BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2009

Urban Renewal Development Co., LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 566-7222Fax: (866) 583-56664412 Monroe Rd Ste D, CharlotteNC 28205-7749

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2009

BBB has determined that Urban Renewal Development Co., LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Urban Renewal Development Co., LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Urban Renewal Development Co., LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased voucher on ****** and not able to contact company to have gutters cleaned
We purchased a gutter cleaning voucher on ********** for $59 and when we called the phone number listed of XXX-XXX-XXXX it is answered by recording; we leave a voice message but have had no return calls and the other number XXX-XXX-XXXX has been disconnected.

Desired Settlement
To have the work performed or refund of the $59

Business Response
The offer was withdrawn from ****** in late May due to extreme circumstances with the individual who conducted the program. We received no remuneration from this specific transaction. ****** holds the money until the job is completed and I think will refund the full amount of the coupon since the work was not completed. If ********* contacts ****** he should be able to receive a full refund to the best of my knowledge.

04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was scheduled to clean the gutters on 2/2/15. Due to weather the technician finally came out on 2/3/15 and failed to complete the job.
I originally purchased a "******" local coupon on-line for $59 to clean up to 300LF of gutters. It did state that additional surcharges applied for homes taller than 2 stories. I called ************ as I was instructed to do so on the coupon to schedule the service. I received a text message from ************ on 1/31/15 stating the "due to roofline regs and OSHA a surcharge of $49" was to be paid in addition to the payment already made on-line through ******. I did not question this as my two story home does sit on a very tall crawl space which could be construed as a home taller than 2 stories. In addition, I was told to make the check out to ***************, which I replied that I would not make out the check to anyone other than the company (Urban Renewal Development Company). The service was originally scheduled for 2/2/15 which was rained out. The job was then rescheduled for 2/4/15. The technician came out to clean the gutters, collected the check, made out to Urban Renewal Development Company, and proceeded to clean the gutters. He was unable to finish the job because he did not bring a ladder tall enough to perform the job which seemed a little concerning as I was paying a surcharge for what I thought was the taller roofline that they already knew about. It was then rescheduled for completion on 2/5/15 in which no one showed up. Since 2/5/15, I have contacted the company at the ************ number on several occasions trying to reschedule. I was consistently met with excuse after excuse, to include the technician was in an accident, weather, rain, too cold, insurance won't allow us to work in certain weather etc. In my last attempt on 3/9/15, I stated what my future recourse would be and was told that another technician would be coming from *************** to possibly complete the job. I expressed that the job needed to be completed on 3/9/15 because the weather was forecasting rain for the next 4-5 days. I told the company representative to contact me when the technician arrived to let me know. I received no communication until approximately 6pm stating that it was on the schedule for tomorrow. Upon further investigation it appears that Urban Renewal Development Company may be a third party lead generation company to get business for other contractors. The website link on the coupon takes you to the following address (http://www.ourwebsite.biz/urdc/). Within this link you can click on another link that brings you to the "full featured website" at the following link (http://urbanrenewaldevelopment.webstarts.com/). The website does not give any viable contact information other than the following phone number ************. It has been approximately 5 weeks since the first schedule date and I feel I have no other recourse other than to complain through the proper channels (ie BBB, ******, NC Secretary of State). I do also want to mention that the address on file with the BBB (*******************************************) is different than the address that is on file with the Secretary of State (*****************************************************************). Additionally, the registered agent, **************, for this corporation has two additional addresses tied to another company (**************************). Those addresses are ************************************************** and ***********************************.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the $59.00 paid through ****** and the additional $49.00 paid by personal check (#***).

Business Response
From: *** ********* (mailto:******@gmail.com)
Sent: Thursday, March 26, 2015 12:53 PM
To: **** ** *******
Cc: ****** *****
Subject: BBB Complaint Case# ****** (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-X-XXX)

Complaint Case #: XXXXXX
Consumer: ***** *********
Dear Ms. ********

We received the complaint from the Better Business Bureau on March 10. At that time. we had already contacted *** ********* on March 9 to resolve his complaint and had scheduled a re-cleaning on his gutters for March 10.

Upon re-cleaning of his gutters I contacted client on March 11 and he indicated that he was still not satisfied. In the course of conversation with the client I suggested that he should be at the home when we try to correct the obvious misconception of what a clean gutter is in his mind.

I have scheduled a third cleaning of his gutters on April 3 at 2 PM at his request. I, personally, with three staff members will be going to inspect the cleaning process ourselves.

I will keep you advised.

Sincerely,
****** * *****
Urban Renewal Development Company


Industry Comparison| Chart

Energy Conservation Products & Services, Energy Management and Conservation Consultants, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/16/2004Business started: 05/16/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Claude H. Stone (Managing Principal)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Energy Conservation Products & Services, Energy Management and Conservation Consultants, Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Green Team Plus

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Urban Renewal Development Co., LLC

4412 Monroe Rd Ste D

Charlotte, NC 28205-7749

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4412 Monroe Rd Ste D 

    Charlotte, NC 28205-7749(704) 566-7222
    Fax: (866) 583-5666

  • PO Box 221011 

    Charlotte, NC 28222-1011

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Urban Renewal Development Co., LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Energy Conservation Products & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.