BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2010

Blu Cigs

Phone: (888) 207-4588Fax: (704) 523-82359101 Southern Pine Blvd Ste 250, Charlotte NC 28273-5519

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2010

BBB has determined that Blu Cigs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Blu Cigs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Blu Cigs' rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 157 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

155 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 42 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues15
Problems with Product / Service123
Total Closed Complaints 155

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on Blu Cigs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (155)BBB Closure Definitions
08/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Selected blu's next day shipping option for $56.00, only to find that I won't receive the package until next week.
I've been a loyal customer of blu cigs for about a long as blu has been around, but at the moment, I am extremely disappointed in blu cigs. I placed an order yesterday (around 1pm) and selected next day shipping, only to find that the order didn't ship yesterday, and therefore I won't receive it until next week...after paying $56 for shipping! I chatted with customer service and was told that I'm basically out of luck and that the order cannot be canceled, even though it hasn't shipped yet. I also contacted blu cigs support via phone and talked to a woman who told me she would escalate my complaint to the "shipping specialist." She added, "I don't know whether she (the shipping specialist) will refund the shipping cost, or try to change the shipping method to something that delivers on Saturday, but we WILL do something." To my dismay, when I opened my email this morning, I found that my case had been closed with a note stating that nothing could be done and that I could "choose to refuse the package" when ups delivers it. This made me angry, as i do not even have the option of refusing the package, since I live in an apartment where the staff signs for the packages. My apologies, but $56.00 is an obscene amount of money to pay to receive the package by next week. I am frustrated, angry, and very said that I am being treated this way, after being loyal to the company for so long. At this point, If nothing is done on the part of Blu to remedy the situation, I will certainly never purchase a product from the company again and will suggest that my friends and colleagues follow suit.

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any issues the customer had with her shipment. We were able to successfully reach out to her and work out a resolution. We will be sending her product as compensation.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my fianc and I bought ecigs from three different places: two at the minute mart located in ***********, four at the ******'s in ******* and four more at the dollar general in *********** all within four days (Sunday, July 27th 2014-Wednesday July 30th 2014. The reason we had to buy so many Blucigs was due to the products malfunctioning/not working at all or staying lit after the first puff that resulted in the ecig to become to hot to even hold and would not work. One of these Ecigs is anywhere from $9.00 to $11.00. I quit smoking with this product so I know that they do work and I have not had any problems such as the ones I am having right now. It seems to us that within the past two months, one out of 2/3 of these single ecigs do not work at all. We cannot return this product because the store/s say they are not liable for the product not working and therefore there is nothing they can do..including refunding us our money.
Product_Or_Service: blu electronic cig

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any issues the customer has encountered with the product and will definitely work with them to get it replaced since all of our product carries a 1 Year Warranty. It sounds like they have 10 disposables that are faulty. We can send the customer a prepaid label and envelope to get the faulty product back and then send out replacements. We need to get the product returned and submitted for evaluation since they claim it's getting too hot to hold. We need the customer to confirm the amount and flavors of the product they have also so we'll know exactly what to replace.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I ordered 4 of the electronic bluecigs. Only 3 worked. The company did not replace the one that was defective. I paid for 4 - I only got 3 that worked
My complaint revolves around the fact that I of the 4 electronic cig I ordered - only 3 worked. I emailed the company explaining the problem and they said someone would contact me to resolve issue. The only email I received asked if my problem was resolved - I replied no and that no one had contacted me. So far, I have not heard from the company again.

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any issues you've had with our product and we'll be glad to replace any faulty product you have. The disposables you ordered originally are alternate formulations that we offer, so we only have those available in 4 packs. I can send you a couple of our Classic Tobacco Disposables from our main store to replace the faulty one you had. Just let me know if this is how you want to proceed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Bait & switch advertisement

Complaint: Selling 24mg nicotine disposable E-cigs with a coupon for a kit that only has a max of 16mg nicotine.
Well after purchasing one of the famous disposable Blu Cigs @ 24mg nicotine level, I received a coupon for to buy a rechargable kit, which I did buy because I was in fact enjoying the disposable. Later to find out they don't offer anything above 16mg nicotine except for Disposables. They have you sample one of their disposables which then leads to you wanted a rechargeable one but to only find out they don't offer what they already sell as a disposable. I see this as a bait and switch method with the company. They also list poor information on their site for their cartridges, such as "None, Low, Medium, High" instead of actually following the mg dose.

