BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Meineke Car Care Center

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 563-9513Fax: (704) 563-243415054 Idlewild Road, MatthewsNC 28104 Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Meineke Car Care Center is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Meineke Car Care Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Advertise one price for services and still charge for that service and parts.
All of Meineke coupons indicate oil change for $19.95 for oil, filter and inspection for that price. My invoice first item shows oil filter $4.98 and my total bill came out to be $25.16.
Now that is false advertising!

Desired Settlement
A refund for the filter.

Business Response
I spent twenty minutes explaining to Mr. xxxxx the following. The $19.95 includes Oil, Filter, labor and inspection. It does not include Taxes, disposal fees and Shop supplies. This is an exceptional value. We have sold thousands at this price and no one has complained, until now. You cannot purchase five quarts of semi synthetic oil and a quality filter for less than 19.95.

Mr. xxxxx expectation is unreasonable. We will not be refunding anything to Mr. xxxxx.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No one explained anything to me, In fact, I just gave the coupon to the person and that was it.So stop the non sense please.

06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Poor customer service and extremely poor car care
First off, I NEVER right reviews unless it's positive. Since I am a small business owner and work in customer service, I know the impact of word of mouth. Let me just say Meineke gave me the worst service I've received in my year and a half since moving to NC. First visit, a mechanic talked me out of getting my brakes repaired after I came in expressing concern about a grinding deeling I experience when I back up. Nothing is wrong, its just the brakes adjusting after it rains he said. Your brake pads & shoes have 40% left he said. A month later I was at Lexus getting my shoes AND rotors replaced. AND was told the front had 5% wear left... and like an idiot, I returned fir my last free oil change (2 free preferred oil changes from xxxxx). From the beginning I should've turned around. I came in expressing I ONLY want my preferred oil change because they dropped the ball on the brakes. After explaining the last situation, there was no offer to rectify the matter in any way. A mechanic doing the oil change brought me to the back to show me my front brakes like I didn't just tell him what he was telling me. Then told me I need an air filter. Smh. Simple quick fix. I tell him to add it. Can't mess that up right? Wrong. It took an extra 35 mins to add the add filter. Then I get my bill and see they've only done a BASIC oil change. No topping of fluids, no rotating of my tires... so I ask what oil change did you do? The mechanic says Basic. And I asked, what does the xxxxx say? He says Preferred. And I said, my car requires a synthetic blend. And what happened to my tired rotation? The mechanic said oh we rotated the tires too; I watched him do it. Everything that should've been done is handled miss. I go outside, and the same chalk marking that was there on my left rear tire, is still there, on the left rear. Smh. I was already late for my next appointment and beyond sick of this ordeal so I left. And the ENTIRE time this disaster is happening, the store manager is periodically coming out to greet everyone who comes in EXCEPT me. He hears my complaint, and NEVER comes out to at least apologize for any inconvenience. I just pray their basic oil change doesn't harm my engine. I will never in life return to nor will I recommend Meineke as a company to trust your car with!

Desired Settlement
The ONLY thing they can do is refund me my money because reality is, I will NEVER return to a Meineke service center.

Business Response
Facts are that the tire rotation was done on your lexus. we also only service vehicles with a synthetic blend or better quality oil. Also as far as you brakes we suggested that you keep a eye on them and you could have a noise due to the weather change. But if you continued to have a issue with them to return for a free brake inspection. which you did not. We also have a list of declined services that we recommended from your visit the first time you brought your car in. Which was in January. We hate that you had a bad experience in our store. We also noticed that you came in January for the first oil change then again in February for the second one and that was supposed to be the last on the xxxxx now for the oil change that we just completed that one is on us. Thanks for your time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As far as the oil change, I have an email from Meneike stating I needed to come to redeem my last free oul change, before May 30th. I also called to confirm prior to scheduling an appointment. The services pressed at my February visit were a engine and coolant flush. I too have the papers as I maintain ALL records. As for the service I received, it was piss poor & I don't need a constant break inspection to know that something was wrong, which I told YOUR servicemen. That is why I had them fixed elsewhere. Furthermore, the records YOUR store provided to me (the second copy printed for my records) plainly show a BASIC oil change with NO other services were performed. Really, I don't need to go in circles with you all because in business word of mouth is everything. I will share my experience, often.

