BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2013

Tarheel 4WD Center

Phone: (704) 598-1000Fax: (704) 598-18115745 N Tryon St, CharlotteNC 28213-6801

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2013

BBB has determined that Tarheel 4WD Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tarheel 4WD Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tarheel 4WD Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/15/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i took my 1997 chevy camaro there for rearend gears..everything workd fine,,when i got my car back..abs wuz inoperable,
i took my 1997 chevy camaro there for rearend gears..everything workd fine,,when i got my car back..abs wuz inoperable,so i took back xxxxx say they done no wrong..sop after research,the only way the reluctor/tone ring wuz either bent on install or thgey didnt put back on..it has beeen well over a week and no has attempted to contact me..the price startd at 887..then went to 1002..im a ampute/disabled person..

Desired Settlement
well i had to spend an extra 300 for abs delete kit..just to be able to drive my car...i really wud at least want the 300 for abs delete(i have recipets for part and install)and the difference from the 887 to 1002.00/so thats a total of 415.00..

Business' Initial Response
Scott contacted me on May 1,2012 about re-gearing his car to 3.73 ratio, I quoted him 883.80 to install new gears and master install kit. He brought the vehicle in on the May 9 to install it,when we pulled the inspection cover we saw the internal spider gears were pitted and had chipped teeth.I contacted xxxxx and informed him of our findings and priced him a new spider gear set at 109.90 plus tax (117.87)he said no problem, do it.We installed the ring&pinion, new bearing install kit and spider gear kit bringing his total bill to 1001.67 exactly to the penny what he was quoted.He has the the bad spider gears, he wanted to keep them as a "trophey".In regards to the tone ring, it's pressed on the carrier from the factory and is not removed to install a ring & pinion.Scott came in on the 25th of May and said the car is running great,he had it dyno tuned and someone checked the abs sensor, checked out o.k. and determined he needed a new tone ring and asked me to price it for him, I called xxxxx and they informed me it is a dis-countinued part and no availability at any dealership in the country.I told xxxxx we would try and locate one, even gave him the part number as he said he would try to find one on the internet as well....that's the last conversation we have had.I assume the tone ring is bad given the fact it is 15 plus years old and has well over a 100,000 miles on it, like most things on a vehicle it is a wear item.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
because xxxxx told me the tone ring could be reused..and not only that the rearend is MAKING all kinds of soundS..i said i was only happy about the gears,,everything workd fine before it came to tar heel..yall must have bent the tone ring ,because that tone ring had no problems before tar heel put their hands on it.i guess like ive heard hey never wanna take blame when its due them..

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Balancing Equipment, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Differentials - Automobile, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Accessories

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/2007Business started: 08/16/1990
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Crisp (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Balancing Equipment, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Differentials - Automobile, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Accessories

Industry Tips
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tarheel 4WD Center

5745 N Tryon St

Charlotte, NC 28213-6801

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5745 N Tryon St 

    Charlotte, NC 28213-6801(704) 598-1000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tarheel 4WD Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.