Initial Business Response
Will attempt to contact this customer to provide a resolution.

Dear *******, There are a lot of customers that prefer to smoke the disposables on a long term basis. Moving from a disposable to a rechargeable kit is a choice and based on customer's personal preference.
If you refer to our website *************************************************
and look under blu smoke juice, you will find the following:
Comes in a range of nicotine strengths: Cartomizers (High 13-16mg, Medium 9-12mg, Low 6-8mg, Non-nicotine 0mg); Disposables (Classic Tobacco 20-24mg, Magnificent Menthol 17-24mg). Nicotine amounts are approximate. This information clearly provides the level of nicotine for our cartridges so that our customers are able to make an informed decision along with the ability to call, chat or email one of our Customer service Representatives for that information.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/21/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned two Blu cigs' 100 premium batteries respectively on 3/1/14 and 3/7/14 for replacement which are under one year warranty. I only received the replacement for the one I returned on 3/1/14 (the first return) According to the US Post Office tracking code, my second return reached the Blu facility on 3/11/14. Since then, almost one month has passed. After almost a dozen of email exchanges and phone calls The customer service rep either asked me to wait or now totally ignoring my three recent emails. The fact is I still have not received the replacement for my second return. I was forced to write a review to be posted on the company's Reviews site but was blocked by Blu. It looks like they only allow favorable reviews to be posted which is unfair to the consumers.
Product_Or_Service: 100 premium battery on 5/20/13
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
We are sending the customer a new premium 100 battery. The customer is not blocked from our website but blu does reserve the right to post or not to post any reviews or comments to our website.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Blu sent me an email on 4/10/14 that they would send me an email when they process the order. Today is 4/14, I still have not received their email to confirm the shipment.

On the reviews issue, I still have not seen my review on their website. I do not know how the 5-star reviews can be posted and mine not. Reviews with pros and cons is more fair and valuable to the general public.

I actually made a very friendly suggestion to Blu that they should recall their poor quality batteries in order to protect reputation many weeks ago. The cost for a consumer to return one half a size of cigarette battery is $6, half of the price of buying a new one from Blu. They never responded.

Final Business Response
The battery shipment was mailed out yesterday via UPS Mail Innovations and will be delivered by USPS. The tracking number for that shipment is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.

Regarding the website reviews, blu does reserve the right to post or not to post any reviews or comments to our website. If a comment was not posted it does not mean the person has been blocked, it just means we did not approve the posting.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 25
04/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: I purchased a Blu Cigs starter kit, but less than two months later the charging pack quit working. Contacted Blu for repair/replacement, no response.
Purchased starter kit (model # ******) in mid Feb (retail/*****). Less than two months later (3/31), the charging pack quit working. It is worth noting that two of my friends also purchased the same model starter kits, at about the same time, and both of their charging packs have quit working as well. One friend bought a replacement, and it quit working too. That's four charging packs that didn't last more than two months.

Initial Business Response
Dear *******,
As part of our one year warranty we will replace any non working part of your starter kit. Our records indicate that you contacted us on 3/31 and spoke with one of our Senior specialist that attempted troubleshooting tips and advised you of the RMA process. Your RMA was submitted on 3/31/14 and you contacted us on 4/1/14 and asked about the timing of the RMA process. Although processing can take up to two weeks our records indicate that your RMA was approved on 4/3/14 and processed for shipment on 4/8/14. We do offer other alternate ways of charging the batteries like our usb charger which is available on our website www.blucigs.com.