Final Business Response

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had my head gasket repaired due to an oil leak and after my car was finished, two weeks later, the car started overheating due to an oil pump crack.
On March 6th, I brought my vehicle into Meineke because I had oil leaking. xxxx, the lead mechanic and manager, told me I needed to replace my head gasket that would take three days to repair for a cost of $1,506.00. He told me to drop the vehicle off the following Monday. I dropped the Saab off the following Monday and followed up the following afternoon to ensure my vehicle was going to be finished. I was again told it would be done by the close of Wednesday.
I went to get my Saab the following late afternoon, but it wasn't done yet. xxxxx assured me they had it fixed and were just starting the car to make sure everything was working properly. I paid xxxxx the $1,5006.00 via my xxxxx bank card and left with the understanding that my car would be parked outside.
When I finished working, I had a message from xxxxx stating they couldn't get my car started, they had closed for the evening, and that someone would call me in the morning to let me know what was going on. That was a shocking turn of events which left me stranded without a car.
I never received a call the following morning, so I contacted Meineke to figure out what was going on. xxxxx said there was no compression, the car wasn't starting, and they were going to take the vehicle apart again. He assured me he would call Friday to let me know how things were going. There was no call on Friday, and when I reached out to the shop my car was not fixed.
This time they told me it would be done Monday or Tuesday and Meineke would cover my expense for a rental car but couldn't help with any other expenses arising from the inability to get my car back.
The following Tuesday, xxxxx said that when they disassembled my car, they realized that the valves were bent and that the machine shop had made a costly mistake. He thought the car would be finished by Thursday. I asked for someone to call me Thursday and he agreed. Again, no phone call.
When I called Friday, I was told they were still waiting on the machine shop to return the fixed part, but it would be back to the shop soon and back to me by the end of the day. I asked for someone to call me in the afternoon when my vehicle was fixed, but once again there was no phone call.
When I called Friday late afternoon, the part had not been returned and the promise date was now pushed back to the following Monday. I asked xxxxx to refund my money because I didn't have my car yet and the lack of service and timeliness were unacceptable. He refused.
I called Monday and they still had not been able to start my car. I finally received a call late Tuesday, the 25th, stating the car was finished and that I could come and get it.
When I arrived at the shop the following morning, I noticed my vehicle already outside for me. I gave xxxxx my rental car receipts and asked for my key. xxxxx told me it was already in the car and said we called you last night to pick it up. So my car was unlocked with the key in the ignition overnight.
When I got into my car, I noticed the key in the ignition, dirty fingerprints all over the driver's side window, and black grease stains on the driver's side interior panel. I left and later called xxxxx to ensure my receipts were being taken care of. He assured me my check was sent and would be to me soon.
On Saturday, March 29th, I drove on the highway, and while I was driving I noticed my coolant level quickly rising. Everything seemed to be okay with the fluid levels and no oil was leaking, but the car was starting to overheat. I called Meineke and was told by xxxxx to stop driving it and to have it towed to them(at my expense).
I called the Meineke customer service center the following Monday and asked for xxxxx boss's information. xxxxx refused but said that if I sent her an email, she would forward it to the owner. I sent the email the next day and within minutes, the shop called to let me know my oil pump was cracked and it would be $400.00 to repair. Continued complaint....

Desired Settlement
I called the shop the next morning and they wanted to work out a deal. xxxxx said they would fix the oil pump for $200.00 and I agreed because I needed my car back.
I picked up the car five days later and within thirty miles of travel, my car started to overheat once again. After contacting customer service the following Monday, xxxx called the shop to see if they would pay for my car to be towed back to them. They refused and said they had properly fixed the Saab. I refused to pay for another towing expense due to their inability over the past month to properly solve the oil leak problem and felt that they had created more damage to my car than when I initially dropped it off on March 10th.

The settlement I am looking for is a full refund. It had been a month since I entrusted the repair of my car to the Meineke shop. Over that time period, I have incurred numerous miscellaneous expenses (cab services, loss of work, car rentals, and towing) that could have been avoided with better service or at the very least some sort of reliable communication. The service and communication I have received from your company is unsatisfactory and I would like my money 100% reimbursed. In addition, I would like to be paid for the $75.00 towing expense, the $100.00 cab fares, and the already submitted rental expenses.

