BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2008

S & K Contractors, Inc

Fax: (803) 547-4282PO Box 303, Fort MillSC 29716-0303

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2008

BBB has determined that S & K Contractors, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised S & K Contractors, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on S & K Contractors, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The wood flooring that was replaced by S&K Contractor Is not like the original wood that was in my home.
******** who I trusted to be in my best interest; recommended their preferred vender S&K Contractor to repair my floor which technically was not damage by water. It was damage when ***** agency came into my home while I was sleep and ripped up part of my wood floor. I did not want my wood floor replaced, but after a small area of my floor was ripped up I requested just to replaced that small area, I was told that S&K could not match the wood that I originally had in my home. Once the floor was replaced I thought that it was ok, but problems started. My husband & I not only did we noticed that the wood was a lot thinner and dull
we also notice that the protected glossy finished that we had on the original wood floor was not replaced. I complaint about this issue. The contractor placed my family & I in a hotel over night to do the finished on the floors, obviously the finished was not the one that was on the original floor because the problem still exist. Never once have I receive a breakdown of all that was repaired and the cost of all the repairs until recently because I complained about not having any record of what was done and the cost. I requested for S&K to repair part of my wood floor that is damage and they refused. I contacted ******** services who provided the contractors, a representative from ******** spoke with S&K manager without sending someone other than S&K out to look at the flooring. I feel that my concern does not matter because I received a certified letter from ******** stating what the manager of S&K explained to them.

Desired Settlement
I have a desk that was build for my computer with a chair that goes with the desk; this is why I had the protected glossy finished because of the chair being moved a lot. I would like this area of my wood floor replaced. Thank you for your time and patience; I look forward to hearing from this agency soon.

Business Response
S&K Contractors, Inc.
P.O. Box 303
Fort Mill, SC 29716
803.547.3246 office
803.547.4282 fax
November 27, 2013

RE: ******* ****** (complaint)
**************** Ct
********, NC 28***

The following document is in response to complaint to the Better Business Bureau by homeowner ******* ******:

S&K Contractors completed flooring installation in January 2011. The replaced flooring is manufactured by Bruce Turlington (Oak Gunstock 3" x 3/8" engineered flooring), comes with a Duraluster factory finish (protective gloss), and is comparable in quality to flooring in home prior to repair. The flooring was matched as close as possible due to the unavailability of an exact match. S&K Contractors also applied an extra gloss coat to flooring per request from homeowner approximately 6 months after job completion. Homeowner should have an understanding that abnormal wear and tear is not covered under warranty, and a complaint was not submitted until nearly 3 years post repair. This would include but is not limited to scarring due to any rolling furniture such as office chairs or desks. Customer did not use any measures to protect floor from furniture resulting in acquired damages. S&K Contractors took all measures in providing customer with a respectable repair and no way feels responsible for damages to homeowner flooring. We take pride in providing quality service to all costumers and unfortunately, we can not be held responsible for neglect from homeowner.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I felt that I put my trust in S&K contractors to be loyal and stand behind their work; I know for a fact there is a big difference in the flooring because I still have the original floor in my bathroom & pantry. I did not have this problem with my original wood floor. I feel I should not be responsible for any damages in the area where the desk & chair is located. There is no difference in the location of the computer desk & chair with the original, and the floor stayed in very good condition because the finish that was on the original floor was much more glossy and thicker than the wood that was replaced by S&K.

Final Business Response
S&K Contractors, Inc.
P.O. Box 303
Fort Mill, SC 29716
803.547.3246 office
803.547.4282 fax
December 6, 2013

RE: ******* ****** (complaint)
*****************************, NC 28***

The following document is in response to complaint to the Better Business Bureau by homeowner ******* ******:
S&K Contractors apologizes for damages made to floor by roller chair that is moved around frequently. Bruce Turlington flooring (an Armstrong brand) is the industry's leading hardwood floor manufacturer. For additional information concerning the flooring that was placed homeowner can visit http://www.bruce.com/sustainability.html. S&K applied quality flooring in customer home, and it can be found noted in the warranty that abnormal wear and tear is not covered. In order to protect any hardwood, it is important to have a plastic mat or comparable material placed under ANY furniture that is moved frequently. Even though Bruce Turlington is leader in its industry, the suggestion is also made and can be found on their website. Therefore, it is not a fault of S&K Contractors that an effort to protect against this type of damage was not taken by homeowner. Again, we must stress that this particular brand of hardwood is ranked #1 in North America, and not only was the hardwood placed by S&K without fault, it has endured three years of wear and tear from furniture that has been placed directly on hardwood. With that being said, unfortunately S&K Contractors cannot honor homeowner request to reinstall flooring.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Contractors-Commercial/Retail, Building Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/08/2008Business started: 04/15/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Labor, Licensing & Regulation Board, SC
110 Centerview Dr
Columbia, SC29210-8432
(803) 896-4696
http://www.llr.state.sc.us

General Contractors Licensing Board, NC
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.com

BBB records show a license number of 95255 for this company, issued by Labor, Licensing & Regulation Board, SC. Their web address is http://www.llr.state.sc.us.

BBB records show a license number of 50540 for this company, issued by General Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclbgc.com.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1996, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Trull (Owner)Ms. Kaylee Howell (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Contractors - General, Contractors-Commercial/Retail, Building Contractors

Alternate Business Names
S & K Roofing
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*S & K Contractors, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.