Thank you,
blu cigs Customer Service

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear blu cigs Customer Service,
Most of what you provided in your response is accurate, but incomplete. First of all, I checked the status of the RMA request every day and it was not labeled "approved" until 4/8/14 (ironically the same day that I submitted this BBB complaint). I can not prove this, as I'm sure you suspected, and so you can say it was approved whenever you like.
Secondly, if my RMA request was indeed approved on 4/3, as you say, then there is no excuse for not responding to my messages within the RMA request (sent on 4/1, 4/2, and 4/3). Your complaint response makes no mention of these messages: sent on 4/1 "Thank you...", 4/2 "...I would appreciate a call/email...", and 4/3 "...possible solution...". If you had read my messages, then we could have discussed sending a USB charger instead of another (faulty)charging pack. If you had simply responded to my messages, then I might have continued to be a customer since I liked the flavor and amount of vapor of Blu e-cigs.
Lastly, telling me about the USB charger after the fact does me little good since I will not be spending any more money on Blu products. I switched to V2 after a week of waiting on a response from you. V2 not only offers a lifetime warranty, but shows that they appreciate their customers by responding to messages (the same day). The only thing left for me to do is retract all of the positive statements I made to my peers about your products.

Good luck,
*******



Final Business Response
There seems to be some miscommunication; We have satisfied the terms of our one year warranty by replacing the item under the RMA process which stated on our website takes an approximate 1-2 weeks processing time. Any comments left on the RMA form would be answered by confirmation of shipment email.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear mediator,
Thank you for your diligence, and patience, during this complaint process. I can not accept the last communication from LOEC, Inc. because it is a potentially libelous claim that I have not been truthful in the account of my experience with their company. The offensive misrepresentation of events begins with the 3rd sentence of the company's response.
The response states, "The customer also stated on his last message that he left messages with blu and we did not respond to those emails." I never claimed to have sent any email(s) to LOEC Inc., as a review of my complaint will show. In fact, I clearly state in the complaint that my messages were "...in the RMA". Please see the 2nd sentence of my original complaint under "Desired Resolution", and the 4th sentence of my 4/11/2014 response, as citation for my previous quote.
The rest of the company's response continues to misrepresent the circumstances. The 4th sentence reads, "...he just left comments on his RMA form that WOULD NOT BE seen by customer service they WOULD ONLY BE comments to the RMA form itself; that HAD BEEN approved". Please note the use of tense in that sentence. The use of the future tense, "...would not be...would only be...", and then the change to past tense, "...had been approved", implies that my messages were added after the Replacement Merchandise Authorization (RMA) form was approved and that the company could not be expected to respond. A review of my 4/11 response (about halfway down) will show the dates of my three messages, and all three were before the alleged approval date.
I feel it is not unreasonable (for a customer completing a request form for product replacement) to assume that messages (left in a space provided specifically for messages/interactions) would not only be seen (by the employee processing the form), but also read and addressed appropriately (such as forwarding to customer service, if necessary). Might I suggest replacing the "interactions" section of the RMA with a statement informing customers of the additional step(s) they will need to take to voice questions and/or concerns; along with directions to guide them to the appropriate department(s)?
It wounds me that LOEC, Inc (Blu electronic cigarettes) would attack my character and reputation in an attempt to avoid accountability, rather than simply apologize for not responding to my messages. Since my original desired resolution is no longer an option, I would like to propose a new means of resolving this issue. I would like the company's next, and hopefully final, response to:
1) Admit that I have been honest in my account of our interactions, and retract their statement claiming otherwise.
-and-
2) Apologize for not responding to my messages.

Thank you again for your assistance.




Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

03/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: didn't replace my broken battery even though it is supposed to be covered under their "1 year warranty"
problem date: 3/7/14
purchase date: 2/27/14
Payment amount: $37.53
Payment method: Credit Card
location Purchased: ********

Initial Business Response
Our records indicate the customer has contacted us previously regarding his faulty battery, but using different names. We will absolutely replace any defective item under our 1 Year Warranty - ************************************************

Our RMA process has recently changed, so now all the customer has to do is click the RMA link and go through the RMA process online to have replacements sent. To be able to go through our online RMA process, an account is required. When an account is created, the person's age is verified.

