BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/11/2013

Profix Auto Repair

(704) 597-71004546 N Tryon St, Charlotte NC 28213-6923

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/11/2013

BBB has determined that Profix Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Profix Auto Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My vehicle was taken to this shop on 3/2016 for back brakes, thermostat, & passenger ***** light. When i got the vehicle back the vehicle was still running hot. The light wasn't fixed. The mechanic *** tried to charged me again for the front passenger ****** I had to take my vehicle back to the shop because the vehicle continue to run hot. The back brakes are still squeaking until this day. The mechanic claim i have a lifetime warranty on the parts.

Desired Settlement
I pay for services render for my vehicle. My vehicle always leave the auto shop the same way it goes in with nothing being done. I would like my back brakes done correctly. I have all my receipts from the work that was done on my vehicle. I'm tired of being take advantage of because I'm a woman. Then when i have a male call the mechanic shop the mechanic seem to change there tune. The mechanic need to take responsibility for the service render for all customers

Business Response
From: ****** *******" <**********>
Date: May 4, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ****** (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-X-XXX)
To: "Better Business Bureau" <************>

Dear BBB .for a start car was brought in for a state inspection and headlight bulb and an ageing overheating problem that been going on for a while (customer stated ) rear brakes where also making a grinding sound (not squeaking)due to being severely worn-out. The headlight bulb was replaced (it was blown) the rear brakes were replaced with premium brake shoes that don't squeak so customer need to find out where the noise coming from before blaming profix cause it could be coming from the front pads that was also worn but not as bad as the rear grinding shoes..there was nothing mentioned about brake noise after it was fixed we were actually surprised to see that on the complaint form .since that the car was driven for a while over heating before it was brought in for repairs that could cause internal damage to the engine such as headgasket getting weaker and can cause it to blow and that can lead to overheating issues after replacement of the thermostat also high mileage is not a good help .I attached a life pic from my computer to show all trouble code that the car had on 3/26 including the thermostat code total of 6 codes we only fixed the problem that was related to the customer complaint and what the computer pin pointed cause repairing everything would ve exceeded the value of the vehicle. When we replaced the bulb it worked great but later on the OLD BRITTLE electrical connecter that goes to the bulb melted and shorted out so the new bulb quit working so we priced a new harness and pigtail from the dealer and total repairs were 54$ that's parts and labor to rewire and install but paying for the service was dined so out of GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE we did the work for free knowing it wasn't our fault. so customer drove out with free parts and labor (I guess that wasn't enough )still nothing mentioned about squeaking. .and we left the car running for 45 minutes hooked up to computer while doing the electrical connector to see if it would run hot but every thing was normal .I m glad there no complaints about the car passing ***** inspection lol .we don't know how far we can go out of our ways to satisfy a long time repeated customer but we've been doing good for the past 20years and hate to see a customer walking away but this is why they call it tough business. Dear BBB this is going to be my FINAL statement on this matter and thank you for allowing me to explain my position .***. owner/tech

Consumer Response
To be honest Sir, I took your word to be real and I trusted that you would provide a service that was professional and trustworthy especially being a woman that not familiar with vehicles. I came to you in a very professional way I was completely upfront and honest with Mr ***. I entered the auto shop Mr *** was extremely busy. I asked him may I drop my vehicle off in the morning of course he showed me where I could leave my key. Then he advise me to write down everything that was wrong with my vehicle. Which I did actually what was instructed. When a customer enter a auto mechanic shop the customer real don't know what wrong with their vehicle. However you never enter the shop without telling the mechanic what you think is wrong with your vehicle, cause your not the expert or professional. Then you start to build a rapor between mechanic and customer. Its doesn't matter what kind of vehicle it is: new, used, or classic vehicles. All vehicles should be treated the same no matter what. It's a form of transportation for customers. In this situation how could i not tell the mechanic what I thought was wrong with my vehicle?
(I'm not the expert or the professional) So why would I NOT even mention the brakes squeaking if I the customer didn't know something wasn't wrong with my vehicle. Everybody is born with commend since. The mechanic shop charged me $27 for a light bulb when the bulb was not the issues. The issues was the headlight on the driver side wouldn't stay on. The mechanic was given that information in the very beginning. In fact I wrote down everything I thought was wrong with MY non value vehicle. Yes the mechanic shop did Correct that issues free of charge with no labor. Granted I'm very grateful. I've been through this before with other auto mechanic shop where I take my vehicle into a mechanic shop they don't fix what I brought it in for. However I don't plan to gain anything from this situation. I just feel customers should receive accurate service they pay for. I can say I have learned a valuable lesson from this situation. Going forward I will stick to what I know (Pep boys). I have always been a very loyal customer to Pep Boys. However trying to save a Couple of pennies got me nothing but heartache and headache. To the owner maybe that vacation he always mention is very well needed. One thing I can say I will NEVER return to profix Auto shop.

Thank you
Ex loyal customer

10/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Received a wheel alignment from profix auto repair person and the service was good
On 10/14/2014 I received 4 new tires on a ***************** and then went to Profix for a wheel alignment for $50 using **********. Service Person who did the wheel alignment was ***. The next day driving the car I felt the car pulling to the left, and returned to Profix to discuss the issue and *** was very irrate and nasty and cursed, that I had come back with an issue and stated that he had been in business for 35 years and that he stands by his work. But he never even test drove the car on the first day to see the alignment was good after doing so. He proceeded to test the car and he claimed to had found nothing wrong with the vehicle and did not offer to correct the problem. I am a older women and should not be taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement
Would like the wheel alignment to be redone or corrected without being charged.

Business Response
From: ************* (mailto:**********************)
Sent: Wednesday, October 15, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ****************************************************************************
Subject: case#*******

Dear BBB,
I test drove the vehicle while the customer was sitting directly beside me, and i let my hands off of the steering wheel for about a quarter of a mile and the car was still going straight even with all of the road conditions we have on north tryon. the customer began to accuse me of holding her steering wheel from the back with the tip of my finger , at this point i decided to turn the vehicle around and head back to my shop, because i am not playing games, and i am also not going to waste my time with accusations like this. Attached to this email is the print out from the alignment computer from when the vehicle had left my shop. An alignment will take care of the tire wear, meaning that it prevents the tires from getting a shoulder wear. it is almost impossible to guarantee to everyone that when they let their hands off of the steering wheel that there car will go straight, especially with the road conditions that we are having these days, and also the road crown.
***** The owner and operator

Consumer Response
From: ******************* (mailto:*******************)
Sent: Saturday, October 18, 2014 5:14 PM
To: **** ** *******
Subject: Wheel Alignment

Thank you for quick response from your bureau.

I am not satisfied with the reply but it seems there is nothing I can do, because its his word against mine.
So therefore no further action can be taken.

Thank you
***** ******

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Auto Diagnostic Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/02/2001Business started: 02/01/1996
Type of Entity


Incorporated: October 1995, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Banawan (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Auto Diagnostic Service

Alternate Business Names
Profix, Profix, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Profix Auto Repair has received 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Profix Auto Repair

4546 N Tryon St

Charlotte , NC 28213-6923

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4546 N Tryon St 

    Charlotte, NC 28213-6923(704) 597-7100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Profix Auto Repair is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.