BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Meineke

Phone: (704) 721-0044Fax: (704) 721-3135901 Concord Pkwy S, ConcordNC 28027-9061http://www.meineke.com/Center/4000.aspx

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Meineke is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Meineke's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Meineke

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/04/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was about to check out and pay when I realized some services where not done. Owner said they were and still wanted me to pay. He did not believe me.
I visited Meineke Car Care Center in xxxxx on 6/21/12 because my usual shop was short staffed and had a long wait time. I was about to go out of town and needed a tire rotation and oil change. I had once visited this shop a few months back and had to leave after waiting 10 minutes and no one came out to let me know they would be with me shortly. I understand a company being busy but ignoring customers is not a good practice. I was hesitant to return but needed to have my car serviced and decided to give them another try. I needed and specifically requested a tire rotation since it had been awhile since my last tire rotation. The owner let me know that a tire rotation and oil change was a higher price package, which I agreed to, knowing what service I was requesting. I was highly disappointed. The owner xxxxx had a very nasty attitude. My tires were not rotated like I had requested and was about to pay for. When I brought this to his attention xxxxx asked me if I was sure and said he knew it was done. One of my tires looks different and it was still in the same position so I knew that the rotation had not occurred. I brought this to his attention and he then asked the technician if it had been done. The technician advised him that he had not done a tire rotation for my car. The technician advised me that xxxxxx had not told him that I had requested a rotation. The tire rotation was then done. I then began to doubt some of the services that were supposed to be done to the car and wanted to be sure. When I asked any questions and requested the old parts, xxxxx was nasty and short. The higher price package includes a check of the car. When I asked what was checked he said everything was fine. I have always gotten a list of what parts were checked and what needed to be checked or serviced from every other auto shop I have been to. I did not receive anything from xxxxx. So again I had to question if I was getting what I paid for. xxxxx wanted me to pay for services that he did not provide. This was very dissatisfying and I my trust in this particular shop and owner are tarnished. I remained courteous and nice the entire time. His actions and attitude were uncalled for. I let xxxxx know that I was not happy with the service and poor attitude. He said "O well." I asked for the customer service number so that I could call and file a complaint. A technician came inside with another customer's information for a car that had just been completed around the time I asked for the number. xxxxx then said he could only help one customer at a time, although I was still standing at the counter and he was not done helping me. The other customer then went to his car to get his wallet so at this point xxxxx had to come back to me. At this point he had an even nastier attitude and rudely gave me the number. After leaving the shop I called and emailed Meineke 's customer service department. I received a call a few hours later and explained what had occurred at the store. The customer service representative assured me she would call the owner to come up with a resolution and get back in touch with me and let me know the status. Two weeks passed without a word and I called the customer service number back. As of today I have still not heard back from anyone. I was extremely dissatisfied with the service from xxxxx as well as the follow up from Meineke's Customer Service. I have never experienced such a poor level of service from a company and especially not from an auto shop company in the 15 years I have been driving.

Desired Settlement
Since I have not heard anything back from the shop or customer service I am requesting a refund of what I paid to the store. I have to question if I received the services that I paid for.

Business' Initial Response
It is true that this customer requested our Preferred oil change which among other things includes a tire rotation. When I was questioned whether or not the rotation had been performed, I asked the technician. When he told me he had not noticed the rotation on the ticket, I immediately instructed him to bring the vehicle back in and perform the rotation. I was questioned as to whether or not the other services had been performed and the customer demanded to see the old oil filter that was removed from the car. I went out into the shop and had the technician remove the used cartridge oil filter from the discard bin. I put this oil filter in a box and brought it to the customer. I regret the technician's oversight in failing to rotate the tires.This omission was corrected immediately and I responded to all of her requests

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was very disappointed with xxxxx lack of customer service skills and negative attitude this day. At the very least he could apologize for his behavior but I see he is not willing or able to do that, nor provide compensation. I was not rude to xxxxx nor did I ask for anything out of the normal, for him to be so short and unapproachable. Not everyone does well in a customer service position or work well with others. xxxxx is an example of this. I would never visit this store again (while he is the owner) and I am glad the experience is done and over with. This Meineke store would definitely benefit from a new owner. I am not satisfied with his response or the outcome of the complaint. I do appreciate the assistance of the BBB for filing this complaint.

