BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/26/2007

Black Dog Discount Carpet Outlet, Inc.

(704) 889-1257804 N Polk St, PinevilleNC 28134-7523

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/26/2007

BBB has determined that Black Dog Discount Carpet Outlet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Black Dog Discount Carpet Outlet, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Black Dog Discount Carpet Outlet, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/21/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Black Dog is refusing to correct a floor quality issue of a product they installed.
We had a kitchen floor (Luxury Vinyl Tile with a 25 year warranty) installed by the company in November 2014, order number ******. We gave them approximately 50% down on my visa debit card ($1000), the remainder on completion ($1005.80 by check #***). Approximately 6 months later, we noticed some of the tiles starting to separate. We called and emailed the company, dealing with ****, sent them multiple photos of the issue, and was advised they would have someone from the manufacturer inspect the floor. ****** (the manufacturer) sent an inspector and advised us the issue was improper installation by the above company. The company insists that the manufacturer is responsible for the problem. We have tried multiple times to have the company correct the issue, but we yet to get any kind of assistance from them.

Desired Settlement
Initially, we would have been satisfied with re-installation. However, since the company and the manufacturer place the fault on each other, I no longer wish to have it replaced. We would like to have a refund of the full amount - $2005.80, so that we can have another floor installed by a company who will stand behind their service and their product.

Business Response
The ***** purchased the ****** Simplesse Luxury vinyl tile through Black Dog Discount Carpet.
They also purchased installation through Black Dog. In 10 of 2014.
****** warranties there product.
Black Dog warranties the installation.
After receiving pictures of the LVT, luxury vinyl tile from **** and showing the shrinkage that was happening to the floor I contacted my ****** Rep,
I contacted ****** claims. I also forwarded the pictures onto the claims department. They sent out a independent flooring trouble shooter who didnt know the product,he thought the Simplesse was a glue down floor. I contacted Claims again stating that they sent a flooring inspector that does not know the product. I told claims that in his report he talks about gluing this product down. THIS IS NOT A GLUE DOWN PRODUCT,
Simplesse is a Luxury Vinyl Tile that is a floating floor that cannot be glued.
I also sent the installer who installed the floor to look at it. He said if a floor is installed wrong, it will buckle and bow. This floor is shrinking........
All floors expand and contract. This floor is shrinking. What causes shrinkage is the flollowing:
Mositure in the sub floor. Yes wood sub floors carry moisture.
Mositure under the house.
Water damage.
Moisture from putting to much water on the floor when cleaning it and mositure getting stuck under the floating floor and sitting there for days being moist.
This has gotten to be a huge concern for people who have bought the LVT from different compaines. Environmental issues will play a role in how your floor performs or does not perform. You dont have to have a constint moisture problem for this to happen. **** had contacted me a couple of months after the first call to me and said the shrinkage was continuing to get worse.
Varying degrees of heat and cold will do the samething to this floor.
There are several articles on the flooring forums about this.
I did talk to ****** today a different department and they are sending me information on why LVT floors shrink. It all has to do with moisture and extreme temps. extreme meaning 65 to 85.
I took note that your laundry room is off the kitchen as welland that we took up an interflex floor when we came out to install. Interflex floors are vary forgiving.
I know this has been frustrating for the ***** but Flooring retailers cannot detemine all of the issues that can happen to a floor.
Sincerely,
**** *********

Consumer Response
I apologize for the delay in responding, however, I had a death in my family and just returned from out of town. It appears to me that Black Dog is not offering any resolution to this issue. I am terribly upset that they will not even offer to reinstall the tiles, but instead are choosing to do nothing about our complaint. It also seems as though she is also placing the blame for the issues on the environment (ie: humidity, temperature, etc). Our home is kept at a constant 68 in winter and 74 in summer. They started to separate within 6 months of application. Her installer, who also came to inspect the floor indicated the tiles were not 'locking' together properly. She indicates the tiles are 'shrinking', I would suggest they are coming unlocked and moving. As to her placing the blame on the environment, if this product is so sensitive to "extreme" temperatures, as she claims, why are they selling them in this area? I guess we have no alternative but to pursue legal action on this matter.

Final Business Response
I think the best thing Black Dog Discount Carpet can offer at this point is to hire a independent flooring inspector to come out and evaluate the floor. ****** sent out a inspector that did not know LVT floors and stated that this was a glue down floor. Its a floating floor. His opinion is worthless to both parties involved.
I will be contacting the ******** ********* to get
names of local members that are required to give professional unbiased opinions. I will need to know if this is exceptable to the ****** If so I will start the process next week. **** *********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Carpet Layers, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories, Floor Materials - Retail, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/06/2007Business started: 04/02/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2004, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Annie Mandsager (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Carpet Layers, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories, Floor Materials - Retail, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Black Dog Discount Carpet Outlet, Inc.

804 N Polk St

Pineville, NC 28134-7523

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 804 N Polk St 

    Pineville, NC 28134-7523(704) 889-1257

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Black Dog Discount Carpet Outlet, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.