BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2012

Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 499-9898Fax: (803) 802-0049View Additional Phone Numbers231 Main St, Fort MillSC 29715-1740

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2012

BBB has determined that Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
charged labour and service charge above advertised special of "Whole House Surge Protectors installed $495.00",refunded service charge after complaint
1.charged labour and service charge above advertised special of "Whole House Surge Protectors installed $495.00",refunded service charge after complaint (actual surge protector costs 69USD retail)
2.customer states breakers tripping in kids' rooms, electrician rewires light fixtures and states customer had installed them improperly,after repair breakers are still tripping,customer informs F&S that about this and requests courtesy check, F&S initially agrees to this and schedules appointment, later retracts the offer using insulting language.F&S would only come back out to fix the issue at an additional charge which customer does not agree to.
3.General remark: Field tech and office assistant behave in a professional manner, office based manager displays highly unfriendly attitude.

Desired Settlement
Electrician did not fix the problem that they were paid approx 2 hrs of labour (within 3hrs of labour they also de-installed a ceiling fan) and service charge. On the same visit, they also sold my wife on and installed the 495 surge protector that was not initially requested or ordered by us.

Business Response
We gave the customer a $90.00 refund because the service call was accidently charged. The surge protector that was purchased by the customer is advertised on our web site. We simply told the customer the advantage of having a whole house surge protector and they purchased one from us.

We initially went to the home to repair a circuit that was tripping in the master bedroom. Customer had performed wiring and it was improperly installed. We received a call three days later stating that the children's was tripping and explained that that was a separate problem and we would have to charge a fee. Customer also wired the children's room. Customer expects us to return to work in different location in home and one different circuit. This customer is trying to take advantage of us. He feel because he paid for one thing he should not have to pay for a different service.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Information given by F&S is incorrect: Not only did they perform work on master bedroom but also rewired both kids' rooms, including the one that I called about later to report that the circuit was still tripping despite the work performed and billed by the electrician, i.e. I am NOT taking advantage of them.
Also, I am not arguing the benefits of a surge protector, just the initial mistake in billing that has since been corrected as reported in my original message.

Kind Regards,
********* *************

Final Business Response
If the customer wants us to come out and troubleshoot what needs to be repaired. He will have to pay $85.00 service call and $85.00 per hour. We only charged him to this point in time for work we did. Additional work requires additional payment.

Final Consumer Response
From: ********* ************* (mailto:***********************@gmail.com)
Sent: Tuesday, February 09, 2016 5:48 PM
To: ***** **** <*****@charlotte.bbb.org>
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case# ****** (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-X-XXX)

******
thank you for your support again. Please consider this case resolved.

Best regards.
********* *************


02/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a invoice with Father and Son electrics for $ 2500 gave down payment company check for $1250 and they never done the job
In 08/21/2015 Father and Son Electrical from SC xxxxx gave me a estimate for $2500 to check and repair the electrical in xxxxx xxxxx,i make a down payment, check #xxxxx for $1250,and the balance when the job will be finished,in 08/26/2015 they call me to sign on electrical proposal for the job,and i did,then i receive in 08/26/2015 invoice #xxxxx for $600,the same day 08/25/2015 invoice #xxxxx for $600,in 09/08/2015 invoice #xxxxx for $790,the same day invoice #xxxxx for $1710,invoice #xxxxx for $1311,and the lost one 09/31/2015 for $975.50 and the total amount it is $7234,54 for a no job done they charge my credit card and every time i try to call them ,they told me to have patience the job would be done shortly,i have all the telephone records as proof and all the invoices from Father and Sons Electrical

Desired Settlement
I want my money back

Business Response
Please contact us by phone in order to discuss the complex issues of this matter. We did not do any work for xxxxx personally. We have a contract with his company and he has repeatedly tried to cheat us out of our money. He is very very dishonest. I have a very thick file concerning this matter. He canceled the credit card transactions. However xxxxx refunded the money to us because they were honest charges and legitimate charges. We performed work under a contract and have proof we billed honestly. We also have proof with the county that we submitted blue prints that we did design and drawing for his auto repair shop.

We will be glad to forward our extensive file in this matter. Must discuss with you. Thank You xxxxx

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All the work they claim perform its only in the invoices, none of the work was performed i had a estimate for $2500 and i end up paying over $7500,+$1250 down payment you see in his statement hi said send me the check, but stop payment.On my original estimate he route for any job you must have prior approval, he never call, hi just send e-mail with invoices.I never approve none of his invoices,i have original invoices,(his invoices are change),telephone record to prove,is not just words, For planning and drawing hi charge me 49,5 hours X $150 hour = .$7425.In one of the telephone conversation he said, i could hire an planning engineering to do the planning, but is going to charge me $500 an hour,but to save me money hi will charge me only $150,an hour,i ask how many hour will need to do the Planning and Drawing and he said doesn't take more than four hours .If BBB want all the invoice ,i will fax or send e-mail,At this time all the document are in my lawyer office,wee file a class auction suit against FATHER AND SON ELECTRICS,from xxxxx ,xxxxx,The same FATHER AND SON ELECTRIC from xxxxx xxxxx He got tow locations.,

Final Business Response
At this time, based on the fact that Mr. xxxxx has stated he is planning a law suite. I will refund the $1250.00 for work not performed. I also have proof and witnesses that will testify in court in order to resolve this matter. His statements are totally false. This back and forth dialog is not productive. If the BBB has means to help litigate this matter. I am totally opened to present my company case in this misunderstanding. I would appreciate anything that would resolve this matter fairly for my company and all concerned. Please contact me as to how we can proceed. Thank You. ************, President, Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc. Company Headquarters, *************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Contractor - Electrical

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/30/2012Business started: 01/01/1982Business started locally: 01/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Electrical Contractors Examiners Licensing Board, NC
PO Box 18727
Raleigh, NC 27619-8727
(919) 733-9042

South Carolina Labor Licensing & Regulation
110 Centerview Dr
Columbia, SC 29210-8432
(803) 896-4696
http://www.llr.state.sc.us

BBB records show a license number of 29487-L for this company, issued by Electrical Contractors Examiners Licensing Board, NC.

BBB records show a license number of 112378 for this company, issued by South Carolina Labor Licensing & Regulation. Their web address is http://www.llr.state.sc.us.

BBB records show a license number of 2524 for this company, issued by South Carolina Labor Licensing & Regulation. Their web address is http://www.llr.state.sc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2012, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Talerico (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Electricians, Contractor - Electrical


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc. has received 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 5 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc.

231 Main St

Fort Mill, SC 29715-1740

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3440 Torigdon Way 

    Charlotte, NC 28277

  • 1086 Rolling Park Ln 

    Fort Mill, SC 29715-7086

  • 231 Main St 

    Fort Mill, SC 29715-1740(803) 802-0057
    Fax: (803) 802-0049

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Father and Son Electric Service Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (803) 802-0057
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Electricians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.