Business' Final Response
I am sorry that xxxxx is dissatisfied with the service we provided. we provided the service we contracted for and addressed her concerns ath point of complaint. It is unfortunate that she cami in on an extremely busy day and I apologize if she felt she was not getting adequate attention. I will be more than happy to refund her the cost of the service for the day in question.

03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told and guaranteed a code scan could tell me problem and they would fix if I paid for it. I then was told it could only be done half way. I was told they had the parts. I then was told they did not have the parts. I had to pay for half the work. I was given an appointment. I showed up fifteen minutes early. I was made wait for two hours and I was made feel uncomfortable while waiting. I was then told It could not be done and dismissed with no work done. The worse customer service I have even witnessed in my life. I then called my bank and disputed the phony overcharges and I was given another appointment for the work to be completed. I was over charged. I was quoted a very high unrealistic price and then given a small discount. I was over quoted the time and charge the job was supposed to take and after I said It was not supposed to take that long I was given an adjustment. I was dishonestly treated and I am to return. I feel the work I paid for was not done. I feed I should be given my money back. Considering disputing the charges if work to be done not satisfactory.

Desired Settlement
A full refund for all the work said to be done.

Business' Initial Response
a free code scan was recommended to determine the problem causing the check engine light to come on. The code scan process is an effective diagnostic aid, but it is not guaranteed. We found 2 codes--xxxxx and xxxxx--evap pressure sensor/ switch low and evap pressure sensor/switch high. We recommended replacing the 2 sensors and priced the job using our standard mark-up on the parts and an industry-standard labor reference guide. Our propoal was accepted and an appointment was made for Mr xxxxx to return for the repair. When Mr xxxxx came in for his appointment, we call the parts in. Due to an inventory error on the part of our supplier, only one sensor was available. We installed the one sensor and cured the high pressure condition. We made another appointment for Mr xxxxx to return for the installation of the second sensor. He was charged only for the one sensor. The labor involved for the installation of the second sensor was not related to the first installation, so there is no additional labor involved. The 2 seperate charges are equal to the original quote.
Before Mr xxxxx returned for the second installation, he called xxxxx to try to recind the credit card charge for the first installation. After hearing our side of the story, the xxxxx representative let the credit card charge stand. When Mr xxxxx returned for his second appointment, we installed the sensor, but the code re-appeared immediately. At this point, we put the old sensor back on, told him there was no charge for the sevice that day and suggested other possible remedies. At this point, Mr xxxxx became beligerant and abusive and left the shop. He was charged only for the work that was successfully performed.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was guaranteed the fix they recommended would fix my vehicle and It did not. I was guaranteed the they had the parts to fix it the first day and they did not. So they performed half the job so they could get my business and then told me to come back so they could finish the job. I came back the second time they told me to and they told me that they could not fix it. They could not finish the job and should not have charged me for the first half of it which they supposedly did. I was informed by another Meineke shop that the Meineke in xxxxx is running a scam by telling you the codes they run will fix the problem. These codes could only tell you what the problem may be and it is not exact.further test are needed and they did not do any further test or tell me I need it further testing. None of the work they performed on my truck had anything to do with the problem my truck had and now it is fixed. The shop I had my truck fixed told me that they can perform a lot of work that is not needed and bleed the customer and not actually fix the problem. It is a shame in this day and age. This shop it is now being investigated for deceptive business practice. They charged me for work that my truck did not need. Shame on them.

Business' Final Response
The word "guarantee" was never mentioned regarding the solution to his problem nor the parts availability. We stand behind our work. As I stated in the initial response, the parts supplier had an inventory error (beyond my control). As the 2 repairs were not directly connected, we fixed the one problem for which we had the part. We charged only for this one procedure and the problem remains fixed to this day. When Mr xxxxx returned to have the second problem addressed, the procedure did fail to correct the problem--therefore, there was no charge to Mr xxxxx for the time spent working on his car, nor for any parts. As the original code scan failed to lead us to the root cause of his problem, we offered to perform further diagnostic work at aour normal diagnostic rates. He declined the further daignostic work. As I stated in my initial response, he became, belligerent and abusive to my staff and other customers in the shop and then left. I cannot address any issues that another repair facility supposedly discussed with Mr xxxxx, as I was not a part of those conversations.

