BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/1998

Mechanics & Farmers Bank

Phone: (704) 332-2121Fax: (704) 343-9003101 Beatties Ford Rd, CharlotteNC 28216-5301

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/1998

BBB has determined that Mechanics & Farmers Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mechanics & Farmers Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mechanics & Farmers Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/19/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On January 8, 2015 I took my eldely mother to Mechanics and Farmers Bank to withdraw her money from her Checkings and Savings and have both accounts closed so that she could open up a new account at a different bank. Upon walking into the establishment I was given inappropriate facial expressions and eye rolling from the front desk staff particularily xxxxx. She told my mother and I that we could just have a seat and she will be with us in a minute. She began to converse with her coworker and we waited and waited for about 15 minutes before she finally decided to help us. I explained to her that my mother wanted to withdraw all of her money from the checkings the savings accounts. She looked at my mother and asked her was she aware of what was being done. My mother then replied yes and that I was her daughter and to do as I say. xxxxx proceeded to say that the balance on the Checkings was $544 and told my mother to sign a blank check to withdraw the money, but was not given an option to withdraw her money from her savings account. After the transaction was complete I asked xxxxx to give my mother a receipt for the transaction in which she stated I could not have a receipt because the account is closed, but my mother was never given any forms from xxxxx to sign stating that the account was officially closed and she refused to give my mother a receipt for the transaction itself. This situation was very frustration to have to bring my 83 year old mother out the house to take care of business and be treated in such a horrible way. My mother nor I was pleased with the customer service and we have no way of knowing if the accounts are really closed and if their is still money in the accounts.

Desired Settlement
My mother xxxxx and I would like to know for sure that all money is withdrawn from the accounts and that all accounts with this bank are closed with proper documentation given to us. I would also like some sort of disciplinary action to be taken out towards xxxxx for the way that she handled business today.

Business Response
On 1/12/16, I met with xxxxx and xxxxx for a complete recap of the scenario outlined in this complaint. They both indicated that when the customer(s)entered the building, The daughter was on the phone and / or concluding a call. They state that her presence was immediately acknowledged and she was greeted according to our traditional method of "Good Morning,(customer's name) They state that she may or may not have heard them because of the phone conversation. They were asked to have a seat because they were finishing up a morning report that was time sensitive. xxxxx is the customer service rep and xxxxx is the head teller, currently being crossed trained. According to them the wait time was 5-7 minutes. xxxxx is the owner of the account but the request to close the account was made by her daughter who is not on the account nor privy to the information without the owner's authorization. According the two bank associates, the daughter was asking all of the questions and requesting that the account(s) be closed. In those cases, it is proper that we get some type of reaction or acknowledgement from the owner letting us know that they are in agreement. Once obtained, we can proceed. Ms. xxxxx only has a checking account and the saving account in question is a mute point. In regards to signing a blank check, that was the best way to complete the withdrawal and close the account. This method does not generate a receipt because the cancelled check is the receipt. The checking account was officially closed on the date of their visit. We regret that the customer felt frustrated regarding the manner in which her request was handled but deemed it to be correct and proper under these circumstances.

03/17/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/22/1998Business started: 01/01/1908
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tanya Dial-Bethune (Senior Vice President/City Executive)Ms. Shameka Mackey
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Banks

Alternate Business Names
M & F Bank

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mechanics & Farmers Bank

101 Beatties Ford Rd

Charlotte, NC 28216-5301

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 101 Beatties Ford Rd 

    Charlotte, NC 28216-5301Fax: (704) 343-9003

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mechanics & Farmers Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.