off as complaints from customers.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The problem with the love seat is structural. It is not something that could be seen or made aware of at the time of purchase. This is poor workmanship and a very poor way to handle a complaint about an issue such as this. I purchased a warranty called "peace of mind warranty", this is not peace of mind service from a company of this size.

Final Business Response
Good Evening,

This purchase was made from our Outlet Store, 9 months ago, and was sold as is. We are sorry for the problem Mr. ********* is experiencing with his furniture, but our final offer is to give a 50% store credit towards a new purchase in our our Outlet store.

Best Regards.

Ashley Furniture HomeStore

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.