BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/26/2013

Country Camping Corner

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 882-1173Fax: (704) 882-862514003 E Independence Blvd, MatthewsNC 28104-4945

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/26/2013

BBB has determined that Country Camping Corner meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Country Camping Corner's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Country Camping Corner

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

After such a long period of time waiting for camper to be repaired we were taking it somewhere else they went ahead and started repairs anyway
We purchased a 2014 wildwood by forest river vehicle id#***************** and model #31BKIS size 35 on February 1,2014 . We brought home our camper then had to return on February 8 to get our chrome wheels put on they had to be ordered went back on February 22 to pick up took to storage building where it was damaged by a tree in march took up to country camping to have them look at it said they could fix it so we called our insurance company right away to get estimate . Our insurance company gave estimate and sent a check for repairs . Promised camper would be ready by spring break camper was not ready said parts were not in then said it would be ready by our next trip in June parts still not in we told them we would take it somewhere else to be fixed went to pick it up and they had went ahead and started repairs after we told them not to . Allstate paid to replace entire roof as well as new out door kitchen door they did not do either of the two . We never sign an authorization never seen estimate on paper either they will not release our personal property to us with out payment for the sorry job they did the money is a civil matter they do not have the right to keep our property we have talked to the sheriff . At this point they have taken away our right to get it properly fixed we don't trust them to finish the repairs and feel that they need to replace our new camper with another one it has never been used . Were having our insurance company come take a look at the sorry repairs. They didn't replace the dents in the side of the camper. They did not disclose on paper to us how much the estimate of repairs. We did not sign authorizing them to do the repairs. They have to have that in North Carolina. So this shows they just took our camper and started working on it without a signature authorizing repairs for the estimate. We feel that the three months they took our camper waiting for parts, that they were too busy selling campers and getting them ready for people to pick up instead of wanting to work on our camper. It wasn't until we changed our mind to take it somewhere else they said the parts were in and then they wanted to start working on our camper. When we refused they did it anyway without our permission.

Desired Settlement
Since they chose to fix our camper without permission, then the camper is theirs. We feel they need to find us another one exactly like it brand new or refund our money.

Business Response
Mr. **** brought the travel trailer to us for repair due to storm damage on March 22, 2014. We sealed the damage in the roof so he could use the trailer while the parts were being ordered. At that time Mr. **** signed the work order and we submitted the estimate to his insurance company. Mr. **** chose not to use the trailer and enjoyed the free storage provided by Country Camping Corner. After submitting our estimate for the repair his insurance issued a check on April 15th for the repairs. The items we ordered were unit specific and we had to wait to receive them. When parts, especially body parts are ordered in the spring we have to be aware that the factories are in full production and the parts may not be as readily available as during other times of the year. Due to the size of the parts they had to be shipped by freight truck which is a longer process. The freight was picked up in Indiana on May 16th and delivered to us on May 27th. The day after the last part was received the trailer was pulled into our service building and the process of the repair was started. The repair consisted of replacement of several pieces of metal, large storage door and a complete replacement of the roof including interior ceiling panel. On June 2nd I contacted Mr. **** to inform him that one of the decals was not correct and we would reorder. It would not keep him from using the trailer. He told me that he did not need the trailer till the week of July 4th. Thinking this would give us plenty of time to complete the repair including the application of the reordered decal, while Mr. **** would enjoy again free storage, we left the trailer in the building to insure that it was kept safe and dry. Last Saturday Mr. **** appeared at our service department with his young son and let himself into the building to check on his trailer. Our service personnel did not stop him. He made himself at home by climbing the scaffold and spent several minutes looking the trailer over after which he left the property. At no time did he check in at the office. Later he called to talk to the service manager. During that call I asked him to please not walk into our service department unescorted again. We would be glad to show him the progress on his trailer but we ask he check in at the office first since our insurance requires this. Mr. **** did not like that and has not been reasonable since that conversation. Later that day Mr. **** called again and informed me that he is picking his trailer up as soon as he found a place to take to. At that time the unit was not water tight and the slide-outs could not be brought in. I told him that a few items still needed to be done. He was adamant that we stop working on it and pull the trailer out of the building. Would we have followed his orders and left this trailer outside it would have sustained extensive damage especially from the rain we had over this past weekend. At this time the repairs are for the most part complete. Mr. **** is insisting that his insurance check the repairs since he does not believe that they are done correctly. We are waiting on the insurance person to make that inspection.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have been paying for our storage since February 2014 and are currently paid through august even though our camper is at country camping we are not using them for free storage this is a lie . ( storage is mint hill self storage XXXXX Blair road ********* , N.C. XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX you can call to verify. I did go to country camping where when pulling in thought I seen my camper in service bay walked up to door to look did not go in ,one of the service employees seen me and told me it was my camper and I could go ahead and come in to take a look he even showed me how to get on scaffold and was explained to owner when I talked to her. We have since meet at country camping with the insurance agent the work they have done looks good however they are not finished both the insurance agent as well as myself are pleased just looking forward to repairs being finished and having it back. owner and I are on civil terms and the young man who has worked on camper so far has done beautiful job.