I firmly believe my car was improperly diagnosed and fixed incorrectly. When the shop tried putting my car back together during the head gasket repair, they created additional problems that were not occurring prior to bringing my car to them. I have owned the Saab for over ten years and have never had a problem with it overheating. In addition, I had just gotten my oil changed and passed for inspection two weeks prior to the oil leakage.

I also find it hard to believe that while the shop was determining why my car wouldn't start(several days) after their initial repair, they wouldn't have noticed a crack in the oil pump. I brought my vehicle to them because my oil was leaking and for some strange reason, the oil pump crack wasn't noticed. I checked for oil leakage after the first time the car started overheating, and found nothing.

Business Response
Mr. xxxxx brought his car into my shop with a complaint that he had taken his car to another shop to get his oil changed and then after that service he had noticed that there was a major oil leak. We pulled the car in the shop to check the oil level and the oil leak. We noticed that the head gasket was leaking and it wasn't the fault of the other shop. I then gave Mr. xxxxx a price to repair that specific leak. He drove the car out of here then called a couple days later to set up the appointment for the repair. he dropped the car off we got started on the job only to find that that there were more issues which I then contacted Mr. xxxxx to let him know what was going on. The job with the new repairs took a bit longer than I had originally told him. at no extra charge we repaired a few vacuum leaks also a few more small oil leaks. when Mr xxxxx came to pick up the car after the repairs he complained of a oil light that had come on and also a (over heating issue). I told him not to drive the car but to have it towed in so there would be no damage. we got the car back to find that the oil pump had went bad. that is why the oil light had come on. we had the car running here and test drove it on numerous occasions with no issues of over heating. I then called Mr. xxxxx to inform him of the oil pump issue he then declined the service. And said then that he wanted all of his money returned. I told him that we would repair his oil pump at no charge to him. We thought he was happy at that time. We repaired the oil pump free of charge. We then drove the car for about 35 miles after the repairs with no issues at all car drove great no lights no issues at all. he came 5 days later to pick up the car then called the next day to say that it was over heating. And he wanted his money returned to him. Which I declined his request at that that time. I told Mr. xxxxx to bring me the car and go for a ride with me to show me the overheating issue so I can fix that problem. I am still waiting on him to bring me the car so we can get this issue resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response but the detailed records that I have kept of this experience directly contradict the statements provided above. In addition, I have phone records that clearly illustrate the discrepancies noted above.

On March 6th, I had my vehicle inspected for an oil leak. At no point in my conversation with the manager did I ever tell him that I had previously had my oil changed and car passed for inspection.

I also was never told of additional oil leaks or repairs prior to picking my car up on March 12th and I have accurate phone records that support this statement. It wasn't until I went to pick my vehicle up on the 12th that any additional oil leaks were mentioned to me. In fact, the leaks didn't cause any additional shop time because the manager assured me that the car was properly repaired.

The new repairs stated above were explained to me as a machine shop error, not additional oil leaks. This mistake took two weeks to repair which to me is much longer than you notated above.

In addition, a number of the other statements you provided above are clearly false. You stated the oil pump crack repair was done at no charge but we both know that is incorrect. When the shop finished with this repair, I still hadn't received the promised $200.00 rental reimbursement check (this had been over two weeks from when it was originally promised to have been sent, and funny, it never did get to me). In order to get my car back, the manager and I agreed to apply the $200.00 rental reimbursement to the oil pump crack bill. So I did pay $200.00 for the oil pump repair.

Also, at no point did this ever happen and again, my phone records clearly support my side. "I told Mr. xxxxx to bring me the car and go for a ride with me to show me the overheating issue so I can fix that problem." I never spoke directly to the manager after the second over heating problem occurred.

I contacted customer service and alerted xxxxx of the ongoing over heating issue. At that point, she contacted the shop to get a resolution.

When she called back, she told me the shop said they had properly fixed the car, had it running for a full day, and declined to pay for the towing charge. However, she did say that the shop would cover the towing expense if they determined that it was their fault. I told her that I would not be sending my vehicle back to them ever again.

