BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

PDL Recovery Services

(980) 226-7708View Additional Phone Numbers8726 Avebury Dr Apt L, CharlotteNC 28213-3163http://pdlrecoveryservices.org/ ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

PDL Recovery Services is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered PDL Recovery Services' rating include:

  • 28 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 27 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues25
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 28

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning the Billing or Collection area. Specifically, complaints are alleging improper collection practices. On December 12, 2013, PDL Recovery Services was informed of this concern and was invited to discuss the pattern of complaints and determine ways in which the pattern might be alleviated. As of this date, there has been no response from the company.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on PDL Recovery Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (28)BBB Closure Definitions
09/27/2013Billing / Collection Issues
01/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ripped me off out of my account for 300.00 for a bill and it did not go towards the bill her name is ******* at PDL and no receipt
I was contacted by PDL group about a bill that was outstanding bill which I knew nothing about and looked at my credit it was already paid in full but this was after the fact that I just gave PDL group 300.00 they covered their self as the same company I owed and took my money by credit card her name was ***** or ******* and she took the money on 10/3/2014 out of my account order number ********************** and when I called for a receipt they hung up in my face because I started asking questions about my money I have been calling and calling but no receipt as of today I want my money back every cent

Desired Settlement
I just want my 300.00 to pay the proper business this is not right and Im a single mom I want to keep my credit straight and they screwed me out of my money Please help me

12/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company keep harassing me, calling my cell phone and job number threating me that they are going to file a lawsuit against me, that an officer is
this company keep harassing me, calling my cell phone and job number threating me that they are going to file a lawsuit against me, that an officer is going to knock on my house door, that they are going to contact my employer for them to fired me . Its really stressful, please make them stop.

Desired Settlement
for them to stop contacting me and harassing me.

06/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My bank account was being debited and the money was never submitted to creditor and now they are saying I still owe the money.
The amount was debited from my bank account monthly for 6 months. I need to know how to get the money applied to my account or receive the funds back so I may pay the creditor myself. My account was debited on the following dates:
6/28/13-$150.00
7/22/13-$105.29
8/19/13 - $105.29
9/16/13-$105.29
10/15/13-$105.29
11/12/13 - $105.29



Desired Settlement
I would like the funds to be returned to my bank account.

03/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collector called,misrepresented his self as a law enforcement officer who could file charges in ***** County. Did not state what company he was with.
On 3/4/2014 @ 13:28 hours I was called by a number belonging to PDL Recovery. Caller identified himself by name via voicemail but not who he was employed by. Caller stated on voicemail that I blatantly disregarded attempts of debt collection and that Fraud charges would be filed. Caller did not state he was a police officer but gave the impression that he was by stating repeatedly you committed an attempt to defraud a company. This is a civil matter regarding an overdraft from a bank and not subject to prosecution. Caller stated on voicemail that a warrant would be issued to my driver's license. I have not called this company back due to the threatening nature of the call and the inability to address me in writing. I will call the bank to make arrangements for payment. I do not feel that it is appropriate for a debt collector to say they can file charges or attach a warrant to a driver's license. This is unethical and in my opinion the collector committed the offense of impersonation of a police officer.

Desired Settlement
I want the business to cease contacting me for any reason.

03/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PDL Services is leaving threatening voicemails and is demanding that I pay money for payday loan that I am not aware of.
This initially started when I realized that this company was debiting money from my account for the past 10 months. I contacted my bank and they said that PDL had been flagged for fraud. Once PDL was unable to collect any additional money, the harassing phone calls began. They threatened to send me to court. I repeatedly asking the individual what he was calling about and he only started talking faster, raising his voice and threatening to call other individuals that I know. He called my mother and told her that I owed money because of some target scam. Then he stated that I owed $2500. He called me 10 times within one hour so I finally answered. Mr. *** ******* then stated that he wasn't going to chase me and that I owed $600. The owed amount changed every time he contacted someone. I asked him to send me something in writing with the alleged information and he said that he could only email something. I have repeatedly asked him to stop calling me but these calls still haven't ceased. There should be some way to stop ****** ******* from the harassment. They are completely violating my rights.

Desired Settlement
Please make sure that this business is unable to harass me any further. The phone calls and threats to my personal cell phone and job need to cease.

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

Additional Information

top

BBB wants to inform consumers that the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) outlines prohibited behavior when companies are attempting to collect a debt and outlines specific rights for consumers. BBB advises consumers to become familiar with their rights under the FDCPA which can be found at the following link: http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fdcpa/fdcpact.shtm.

BBB file opened: 02/15/2013
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Charles Blakely III (Owner)
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
PDL Associates
Industry Tips
DEBT COLLECTION

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for PDL Recovery Services

8726 Avebury Dr Apt L

Charlotte, NC 28213-3163

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8726 Avebury Dr Apt L 

    Charlotte, NC 28213-3163(980) 226-7708

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*PDL Recovery Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 365-7001
  • (980) 216-4160 (Disconnected)
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Collection Agencies

DEBT COLLECTION
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB wants to inform consumers that the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) outlines prohibited behavior when companies are attempting to collect a debt and outlines specific rights for consumers. BBB advises consumers to become familiar with their rights under the FDCPA which can be found at the following link: http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fdcpa/fdcpact.shtm.

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning the Billing or Collection area. Specifically, complaints are alleging improper collection practices. On December 12, 2013, PDL Recovery Services was informed of this concern and was invited to discuss the pattern of complaints and determine ways in which the pattern might be alleviated. As of this date, there has been no response from the company.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.