BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2007

Amish Oak & Cherry, Inc.

Phone: (828) 261-4776Fax: (828) 261-47792220 US Highway 70 SE Ste 325, HickoryNC 28602-5192

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2007

BBB has determined that Amish Oak & Cherry, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Amish Oak & Cherry, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Business has refused to pay for shipping return of defective product.
Purchased a custom made bench and book shelf on February 16, 2015. We paid to have them shipped to our home in ********. They were delivered in May of 2015. The bench looked ok when we got it but has since separated and won't close properly. Company is refusing to pay for return shipping and reshipping back to our home once repaired.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to pay for shipping

Business Response
The customer sent the initial request for someone to follow up regarding issues with a bench. Customer service responded to request pictures to figure out how to fix the problem. Once we viewed the pictures, we knew the builder would have to repair the piece. Customer service offered to arrange a pick up, or asked if the customer had access to drop the piece off, since they have a home within driving distance to our showroom, and also a home in ******** where the piece is. Customer refused to do either, and requested that Amish Oak and Cherry pay for shipping. Customer service went over policy and procedure, explaining that warranty does not cover transportation to and from the customers home. Warranty only covers transportation to and from the builder and our direct location. Customer still refused to comply with policy and procedure. Customer service did go over the signed sales contract, which is attached, notating that "If you do find mistakes or damages once the delivery company has left, it is your sole responsibility to pay shipping charges if you decide to have the problem corrected." Customer service has tried to work with the customer, and explained to them that our warranty has never covered transportation, and they have continuously refused to work with this policy and procedure. Please let me know if the document came thru.
Thank you,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I asked for a copy of the warranty disclaimers on January 27, 2016. However, none was provided until I filed the complaint with BB. I will bring the bench in.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/19/2007Business started: 01/11/2001
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2001, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eddie Bumgarner (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Misty Bumgarner (Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Amish Oak & Cherry, Inc.

2220 US Highway 70 SE Ste 325

Hickory, NC 28602-5192

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2220 US Highway 70 SE Ste 325 

    Hickory, NC 28602-5192Fax: (828) 261-4779

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Amish Oak & Cherry, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.