So please go through the online RMA process (************************************************) to have the faulty battery and any other faulty product replaced.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am 18. It's not my fault that your system doesn't work. I should be entitled to the warranty especially since the product was broken when I received it.

Final Business Response
Blu has a policy that customers must age verify prior to us sending a product out. This is the only action the customer needs to do. The customer needs to visit our website and fill out the form. Sending a copy of a receipt does not age verify a customer. A customer must be able to prove that they are 18 or over in order for us to send out product and we do this by creating an account.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

03/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: 100 out of 300 cartridges sold are DOA (Empty Inside). These defective cartmoizers are contain ZERO eliquid and are unbearable from puff 2.
I've been with blu for a few years already and know a defective carto when I get it.
Ever since blu cigs switched a different manufacturer Premium100 cartridges don't last, varying amounts of smoke juice anywhere from empty to half filled and at least 2 out 5 cartridges in a pack of DOA (With no smoke juice whatsoever)

I've collected over 100 Premium100 cartomizers that were Dead On Arrive. Every pack was from LOT #***.

These defective cartridges are unbearable to take another drag of after the first puff, which I will best describe as "very heated vapor that resembles the taste of smoking paper" and after the first drag it the taste is worse then burnt plastic and burns my throat. By my claiming of your selling defective cartomizers, I'm saying at least 2 out of 5 cartomizers ARE and WILL be unbearable to attempt use. The absorbent material in these duds CONTAINS ZERO ELIQUID. IT'S DRY. Like theres been one drop of eliquid into the center of the cartomizer and none on the side. (I have even took a few apart to have a look).

I've been using blu cigs for 2+ years and e-cigarettes for 4 years. I'm not some new customer that doesn't know how an e-cig works. blu has NO QUALITY CONTROL CHECK and because the company's been bought by big tobacco and grown so big, you don't need to worry about keeping customers because new ones will always be there.. Right?

Blu Cigs' "All Cartrige Sales Are Final" policy doesn't give you the right to advertise and market Premium100 cartomizers as "lasting 350 puffs" and then selling me electronic cigarette cartmoizers that have a nice box but contain ZERO smoke juice needed to produce vapor from a cartmoizer. I am NOT putting all my blame towards bluCigs. This issue is with your manufacturer but some blame needs to be placed on bluCigs for failing quality control. I know blu cigs failed with QC because the cartomizers you sold me proof that. Any testing lab would be come to the conclusion that the absorbent hasn't contained any liquid and hasn't been heated by the atomizer.

I love the smoothness and the taste of the flavors blu provides that I haven't been able to find elsewhere, however, the rate of defective cartomizers outweighs that amazing flavor.

I've noticed this issue start since you guys switched over to a new manufacturer (the one that uses the silver-colored material.) and I'm not the only one who thinks so. Reviews from your Product Page by other uses:
"Black cherry crush is the best of all flavors P.s. gold tip refills are better the the silver " by ****.
"I notice batteries and cartridges use to be made with brass like material, now looks like aluminum. Have we changed manufacture? Also cartridges don't last as long as they use to. Although I do love the blu cig, wish the price was lower and you would warranty any bad cartridges." - by ******.

BLUCIGS.COM live support agents have little knowledge about the product their selling and very little they can help a customer with.
If you tell them your battery isn't working: they'll tell you where to get the form to send it in.
If you tell them the cartridges you sold are defective: they tell you to roll it in your hands and you can't do anything with the dead on arrival cartridges because all sales are final. (even though you advertised it at 320+ Puffs). You'll agree with them: They'll accuse of trying to get free products with an attitude.


ORDERS: #*********************************************************************************************************************. I kept ordering hoping that you'd get a set from a different LOT but all from #***.

Initial Business Response
***,

I am going to work with ** and pull this lot and test. May I have the complete lot number?