In summary, after a month of terrible service and a repair that created more problems to my car, no promised phone calls, no agreed upon rental reimbursements, additional financial expenses, no contact from the owner to resolve the shop's mistakes, $1,500.00 in a repair that wasn't done properly and was promised to be done in three days which actually took a month, I have been forced to sell the car.

This fiasco has been a miserable experience and I sincerely hope that people will see this review and not give their business to you. I believe I paid a lot of money for nothing and at no point in this experience did I ever feel like I was properly treated as a customer. In fact, they made my car much worse and forced me to part ways with it. Your service has been terrible and it is sad that the manager and owner didn't have the decency to make things right.

02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I took my car into Meineke with a clutch problem on or around 12/07/13. They advised me that I needed a new clutch. The repair was done on 12/12/13. New clutch and pressure plate was installed. $676.24. After about a week the clutch went out again. I took the car back to Meineke and they told me it was another issue. They quoted me another $400.00 to replace the slave cylinder and clutch master cylinder. These parts had been replaced about 2 weeks before. I had the same problem with the clutch at this time that I was having when I took the car in the first time. I was told when the new clutch was put in that this would fix the problem. Now they refuse to look at the car again. They told me I needed to go somewhere else. I asked if the manager would give me a call, he refused. I would not recommend anyone to this location. I still don't have a clutch and a reason why they won't look at it again.
Product_Or_Service: New Clutch
Order_Number: xxxxx

Desired Settlement
I would think that they would want to satisfy me as a customer. I need them to figure out why my car is no better now than it was when I first took it to them. I got nothing for $676.24..Terrible customer service.

Business Response
Mr. xxxxx came to Meineke with a clutch issue on his 1988 Toyota corolla. Mr.xxxxx had previously replaced the clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder himself and the clutch still did not work. We advised him that it needed a new clutch for $676.24. Mr. xxxxx authorized us to replace the clutch. The car left with the clutch working properly. Two weeks later Mr. xxxxx returns with the same complaint. After inspecting the corolla we advise Mr. xxxxx that the repairs he did himself have failed. The Corolla needs a Quality Manufactured Master Clutch Cylinder and Slave Cylinder. We told him that we would replace the parts with a warranty for approximately $400. We also advised him that if he removed the parts he previously put on himself and took the parts back to the place he purchased them they should replace them under warranty. Mr. xxxxx brought us another Clutch Master cylinder and AS A FAVOR to Mr. xxxxx we put on his part at NO CHARGE.
Mr. xxxxx returns two weeks later, total of 4 weeks, with the same issue.
$400 will fix Mr xxxxx Corolla. We told Mr. xxxxx that we will not put on another Customer supplied part. Clearly, the parts Mr. xxxxx is purchasing is cause of the problem. We never told Mr. xxxxx to "go somewhere else." We are happy to resolve Mr. xxxxx issue for $400.
We just received this notice. We are reaching out to Mr. xxxxx to resolve any misunderstandings

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes they did contact me on 2/18/14 and offer to fix the car. Why did they not offer to fix it when I complained to them a month ago. I do not want Meineke attempting to fix a problem they should of attempted to fix a month ago. This issue started 2 months ago. It should not of taken this long to correct. I will have a professional clutch shop fix this problem.

Thank You....

Final Business Response
Mr. xxxxx was contacted via phone on feb 18th and offered a free repair of his vehicle. We offered to replace the inferior parts with high quality parts at our expense. The cause of Mr. xxxxx issue is an internal leak in the Master Cylinder and or the slave Cylinder that he purchased from xxxxx. Mr xxxxx refused to allow us to fix his vehicle.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/18/2013Business started: 01/24/2011
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2011, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William F. Medearis III (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations

Alternate Business Names
Lethco Hull, Inc.

3 Locations

  • 6447A E Independence Blvd 

    Charlotte, NC 28212

  • 15054 Idlewild Rd 

    Matthews, NC 28104-3653

  • 15054 Idlewild Road 

    Matthews, NC 28104(704) 563-9513
    Fax: (704) 563-2434

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Meineke Car Care Center is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


According to information in the BBB files, it appears that the company is no longer in business. The phone numbers the BBB had for this company are disconnected, and directory assistance does not have a listing for this company. The BBB's mail to this company has been returned as undeliverable. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.