BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/18/2012

Paul's Automotive Service & Repair

(704) 786-0904263 Branchview Dr SE Ste A, Concord NC 28025-3786

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/18/2012

BBB has determined that Paul's Automotive Service & Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Paul's Automotive Service & Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Paul's Automotive Service & Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my 1997 Buick (Kelly blue book around $2000) to Paul's Automotive on 11/12/13 for a state inspection, oil change, and to look for a fuel leak. **** calls me later that day and says there is no fuel leak, but it needs a part replaced to pass inspection. He did not mention the price of the part, and I did not think much of it (something minor I assumed). The next day the car is ready, and I go to pick it up. There I am presented with a $558.82 bill! This included a $25 off coupon I had. I was in shock. I paid all the money I had, $350, leaving me flat broke for the rest of the month. They said I could pay the rest later. To add insult to injury in this story, my mother tells me the part ***** replaced was not necessary to pass state inspection. She knows because this had been my grandmother's car for years; my grandmother passed last year leaving the vehicle to me. My mother was with her the last year my grandmother had the car inspected, and the mechanic then told her the part was a sensory device to see if air was in the gas tank, not a safety issue. The mechanic flipped a switch, and fixed it, is what my mother recently told me.
Account_Number: INVOICE ****

Desired Settlement
I believe that I should only have to paid for the services I asked for...a state inspection, oil change, and whatever one charges to look for a fuel leak (although looking over this very confusing bill, I can't tell how much that is). The slogan for Paul's Automotive is " A REAL Mechanic You Can Trust"... I believe a REAL mechanic one can trust is NOT one who is willing to charge over 1/4 of a vehicle's total value on an unnecessary part, without even mentioning the cost to the customer first!

Business Response
I'm surprised to hear customer was not satisfied with the repair. He never questioned the repairs or indicated to us in any way that he felt we did something unnecessary or never indicated he was not satisfied. He only indicated that he did not realize the bill was going to be that much, at which time we informed him he could delay some of the payment (not common business practice of ours), but the customer is a valued long time customer that we have worked with on many occasions and this is why we are surprised by this complaint. It was totally his choice to pay $350 at this time(we simply told him he could pay what he could now and the rest later).
Customer dropped vehicle off without appointment stating what he needed (oil change & inspection), & indicated he needed to get this vehicle on the road since his other vehicle had been totaled & that he would be out of town and not be able to be reached.
According to NC State Inspection Regs, a 1997 vehicle is required to have an OBD inspection that includes both emissions & safety and a vehicle according to Law cannot pass inspection with the check engine light on. Since the check engine light was on when we initially started the car, I proceeded to diagnose the cause for the check engine light. I scanned for codes and found po341, po440, and p1675 codes,indicating a bad Cam Sensor, and an Evap malfunction. The cas was showing 6 computer monitors on at this time. I proceeded with the intent to do only what the vehicle needed in order for it to pass inspection. By Law a 1997 vehicle is only allowed to have 2 monitors as incomplete in order to pass inspection. The following is a description of what I did to get the vehicle minimally repaired and down to just 2 monitors as incomplete so it could pass inspection:
1. Cleared the computer codes and attempted to drive car to see if light came back on. Only got 200 yards before light came back on.
2. Scanned for codes again-indicated Cam sensor malfunction--replaced Cam sensor and cleared codes again.
3. Drove car again-got only 1 1/2 miles before light came back on.
4. Extracted codes --showed evap system malfunction
5. Put car on rack, check hoses and found a hose behind engine loose from sensor--Corrected this problem and cleared codes again and drove car again, getting about 3 miles this time before light came back on.
6. Extracted codes still again--still indicated evap system malfunction--Smoked the system (standard test for this issue), hooked up the scanner so I could activate & initiate solenoid and purge valves. This test indicated the purge valve at the gas tank was leaking.
7. Replaced the Purge valve, cleared computer and drove again for about 1 hour to get the vehicle through the drive cycle as required before it could be inspected--at this time only two monitors were still showing. (By Law this is the maximum number of monitors that can be incomplete to PASS Inspection. UNNECESSARY repairs at this time would have been to continue driving the vehicle until all monitors reset--taking a chance that the check engine light would come back on and more repairs would be required to get the car to pass inspection.
8. I stopped at this point and Inspected the vehicle. It PASSED and I called customer to inform him that car was ready and explained what I had done and reasons why.

