BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/04/1995

Hendrix Business Systems, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 574-4800Fax: (704) 847-39412040 Independence Commerce Dr STE A, MatthewsNC 28105-4172



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/04/1995

BBB has determined that Hendrix Business Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hendrix Business Systems, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hendrix Business Systems, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Improper billing at end of contract term; poor customer service; deceptive practices
******* Business Systems picked up my copier on 7/21/14 to transport back to Canon Financial; a task for which I paid $200 to them. On 7/23/14, I was contacted by a woman (****?) who indicated that she worked for ******* and was preparing an invoice but had "heard" that I did not have the copier any longer. I confirmed that ******* had picked it up on 7/21. I informed her that I had sent notice in February 2014 that I would not be renewing my contract and since this was the last month, they (her office) had picked it up for transport. She told me that she did not have anything in the file and could I send her something in writing. I emailed her a letter while we were on the phone. She told me she would "look into it and get back" to me, but I never heard anything more from her.

On yesterday, August 18, I received an email from another person in the office (*****) who informs me that I have an overdue invoice. Not only had I never seen the invoice before (presumably this was the one that **** drafted) but there were several things wrong with the invoice:
First, it was for the wrong time period, as it covered the time period after they had already picked up my copier. **** and I had discussed that I would have a pro-rated bill, which makes sense. It does not make sense that I would be billed for a time period when they had already collected the copier.
Next, the invoice was for the wrong contract amountalthough my contract rate was $28 per month, this invoice was suddenly for $31 per month. I did not start a new contract; I was simply finishing up the old one. As such, it should have been for the same contract amount.
Finally, and this was a really big thing, I was charged for an "estimated" number of copies. I am allowed 1,000 copies per month. I rarely, if ever, exceed this amount. Well, the "estimated" number was beyond the allowed amount which created an additional fee. (The actual number of copies used was only 421; but because someone did not do their job and check before shipping, I was suddenly charged an excessive "estimated" number.)
I do not mind paying what I owe, but I do mind being gouged just because of someone's bad attitude. When I dealt with ****, she was quite rude and very short with me. Then, I later get notice of this phantom invoice that I had not recieved. And it has all this numbers and amounts which are not accurate. That is no way to run a business and it is not fair to try to nickel and dime small business just to make a few bucks. Sure, it is just a few dollars, but if you get enough people paying a few dollars extra, it all adds up!

Desired Settlement
I have requested that I receive an ACCURATE bill. I am tired of playing whatever games they are playing over there and want to be done with this. I thought this was over and it just continues to drag on and on.
When I first started working with this company 6 years ago, everything was goodthey did what they said they would do, they were efficient, they were professional. Now, it seems like that has deteriorated drasticallypeople do not call you back when they say they will, people do not follow up when they say they willthere just seems to be little integrity or accountability anymore. It is a shame because I used to recommend them to other small businesses. I will no longer do so based on these interactions.

Business Response
Ms ******* has been contacted and a complete resolve to her issues has reached to her satisfaction . Her account has been completely cleared and in good standing to her approval. As there was a problem , it has been completely addressed to her approval as of this date 8/20/14
We have made it clear that we stand ready to assist her in her business at anytime should she need our services and thanked her for the 6 years of being valued customer. Please contact her to confirm and contact me if there is anything further that I can do . At ******* Business Systems, Inc. we value our customers greatly and our A+ rating with BBB and what to always strive to increase our level of service and surpport to the Charlotte Business Community. Please contact me ***** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response

11/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Copiers & Copier Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/07/1995Business started: 01/01/1976
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1978, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Hendrix (President)Ms. Karen M. Hendrix (Secretary/Treasurer)
Number of Employees

46

Business Category

Copiers & Copier Supplies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hendrix Business Systems, Inc.

2040 Independence Commerce Dr STE A

Matthews, NC 28105-4172

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 100 N Tryon St STE 130 

    Charlotte, NC 28202-4024

  • 4275 Regency Drive 

    Greensboro, NC 27410

  • 2040 Independence Commerce Dr STE A 

    Matthews, NC 28105-4172(704) 574-4800
    Fax: (704) 847-3941

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hendrix Business Systems, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Copiers & Copier Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.