Final Business Response
Mr **** picked up his camper on 6/29/14 and complemented our service and repair personnel on a job well done. In the near future Country Camping Corner will replace the bumper and another piece of metal as well as a decal that had to be reordered.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is correct

11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Business Collected taxes, fees and did not perform those services on contract. Looking for a refund for these monies.
On October 6, 2008 I purchased an RV from Country Camping. I was charged $95 Title preparation fee, $295 Documentation fee and $540 Sales Tax. When I called the business to request the Title I spoke to the owner Vee. She sent me a Re-Assignment of Title and told me this was the Title. Being new to the "RV" world, I took her word for this. When I sold the RV this year I was told by DMV that the RV was never titled into Country Camping from the original owner and never titled in my name. I was also informed that I had to pay a one time tax to transfer the title in the amount of $540, which was already collected by Country Camping. (There is no sales tax required in N.C. for RV's). Country Camping held on to this tax money, never filed the correct paper work which they charged me for. They did not title the RV into their name until last month so they could then title in my name. I dealt with a man at Country Camping named Fred. He was rude and unorganizated. I waited over a month to get the title. They held my money, did not fillful their obligation in the contract and did not pay the necessary taxes to DMV that they collected from me. They also sold me an RV they did not own since it was not titled in their name until recently. DMV questioned me on why I paid the tax and Country Camping never filed for the title back in 2008. How many other unknowing people do they collect this tax money from but do not pay the DMV to transfer the title? Vehicle #4YDTXXXXXXAXXXXXX, 2004 Sprinter, 38 foot.

Desired Settlement
I would like $930 that I paid almost 5 years ago to this business. They held on to my monies without fillfulling their contract. 5 years is a long time to hold someones money without fillfulling an obligation and misrepresenting a tax cost.

Business Response
In October 2008 Mr. and Mrs. *** were shopping for a travel trailer to live in while on a job here in NC. Their budget was limited so it was not easy to find what they needed. Fortunately we had a unit on consignment for sale whose owner was very motivated. After some negotiation Mr. and Mrs. *** bought the 2004 Sprinter for a very good price; well below market value. Neither Mr. nor Mrs. *** were in possession of a NC drivers license or a NC address which is required to register a vehicle in NC. They chose to have us deliver it to a trailer park near the speedway. We delivered and set it up free of charge. This was supposed to be a temporary home till a NC mailing address could be established.
As customary we entered their name as sequential owner on the title and handed them the title and forms required to register the vehicle with the NCDMV. The registration was to take place as soon as Mr. and Mrs. *** changed their drivers' licenses from Florida to North Carolina.
Earlier this year Mrs. *** contacted us wanting to sell the 2004 Sprinter. They had purchased a mobile home to live in. We offered our assistance in finding a buyer. However they found a buyer on their own. When they turned the title over to the new owner it came to light that they neglected to follow through with the registration of the vehicle as soon as they got NC drivers licenses.
When they contacted us about the title we again offered our assistance in getting the title properly registered with the state of NC. Mrs. *** was adamant though that she just wanted a refund.
Since this has been a number of years, all financial and personal items in the file had been perched except a copy of the bill of sale. Therefore we cannot tell with certainty if Mr. and Mrs. *** actually paid us the entire amount including the vehicle sales tax or just the amount for the trailer.
Never the less we were going to make it right. Knowing how delicate title work can be we told them that we needed to take responsibility for the proper registration, all of the forms and title work including the sales tax and fees. They just needed to get the title to us and some forms signed that were now necessary do to some rule changes. After some back and forth, because they had a hard time following the instructions properly, we got the title work submitted to the state of NC. Country Camping Corner paid the vehicle sales tax (3%) and registration fee including the late fee. In the meantime the state of NC has sent Mr. and Mrs. *** a NC title in their name.
In NC all vehicles are subject to a 3% road usage fee (sales tax) at the time of registration.

Final Consumer Response
Nothing was resolved. There was a lot of untrue words written in their response. If I was supposed to title the RV on my own, why did they charge me the taxes and fees for titling? They owe my some compensation for not doing what they charged me for. I paid, the bill shows paid. Now they are stating that they do not know if I paid the fees. So why does the bill have Paid on it? I am sure they can go to their bank and get a statement showing the deposit.... I am not happy with their uncaring attitude. Bad business ethitics. If they made a mistake they should have just said something. But they kept putting it on me. I am going to DMV this week to get a history on the titling of the RV. I am sure it will show when they titled in Country Camping's name.

Back to Top

Final Business Response
Since it stated on the bill of sale that Ms *** paid Country Camping Corner for the taxes and title processing, Country Camping Corner took responsibility for all the title work and paid all the taxes and fees due to the state of North Carolina for the travel trailer she purchased.

11/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Campers - Dealers, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/15/1999Business started: 09/13/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27697-0001
(919) 861-3808

BBB records show a license number of 9068 for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is

Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 1984, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Verena Keller (President)Mr. Rodney Brown (Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Campers - Dealers, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Country Camping Corner, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Country Camping Corner has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Country Camping Corner

14003 E Independence Blvd

Matthews, NC 28104-4945

To | From


2 Locations

  • 101 Oak Grove Rd 

    Kings Mountain, NC 28086-8770(704) 734-0595

  • 14003 E Independence Blvd 

    Matthews, NC 28104-4945(704) 882-1173
    Fax: (704) 882-8625

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Country Camping Corner is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Campers - Dealers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.