11/09/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged tire. Unable to mount to rim due to machine damage (billet) says xxxxx.
Went in about 8am to have a good tire put an existing rim. Basically wanted to swap out a bad tire with a better tire. Stayed until 9 am or so and service was not rendered. Was told by xxxxx the technician could not get the new tire on the rim so they used my spare tire. xxxxx stated the billet was broken on the machine which there is no such thing as a billet. After I left the shop I asked my wife to call and ask for the same type of service, put new tire on existing rim. xxxxx stated it could be done. Why would xxxxx tell a customer it could be done if his equipment was broken. Suspicion number 1. Second, the tire that was to be replaced was a fine tire and it held air with existing chrome rim. After talking to the owner he stated that tire had some bead that the tire was no safe to put on. Why did the technician not notify this immediately if it was bad instead of trying to fix it? Sounds like an incompetent technician. Are technician not supposed to be xxxxx certified to work on vehicle. Not sure if that tech was or not. Either way, a certified tech would have known and instead of working on the tire if it was damaged, tell the owner. The tech tried to put new tire on and failed. Thinking is that the shop damaged the tire and was trying to put the blame on the customer. Prior to, the tire was in perfect condition in the chrome rim. A billet broke, yes we can do the same service after the machine supposingly broke does not add up. Something fishy and feel like service shop is trying to avoid paying for the tire. xxxxx nor the technician said anything about the tire being bad. They simply stated their machine broke...the billet part. Again, spoke to several xxxxx tech and there is no such thing as a billet on a machine that changes tires. Again, incompetence. We're having incompetent people, sales, tech servicing vehicles that could endanger people. I feel like I've been lied to as a customer. 1, if tire was no good should have known right away. 2, how can one tell other customers that you can do the service if your machine was broken. Would have been more along the line of, currently our machine is broken. None of this was conveyed when my wife called immediately after I left the shop. I wanted to see what the shop would say and would have not been suspicion if my wife was told that the equipment was broken and it may be later during the day. Instead, xxxxx said they could do the same service as what I went in for. Too many suspicion. For this reason I fix my own vehicle. There are too many crooked shops out there. Had I have my own machine I would have never gone there. Sad thing is that the same shop performed the same service, the same type of tire that was changed several years ago without problems. My only explanation is that the service technician somehow damaged the tire bead which left the tire not been able to hold air and so tell the owner the machine broke...a billet...again, no such thing. Owner says that xxxxx didn't know. Well, if he didn't know then he should not be the one relaying information to customers. The smart thing would have been for the technician to explain to the owner. xxxxx ran the register and communicates directly with customers. How is that a business will have someone who has no idea what they are talking relaying information to customers. In addition, hearing profanity come out of xxxxx mouth while I was there shows a lack of professionalism. Words like xxxxx and some others were used when we had a discussion. While it was not directed at me just hearing it come out from a business shows one, that the business has no concept about customer service and people skill. While I was not offended, I was shock to hear someone dealing with people using profanity as if it was okay. Overall, I honestly feel the shop did the damage and was trying to cover up. I can't explain it any other way. Why spend an hour unless you were just beating it left and right to try to make it work.

Desired Settlement
comparable tire to be mounted back on the original rim. evidently the tire that came off the original chrome rim has been deemed unsafe by the owner after speaking to him on 10-17-2012.

simply asking for all things to be returned to its original state.

As for the business or any business, have people who are qualified to be where they are. A technician is supposed to be able to point out troubles and notify the owner of business or owner of vehicle that there is a problem. Should they proceed etc? None of this was present. It was only after I was fed up after doing some research that I spoke to the owner and then the owner told me. How was the owner to know all this thing if he was not the one doing the tire change. One would think the service technician should know. This is a case where it could have been chaos in the making had the technician simply was able to put the tire on knowing it was defective it indeed it was. What I'm hearing is, I know there is a danger for the driver but I'm going to xxxxx the tire anyways if it fits. That is negligence in my opinion. If there is a problem, why proceed with fixing it and just simply saying we have a bad tire and sorry we can't do it. Evidently the tire was safe to begin with otherwise work would have not commence. Owners says they found out later.

09/06/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Dealers, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/12/2000Business started: 08/01/1994New Owner Date: 12/13/2013
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2013, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan S. Barclay (President)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Dealers, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Meineke Car Care Center #4000, Podclay Automotive, Inc., Meineke #4000

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Meineke

901 Concord Pkwy S

Concord, NC 28027-9061

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 901 Concord Pkwy S 

    Concord, NC 28027-9061(704) 721-0044

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Meineke is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.