Thank you,

****

Final Consumer Response
I tried resolving the matter by sending back the defective cartridges, twice. I shipped them back in the beginning of JANUARY and they were returned to me. I paid for postage again and resent them. 2nd shipment was also returned. They sent an email to me advising me that they are returning the cartridges I sent them because all sales are final.

Final Business Response
Mr. *******.

Based on the information you have provided us about the Premium100 cartridges, our Quality Control department was not able to find any issues with the cartridges that would cause the issues you described.
We do see that all of these cartridges in question were ordered from 11/29 to 12/29 and were sent to several different people and addresses, and were ordered in very quick succession. Some orders were same day and some just a few days apart. In the initial case it is referenced that the customer "kept ordering hoping that you'd get a set from a different LOT but all from #***."
To be able to use 260 cartridges (total number from all order numbers previously provided) in the short amount of time claimed would be difficult to do. If there was an issue with the cartridges when received our customer support team should have been contacted. To not contact our support team for a month after the claimed issue started did raise red flags.

Based on our records, there were no calls or chats from this customer, using the 3 phone numbers and 4 email address on file

To have contacted blu after all the cartridges were "used" or "checked" by yourself does not allow us much room for proper assistance. Our customer service department is available to help requests within reason.
Refunding $280 worth of cartridges is beyond our limits as our ** department was not able to find issues with the lot number of cartridge provided.
We would like to offer 5 replacement boxes of cartridges but we will not be able to refund 20 boxes of cartridges.

blu Customer Service

Consumer Response
This case has not been resolved yet miraculously has been closed even without the business responding.
This case did not get the attention it deserves and your ruling was biased. 90% OF THE BBB COMPLAINTS FILED AGAINST THIS BUSINESS ARE FOR DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS!

THIS BUSINESS TOOK MY MONEY, SENT ME DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS, I SENT THE DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS BACK AND THEY REFUSED TO ACCEPT THEM OR REPLACE, REFUSED TO REFUND. THEY OFFERED NO FAIR SETTLEMENT.

I'm no lawyer but do believe your way of handling this case violates anti trust laws.


Consumer Response
I tried resolving the matter by sending back the defective cartridges, twice. I shipped them back in the beginning of JANUARY and they were returned to me. I paid for postage again and resent them. 2nd shipment was also returned. They sent an email to me advising me that they are returning the cartridges I sent them because all sales are final.


Business Response
From: xxxxx
Sent: Friday, March 14, 2014 4:33 PM
To: xxxxx
Subject: RE: Reopened Complaint Case #xxxxx

xxxxx,

Below you can see our customer service verbiage that was on the site from 2010 until March 7, 2014. We recently updated our RMA process and so the wording has changed slightly. But at the time the customer made the purchase, it was clear on the site that all cartridge sales are final. (Please disregard the red box in the middle of the image below, that highlights the link to the RMA form.) The last sentence, in bold, states that "All cartridge and disposable sales are final." Additionally, on the RMA (replacement merchandise authorization) form the customer would have had to fill out and send back with the product, it states again, "ALL cartridge and disposable sales are final; no refunds or exchanges unless otherwise noted." I have attached this document as well. Although the new wording on the website (updated 3/7/14) does not specify that cartridges are not eligible for exchange, all exchanges requests through the new system are still reviewed and validated through customer service. (Our Terms and Conditions - Return Policy)
Throughout this process with this customer we, in the customer service department, never received the cartridges back. The customer sent them to the warehouse for exchange. The warehouse knows that all cartridge sales are final, and so they shipped them back to him. Only after he sent them a second time, and was denied a second time, did he contact our CS department.

However; If the customer would be willing to send us all (100) cartridges in question. I will personally give them to our engineers to be examined and tested. If our team goes through the cartridges and finds any defects we will be happy to replace the defective cartridges. In a previous communication from the customer, he provided the lot number for the cartridges and our engineers were not able to find any issues with cartridges from the same lot number.


Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

12/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Manager agreed to send me replacement merchandise upon receipt of faulty product. Upon receipt of the merchandise Manager denied agreement.
On 11/04/2013 I called Blu E-Cigs abut their Premium charger pack. I ordered a pack on 09/29/2011 with a one year warranty. The pack ceased working within the year and I sent it back and received a new one. The second pack also stopped working within a year. I expressed my concern to manager **** ******* and he assured me his packs lasted longer then one year and offered me a discount. I stated I was only interested in a discount if I could purchase a new Premium Charger Pack for fifteen dollars or less which is five dollars less then their competitors systems. **** said he was not able to give that much of a discount and offered several lesser amounts. I refused. Near the end of the forty six minutie conversation I stated "All I want is to send you a product that doesn't work and for you to send me a new one" to which he replied "we can do that" and I stated "really" he said "yes" he went on to say I should send the pack back with attention to **** ******* and be sure to obtain a tracking number because they could not do anything without the faulty product for quality assurance. I agreed. One 11/29/2013 I received an email stating they have received the faulty pack and my account was credited twenty dollars. I was confused and called **** back to ask about the replacement pack. **** stated that we had agreed on a twenty dollar credit. We had this conversation on 12/04/2013. I disputed this and he agreed to review the phone call. He called me back the same day and claimed he never agreed to send me a replacement. I stated I was dissatisfied and would no longer use their products. I called back Blu E-cigs 12/05/2013 to ask for a third party to review the original phone call to settle our dispute. **** ******* refused. He stated he would not move forward with this matter. I advised him I would file a complaint.
My original order number is *********

Initial Business Response
*****,

Our warranty is for one year. When you called blu on 11-13-13 and spoke with **** *******, not 11-30-13 as you had remembered, you were over 430 days past your warranty.

After a lengthy phone call and as a courtesy, I offered store credit towards the purchase of a new premium pack if you sent in the one you had. This was noted on Nov 13, 2013 5:37:08 PM on your account and the phone call recorded.

In closing I do apologize that we could not handle this as agreed upon on 11-13-13. We warranty our electronics for 366 days.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is not a resolution. It would be nice to know if the most recent response was from a third person that listened to the call, or **** *******. Again, per my original complaint, I stated "All I want is to send you a product that doesn't work and for you to send me a new one" to which **** ******* replied "we can do that" and I stated "really" he said "yes". It was communicated to me I would receive a new pack. I expect sufficient compensation as outlined in my original complaint.

Final Business Response
*****,

I am sorry but you were not told you would receive a replacement pack and you were not lied too. **** ******* agreed to add a credit of $20 to your account so you could purchase another pack as this one was way out of warranty.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I am being forced to pay shipping to return a defective product for an exchange.
this is not right because the product is defective.
I feel that they should provide me a paid by addressee shipping lable for returns. like jawbone dose.

its a defective product, worked for a month.
1 year warranty.

refused to help me with that issue.
didnt even offer to send me back a check for my shipping when provided witj a recept. just store credit.

what if I do not want store credit.

Initial Business Response
*****,

I am sorry for the issues you are having with the battery. I believe I can be of assistance and hope we can resolve this matter.

If possible please provide an online order number, or model number on the base of the pack should this be a retail purchase.

Sincerely,

**** *. *******
blu

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
101155215 is the order number.

I put that I am not satisfied only because I am not satisfied yet.
your responce was not clear enuff to show that my issue has been resolved.

its the cigarette battery, not the pack battery.

its the original, thick black pack, not 100 length and not slim.

Final Business Response
*****,

I am sorry about the issues with your battery but we will replace it if you send it in. There is no option to send a label or a check at this time. We can compensate store credit up to $5 for your shipping. Please follow the support tab on our website in order to receive a replacement battery, as outlined in our one year warranty.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

e-cigarettes, e-cigarette flavoring

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/17/2009Business started: 05/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Healy (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Wilson (Customer Relation Manager)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

e-cigarettes, e-cigarette flavoring

Alternate Business Names
LOEC, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blu Cigs

9101 Southern Pine Blvd Ste 250

Charlotte , NC 28273-5519

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9101 Southern Pine Blvd Ste 250 

    Charlotte, NC 28273-5519

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blu Cigs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for e-cigarettes

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.