BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/07/2010

Value Remodelers & Handyman Services

Phone: (704) 944-1350Fax: (704) 944-13542311 Village Lake Dr, CharlotteNC 28212-0081

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/07/2010

BBB has determined that Value Remodelers & Handyman Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Value Remodelers & Handyman Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Value Remodelers & Handyman Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work was not completed on time, it needed to be repaired, expense was more than contract.
The initial down payment was made in early August, 2013. We had asked that the work be completed by the end of September so that we could complete landscaping by late October. The work was not completed until late October. Value Remodelers removed tile from our outdoor patio area, cleaned away the previous adhesive, and installed a stain over the existing concrete. By February, the stain cracked and broke apart on one portion of the concrete. Value remodelers was notified of the problem, however, it was not resolved until late June/early July 2014. We had to call several times to resolve the issue. I paid the invoice for the amount in our original contract. Value remodelers sent an additional invoice for $700.00. I wrote a note stating that I do not recall any agreement to pay the additional amount. I have since received another statement with a "past due" stamp.

Desired Settlement
I am paying the extra $700.00 so as to not incur any damage to my credit report. I am requesting a refund of the extra amount or at least a copy of a signed contract indicating my knowledge and agreement to this additional charge.

Business Response
********* signed a contract to reqrout a patio. Upon arriving at the job the mason found the patio to be in bad shape because the tile was an indoor tile and an indoor grout. We could not regrout the patio as coped out in the original contract. We had to come up with another plan to or scope of work to get the client what they wanted to accomplish - a nice patio. In doing so, we came up with a plan to remove the tile, remove the adhesive and acid wash the patio and then stain the patio. This work was much more than the original scope. A verbal agreement was made. This was work was completed for the additional $700. We could not do the work and guarantee the work per your original contract scope of work. At the time it was told to you by **** we could demo the tile and smooth the concrete and acid wash the area and apply a stain. You had agreed to this different scope of work. We would have never done the work had someone not agreed. It is not our intention to deceive our clients. While we hit unforeseen on your job and then had the issue with the stain peeling, we came back and made it right. Unfortunately it took MUCH longer than WE both would have liked. We had a very wet season and every day it was scheduled it rained. Concrete takes a while to dry even after it appears to be dry to the eye. If you don't let it dry correctly the stain will not take properly.

An email was sent to the customer today also explaining this in full details.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ithis will probably never be resolved . It has been a year since the original contract. All we remember is how difficult it was to get the job completed on time . There were many days when we wondered why no one was at our house to do the work. I remember discussing an extra charge for changing the job, however, we both do not remember it being $700 more. I guess what I have wanted all along was an acknowledgement that they failed to meet our expectations and some type of gesture to make things right. We went through a lot of trouble and did not end up with a nice patio. Within a couple of months the stain was crumbling and we had to show our house ( as a rental) and explain that it would have to be fixed. We even received complaints from our tenet because it was not fixed in a timely manner. I don't want a long, drawn out battle. I just want the public to be aware of xxxxx business practices.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-Remodeling, Windows, Doors, Handyman Services, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Kitchen Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2010Business started: 12/07/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Kent (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Kent (VP)Ms. Kathy Young (General Manager)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Contractors-Remodeling, Windows, Doors, Handyman Services, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Kitchen Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
Kent's Construction, LLC
Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Value Remodelers & Handyman Services has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Value Remodelers & Handyman Services

2311 Village Lake Dr

Charlotte, NC 28212-0081

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2311 Village Lake Dr 

    Charlotte, NC 28212-0081(704) 944-1350
    Fax: (704) 944-1354

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Value Remodelers & Handyman Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors-Remodeling

ROOFING CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.