At that time customer did not question anything, but asked that we check for a fuel leak. I informed him that the car had very little gas in it and I would need to fill the tank with gas in order to adequately check for a leak. I filled the tank, put car on lift, checked hoses and saw 2 hoses that looked like they may have some minor residue on them, but no obvious leak. I tightened the hoses and called customer to let him know car was ready. (The purge valve that I had just repaired could have been the culprit for what the customer thought might be a fuel leak)

When customer came to pick up car, I once again explained what we did and why and told him the check engine light might come back on--would be no way of knowing until he drove the vehicle far enough to complete the drive cycle for the remaining 2 monitors, and if it di come back on and he wanted to pursue it any farther to come back to the shop and we would look at it--but that the car did Pass inspection and that was the goal.

In response to customer comment in complaint about the last inspection with his mother: We have no knowledge of this situation, but there is definitely not a switch that can just be flipped. Monitors can be reset and a sensor is not a safety issue (but an emissions issue which the state has specific rules about. And yes on rare occasions the monitors can be cleared (ie if gas cap was not tightened and set off a code)then vehicle driven thru cycle and if light does not come back on the vehicle can be inspected and would Pass inspection. Maybe at the time there was only 1 issue which would have been allowed. This however was a year ago, and lots can happen mechanically to a car in a year whether it is driven much or not. At the time we received this car there were definitely MULTIPLE emission issues and the OBD rules and regulations were followed.

In response to value of car vs cost of repair: We do not check Kelly Blue Book values on vehicles that come in for repairs. One person's trash is another person's treasure. This 97 vehicle appeared to be a good solid car worth investing this minor amount in and di not raise any concerns. However, just to make a point--this customer has a documented history of spending more money on repairs than the vehicle is worth.. i.e. in past has spent 4 times the value of one of his previous vehicles over a 7 month period on repairs.

I feel that everything we did was to try and help our valued customer out. by 1. repairing the vehicle quickly so he would have a vehicle to dirve (since his other car had been totaled), 2. Only doing the repairs necessary for it to pass inspection. 3. Spending several hours on diagnosing the vehicle and spending time driving the vehicle through the drive cycle for an hour just to be assured that I got the vehicle down to just 2 monitors incomplete. $o charge for this extra time and dianostics. I could have legitimately charged an additional $165 for all of this, but was trying to give our good customer a break.

Invoice indicates a $0 charge for checking fuel leak, $0 charge for repairing the vacuum line, $35.36 charge for gas I put in his car(actual cost of fuel-which is still in his tank), 32.85 for oil change and a 27 point inspection where we look the car over good to see if we spot any issues customer needs to be aware of, $30 for the State Inspection, $88 for smoking evap system, $70.94 labor for replacing purge valve, $106 labor charge for replacing the cam sensor, and the cost of the cam sensor and purge valve. The invoice does not even include or charge for the additional diagnostics and drive time included in this repair. For good will I also honored a $25 off coupon that I had previously extended the expiration so customer could utilize it and customer was not able to present coupon even though coupon states that it is to be presented. Again trying to help customer.

It is my position that the charges were more than fair (less than they should have been) and that we went the extra mile to try to help out this customer. I regret that this customer who we thought we had established a good relationship with over the years does not value our services and that he did not feel like he could have come to us with his concerns without going through this lengthy process. I am willing at this point, just for the sake of good will, to accept the amount the customer has already paid and write off the addition amount he owes--calling his bill paid in full. We hope that the customer will find this offer more than satisfactory.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Radiators - Automotive, Engines - Gasoline, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Heaters - Automotive, Thermostats, Starters - Engine

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/28/2012Business started: 06/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Transportation, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27697-0001
(919) 861-3808

BBB records show a license number of 66379 for this company, issued by Department of Transportation, NC.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Rodgers (Co-Owner)Ms. Patricia Rodgers (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Radiators - Automotive, Engines - Gasoline, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Heaters - Automotive, Thermostats, Starters - Engine

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Paul's Automotive Service & Repair

263 Branchview Dr SE Ste A

Concord , NC 28025-3786

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 263 Branchview Dr SE Ste A 

    Concord, NC 28025-3786(704) 786-0904

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Paul's Automotive Service & Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.